Very good 7.2
Based on 201 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 201 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for money 6.8
  • Food/Dining 6.6
Sort by

Ian from Australia
Solo travelers
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
Decent entry point for Sri Lanka.
Location, swimming pool, and excellent staff.
The Rani Beach resort is a comfortable place to stay, about 20-25 minutes drive from Colombo airport, close to restaurants (along the main street Lewis Place), and has an inviting swimming pool, with comfortable lounges, that looks out to the sea. Negombo was my start point for a four-week Sri Lankan stay and I had booked three nights at Rani. The first room I was given did not meet my expectations; it had a single bed, no balcony, and a number of the wiring connections had not been made (TV, phone...). I complained immediately to the reception staff, who understood my concerns and promised to move me to a better room for the other two nights (the hotel was fully-booked my first night). This happened and the room was far more spacious, with balcony. Apart from that hiccup, all went smoothly. All staff were friendly, attentive, and responsive. The breakfast buffet was very good, covering Sri Lankan and Western foods. The swimming pool and lounge area is excellent, looking out to the sea. The beach itself is mediocre, compared to what you find further south or to the east. The swimming pool bar is a nice place for a beer, watching the sun set! All-in-all Rani's is a good choice for Negombo Beach.
Reviewed September 11, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

M from Australia
Families with older children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
very happy place
beach, street, location
we stayed about a week on a unplanned visit. we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the staff are exceptional!!! food was good but with such a selection down the street we ate everywhere and it was all good. great place to do day trips from around the area. we will definately recommend this for other travellers.
Reviewed August 19, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Russell from Australia
Business travelers
Deluxe
Stayed 14 nights in July 2014
Quite Awful
Friendly staff & right on the beach
I had to move out! Bed bugs! I was seriously bitten over 4 nights - I thought it was mosquitoes until I found a bug! The staff are really kind and friendly and the location is good if you want a beach holiday BUT like all the hotels in the Negombo area they are VERY expensive for what you get (thanks to the very high govt. taxes). Overall no value for money in Sri Lanka compared to, say, Thailand where you can have 4* for the same price and very nice properties. This hotel like the other 2 I've stayed at along the Negombo beach is run down & very basic. It feels like a cheap motel room in rural Australia. I moved out despite having booked & paid for 2 weeks.
Reviewed August 19, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Ralph from Germany
Couples
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in May 2014
Overprized rooms; friendly staff; NO wifi
close to beach, swimming pool
Disappointing: overprized rooms, even with reductions. NO wifi in rooms, almost none public areas; Food was tasty, but more expensive than in close by restaurants. Friendly staff, but not always well trained. Close to beach, nice swimming pool.
Reviewed May 23, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Janet from United Kingdom
Couples
Deluxe
Stayed 13 nights in April 2014
An excellent hotel in an excellent location
great staff, great location, clean and modern
This was our 3rd stay in Negombo, but our 1st at the Rani beach - and we will definitely be returning. Danesh and his team could not have made us feel more welcome. The rooms were clean and modern, and the views across the Ocean were magnificent. The pool is like stepping into a warm bath and the sunbeds overlook the beach. The hotel is located just short walk away from the bars and restaurants of Negombo, and the town itself is a short tuk tuk ride. The buffet breakfast is varied enough to suit all tastes, and eggs are cooked to order. The main menu again has a variety of international dishes, all cooked to order. All the staff were friendly and easy to talk to, and withn a few hours of arriving knew our names and didn't forget them once during our stay! I would highly recommend this hotel, and can't wait to return in 2015.
Reviewed May 06, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Jody from Canada
Families with young children
Family Room
Stayed 7 nights in April 2014
Ugg
Nice rooms, food was okay, beach is close
Where to start. Out by the pool area is where I will start. The staff there are completely incompetent. 1/2 hour to get a drink, that is IF they ask you. I was there 4 days before someone asked if we wanted a drink. Asking for towels and cushions for the chairs is like pulling chicken teeth and is also very time consuming. One time we waited 45 minuets for towels so we were dry and just went back to the room. The rooms are nice and big so that was good. The bathrooms are big also, it takes a few minuets for hot water but is is there. They dont have blankets on the beds only sheets so you have to ask for a second set if you need them. Be sure to let the cleaning staff to know you want toilet paper or it will not be there. I had to go to the front desk 2 different times and ask for some. The breakfast was okay. Good selection of food, nothing great but is worth eating. The drinks are by far way to overpriced. Go 2 doors up to get beer at less than half the price at the pool or in the room. The beach is open to the locals and they are always there bothering the customers always. This is the worst part of this hotel. The staff would just let them walk around trying to see you things. They do not understand the word no as every time I said it they would offer us something else. You have to get rude before they leave you alone. There should be a fence up so they cannot trespass. We enjoyed the country but next time we will go somewhere more secluded and enjoy our time more. We would not go back to this hotel.
Reviewed April 26, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Anders from Sweden
Families with young children
Family Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2014
Convinient location
location, staff, pool
Easy to get to from te airport.Beach was ok,not like the once down south.
Reviewed February 26, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Nicholas from United Kingdom
Groups
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Beech front location. Clean. Next to shops + bars
Beech. Clean. Proximity to bars/ and rstaurants
Enjoyable 3 days. Clean hotel overlooking a lonnnnnngggg clean beech. Friendly front desk. Close to bars, travel shops and restaurants. Good air con. Close (20 mins by taxi) to international airport. 5 min taxi ride to Kattuwa train station for the adventurous. Downsides. The few rooms that don't overloook the beech and pool overlook the road which is quite busy. Free wi-fi in reception is painfully slow and unreliable.
Reviewed February 18, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

M from Australia
Couples
Deluxe
Stayed one night in September 2013
we had an excellent experience
Staff, pool and food
staff were probably the best thing here at Rani, we would definitely be staying here again. not one complaint.
Reviewed November 28, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Carol from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
good location, beach location & nice pool
beach side, own pool great sized rooms
attentive staff, clean, pleasant hotel. basic breakfast, good wifi.
Reviewed November 28, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: