Very good 7.7
Based on 211 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 211 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Room comfort and quality 7.8
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 7.4
  • Food and dining 7.3
Sort by

Cameron from Australia
Couples
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Not a bad pre-flight location
The best thing about this place was the pool, the comfy bed and the extensive buffet breakfast
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, although we found it charges inflated European prices for everything. This would be completely fine, however there are no other options for food around this place due to its remote location, forcing you to dine at the hotel.
Reviewed November 23, 2014

DI from China
Solo travelers
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
transfer
location
The switch couldn't be used,so that the room was out of electricity and no one helped me solve this problem.
Reviewed October 08, 2014

Kevin from Canada
Couples
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Amazing sunset view.
Private beach. Sunset. Friendly reception
We stayed only for one night so we could be close to the airport early the next morning. Seeing we'd have to leave at 4:00AM to catch our flight, we'd miss our breakfast.... which was included in the room rate. We asked if we could switch the meals and have dinner instead of the breakfast and the hotel manager, upon consideration of our request, agreed ;-)This was a very welcoming on his part. We were placed in a newly renovated room of the hotel and the room was modern and clear, yetlacked any feel of being in Sri Lanka. The beach area is very nice and the sunset was stunning. The beach bungalows, even though older, have more charm than the new rooms and are more private which are right on the beach. A fine stay for either first or last night in Sri Lanka. Only negative point...far too many loud tourist there for our liking ;-)
Reviewed September 30, 2014

Tyler from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Deluxe Sea View Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Ranweli
Location, location, location
Reviewed September 08, 2014

Nilanthi from Sri Lanka
Families with young children
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Wow fantastic experience with vary friendly staff
Location, Staff, Food
Gorgeous hotel
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Tseng from Taiwan
Solo travelers
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
A perfect place to start my journey in Sri Lanka
Beach! Beach! Beach!
Ranweli has the most beautiful sunset I've seen! I love the swimming pool and the beach. It's a perfect way to end a day to drink beer at beach. I took hundreds of photos here and thought I was in the heaven. Definitely I will choose this hotel again and stay few more nights next time I visit Negombo.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Sally from Australia
Couples
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Thoroughly disappointing
Well appointed and clean room
We chose the Ranweli Hotel for a one night stay at the end of our Sri Lankan holiday based on its proximity to the airport - 20 kilometers away. It wasn't until we arrived at the hotel that we realized that the hotel is only accessible by ferry or punt. Whilst this notion is quite romantic it is also extremely inpracticle when we had to leave the hotel at 4.30am for our early flight departure. The first villa we were given had a broken a/c system. After much ado we were finally moved to a different villa where the a/c worked at 30 per cent capacity. So once we were on the 'island' we were totally at the hotel's mercy - food and drink are ridiculously expensive compared to the rest of Sri Lanka. All menus only have prices listed in either Euros or GBP which is completely useless to the traveller who lives anywhere east of Russia. We had booked a wake up call at 4.00am and luckily we set our own alarm as they didn't bother to call us until 4.20am for our 4.30 departure. Of course, as we were at the mercy of the hotel, we booked a taxi through them to the airport - USD$30 for a 20 kilometer ride....! If you are looking for a hotel for a short stay avoid the Ranweli Hotel at all cost!!
Reviewed May 23, 2014

BORIS from Croatia
Families with young children
Deluxe Sea View Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
A great ending for our 7-day island-wide trip
It's a beautifully built, comfortable and enjoyable holiday resort
We only stayed for the last night of our trip, as it's relatively close to the airport (the rest having been half in the mountains, half in the south). Ranweli turned out to have been the most enjoyable stay of our holiday, and we wished we had spent at least half of our holiday there. The beach isn't that good (at least not for someone who just came from south Sri Lanka), and it didn't appeal to us to swim in the sea there; anyhow, the swimming pool was quite OK. But the place is just beautifully arranged, the Deluxe Sea View Bungalow was a great place to stay, and the staff were very nice and helpful. It's a great place for a relaxing holiday. If we'd return to Sri Lanka someday, we'd definitely stay in Ranweli again, this time for more than just one day.
Reviewed April 01, 2014

Peter from United Kingdom
Families with young children
Deluxe Sea View Bungalow
Stayed 7 nights in February 2014
It was good, but not really suitable for infants
Staf brilliant, Food good, resort in general great for couple
No serious issues although not really suitable for very samll children. The local wild life enjoys sharing your room with you too !!! It is a great resort with very friendly staff, and i would recommend to anyone looking for a nice break away from daily routine.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Kadri from Turkey
Couples
Deluxe Sea View Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Clean hotel with pool & nature
Pool and rooms were good. Deluxe room was just renewed. We stay at 101 and it was so close to everywhere.
The location was wrong. Please check this point. This is it: 7.283281,79.840894 There were room to far away from center so try to get close pool. Sea was not clear as we expected but still we had fun.
Reviewed February 16, 2014


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: