Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 365 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Room comfort and quality 7.7
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 7.0
  • Food and dining 8.3
Sort by

Neerja from India
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed one night in July 2016
No WiFi in rooms. Carpets worn out in rooms and in corridors. Corridors looked disolated. No smoking
Noisy surroundings. Could n't sleep properly.
Reviewed July 21, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Mohammed from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
good
Good
Reviewed May 24, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Bassel from Lebanon
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Great hotel
Great facilities. You will be re-living history in an excellently renovated building.
Reviewed April 29, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Rukmini from India
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Not going back for sure
The structure is beautiful and quaint. But, somehow, the current management has successfully sucked out all character from this hotel. They are obviously obsessed about getting things done, but making guests feel like they are part of an assembly line doesn't really match the price you pay. For instance, at breakfast, the manager is doing a good job of ensuring things are moving fast but shouting out orders to the waiters is not quite what one expects in a hotel of this standard. The maintenance is patchy (carpets, cupboard locks, door knobs, window stoppers) and there is a general feeling of the staff having to reluctantly serve the guests. Soggy mixture (bites) with drinks, dehydrated chicken in the Caesar's salad, lots of staff constantly milling around in chaotic fashion....not staying here again for sure. Make sure you ask for a fan in the room and also carry mosquito repellant.
Reviewed April 27, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Terence from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed one night in March 2016
Beautiful hotel in a gorgeous setting
The hotel is simply gorgeous and staying there felt like we were in a mansion. Food was great but we only tried the buffet. Staff were very friendly although service at the restaurants could be better. Areas for improvement will definitely be the spa - rooms felt outdated and massages were just so-so.
Reviewed April 04, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Wim from Netherlands
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed one night in February 2016
A really old hotel
We had great expectations of this 'romantic' hotel, but were very disappointed. The not very friendly reception tried to place us in absolutely unacceptable small rooms with totally outdated small bathrooms. When we refused, they offered us other rooms, but these were stored with three beds, so that there was little other place. The staff refused to remove one of the beds. We had no other choice than again to ask for other rooms. These were old fashioned rooms with a simple bathroom (shower in the bath with a curtain in front of it). Absolutely not de luxe rooms, as we had booked. The rooms were totally overpriced. However, breakfast was excellent.
Reviewed March 29, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Mohamad from Kuwait
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed one night in February 2016
Not worth to stay
antique interior, landscape, cafe
Poor bedroom
Reviewed February 28, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Thushantha from Sri Lanka
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed one night in February 2016
Old world Charm
Location, Privacy and Service.
Nice stay... and courteous staff.
Reviewed February 26, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Sarah from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
poor service to fellow Sri Lankans
location, cleanliness, food options
Perhaps this is a general issue with the hospitality industry in the region but as a Sri Lankan American, I felt the service was poor as the staff was "too busy" serving white guests with white glove service. I often had to wait a long time before staff arrived to take my order and attend to me. It was only when they realized I was a foreign passport holder when they bothered to attend to me. I noticed this was also an issue for any local Sri Lankan visiting as well. It's an absolute shame and I hope the hotel will be in contact with me to discuss this less than pleasurable experience.
Reviewed January 11, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Asif from United Arab Emirates
Family with young children
Deluxe double room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Poor service & facilities, 4 star claim overrated
location and history
We were in Sri Lanka for 7 days and had an amazing trip except the 2 nights at Grand Hotel which was very disappointing. Staff was inattentive, room furniture was falling apart, restaurants were of poor quality with extremely loud music and though not critical, no WiFi in rooms. The hotel now seems to cater more to budget group travelers and hence was crowded and staff did not pay attention to anybody. We went to Thai restaurant in the hotel for dinner and after waiting for more then an hour, walked out. The hotel was recommended by a Sri Lankan friend for its heritage but it clearly is a thing of the past and there are much better options in town.
Reviewed December 30, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: