Excellent 8.2
Based on 466 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 466 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Room comfort and quality 8.4
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food and dining 7.7
Sort by

Marcus from United Kingdom
Families with young children
Standard Villa
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Peaceful. Luxury with good food
Space, comfort, food.
We had an excellent stay. It worked very well with a 3year old and a 5 month old. There was enough space and our 3 year old enjoyed the swimming pools. Also a good location for all the attractions in the area.
Reviewed January 08, 2016

Fionna from United Kingdom
Groups
Superior Villa
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Beautiful hotel but service could be much better
Scenery, pool, rooms
Positives: The hotel is beautiful, with a fantastic pool and wonderful position on the lake. The rooms were great, with a large seating area, huge bed and fantastic shower and bath. Each room is its own little cabin so you have privacy and a sense of being secluded. There is no wifi in the rooms- they are spread out across a big space, so it makes sense, but they should advertise it more clearly as I think most people would expect in room wifi these days. The wifi in the public areas is a bit patchy at times, but overall fine. Negatives: Given most people travel to this area of Sri Lanka to see the cultural sights, I was frustrated on multiple occasions with the complete lack of help from the staff for helping see these sights. They were completely useless at giving advice, helping to book transport etc. For a "5 star" hotel this is inexcusable- they should help to facilitate their customer's experience of the region rather than look at you blankly when you ask how long it might take to get from one place to another or how you might go about booking a safari. We ended up having to do it all ourselves, which I hadn't expected at all, and luckily had advice from friends who had visited the region before- otherwise it would have been very stressful. The other thing I would highlight is dining- the breakfast and dinner buffets were very expensive and not very good, which we got tired of after a couple of days. When we enquired about places to eat locally, we were met by completely blank stares by the staff- absolutely no local knowledge or advice and they couldn't book us transport to get anywhere! Overall, it was a beautiful spot, but I was disappointed that we didn't receive more support from the hotel during our stay- they are located in a place that people visit to see the sights, yet are not set up at all for that experience. They have potential, but haven't met it yet.
Reviewed January 07, 2016

nigel from United Kingdom
Groups
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Overnight stay at Amaya Lake Kandalama
Staff, location, food and drink
It was a welcome relief after a long trip and sightseeing. The location is stunning, staff and facilities treated us very well, it is a shame we could not have spent another day there to investigate further. I would recommend the hotel if you are looking for quality and get away from it all. Special mention about Nilantha who looked after us in the restaurant and Chaminda who served our drinks in the bar and made some great cocktails!
Reviewed December 25, 2015

Qin from Singapore
Couples
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Poor service and terrible reception
A very friendly porter but he is the only nice guy
Turned off by the bad service as the manager was grumpy and told me I had to pay more for the hotel room as even though the room occupancy was for two, the hotel voucher they sent was only for one person. After paying, even though I asked for a double bed, they gave me twin beds and I had to change the room. Very disappointing service as the pool boy did not even provide towels. Toilet had stale smell and wasn't properly ventilated. Many bugs in the bathtub. Beautiful grounds but I really don't think it's worth the rates. Moreover, it's rather out of the way so one could only eat at the hotel restaurant which had pretty average food.
Reviewed December 20, 2015

NIKUNJ from India
Couples
Superior Villa
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
unprofessionaly and customer unfriendly hotel,
location,location,location
to start it took long time to check in though there was no one else except us,the reception desk didnt know english and were completely unhelpful and the manager or customer relationship manager was not there at all.they gave us a room and told ud that our booking has been upgraded but despite we booking a king size double room they gave two joint bed and there was no one to inform about what veg dishes we can eat at there place the management is fighly in human the property is vast and it excepts its home and room service staff to walk around to service the customer which is next to impossible a great property if the staff is made to understand that they are in hospitality business and if they want there property to be rated 5 star they have to really have that approach.
Reviewed December 02, 2015

Sam from United Kingdom
Couples
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Needs wifi in all rooms and change buffet menu
Staff are polite and helpful
Comfortable
Reviewed December 01, 2015

Fiona from United Kingdom
Couples
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Lovely peace and quiet
The location is beautiful, lots of birds. The bungalow was peaceful and well equiped. Staff friendly
An enjoyable peaceful break, near to Dambulla so easy to go to the Cave temple before the crowds!
Reviewed November 30, 2015

Lukas from Lithuania
Couples
Standard Villa
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
big nice hotel
lovely area by the lake
great food and nice surroundings
Reviewed November 26, 2015

Prakash from Singapore
Families with young children
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
A hidden Gem
Staff, Location, attention to detail
Beautiful resort location, very far away from the main road but its a beauty. off the beaten track, quaint place. close to nature. lovely view of the kandalama lake. no shelter to the rooms so if it rains its a little difficult. but they have buggies. No wifi in the room, only in the reception. there are 2 pools, one main and another located far off towards the lake, nicer pool with a view. Food was good, staff are very attentive.
Reviewed November 24, 2015

Patrick from Singapore
Solo travelers
Superior Villa
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Not a 5-star for sure - 3.5 max
Staff were friendly, food was ok
Below expectation in terms of the room - looks very dated and very old. Some of the lights in bathroom not working as well. The reception area, dining and pool looks grand but not the rooms which pales in comparison. Would give it 3.5 star max.
Reviewed November 15, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: