Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 128 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for money 6.9
  • Food/Dining 6.9
Sort by

Julien from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Standard - Twin
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
good location, great staff
the staf is efficent and friendly, the nice pool, and the two good restaurants
Reviewed January 24, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

yolanda from Spain
Family with older children
Standard - Twin
Stayed one night in December 2013
Hoetel is very bad value for the money.
Staff,location and food.
Reviewed January 05, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

swaminathan from India
Family with older children
Standard - Twin
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
comfortable stay near to town
location, staff and management
the owner didnt charge extra for the extra bed for my son which was a good gesture
Reviewed January 01, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Rebecca from United Kingdom
Group
Standard - Twin
Stayed one night in October 2013
pleasant
clean room, nice pool, large grounds
pleasant it was a clean room and a large pool with a lovely view and backdrop
Reviewed November 11, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Hedinn from Iceland
Couple
Standard - Twin
Stayed one night in August 2013
It was descent room, but bit pricey
location, location, location
We only stayed at this hotel for one night as we wanted to climb the Sigiriya Rock the next morning. The hotel has an interesting layout, the restaurant is descent and outside which gives sort of nice feel. Our room was kinda low standard I felt, the beds are uncomfortable and the air-conditioning was not really working. I had found a deal for a 4 star hotel the same price as this hotel, so it is difficult to not think of that in this review. It did feel clean and it's in a descent location.
Reviewed August 24, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Luke from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard - Twin
Stayed 4 nights in March 2013
centrally located for sights
large room, wifi, pool
This hotel is a little tired looking but clean enough. Our room was large and well equipped eg with tea/coffee making facilities, TV, bedside lights and mosquito nets (just remember to use them!) The bathroom was small and a little gloomy but clean enough. The staff booked us a decent driver for day trips out. The hotel is well located for trips to Polonnaruwa, Dambulla cave temples and Sigiriya Lion Rock (take tuk-tuk for last 2 sights). We booked 4 nights but only stayed 3 as we ran out of things to do and Dambulla itself isn't very exciting. Breakfast wasn't too bad and filled us up enough to skip lunch. The hotel restaurant, whilst offering nice views of the pool and countryside, was hugely overpriced and not great but there seemed to be little choice in eateries nearby. We didn't use the pool though we did see it being cleaned. There was free WiFi at the hotel. Altogether not an unpleasant stay and probably quite good by Sri Lankan standards.
Reviewed August 19, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Vajira from Sri Lanka
Family with older children
Standard Triple rooms
Stayed one night in August 2013
very comfortable, homely and quiet.
cleanliness, quiet atmosphere., friendly staff.
Check-In was absolutely easy and the staff at the front desk was very helpful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and very clean. Although it's very close to the main road the atmosphere was so quiet that we all had a good night sleep. The food was very good and the area where the food was served was clean and attractive - specially in the night.
Reviewed August 17, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Andie from China
Family with older children
Standard Triple rooms
Stayed one night in July 2013
Location is good. Failities is old.
Location location location
Loction is good. Staff nice. But failities is very old. Swimming is very dirty.
Reviewed July 13, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

leonel from France
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed one night in June 2013
efficient
efficient, welcoming, simple
Reviewed June 24, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Tomonori from Japan
Business traveler
Standard Single
Stayed one night in June 2013
Cost effective hotel
cheap, clean, big room
Although the room condition was good, the internal key of the door was broken for 2 rooms out of 3 rooms. Even the hotel staff insisted on safety, I think the most important point is lacking.
Reviewed June 20, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: