Excellent 8.2
Based on 346 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 346 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Room comfort and quality 8.4
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 8.0
  • Food and dining 7.3
Sort by

Ngoc from United Arab Emirates
Family with older children
Deluxe Rooms
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Best place to stay in Tissa
We stayed here for 4 nights. It was the most comfortable hotel we stayed in Sri Lanka. The location is prime. In front of the lake where you can see water buffaloes, bats, birds, monkeys and more. Very quiet and relaxing.
Reviewed April 15, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

wei from China
Family with young children
Deluxe double room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Tissa Lake view and near Yala National Park
Good: I booked two rooms for two nights with my parents and my son. The hotel is by the Tissa Lake. And both of my rooms have the fantastic lake view. Even we could see the birds' nests on the trees on the island. The housekeeper and the manager of the kitchen were kind and friendly. The hotel is clean and beautiful. The hotel is very near Yala National Park. If you don't want to get up very early, it's a good choice. Bad: The shower room is blocked in one room of the two. The telephone is out of service. If we wanted to talk to the housekeeping and the reception, we had to walk to the reception. The executive of housekeeping said the problems couldn't be solved.
Reviewed April 07, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Veronica from Saudi Arabia
Family with young children
Deluxe Suite
Stayed one night in March 2016
Good sized room
I booked a suite for 1 adult and 2 children (ages 5 and 7) and got a spacious room that included a double bed, single bed, dining table, 2 writing desks, a coffee table and a small lounge suite set. Loved the size of the room and the view but it was in need of a deep clean. The one issue I had (a faulty telephone) was not fixed during the stay. Nice facilities - pool, some garden space, seating area and a restaurant only. The decking around the pool needs maintenance - be careful with small children. Very nice and helpful staff. The welcome drink was a nice touch and we were able to check in early which was great. It was further than I thought to the Yala National Park and not too much to do in the area but overall a good experience.
Reviewed April 05, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Paul from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe double room
Stayed one night in April 2016
Great location and staff but far too rundown
We stayed at Safari for 1 night and I'm very pleased we didn't book for longer. The pool was grubby with black grease marks at water level, the deck around the pool was delapidated with huge holes and broken planks. There were glasses and plates all over the place covered in ants which had been there for days. In the room, the shower stank of drain, the aircon was fierce and leaked water al over the floor, the tv didn't work in the first room so they swapped us to another one. This hotel is in a fantastic location on the lake in Tissa and could be so good, but management need to get a bit of maintanence to make the place worth the money.
Reviewed April 04, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

ANNA from Saudi Arabia
Family with young children
Deluxe Rooms
Stayed one night in March 2016
Good location
Lovely location on the lake. Perfect sunset spot. Clean and spacious room. The swimming pool area need renovation.
Reviewed April 02, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Rob from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Rooms
Stayed one night in March 2016
Highly recommend!!
Fantastic hotel, clean rooms, amazing views over the lake from the balcony. Good was amazing too! The pool was a great bonus too although had a fair few leaves in it hence my 4star rating on cleanliness.
Reviewed March 09, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Natalie from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Rooms
Stayed one night in February 2016
Disappointing
I think that the outside areas of the Safari hotel, such as the pool and restaurant were quite run down. The pictures on the website made it look a lot nicer than it actually was. The restaurant was really disappointing it was very dated with a dreary buffet like an assembly line. The waitress was not particularly friendly or helpful (she seemed like she didn't really want to be there). The food was Ok, it wasn't awful but it certainly wasn't good. The actual room was fine and the decor was better than the rest of the hotel. We had random people knock on our door late at night, which was not particularly nice or what you expect. Also I really don't think they understand service very well, we had someone from the restaurant come and knock on our door 30 minutes after we left the restaurant (where I gave my room number to when ordering) they demanded that we pay there and then, which is just beyond rude and not normal hotel etiquette. overall disappointing.
Reviewed February 10, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Cheryl from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Rooms
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Very pleasant location right on a lake
lakeside setting; very nice pool; good room
This hotel could very easily be so much better than it is. The food offering is repetitive and very average at best. The buffets were the same at lunch and dinner. We tried a la carte on our first night and it was abysmal! Fish that had been crumbed and deep fried some time ago (probably once a week!) and re-heated. Truly awful. Not much else to say about the food. The problem is that, given its somewhat isolated location, eating in-house is the only option. Our room was reasonably well appointed and spacious. Regular maintenance of the buildings has not been a priority, e.g., rotting and broken timber boardwalks around pool and restaurant area; chipped and cracked external floor tiles in public areas. Very pleasant and welcoming staff.
Reviewed January 11, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Dilani from Sri Lanka
Group
Deluxe Rooms
Stayed one night in December 2015
Comfy rooms, service needs improvement
comfy room, good view and spacious bathroom
the view is beautiful. The view made the stay worthwhile. The stay was comfortable. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and modern. good amenities Food was ok. The staff, even though friendly were not effective. Had to request a change of bed linen as bedding was stained. this was unpleasant.
Reviewed January 05, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Lahiru from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Rooms
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Nice peaceful hotel
location, close to yala, relaxing
Had a lovely stay at this hotel. Its idea if you plan on going on a safari (Yala), but a great place to just relax for a day or two. There is a lovely lake nearby which makes it even more pleasant
Reviewed January 01, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: