Excellent 8.2
Based on 201 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 201 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Room comfort and quality 8.6
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food and dining 8.0
Sort by

Mr.Pornsak from Thailand
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed Private Outside Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Good
Good
Good
Reviewed November 15, 2014

Ivy from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Surprising - but not in a pleasant way
Clean; quiet location
Our stay at Baan Tepa was terrible, almost to the point where I got angry at myself for spending about $60 a night (excluding taxes & booking fee) for a supposedly deluxe room with private bathroom & breakfast. I definitely had a talk with one of my best friends, who’s been living in Bangkok for more than 6 years and highly recommended Baan Tepa because she & her French boyfriend enjoyed their staycation there. Considering the rate we paid (which included a 50% discount), Baan Tepa wasn’t good value at all. Good location if you want peace & quiet & if you want to be in Old Bangkok, but we had to get a taxi to go to other areas of Bangkok. We were given a room on the ground floor on our first night. It was a decent size but there was hardly any space around the bed (there’s a wall between the sitting area and bed). The room didn't seem like a deluxe to us; the manager told us that we’ll get another room upstairs the next day but didn’t offer a discount considering we didn’t get a deluxe room on our first night. The location may be quiet, but it's a different story in the rooms downstairs. We could hear footsteps of anyone going up the stairs &in their rooms. There were big mosquitoes in the room & the netting was dusty. We were transferred to a room on the first floor the next day (we never saw the manager again after the day we checked in). The room was brighter than the one on the ground floor, but I was more uncomfortable there because I tried to tread as lightly as I could, knowing that guests downstairs could hear practically every movement I make. Perhaps if we hadn't stayed on the ground floor on our first night, we wouldn't have realised that guests downstairs could hear everything, but we did. There were also mosquitoes in that room. Our bathroom in the first-floor room was not so private– to get to it, we had to go out to the balcony, which can be seen from the alley. Breakfast was sad: small serving of bland fried noodles & orange juice from concentrate.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

valerie from France
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed Private Outside Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
pleasant, relaxed, safe
looks, staff, location
I have been there several times and I just adore the place, for its looks, friendly staff and personal touch. It's pretty good location-wise as well. The place smells lovely in the rooms , being all old wood and I can't get enough of the decor! It only lacks a nearer MRT/BTS station but it's a 50BHT ride by taxi and 20mns walk to the station or 10mns to the river pier, so if you're not in a rush, there are many nice things to see on the way too(Wat Ben)or some street market. Access to kahosan Rd is pretty fast as well. The staff is lovely and the owner very cool and speaks perfect English. Once again, the place delivered and I will be going back for sure!
Reviewed September 07, 2013

Christine from Australia
Couple
Standard Double Bed Private Outside Bathroom
Stayed 5 nights in August 2013
A beautiful guest house with lots of charm
Beautiful old house set in nice little garden. Ambience and the pleasant helpful staff
Once you stepped inside the gate at Baan Tepa it was easy to forget you were in the middle of Bangkok. Theo and the staff were super friendly and helpful. From Baan Tepa we were able to move around on the bus network to places like Chatuchat Market and Kaosan Road
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Wee from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed Private Outside Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
I little out of the way
Charming, Quiet & Local
Baan Tepa is situated north of the Banglampoo area, very local and urban fringe feel to the neighborhood. Not a lot of tourism appeal, save for the Ananta Samakhom throne plaza north and east of the hotel. Rooms are charming, the one i stayed in had a really narrow bathroom outside but great atmosphere nontheless. The lush greenery around helps to surround the hotel in a little bit of tranquility.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

valerie from France
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed Private Outside Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
relaxing, an oasis of taste and quiet surroundings
Cool room, great service and decor!
Once again, this hotel delivered the perfect relaxing haven I was looking for and my stay was wonderful, I particularly loved the room I got on the ground floor with a second room leading to the bathroom and a tiny little balcony/garden. The hotel smells really nice and looks fantastic so it never fails to make me happy to stay there and the owner (one of them) speaks great English and will help you with all queries, or simply a good chat!it's really nice to see the taste and effort put into all details of this hotel and you really feel you are somewhere special. Love it!
Reviewed June 16, 2013

valerie from France
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed Private Outside Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
relaxing, interesting and beautiful hotel
the looks, the comfort, the staff
I have been there once before and fell in love with the place, which is an old 1930's thai house renovated. Every little detail of the hotel is there to maximise your comfort and experience, from the decor to the soft towels and friendliness of the staff/owners. The rooms are very clean and smell wonderful, each room has character and little quaint lay-out details from the outside private bathroom to the small balconies or attached(en suite)spare room. That stay saw me in a large double room with a balcony leading to the bathroom.A wonderful experience, near to Khaosan Rd (about 60 BHT by tuk tuk), and near enough to Phaya Thai BTS station, so you can go shopping. The lack of immediate access to BTS is the worse thing about the place but it's really not THAT far and all kind of public transpot id available on the main road.I will definitely stay there again!
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Robert from United States
Group
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Cozy place with a Wonderful Host!
Host, Stylish, Breakfast
My sister and I did a spur of the moment overnight trip through Bangkok and found this place to spend the night. We booked it because it was cheap and close to downtown. But the best part was the very friendly and accommodating host. He prepared us an excellent Thai breakfast in the morning ad was otherwise very helpful throughout the stay. Would highly recommend staying here.
Reviewed May 07, 2013

valerie from France
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed Private Outside Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
different, relaxing, an attraction in itself
great vibe, quiet, friendly
I cannot recommend this hotel enough, it is so pretty and relaxing!The owner was very helpful and friendly, the rooms so cool with their old style deco but modern comfort. I loved every minute of it and cannot wait to got back. There's a really nice temple nearby. And the breakie was ok too! Fantastic stay for anyone wanting a different kind of hotel. Only one bad thing, the old house has wooden walls and you can hear everything so get those earplugs packed up!
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Jan from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed Private Outside Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Lovely place on very strategic location
The rooms are quite friendly and fresh with light creamy yellow print
The Horsts were very friendly and gave good information on the things to do in the area. The breakfast was wonderful
Reviewed March 10, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: