Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1614 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 8.1
Sort by

Wanchana from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
great room and nice service
Room, Wifi, Dinner
4 nights in the Empress is so nice. It provide a clean room with good facilities. Wifi in the room is great and fast. I like the staffs' service mind.
Reviewed September 19, 2015

Kelvin from Malaysia
Group
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
The staffs are all very helpful
compliments found on our bed as there is a electricity black out, free luggage deposit and room service very efficient
It's a pleasant stay there. everything is wonderful, but the location wise is slightly far away from the old town. need to use tuk tuk or taxi to old town
Reviewed September 14, 2015

Thanachporn from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
Service
Complimentary gift
Not impressed
Reviewed September 13, 2015

Mark from United States
Business traveler
Executive
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
Great Hotel
Clean and close to the night market
I have stayed here many times and really enjoy this hotel. The staff are friendly and the rooms are comfortable.
Reviewed September 12, 2015

Yong from Malaysia
Couple
Executive
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Great service!
The helpfulness of staff, the location : so close to vegetarian restaurant, masseur and night bazaar
Wonderful. Initially a bit disappointed at dated appearance of hotel (altho forewarned in reviews) but it grew on us. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, the little touches by the hotel & staff (eg., fruit basket, bag of goodies, ear rings!) and we were pleasantly surprised that we were given very lavish complimentary dinner ( super yummy shrimp Won ton in soup and prawn tomyam soup) and little gifts and bouquet of roses!
Reviewed August 27, 2015

dana from Canada
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
Worth it
Cleanliness, spa, room
This was our second hotel in Chiang Mai and we really loved it! The decor was great and the view from our room was amazing (12th fl). The room and whole hotel were always clean. Staff are very helpful and kind. The bed was a bit hard and the pillows too high/thick so that didn't always make for the best sleep. The spa is VERY reasonably priced for a hotel and is very relaxing. I recommend getting the 1 hr foot massage.
Reviewed August 26, 2015

Robert from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed one night in August 2015
Good hotel
Reasonable price, good location, good swimming pool
It is a good mid-range hotel (3-4 star hotel). We like the wooden floors--no dirty carpeting. The location is good-- a 15' minute walk from the Night Bazaar and just 3' from Changklan Road, which is major street in the SE part of the city. The hotel is a definite step up from cheap backpackers' hotels, but it is not as expensive as some of the other 4-star hotels in Chiang Mai.
Reviewed August 24, 2015

Allan from Australia
Couple
Executive
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
FIRST RATE
ItHard to settle on just 3 best aspects of this hotel. We loved the atmosphere, the beauty of it and above all the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff
We have stayed at the Sofitel in Cambodia that we have rated in the past as the best hotel experience ever. We have also stayed in the best hotels in Dubai. The Empress is older than the ones mentioned and may lack some of the modern accoutrements of the others, but the wonderful staff, service and relaxing atmosphere put the Empress above them all.
Reviewed August 24, 2015

Jorg from Germany
Couple
Executive
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
They bend over backwards to help the customer
The standard of service that we experienced was outstanding. Whatever we required Khun Suppaporn (Khun Gai) and her staff did whatever was possible to help us, be it an earlier check-in, a check out
Continued: Although, when booking, we had forgotten to request a room with a bath tub, we were immediately given one as soon as it was available. They even upgraded us to do so. - On top of that, we were showered in little presents. - the hotel also seems to have a policy of inviting guests who stay a little longer than usually to a free candlelight dinner. We absolutely enjoyed the service dedicated to us during this event and would to thank all the stay and management for their welcoming charme, We will definitely come back.
Reviewed August 20, 2015

Jenny from Taiwan
Family with older children
Studio Suite
Stayed 5 nights in August 2015
The hotel facility is very old. Low C/P
Old facilities, good location, staffs are ok friendly
For some reason the cleaning staff gave us a really dirty towel (looks like there was old period blood on it) on the second day of my stay, and we did give a 40 baht tips (for two ppl). Kind of gross, and my parents room had a broken matress. Btw, we booked two studio suits for 5 nights stay.
Reviewed August 07, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: