Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 744 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 6.6
Sort by

Huili from Chile
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
clean, big room
friendly staff, center location
the room i reserved got a breakfast set, the morning i got up and went upstairs to have breakfast and it was so quiet and i felt so relaxed. the location is good near the old town, there’s even a bar street nearby.. which is kinda important to me. and staff really helped a lot. the price is relatively high for a solo traveler. and there are mosquitoes, i had to get up in the midnight to kill them.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Sandra from Ireland
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013
Claen & Great
Clean, good bed, Location
Quite but close to everything - Great location, Very clean. Close to attractions, night market, Restaurants etc. Pricey.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Michael from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Very Good Location - Clean - Barking Dog Noise
Location, Cleaniness, Breakfast and In-room Internet included in the cost.
The hotel is in a very good location on a side street off Kotchasam Road, a main road by the Thapae Gate where there are many restaurants, a 711 store and ATM machines. It's also a 15 minute walk to the night market. The reception staff are friendly, always smiling and eager to help. All speak good English. However, all the reception staff need to improve on information service like knowing exactly the location of places like the nearest Tourist Information and ATM machine which was at the next street on the corner of Kotchasam Road. There's a security guard at night at the entrance which is a plus. Breakfast is American style - eggs, ham, whole wheat bread, jam, orange juice, mineral water, cereal but instant coffee, margarine (no butter) and tea. There's a comfortable lounge area on the second floor with books, brochures and travel information - the same at the reception entrance - another plus. The rooms are very clean. In-room Internet is very good. You'll need ear plugs at night if you are a light sleeper. There's a barking dog across the street that starts barking in the early hours of the morning non-stop. Also, pigeons have made the roof their home and you'll hear them too in the morning if you have a room on the third floor. You won't find many amenities in your room, like tissues, a comb, q-tips, radio, alarm clock - just shower soap, shower cap and shampoo. Pillows are hard. The hotel should consider offering guests softer pillows. Tip = ask for a room towards the back of the hotel, maybe you won't hear the barking dog and pigeon noise.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Johan from Sweden
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
good value for the money
nice and clea
spent the day in the lovely room instead of the busy streets
Reviewed March 03, 2013

Allan from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013
Modern, Clean hotel with wonderful friendly staff
Breakfast cooked to order, central location, exceptionally helpful and friendly staff
We stayed for four nights and it would have been perfect for the two of us if we had not had the baby as well. The room was a good size with a spacious ensuite toilet and shower although it was a bit dark because it had no windows facing to the outside. Breakfast was served on the first floor level and was made to order, although the only choice was ham and egg in some form. there was no other cooked option available. The hotel was in a relatively quiet, but central location between the night market and Thapae Square and was close to eating, laundry and shopping facilities. The disadvantages, relating to babies and toddlers is that there is no cot available so baby had to sleep with mum and dad. The room is furnished with Lanna style furniture which is both heavy and full of sharp corners just asking to be bumped into by fast moving kids. Likewise, the restaurant at first floor level is fenced by a timber screen which does not extend below seat level leaving a large gap through which a small child could crawl and fall to the lower level. In summary, the hotel, though excellent in most other respects, is not really suitable for couples with small children. In fact, this could be said of Chiang Mai in general.
Reviewed March 01, 2013

Konstantin from Russia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
great location , lovely stuff, cute design
good bed
poor breakfast , small parking for a car. everything is not far, from one side is down town, from another side is popular and famously nigt bazaar . 2-3 minute you can find rent a car and bike. many massage shop and bars, restorante. biggest problem was mosquitos in hotel. every night we try to kill them inside a room. but outside room, you can't stay 4 min, because too much. they very angry)). for best condition i recommend chiangmai plaza hotel. food is very good and no mosquitos!
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Liang from Malaysia
Family with teens
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013
Great location, 10 min walk to Night Bazaar
Walking distance to Saturday and Sunday markets
The location of Na Tapae Hotel is excellent, with walking distance to Saturday and Sunday markets. It is also about 10 min walk to Night Bazaar. The surrounding is quiet, though the walk through the alley is a bit dark at night. The room quality is good, though the sound insulation on main door needs improvement. Front desk staff is very courteous, though the lady at the breakfast preparation was a bit temperamental when she was pressured by too many guests having breakfast at the same time. The menu was exactly identical (only 5 types on the menu), so you can imagine having to eat the same thing for 5 consecutive mornings. Having some Phad Thai, fried rice or Kao Soi (as Chiang Mai is famous for) as variation would be great. However, the WIFI is real bad! I could not get connected on my notebook at all on all three floors! My son had similar problem too, though on 1-2 occasions he managed to get connected, but speed was like tortoise! Lastly, the most important issue here! Price! Actually I wanted to book two rooms (for my wife and me, and two children), but after I got the first room booked, there was no more room for me to book the second room. I could not possibly stay in different hotel from my children! So I searched for another website (latestay.com) and I managed to book the second room, at even cheaper rate than AGODA! Mind you, by a hefty US$ 70 for 5 nights! This has definitely put a big dent in my confidence in AGODA! Please kindly look into this important issue.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Michael from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
This is the hotel I would like to own
Everything
Stayed here many times with Agoda and also booked direct with the hotel from within Thailand. I have never been disappointed by this hotel, its like a home from home and I will be staying here again in Jan 2013. The bed is comfortable and pleasing to look at, the bathroom is excellent with shower gel and shampoo provided in real quirt bottles, but sachets are also provided. There is a seating area on the first floor with tea & coffee available all day to make for yourself with books and travel guides people have donated to read.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Michael from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in January 2013
The Hotel I would love to say is mine
I like everything
Its difficult to write a review on a Hotel you have stayed in 8 or 9 times and had an excellent time every time. I have recommended this hotel to my friends who now also stay here on their visits to Chiang Mai I have never been disappointed by this hotel, its like a home from home and I will be staying here again and again throughout 2013. The bed is comfortable and pleasing to look at, the bathroom is excellent with shower gel and shampoo provided in real quirt bottles, but sachets are also provided. There is a seating area on the first floor with tea & coffee available all day to make for yourself with books and travel guides people have donated to read.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Chris from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
no elevator, do not count on breakfast
roomy deluxe room on the third floor
The faucet spins around in my room, not stable. Room was big enough, paper thin blanket, cheap shower. Calking stains, problem. There is only 1 kind of bread at the B/F, there is no cheese nor veggies for your omelet so, it is actually just eggs. Instant coffee, instant tea, corn flakes, what stunned me was "margarine" ...we know margarine's almost liquid plastic, one molecule away from Plastic, we refused to touch. But it's what you like, some people don't care. With this price, Royal Princess Hotel sells at almost the same price with real buffet breakfast, and with real brewed coffee and tea, this hotel's breakfast was too simply cheap. Locally, the bread is so cheap and variety of kind exists at nice bread store, such as dark bread, rye bread, real french bread kind (one single long french bread is $1!) , why such crappy square, boring bread? It was almost insult level breakfast with that price, I thought this is a decent boutique hotel, not backpacker's hotel. It's such a SHAME to throw such junk breakfast to lower the hotel reputation. SAD. Service was OK. No elevator.
Reviewed February 07, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: