Very good 8.0
Based on 161 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 161 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 6.7
Sort by

Duane from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
thai style for a decent price
close to good food and lots of sights in the old city
Laid back open air Thai style hotel. I would share a room with a friend anytime.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

jisca from Netherlands
Solo travelers
Double Standard Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Good choice for affordable budget
Great location
The guesthouse is located right behind the sundaynight market and in between some of Chiangmai's great temples in the old city. There are only a few rooms in a secluded little area right behind a main street and therefore away from any noise. The rooms aren't very big but foreseen of all comfort and most importantly to me, very clean and a fine bed. Staff are very helpfull. A reccomendation for travelers that like to explore the old city and like a bit of privacy.
Reviewed November 08, 2012

Jeannette from United Kingdom
Couples
Double Standard Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Welcomed with a bottle of cold water.
Good loacation
Don't look for Sparrows Nest, but look out for 'Villa Duang' as this is where you have to check in. We were greeted with a bottle of chilled water (nice touch). We were staying in the budget rooms which are at the rear of Villa Duang. They didn't look much from the outside, but were very clean and tidy, apart from the small hole in the bathroom ceiling. There were 2 bottles of water in the fridge too. Our only complaint, which isn't really the hotels fault, were our noisy neighbours. It would appear that there is little or no sound proofing between the bathrooms, so we could here there converstions well until after 1am on the first night, fortunately, I think they must have checked out on our second night, as it was much quieter. I think for a budget room with no breakfast, it was a little overpriced, there is a lot of chepaer accommodation around, but it is good to have a base for the first day or 2 to get your bearings and find the cheaper option if you are in a budget. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the food, every other place is somewhere to eat!
Reviewed November 02, 2012

Caileigh from United States
Couples
Double Standard Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Nice, clean, little place with a friendly staff.
Location, clean, good price, cute
This little place was a good price, in a great location, and was clean. We reserved the room for 2 nights and ended up staying a 3rd which was easy enough with the front desk staff who spoke perfect English. The bed was a typical rock hard Asian bed, but we slept great our whole stay. Clean towels and main service in the room every day too. The place was a little trick to find since it's tucked away in the back of Villa Duang Champa and the two are associated in some way so if you go to the Villa, the staff there can help you. Sparrow Nest is located right in the middle of of the Sunday Market and has a few bars/restaurants nearby. Also, it's just a short 15 minutes walk to where the Chiang Mai party scene is if that's what you're looking for. But because of it's location, it's nice and quiet and a bit removed from that party scene. Perfect for couples that don't want to spend all their time out at bars. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Chiang Mai!
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Kian from Malaysia
Couples
Double Standard Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Convenient and Quiet
Clean, retro style, near the actions, yet quiet.
we stayed here 13-14 october. the room was lovely, with very nice deco, especially the bathroom. we are not comparing it with a full-priced hotel, as this is a guest house and costs only about usd20 per night, but even a proper hotel might not be much better than this. the room was clean, especially the bathroom. the tv was in a retro style, which fits the room deco just nicely, the cabinet is a glass one with wooden frame - just great! and the bed sheet is very fine too. they provide room cleaning and towel change while we were out - somwething we didn't expect for a guest house at this price level (if we knew this in advance, we would have instructed them not to change the towels - they were used just once). now about the location - just perfect, it is at the middle of the road that hosts the sunday night market, just 20 meters away from the action. please not to confuse this with the night bazaar - not worth going as they sell more fake goods and expensive too. the sunday night market is not to be missed, it is cheap, have more variety, and feels more like a carnival. you should start by 6 pm, as you won't be able to see everything by the time they close at 10pm. we would come back to stay if we return next time. highly recommended.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Anong from Thailand
Couples
Double Standard Air Conditioning
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Nice service & clean room
Chilling hotel
Very nice service staff. We're chilling there. I love to sit and see people walk outside hotel on Wualai walking street on sunday.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Carrie from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in July 2012
Very convenient location, dark but clean rooms
Nice staff, good location
the guest house is located in the back of a fancier hotel. the location is perfect for enjoying the sunday walking street market and other attractions around chiang mai. the rooms are not really suitable for spending much time in, but are perfectly comfortable for sleeping and other basic needs. the bed was clean and comfortable, and the staff from the hotel up front was very friendly and kind.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Safiye from Germany
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Simple rooms, nice staff
Good location
The rooms are simple and clean. Also the location is pretty good. I would not to stay for solo travelers the place, cause it is not so social
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Maria from Portugal
Solo travelers
Double Standard Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Lovely hotel and great staff
Staff, location, comfort and cleanliness
I loved my stay at Sparrow 'Nest. The staff make sure that all was well and they were very kind all the time. The location was ideal for me, right in the center of the Old City, near the main temples and at night was fairly quiet. In the hotel there are yoga classes at a very reasonable price and the teacher is excellent, I recommend seriously to participate.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Wen from China
Groups
Double Standard Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Basic room in great location
great location
the guesthouse is located beside the sunday walking street. the great location made us pretty easy to shop on the market till very late. inside the old city, there are a lot of attractions e.g. old temples, night food and a bar opens till 1am. the room is basic with old furniture. the tv is cute but did not work. the best thing is that it has a private bathroom. one concern is that we saw the corner of the ceiling is transparent for the bedroom and bathroom. you get what you pay for. i think it is quite worthy.
Reviewed May 25, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: