Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 856 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 7.6
Sort by

Jitlada from Thailand
Groups
Deluxe Hillside
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
Great Hotel
Beautiful landscape and setting
This hotel is very nice and located isolately from the busy beaches of Koh Samet. Always love staying there. The service is wonderful. Having roundtrip speed boat included in the room rates is so convenient. The waiting area from the mainland is nice and clean. Will be back there for sure.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Cornelia from Netherlands
Groups
Deluxe Hillside
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
Good hotel at a beautiful location
location, restaurant, well-equipped and clean rooms
This hotel is located at one of the most beautiful beaches on the island. A very peaceful part, which is in contrast to the noisy and busy areas on other parts of the island. The rooms are nice, clean and well-equipped. The restaurant serves very nice food and the staff is friendly. There is a nice pool and the views from the pool deck are stunning.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Yoichiro from Japan
Couples
Deluxe Cottage
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Calm beach
The beach! Up to weather though.
Bungalow style. I satisfied the beach, room, staff, and beautiful sunset. Recommend for people who need calm private beach. There are only three hotels and no other shops. If you need shops and attractions, you need to take truck taxi to the other side. Still restaurant in hotel is good.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Kristen from United States
Families with young children
Deluxe Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Great little weekend getaway
friendly staff, comfortable rooms, quiet location
This was my secord visit to the Ao Prau with my husband and 1 year old daughter. We live in Bangkok, so with it being only a 2.5 hr trip away, it is the perfect weekend getaway. The staff is amazing and was very attentive to our daughter. The rooms were a decent size and comfortable. The beach was nice on our 1st visit, but a lot of trash washed up on shore during our second stay. The staff however, went out early in the morning to clear the beach. Really no sight seeing or nightlife w/in walking distance. Would recommend it for a short stay for some much needed R&R.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Vi from United States
Couples
Deluxe Cottage
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
expensive resort with a dirty beach
private though dirty beach, nice lush cottages
The resort itself is a bit remote, but the private beach was full of trash and rocky sand compared to the public beaches like Hat Sai Kaeo which has fine light-colored sand. Literally, there was a whole glass fluorescent light bulb (the 3-ft long kind) lying on the supposed private exclusive Ao Prao beach. There are like only 3 free shuttles to the island from Rayong. We missed our 1.30pm shuttle, the next free hotel shuttle was at 4pm. So we had to pay 2000B to get a private one, or risk wasting an hour on the public ferry and then having to fine our way to the hotel. The taxis there were an interesting experience. They are green-colored trucks and customers ride on the back of the trucks going full speed on bumpy off-roading rides. The rooms are nice and cute. The food at the resort was terrible and overpriced, but there was nothing else in the area since the resort is remote from the other beaches. We rented a scooter to drive around the island. The roads are pretty bad, unpaved, and rocky, quite dangerous at night. But drive to the bigger public beaches for beach food like cheap papaya salad.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Anshumita from India
Families with older children
Deluxe Hillside
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Awesome Location
location and beach
Wonderful location and beautiful resort... wooden sea facing cottages...
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Brian from Canada
Solo travelers
Deluxe Hillside
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Absolutely charming hotel, amazing staff!!!!
Private beach, beautiful charming location, genuine staff gave best service I've had anywhere, cabins are clean, location is perfect, the Thai food is 10/10 very romantic and relaxing.
This resort is a cluster of cabins carved into the side of a hill. It's 4 star but the staff are 5 star. It really is a unique experience. The setting is on the beautiful private beach shared with 2 small resorts. U can use the amenities at either resort because they are the same company. From the moment you arrive you are treated like royalty, welcome Drinks, and staff that take care of every need, The restaurant has fantastic variety of Thai food and farang food. You have your own personal waiter that stands by and fills your glass, offers u what u need as you need it. I was impressed. And the staff is genuinely happy and caring. Not like some Thai resorts where the smiles are not genuine. Really enjoined the stay. The hotel rooms were really inexpensive for what you get and where it is. I paid approx $100 USD per night during low season. This is the best value on the island. U get 4 star comfort, 5 star service, and private beach with stunningly charming surroundings (the natural surroundings spill into the resort making it really special). The prices in the restaurant are a bit expensive for thailand ($7-12 USD for a meal) but with that said you do get fantastic food it's still a good value because the food is top notch and the view from where u eat is 10/10. Also this resort is about 10 minute taxi from the main area of the island. It's nice because it's away from the noise and crowds. It's seclude and private and you could enjoy days here without leaving. Especially if it's a romantic getaway with relaxing in mind.
Reviewed June 04, 2012

Hyejin from South Korea
Families with young children
Deluxe Hillside
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
Very beautiful beach ,,,, quiet hotel
Nice,, calm.. beautiful beach in front of hotel
Great room ... nice clean.. good space. Good swimming pool in front of beach.. Food not experienced but breakfast was good .. but the food in general looks a bit expensive.
Reviewed June 01, 2012

Dali from China
Couples
Deluxe Hillside
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
great beach with nice rooms
beach, hotel staff and seafood buffet
first time to ao prao, not as crowed as ao chao, sai keaw or ao phai, if you prefer a quiet beach with little disturbance, this is the one. also, a pickup taxi to the fun beaches only take 200 baht. hotel staff is great and the hotel rooms are even better. really like this beach and the hotel. if we have to complain, it would be the massage staff. it seems that the booking for massage never works. after you pay the full amount of massage and make a reservation, you will only find that all massues are occupied. abit dissapointed.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Punnaluck from Thailand
Couples
Deluxe Cottage
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
Ao Prao Resort
service mind, clean, private beach, staffs are very kind and polite.
the hotel is very nice if you go there with family or couple. The beach is very romantic for who like private time.
Reviewed May 16, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: