Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 375 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Room comfort and quality 9.3
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for money 8.8
  • Food and dining 8.0
Sort by

Madalina from Romania
Couple
Panoramic Sea View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Nice stay
Clean, great view, nice pool, good food
Reviewed March 08, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Ninoslav from Serbia
Family with young children
Deluxe Sea View Bungalow
Stayed 7 nights in February 2016
Great room
Beautifull cottage, nice pool, excellent sorounding
If you are coming to 2-3 days rest, than this is place for you. Everything more will be too much, breakfast is sh.t, food is bad, menu needs to be much better and bigger. Glasses and garbage that were on pool stay there during night, when you come to restaurant to eat, nobody will serve you. You need to call them few times, during breakfast old lady doesn't bring you fork and knife. Receptionist will try to overcharge everything, trying to play innocent, like she doesn't know price. We asked for transport to Krabi with ferry, she booked us agency speed boat, 3 times more expensive. She asked 400baht for motorbike, we rented next door for 200 baht. Betterview can be excellent choice, but management must improve service, and change employees for better. No Beach at all, because of tide, only mud, they can build wooden path to deeper water
Reviewed February 22, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Jerry from United States
Couple
Deluxe Sea View Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016
Great spot
Location, staff responsiveness, value
Great. I would come back if possible
Reviewed February 20, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

vanessa from United Kingdom
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
paradise,staff lovely,very quite,food lovely
Tranquility,food,bungalows
My husband and i stayed here for 4 nights, Very quite and relaxing, nothing on this island perfect for getting away from everything and just walking along the beach and reading your book, staff very helpful and the food very good Bungalows are very well looked after Clean and of good size Will go back another time Perfect for getting getting away from everything
Reviewed January 20, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Maja from Poland
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Quiet hidden spot
Nice rooms, nice food
Everything excellent except lack of Sandy beach (concrete wall is a border of nice garden and see) and long waiting for meal. Rooms very nice and comfortable, quiet and hidden place. Great to rest.
Reviewed January 12, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Stephen from Ireland
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 7 nights in December 2015
Perfect Place to Sit Back and Relax
The View, The Rooms, The Peace & Quiet.
This hotel is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Ko Yao Yai is the place to go to escape the madness of Phuket and the Betterview is perfect place to sit back unwind and enjoy the silence. The hotel sits on the east coast of the island with beautiful views across the bay towards Hong Island and surrounding islands. Whilst it's located on the coast, you can only really swim at high tide as it's all costal mudflats on that side of the island, even at high tide it didn't look too appealing so I stuck to the pool which was fine. The rooms are furnished to a very high standard and set in beautiful tropical gardens. The food was always good and reasonably priced, however it is probably a bit expensive compared to some of the local restaurants, which you can find dotted around the island if you hire a moped from the hotel at 300 thb per day. My only real comlaint or concern about this hotel is that in about 2 places the decking around pool has rotted through leaving 2 gaping holes, which is quite dangerous especially to small kids, and I dont understand why they don't just get it fixed, I'd imagine the cost of a few planks of wood and labour would not be expensive in Thailand.
Reviewed January 11, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Chandra from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Sea View Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in November 2015
A beautiful view from the verandah
The room was very comfortable , a great view from the verandah, the chef was very sweet.
It was very enjoyable, we had a couple of issues with the room but were able to change with no problems. The restaurant does not really cater for vegetarians, that could definitely be improved. Also the breakfast offering could definitely do with an upgrade. Overall a lovely place, very relaxing.
Reviewed December 11, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Alli from United States
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Good place but the island itself....
Staff, bathroom facilities, scooter rental
This bungalow was really nice, air con and very large bathroom were great. Nam was able answer all of our questions and to help organize our transfers and they also rent out scooters. While our stay at Betterview was pleasant, there is something travelers need to know before coming to Koh Yao Yai. There is not much at all to do on the island, it seems as if they locals don´t really want the tourists and therefore haven´t made much of an effort to accommodate their needs. There are three restaurants apart from our hotel restaurant, and there are a few very small mini marts for necessities. You must rent a scooter to get around the island, but even then there is not a lot to see or do. You can´t swim at the ocean outside of the bungalow here because the tide is too far out. It feels like the whole island is in bed by 10pm so if you are a night owl it could get pretty lonely. You really really need to be quite happy sitting by the pool for the entirety of your stay...if that´s you, then it´s perfect. Again, our stay at the bungalow itself was pleasant but I wouldn´t go back because it wasnt really our type of island.
Reviewed November 28, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Tatjana from Germany
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 6 nights in November 2015
Awesome stay, highly recommended!
Silence, private jacuzzi, food, pool
Reviewed November 08, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Deborah from South Africa
Group
Deluxe Garden Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in October 2015
Fabulous
Rooms, staff, views
Stunning return visit with friends. Beautiful resort with 12 bungalows. Panoramic bungalow 101 has best views and privacy. Next best is 205. Breakfast nothing to write home about but the lunch and dinner meals are lovely.
Reviewed October 28, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: