Excellent 8.2
Based on 89 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 89 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 7.4
  • Room comfort and quality 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 8.5
  • Food and dining 7.2
Sort by

padmanaban from India
Couples
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Cheap and worth for short stay
Friendly staff, good choice for family, quite surrounding
Reviewed May 20, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

mike from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Deluxe
Stayed one night in April 2014
Adequate Hotel - but there are better ones
front desk staff
Hotel is ok for the price, although there are many other hotels in the same price range closer to the beach/nightlife. Location is ok, but you have to walk on the road to get anywhere (no footpaths in this area). Massage was good, if available (not always available even when only 6 people staying in the whole hotel...). Staff are great compared to most other hotels in Thailand, they speak english very well and are very attentive. Bathroom is pretty basic, no toiletries just a soap/shampoo dispenser. One of the main attractions of this hotel is supposed to be that it is away from the noise, but unfortunately there is quite a lot of construction nearby. Breakfast is very basic, no buffet. Personally I would not stay here again, there are better options closer to the beach.
Reviewed May 01, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

ILYA from Russia
Solo travelers
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in January 2014
Good hotel at Nanai road
Staff, nice room, surroundings
During my check in, I was given a studio room (free upgrade) - thanks to the staff and the room was really nice! Bad WiFi in the rooms, so sometimes I had to use lobby WiFi. During my check out, I had a bill for mineral water (30 baht). I know, I didn't drink it, so that was strange. I explained the situation to the staff - and hope they understood me, cos I didn't pay for it at the end.
Reviewed January 19, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Jeff from United States
Couples
Deluxe
Stayed 13 nights in December 2013
A little gem away from the noise of Patong
Wonderful staff, good food, atmosphere
We loved the Sun Hill Hotel! It's not right down in the city of Patong but within easy walking distance (15-20 minutes) or take a cab for 200 THB. The hotel will arrange taxis to and from the hotel (and other places)for approximately 600 THB which is very reasonable as it is almost an hour from the airport. Don't catch a taxi outside the airport or you will pay 2500 THB! The staff was very friendly and helpful and the owner greeted us each evening we came in to eat and obviously cared about his guests comfort. The reviewer who spoke otherwise of management was way off base in our experience. The rooms were very clean and we loved the towels folded into different shapes every day. The laundry service was wonderful and I didn't find the mini bar too expensive. Less expensive than in the U.S. for sure. The young lady who waited on us at breakfast was wonderful and had a great sense of humor. If you have need of a physician there, I'd recommend using one other than the hotel recommends. The ladies at the front desk were great too and there was usually one on duty who spoke pretty good English. We live in South Korea and they spoke far more English than you'll find here. The pool could use a little maintenance on the grout but was fine though small. If you want a fast taxi just walk across the street to the little lady that sells gas for scooters (which the hotel also rents) and she will take you where you want to go. I highly recommend the Sun Hill Hotel and should we ever visit Patong again (and if we do it won't be during the crowded December holidays) we will definitely stay at Sun Hill. My ONLY complaint was the slow or non-existent internet and that was a real problem. I think it's a Thailand problem though.
Reviewed January 13, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Lauren from United Kingdom
Couples
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
2 nights in Patong
Cheap but good service, not very noisy at night time.
Helpful front desk booking tours and a taxi. A shame about the breakfast, choose from a short menu and not terribly filling.
Reviewed January 11, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Shelley from New Zealand
Families with older children
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013
Good location
Pool , location,scooter hire
Excellent we loved our stay there,would book there again if in Phuket.
Reviewed January 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

MERUYERT from Kazakhstan
Groups
Deluxe
Stayed 9 nights in December 2013
A great place!
Clean, comfortable, nor expensive
Firstly, I felt that Sun Hill is far away from beach, but later it took me only about 15 min to get to the beach, so for those who doesn't mind to have a walk, the location of Sun Hill is pretty comfortable. And I feel that this hotel is very nice for those who can't deal with the noise on Bangla road, because the place is very quite. I would advice this hotel as Family hotel or Romantic hotel for honeymoon even. However, there were some small issues, for example the shower gel and shampoo batcher didn't work well, wifi didn't work inside the room it worked only outside or near reception. But anyway, I love the place!
Reviewed January 03, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Joy from Indonesia
Couples
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
all is good
large room, clean hotel, friendly staff
we stayed there for 3 nights. we booked a superior room and they upgraded ours to deluxe. the room is big with balcony and mini kitchen. the hotel isn't too close to the nightlife, so it's pretty quite for resting. one day we come back to phuket, this hotel will be the first option^_^
Reviewed January 02, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Colin from United Kingdom
Couples
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Fantastic value for money
Staff, comfort of the room, price
The rooms are very clean, the beds extremely comfortable and the staff very helpful. The rooms have everything you need and the shower is better than most 4* hotels. There are restaurants and bars a few minutes walk away but the centre of Patong is about a 15 minute walk away and the first part is along a busy road without a pavement which might be a problem with young children. Taxis are plentiful but operate a one way system round the resort with a flat fare of 200 bht (approx £4)which soon mounts up. However, the price makes this a great option if you wish to stay in Patong.
Reviewed November 26, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Mohd from Malaysia
Couples
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Wonderful Stay
Location, price, room
This hotel is located roughly 5 minutes from central nightlife area of Patong and Patong beach itself but being located at the hill side circling Patong, gives it a sense of tranquility and quitness. Thus it is highly recommended to those looking for some quite and pricate place but still located near to the main attraction. Staffs are friendly and they have ample parking space,greatly appreciated for those who rent cars or bikes. Rooms are spacious and nicely designed with traditional elements. Overall a wonderful experience and will definitely return
Reviewed October 26, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: