Very good 7.8
Based on 166 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 166 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 6.8
Sort by

GRAEME from United Kingdom
Couple
Lake View
Stayed one night in September 2014
Lake View
Lake view from upper floors, friendly staff, great central location
We asked for a lake view which was really lovely, especially at night time. They only have 2 rooms with a lake view as they are tucked in a side street so the rooms on the lower floors don't have this. The staff were friendly but the price jumped up when we stayed an extra night as we had not booked that night on agoda so we were charged the walk-in price. It is on one of the 'bar roads' which is useful with a charming bar called the 'polite bar' just around the corner.
Reviewed October 01, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

John from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed one night in January 2014
NO WINDOW ROOMS!!
only location, rest everything bad especially the room with no window
NOTHING GOOD IF YOU LIKE A FAKE WINDOW, FEELS LIFE A JAIL!!
Reviewed September 17, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

gail from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed one night in September 2014
Centrally located and modern facitities
My room, the friendly staff, and centrally located
It was the second time in two years that I have stayed here. Although some staff are new employees they none the less looked after me impeccably. There was nothing that they baulked at and were of great comfort to me, especially when I thought I had lost my purse. On back-tracking my movements (at their insistence), my purse was found at a handicraft shop where I had put it on the table instead of straight into my bag. I booked my Sapa trip with the travel desk in the foyer and enjoyed it immensely. The travel desk gave me a good price and the tour was extremely well organized. My room was well set out, clean and I could not have expected much more than was delivered. Thank you for the lovely stay and thanks for insisting I back-track and look for my purse. The buffet breakfast was very comprehensive and served up on the top floor, which has a stunning view of Hoan Kiem Lake. Thanks again for a nice stay at your hotel, I will be back again soon.
Reviewed September 06, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Walter from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed one night in August 2014
Great hotel in old quarter
Great location, breakfast, staff
The staff at Golden Lakeside Hotel is second to none; the rooms are of a high standard, and a reasonably good price and the service was impeccable! The staff went above the service norms to make our stay enjoyable and ensured we got the best out of our time in Hanoi. Mr Peter especially helped us out, and added so much in making our journey run smoothly, from organising our Halong Bay Cruise, to organising taxi's and even making us a packed up breakfast for our early morning departure (just so sweet)! they treat you like family and I shall definitely be returning! Thank you again to all the staff concerned....
Reviewed September 03, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Walter from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed one night in August 2014
GREAT LOCATION AND FRIENDLY STAFF
Great location in old quarter, friendly staff and clean room
The Golden Lakeside Hotel was fantastic – clean, spacious, and with a location so close to Hoan Kiem Lake and within walking distance of all the Old Quarter sites it was just the place for us. The staff were exceptional, efficient and friendly. Mr Son from the tourist desk organised our travel to several places much cheaper than we could have gotten them on the net or at home. The doormen, whose smiles would light any room, helped with our luggage, and shopping and was always very pleased to see us. They were all an extremely friendly and welcoming group of people who made our whole trip to Vietnam a memorable one. The travel desk at the Golden Lakeside Hotel was efficient and everything they arranged for us was first class, completely error free and ran smoothly. The buffet breakfast that is included in the room rate was delicious and plentiful. Every day we would find ourselves going back for seconds. With the free internet and computer access available to guests, this hotel is extremely good value for money and deserving of a higher star rating – it was certainly amazing value for money and will be my choice again when I can fit in a return trip to Vietnam.
Reviewed September 03, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Heather from United States
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Sadly overrated and overpriced
Large room, good location near lake and shopping
I have no idea why this hotel has received high review scores. Our first room we were given was very small with beds that were two feet higher than normal (unsafe for children) and an open window that went out into the stairwell. Anyone could look into the room, and children could climb up and fall out of the window. The bathroom had no tub. We asked to change the room and were given the option to upgrade for $20 per night more. The next room was larger and had a bathtub, however the tub leaked all over the floor of the bathroom. We called the front desk to get it checked and to clean up all the water because it was slippery. The front desk person was well aware of the problem and said the owner did not want to fix it because they would have to replace the tub! Many other problems staying here such as being grossly overcharged for laundry by KG (5x the going rate in the neighborhood, and the laundry came back 3 hours late and wrinkled, not folder). Breakfast area had a nice view and selection was okay. I absolutely do not recommend staying here for anyone, but especially families with young children.
Reviewed August 31, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Wornwipha from Thailand
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Good
Service
Reviewed July 30, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Pravesh from India
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Good Hotel
staff was nice & i really enjoyed , Food was nice & location
It was good , staff was nice & i really enjoyed to be there on holiday
Reviewed July 28, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

alan from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed one night in June 2014
very dissapointing
the bathroom flooded at every shower -- the toilet was side saddle ( no room to sit ) air conditioer not working bed very hard the whole hotel was not conditioned ( very hot everywhere food was disscusting & not much of it the 4 of us checked out & stayed 50 meters away at the pearl hotel 4 5 days ( same rate ) great hotel
Reviewed July 07, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Julian from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed one night in June 2014
Great value and helpful staff
Clean comfortable rooms, attentive staff and great value for money.
Excellent place to stay and vet the most out of the old quarter of Hanoi
Reviewed June 11, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: