Very good 7.0
Based on 48 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 48 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Location 7.5
  • Room comfort and quality 7.6
  • Service 6.8
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food and dining 5.8
Sort by

Christopher from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 23 nights in October 2012
OK. Cheap and cheerless
Price and location
I chose the Venus because it was close to my office for a 4 week business stay and all I needed was a clean bed and tranquillity. The room was satisfactory with a small window. The Internet connection worked but was a bit idiosyncratic at times. Breakfast was a disaster even if you are prepared to eat local. There was no buffet but you ordered a dish from the lad and he finds it in the kitchen. I tried several local noodle or soups dishes but the tell-tale ping from the kitchen betrayed the microwaved pot noodles. Even a bacon and egg sandwich managed to be uneatable. No fruit, no juice. Bad brewed instant coffee. Despite being a fairly long-stay guest there was no concession made such as water in the room or preference being asked for breakfast. Even arriving after a 24 hours flight a couple of hours before the official check-in time, although the room was ready, they insisted on my coughing up Đ200,000 in cash to access it early. Like many Hanoi private old hotels it was rather shabby and run-down.
Reviewed November 02, 2012

Laura from Finland
Group
VIP room
Stayed 13 nights in October 2012
Disappointed..
friendly staff, location good, trip to Halong Bay very good (booked via hotel)
We booked a VIP room for three persons, but only had beds for two. We had to argue a little to get an extra bed for free and finally when we got it, it was a rock hard mattress on the floor. Cleaning was poor. They didn't clean every day and didn't change sheets and towels as well. There was dust everywhere after a few days (we stayed there for two weeks). There were also spiderwebs all over room. Water was not free. Breakfast was also poor. They did have menu with many dishes, but they didn't have ingredients for all of them. And they only served coffee and tea to drink. We also had a mouse in our room. To include this all, the room was not VIP.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Bruce from Australia
Business traveler
VIP room
Stayed 5 nights in July 2012
Hotel rooms are small even though I book the VIP
Staffs are friendly and good services
This hotel facility are not for 3 stars hotel. The hotel is small specially the rooms even though I booked the VIP room which only compare to other 3 starts hotel standard rooms. The only positive about this hotel is the staffs are very friendly and willing to go out of their way to comfort you. Oh. don't try the coffee.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Choon from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Great Location but Small Room
Central location within walking distance to key places
Breakfast was good local food. But the rooms are small and dim.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

James from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 19 nights in August 2012
Good, quiet location, good room,
Friendly, helpful staff
My second stay here as the location, price, room facilities and service suit me. A good plain hotel, with adequate sized rooms and facilities
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Nawin from
Solo traveler
VIP room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012
disappointment
nothing
If I visist Hanoi I will not stay there again. I payed for vip room. the room was nice but I have to pay for water( not much money but It should be free) and the reception said It will be small bottle but I stay there for 4 night and no bottle water. no safe box. no towel when I forgot tip for house keeping.. but the reception is nice.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Lien from Vietnam
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed one night in May 2012
Good
the bed is good
I like it. everything seems good,serves not bad. i think i will come back here when i come back Ha noi
Reviewed June 08, 2012

James from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 26 nights in March 2012
Small, friendly and efficient in quiet location
Friendly staff give the hotel a family atmosphere
My stay was fine; not many other customers, so quiet, and everything worked.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Elias from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012
Good for a few days stay
Good wifi, good shower, nice staff
This hotel is about a 5 min. taxi ride, or 15 min. walk, south of Hoan Kiem Lake. So if you want to be away from the noise and hustle of the Old Quarter, it's not a bad choice. It's also a 10 min. walk from Vincom Ctr. Overall, it's a good value for money. All the basic things you need in a budget hotel are there, plus some nice "surprises": * very good wireless (instant connection and no drop offs) * bathtub with shower, with great shower pressure, ample hot water for about 10 min (then you have to wait about 15 min. for tank refill) * good bed mattress for Asia standards * nice, friendly staff, ready to answer any questions, and, most importantly, didn't offer their tour services at all (I thought I was not in Vietnam!) Certain things were lacking, such as, no soap(!), (I had to use the bath gel), no coffee/tea packets, and no bottled water. Furniture is old, but the LCD TV is ok. Didn't try the breakfast, just had a cup of coffee once. I asked for a quiet room, and I was given a room facing the back, with window grills that barely opened, but with natural light coming from the bathroom. Even though the room is quiet from the street noise, as the building is old and with wooden floors, it suffers from noise coming from the other guests (hint for fellow travelers: when in Asia, take off your shoes in your room, it avoids disturbing your neighbors, and you'll avoid being branded the "callous/stupid westerner")
Reviewed February 09, 2012

Annie from Malaysia
Group
Suite
Stayed one night in January 2012
Good value for clean room and good location
Clean and spacious room - bathroom with jacuzzi tub! Attentive service.
we booked a "suite" room and the room we got was just a bigger size double. however, it was still good value for the money we paid so we didn't complain. hotel facilities and amenities were basic but adequate - we did not have the leisure to fully utilise the jacuzzi tub! hotel staff were attentive and willing to serve but none have a good grasp of english so communication was a bit difficult. location of hotel is good - just a short taxi ride from old quarters for shopping and there are cafe and stalls for local coffee and food nearby.
Reviewed January 18, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: