Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 33 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Location 7.5
  • Room comfort and quality 7.2
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food and dining 5.6
Sort by

Lisa from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Good sized room in quiter location
room size and value for money
Good sized room with good facilities. However, is a little far away if you want to be close to the old quarter. Breakfast was also not good
Reviewed October 16, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Joanne from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed one night in September 2012
Very clean and tidy hotel
comfortable beds
Very friendly and courteous staff would recommend to all of my friends.
Reviewed October 06, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Kevin from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
A small hotel, with a good location.
Reception staff made us feel welcome right from the moment of arrival
we decided to stay at the van mieu hotel for 2 days before we joined a 15 day tour group. this hotel was listed on the internet with very good reviews and this was a deciding factor. the staff were extremely helpful and gave us maps with points of interest clearly marked - we didn't even have to ask for them. the rooms may be small by our own personal standards, but were more than adequate for our requirements. linen was changed each day and room cleaned. free water and use of the internet. pleasant free breakfast with a good selection of both asian and european dishes.
Reviewed May 14, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Peter from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed one night in February 2012
"Good location and friendly staff"
Great central location
we were in hanoi for 3 days in total and as we were on an intrepid tour we had a day in halong bay so the staff ensured that we had the same room when we returned which was great. the rooms are nothing elaborate but lets remember that you are staying in 2 star accommodation. the rooms are possibly a little bit small if you have a lot of luggage or are doing a lot of shopping but we found the room functional and quite central. easy walk to the station as well if you are going to do the overnight train. the foyer could do with a paint but overall we were happy with the accommodation.
Reviewed March 03, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Dinh from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed one night in February 2012
Good hotel and friendly staff.
Clean, tidy and good location closed to train station.
This hotel is very clean and tidy. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They are always smiling when helping guests. It is a good location that is closed to the central train station, where guests can have trains to North or South; and/or to market or Van Mieu. However, it is far a way to city center or the Hoan Kiem lake (the fares of taxi from the hotel to Hoan Kiem lake would be approximately VN 50,000 dong by Mai Linh taxis; and approximately VN 40,000 Dong by Thanh Nga or Thanh Cong taxis). Breakfast is not too good, but it is OK for whom may want to have a budget hotel or it does not matter.
Reviewed February 14, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Jacqueline from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in November 2011
Value for money
Accommodation is very cheap and includes breakfast
you get what you pay for! the rooms are an ok size, but the beds are not super comfortable. the hotel is a fair walking distance from the old town. great restaurants close by.
Reviewed January 04, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Meredith from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
Trying to be hip
Good value
The bed was pretty good, although overall could use a touch up. Staff was not helpful. Close to sky train.
Reviewed November 20, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?

Kiyo from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed one night in October 2011
Great location but bathroom and noise issues
Located very close to attractions in Hanoi, Price was good, staff were generally friendly
Main reason for picking this hotel was because I booked Intrepid tour and is one of the hotels they use in Hanoi. I found the location great because it was possible to reach most of the attractions without having a taxi. Temple of literature is practically just 1-2 min walk. Hotel is easy to find and the staff were generally friendly, but I would like to bring up several points: 1) Level of English ability varies and I found that it was difficult to communicate with some staff (some have good English) 2) The bathroom I had (I heard some rooms are different) did not have separate shower via partitions so having a shower = wet floor (flooded due to poor drainage). Additionally, I had difficulty getting hot water.... except one morning when I had shower really early around 7am. 3) Likely similar to most hotels but can get noisy from around 6am or so (cars/motorbike horns), and room curtains not enough so room gets bright when the sun comes up
Reviewed November 14, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?

Gary from Austria
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
Comfortable friendly hotel but a bit worn.
Close to some good restaurants and local markets.
This is a buget hotel that is comfortable and friendly although a bit frayed around the edges. If you want the Ritz don't stay here. The staff were young and very friendly.
Reviewed November 09, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?

Stefanie from Austria
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed one night in October 2011
Only for a short stay
Helpful staff
This hotel is not in the center of Hanoi, but you can walk in 10 minutes to the old quarter. Unfortunatley the hotel was not that clean and most of the furniture was broken and appliances not working properly.
Reviewed November 07, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: