2015
Excellent 8.5
Based on 3140 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3140 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Room comfort and quality 8.6
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food and dining 8.1
Sort by

Warren from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Colonial Elegance
Location; Atmosphere; Breakfasts
On the many visits to Saigon we had never stayed at The Majestic but had always enjoyed a sundowner on the roof top (the very, very top!) bar. For a special celebration with family we decided to splash-out on a 3 night stay. It’s a wonderful place together with several other colonial hotels in that area. The breakfasts were awesome and taken on the roof-top with great views of the river. The only aspect that was below expectations in our opinion was the room itself. Although comfortable in almost all respects when booking a special 90 year Celebration Colonial Room we expected tall ceilings and ceiling to floor French windows…but far from it! The room was nothing exceptional and was in fact a great disappointment. Other from that the stay was magic and the management and staff were kind and considerate on our special day.
Reviewed September 18, 2015

hong from South Korea
Business traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
best architecture. other are soso
location, architecture
crean, but too expansive. ^^
Reviewed September 16, 2015

Anila from New Zealand
Couple
Colonial Suite
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Best Hotel worst Breeze Sky Bar
Decor, Room size, Welcome staff
We stayed in the Majestic Suite for 4 days and 3 nights. The room was beautifully decorated and very big. If you are more than 80 kgs, I don't think you would fit into the shower. It is minute compared to the rest of the suite. The welcome staff and reception are cordial. Breakfast was a let down at The Breeze Sky Bar. The cereals were stale, the food overcooked and dry and the staff have no idea of Vietnamese hospitality. From the restaurant Manager to the waiters, the attitude was poor and you felt as if you were imposing if you required any assistance. Shocking service for a Hotel of this calibre.The decor is seriously lacking finesse and the floors look in need of a good scrub. Don't venture to have the buffet dinner here as I haven't seen anyone one there in the 3 nights that we spent at the hotel. The good news is that you do not have to eat at the hotel because there are lots of great restaurants within walking distance. I won't go back there if the Breeze Sky Bar is not improved, unless there are more choices of where one can have breakfast at the Hotel.
Reviewed September 15, 2015

Joseph from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Showing its age
View from restaurant, breakfast, doorman
Reviewed September 15, 2015

supara from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
good location but poor service
good history great location
Reviewed September 14, 2015

Hock from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Old hotel
Location, Location, Location
The Firework of independence day is just out of my Window (only apply for river view room), location is good, staff in good manner and design is nice. But room is old, buffet so so and outdoor area is quite hot. Not really like it, but see the new expansion beside this hotel, hope it will be more fashion.
Reviewed September 08, 2015

John from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Disappointing
position, staff and leaving
Room was without a view unless service pipes and a flat roof qualify as a view ! Bathroom drained into the room. Generally a gloomy place.
Reviewed September 06, 2015

Anabelle from France
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Pleasant break
staff attentive, confort of bedding, feeling of the old fashion style
Reviewed September 02, 2015

Henry from Australia
Group
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
Everything was great however...
Cleanliness, spacious rooms, and great customer service
For a 90 year old hotel that's been restored, it's a great place to stay. It's right next to the river and a busy road intersection. The windowed doors truly block out 90% of the sound. The rooms are absolutely clean and the room make up each day meets the 5 star standard. There's satellite TV to keep you entertained as well as cold relaxing air cons in the room. If I were to make a half-negative comment about this hotel it would have to be its location. There's nothing they can do about location but if you are travelling to Ho Chi Minh for shopping and eating then there are a few other hotels closer to these hot spots like Rex, or Intercontinental (both in district 1). Majestic is definitely great for the views of the river and if you don't mind walking in the heat for around a KM to get to places like Ben Thanh market or Saigon Square 1 and 3. Majestic is truly an old building but it makes you appreciate the historic side of its making decades ago. Taxis are cheap and there's always a taxi for 4 or 6 people waiting outside the hotel. Keep in mind not to offer any tips to helping staff. I didn't realize that it was an offense to offer. I was "not kindly" rejected by the Bell boy when he was taking our luggage downstairs. The culture in Vietnam is very simple. Of course there are still some dodgy people there but the majority are very nice, helpful, and honest.
Reviewed September 02, 2015

Lee from Malaysia
Couple
Colonial Suite
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
Good location
good location, spacious and lovely
The location make travelling to few of the attractions at Ho Chi Minh city really easy. The view from the rooftop bar and restaurant overlooking the Saigon river was great in day and night. Good stay! ❤️ #colonialsuite
Reviewed September 01, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: