Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2283 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 8.1
Sort by

Mahendren from Malaysia
Family with young children
Rex Suite
Stayed 5 nights in December 2011
lovely hotel
swimming pool was awesome
It's really a 5-star lobby with 4-star rooms but by any standards this place is very comfortable and in a great location. Based on other reviews, we went for a room in the new wing and ended up with a great view over the impressive garden square out front.
Reviewed April 04, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Amanda from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Good location
Good location and roof top bar.
The room we stayed in was in the old wing It was large and comfortable. It is very retro, so pending your taste you may prefer the new wing. The breaksfast buffet is vast but the hot food not very good.
Reviewed April 03, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Bruce from Japan
Couple
Rex Suite
Stayed one night in March 2012
Nice hotel in the center of Saigon
Rooms were clean and interior of hotel was very classic and elegent
stayed only 1 nite but enjoyed the hotel, the room, and breakfast. had a semi suite the room was fairly big although i expected it to have a separate bedroom which it did not.
Reviewed April 03, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

HELEN from Australia
Group
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
Great location. Good sized rooms.
Hotel has 2 pools and tennis court, rooftop bar
We moved to the Rex because it had a pool ans Saigon was hot. Enjoyed breakfast both outdoors and inside.Close to quality shopping and short walks to recommended museums and market.
Reviewed April 03, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Darren from Australia
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
OK, but not what expected.
Location - that's about it.
Recently rennovated but rennovations appeared to be as thrifty as possible. I stayed in the old wing that is still "old" despite being rennovated. A noisy airconditioner combined with extremely spartan rooms and tiny TV in a difficult-to-view location did not really make a memorable stay. A simple door-lock and key did not provide much confidence with room security either. Not all bad though, the staff were helpful and friendly, the breakfast on the 5th floor was nice and of course the location was probably as good as it gets. Lots of history and nostalgia is associated with this hotel. To me, the new-look REX appeared a strange combination of beautiful high-end shops (yet completely devoid of customers) with rooms of disappointing quality that were not maintained particularly well. This hotel needs to do more to focus on those who actually stay in their rooms. There was no feedback form available in rooms or elsewhere for guests to even offer a comment. Enough said.
Reviewed April 02, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

John from New Zealand
Couple
Premium
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
Nice hotel, new wing features great rooms
Location, room size
Enjoyed the Rex thoroughly. Nice rooms and good facilities.
Reviewed April 02, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Wei from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed one night in March 2012
Great Location
Spacious
it was one of the most prestige hotel in vietnam with lots of international boutique shops within the hotel. i was staying in the old wing and it looked quiet and deserted. it was surprise that despite it is a 5 star hotel, they are still using the key system... the breakfast was normal. but overall it is well located.
Reviewed April 02, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Aubrey from United States
Couple
Premium
Stayed one night in March 2012
Welcome break from the bustle
the bed, the gym, the breakfast
After having lived and travelled in Vietnam for 3 months now, in starless hotels, guesthouses and a an awful 4.5 star experience in Malaysia, I met my boyfriend in Saigon and surprised him by staying at the Rex for our anniversary. It was a perfect break for him after travelling for 24 hours, me for 12 and for the both of us after not seeing one another for 2 weeks. They let us check in early, which was kind, prices are normal for the location, although they are pretty stingy/stickler about rules, which I find to be true in the Vietnamese way of thought, it can come across as harsh. Example; on the website it is advertised that at 6 o'clock there is a magic show, showmanship and half off appetizers, though this is no longer true, they would not honor this. As I checked in my room was not yet ready so I had a cup of tea on the roof while everyone was eating breakfast, I offered to pay for it;and as confronted by 4 or 5 different people that I was not allowed to have breakfast yet, although I just wanted a cup of tea. Just examples, the gym is great although the sauna is only for men and steamrooms are gender seperate. Pool is great in HCM as it can get so hot and theres not a lot to do if youve been there before. They let me use business center computers as well. Airport transportation not clear, it costs 40 USD one way from airport. Taxi is 5, but is like 2 cents and equally as fast. Also, thy let us drink a bottle of wine from France that my bf brought back on the roof which was kind.
Reviewed March 30, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Forbrich from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
Great Location, A Living, Historic Monument
Incredibly helpful staff and perfect location
i have seldom experienced better service in my visits to 66+ countries. the hotel is a monument to the lost war, beautiful both outside and inside, if you apreciate well working and well preserved plumbing and room appointments. expect the old. be an antiquarian at heart. the food is quite good on the rooftop restaurant.
Reviewed March 28, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Pote from Thailand
Business traveler
Stayed one night in March 2012
Room is nice with good service
Location and Service
Location is centrally located in District 1, where the business centre is situated therein Hochiminh City. Very convenient for all meetings both leisure and business. All hotel staff are very friendly with dedicated good service to all guests. Most guests staying there are mostly regular guests
Reviewed March 28, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: