Book Now: Auangkham Resort

Excellent
From 585 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
Recommended by 93% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (585)Booking.com Reviews (13)
8.2
Excellent
From 585 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.8
Facilities7.8
Location8.1
Room comfort and quality8.6
Service8.5
Value for money8.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
ภาษาไทย
English
Deutsch
Français
more
Room type
Deluxe (Double)
Superior (Twin)
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 572 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Morakot from Thailand
Group
Superior (Twin)
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Nice decoration and ambience”
Plenty of plants, decoration, staff
Reviewed January 04, 2015
8.7
Excellent
areeya from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
nice place, good location , very nice staff...”
service, location, activity
Warm welcome like home and nice city...
Reviewed December 22, 2014
7.7
Very good
Tamas from Hungary
Solo traveler
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Clean and quiet place”
Quiet, nice garden, clean room
The resort has a very friendly environment with a nice garden and outise sofas, chairs, and hammocks around. No noisy neighbours which comes from the fact that the resort is in a suburb area, still convenience stores and restaurants in 5-10 min walking distance. The only disadvantage of the place is that basically they do not have dedicated parking area, only just a roundabout at the entrance.
Reviewed December 20, 2014
8.3
Excellent
David from United States
Couple
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Pleasant Surprise”
The owner, the quiet, the free bikes
Lovely and relaxing. The owner is extremely attentive and helpful without being intrusive. There are free bikes for the guests, and biking nearby is great, and very scenic. The Inn is causal, laid back, comfortable, the beds are OK, and the rooms are clean and very adequate, with balconies overlooking a slightly neglected jungle garden. They serve breakfast, but the owner suggested we bike over to the fresh market and pick up our own breakfast, then come back and use the hotel restaurant's dishes etc to serve ourselves. There's free coffee, etc. That's what we did and it was great fun. I think we paid about 1000 TB per room, maybe $30, which seemed a tiny bit high, until we realized how amazing the owner was, and how great the location was. We live 90 minutes north of there, in Chiang Mai, and it will now be our little break spot when we want a day off.
Reviewed December 10, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Chounchai from Thailand
Family with teens
Superior (Twin)
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
Friendly, hospitality great location environment”
location in old town but rich of tree and garden, nice environment
Friendly welcome, everyone are giving a great hospitality during we stay and the location is perfect near to the old town area with the resort environment make you feel that you are stay in your friend's garden home.
Reviewed December 05, 2014
5.7
GERALD from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Poor location”
Clean rooms with clean bedding
Safety deposit box key (with owner who works OFF-site) so access to safety deposit box in an emergency restricted ! Agoda informed and refunded hotel fee
Reviewed November 06, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Caleb from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Pleasant stay”
Beautiful property tastefully decoratored and very clean
We enjoyed our time. As mentioned by other reviewers the 'kids corner' was great for our two children.
Reviewed October 31, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Silvia from Germany
Couple
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
nice and clean”
friendly, quiet and a green place
Reviewed October 29, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Birgit from Germany
Group
Superior (Twin)
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Good value”
Awesome staff and owner
Reviewed October 27, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Graham from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Small and very friendly guesthouse.”
The owner, the staff and the price.
I REALLY had problems finding this hotel as I arrived in the evening and it was dark. The hotel is in a quite remote location and, eventually the owner sent a staff member to find me and I followed him back to the hotel in my rental car. This was above and beyond the call of duty!!!! The room was small, but clean and comfortable, but I was woken by noisy neighbours checking out as well as dogs barking loudly nearby. However, the owner Kun Tu was absolutely charming and a HUGE help to me when I had trouble with my rental car so, for this I was truly thankful. I would certainly visit again should my travels take me back to Lampang.
Reviewed October 24, 2014
7.7
Very good
Phanit from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Nice garden is next to our room.”
Hotel environment, garden style resort and room decoration.
We lost our way to find this hotel, as it's located in small street of old town residential area. Once we found the place and checked in to hotel, we fell in love with homy cosy ambience. This hotel is really good for long staying and relax living traveller..
Reviewed October 21, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Leonard from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Motorbikr friendly and a great place to stay.”
location, friendly staff, well priced
Had a great time chatting with Too who has a large motorbike and rides often and Thailand is superb for that.
Reviewed October 02, 2014
6.7
Good
chan from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014
Food and Beverage”
Cleanliness, Friendly, Reasonable Price
Rooms were clean and comfortable. Would prefer if the resort had some form of room service.
Reviewed October 01, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Jirathana from Thailand
Family with teens
Superior (Twin)
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
nice resort”
location,comfort,price
Good
Reviewed September 10, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Richard from United States
Solo traveler
Superior (Twin)
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
resort in the city”
Service, solitude, value
This little resort is off the beaten path for sure. Trusting the GPS for directions, we found the resort. And glad we did. It was quiet, clean, lots of greenery on the property. The proprietor was very personable. We just needed a place for 1 night for a race east of the city and this place was perfect and relaxing. And a great value.
Reviewed September 10, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
pieter from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
fantastic hotel”
evrything was actually excellent/very very good
This hotel is very good value for money. Very clean, very friendly staff, very quiet place, good breakfast and very good location (downtown). They have bikes for free and its great to ride through Lampang. We will definitely book this hotel again on our next trip to Lampang in three months.
Reviewed August 29, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Michael from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Best host in the business”
Absolutely beautiful, peaceful, and a great host
If you are looking for a garden resort in the midst of the city, this is it. You will love the manager, named Too, who is an absolute delight and very helpful. Sometimes I thought he could read minds because he would give helpful advice and maps without ever having been asked.
Reviewed July 28, 2014
7.3
Very good
Niall from Ireland
Family with young children
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 5 nights in April 2014
Nice Quiet Hotel”
Quiet Surroundings, Breakfast, Gardens
Quiet location with a nice breakfast and lovely gardens. Really enjoyed our stay here and would consider coming back again
Reviewed July 10, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Angela from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Home away from home”
Decoration and setting, location, clean, frendly
If you like small, family-owned hotels, with beautiful grounds, tasteful traditional-style decor, a convenient location, and helpful staff - at a very reasonable price - this is the place for you. The hotel is located on Wang Nuea Road, a residential street which has a characterful non-touristy street market on Friday and Sunday nights. The hotel is set back from the road. It is a garden-swathed building with wide awnings which keep it pleasantly cool. There are couches, tables and chairs for hanging out and enjoying the peaceful environment. An antique television set, shelves of reading material, and traditional textiles contribute to the homey atmosphere. At breakfast, one can enjoy a nice jasmine tea from Chiang Rai. I had a deluxe room, which was spacious and had a beautiful view overlooking the lush garden. The floors are wood. The bed was very comfortable with all-cotton sheets. There was a large-screen TV. The bathroom is wet-room style and had hot water. The owner of the guesthouse is friendly and speaks excellent English. He had great tips on places to visit, which was very useful because most guidebooks don't have enough about Lampang. He even made a map showing all of the restaurants in the local area which he personally tried to make sure they're ok! The guesthouse is within walking distance of tourist sites such as the major temples and the traditional commercial area (Chinatown) near the river. You can also borrow a bicycle for free from the guesthouse. I originally booked to stay at Auangkham Resort for 1 night, but liked it and Lampang so much that I decided to stay for two. I highly recommend Auangkham Resort.
Reviewed July 05, 2014
7.7
Very good
Inthapol from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Nice stay”
Peaceful, service and convenience
Reviewed June 30, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Christina from Denmark
Business traveler
Superior (Twin)
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
A very pleasant stay at Aungkham Resort”
Very helpful owner, fantastic garden, peaceful surroundings
Aungkham was a very, very pleasant place to stay and has an amazing garden. Rooms are simple, but cute and very clean. Staff and owners are all great and very helpful with anything. Very cool market just outside the door every friday night. The hotel has bicycles to borroow free of charge for guests and we really enjoyed biking around this amazing town that Lampang is.
Reviewed May 24, 2014
5.0
Apichart from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
peaceful but slightly away from city center”
friendliness staff, flexible check in policy and free bicycle
poor bathroom facilities poor linen and towels good hi speed internet very friendly & attentive staff
Reviewed May 08, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
austin from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
a perfect retreat”
the lovely gardens and setting / peace and quiet / high standards
Only a one night stay which exceeded all expectations - will stay again if I get the chance
Reviewed April 29, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Michelle from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
FANTASTIC, the best welcome and stay”
Staff, location, spotless
we spent two nights here and loved every minute. From the moment you are greeted by Too, you feel at home. The guest house is set in wonderful gardens with plenty of space to relax. The room was lovely with a balcony looking into the beautiful gardens. Everything is so well kept. Breakfast is definitely worth it. I would recommend a visit to the elephant conservation centre too. Lampang really is a hidden gem. The free bikes at the hotel are a perfect way to see the city and its temples. The night market is a must very different from the usual tourist attraction markets. I could not recommend this hotel highly enough. The host and his family are wonderful, they will make you feel very welcome!
Reviewed April 21, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Joe from Australia
Couple
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
good clean staff friendly, good garden”
clean good internet, and staff friendly
very happy
Reviewed April 06, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
david from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior (Twin)
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Good garden hotel with nice staff”
garden, modern, cheap
Lovely little hotel close to town. Free bike use and nice.
Reviewed April 04, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Sue from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Amazing stay!”
garden, staff, great rooms
I loved my stay at Auangkham Resort. The gardens were splendidly done with love and the rooms were simple but very lovely. The hotel isn't exactly located in the town center but i was actually glad that this was so. It was nice to escape from all the noise and action and come back to some peace and quiet. It only takes about 10 minutes to walk into the town center (also the famous Sunday market). Bicycles are provided for free by the hotel. The large room also has a comfortable bed and a big bathroom. I will not hesitate to stay here again! Lovely all around.
Reviewed March 27, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Mark from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Very VERY Enjoyable”
Location ... room comfort ... tranquility
This was a pleasant surprise. Very friendly and attentive staff and ownership. Quiet surroundings. Very comfortable rooms. The owner even did some work on my motorcycle overnight after it had a turn signal malfunction. He noticed it and repaired it before I woke up the first morning. I will stay here again, and I highly recommend it.
Reviewed March 26, 2014
7.7
Very good
Josse from Belgium
Group
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
short but pleasant stay”
breakfast-staff
This is a small family hotel located in the old city , not far from major attractions . Nice little garden . Peaceful surroundings . Very attentive staff . Good breakfast for only 100 baht . Big rooms , some mosquitoes on the ground floor .
Reviewed March 26, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Franziska from Switzerland
Couple
Superior (Twin)
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Homey place in a relaxing and beautiful garden ”
Very friendly English speaking staff and owner, beautiful garden, well equipped rooms
The resort is located along the cultural street and close to points of interest in Lampang, local restaurants and shops. Bicycles are provided for free. There is free flowing coffee, tea, banana and biscuits in the morning and American breakfast is provided for only B 100.-. Efficient A/C and minibar in the room. Each room has a balcony overlooking the nice and well kept garden which sports a/o orchids, Chico trees and Betel nut palms. The owner and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and provide useful maps and advise where to eat out and how best to go to places arranging transport if necessary and give advise on fees.
Reviewed February 18, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
sheila from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
a peaceful stay away ”
wonderful garden setting
Reviewed February 05, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
peter from Canada
Couple
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Family style resort with attentive staff”
Location is right on the Walking Street; Staff is friendly and knowledgeable; Room is clean.
We enjoyed our stay at The Auangkham Resort a lot. During our stay, the owner Mr. Too treated us like a friend and make us feel welcome right away. Hotel room was clean and great value. The whole stay made us feel we are part of their family. Bike is free for us to use and Mr. Too provide us with a lot of tourist information. We will definitely go back on our return to Lampang.
Reviewed January 28, 2014
8.0
Excellent
NORMAN from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
NICE FAMILY ATMOSPHERE”
Good location, nice gargen, very helpful owner.
I was doing a driving tour of northern Thaiand and used Lampang as my base for a couple of days. The hotel is located in a residential neighbourhood and was initially a little bit difficult to find. The hotel provided a detailed map and walking directions to a number of local sights, restaurants, shopping etc. Parking was limited to the driveway of the property and there are rooms in the main house and in an adjoining 2 storey building in the garden. The rooms are spacious and clean and more guesthouse rather than hotel. Breakfast is ordered the night before and I think meals are sent out for rather than cooked in the hotel. The staff/owner were very helpful and welcoming and I thoroughly enjoyed my short stay. Good value.
Reviewed January 10, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Erik from Netherlands
Family with young children
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Nice and small family-run hotel in a historic city”
Location, quiet area, great staff
We spent one night in Lampang at this hotel. It is in the oldest part of Lampang, and within walking distance from many interesting places to visit. The owner/manager was very friendly and helpful. The Auangkham resort represents Thai hospitality at its best.
Reviewed January 01, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Cholarit from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
nice little hotel in an old city area”
big room, clean, beautiful decoration.
very nice hotel in an older city area. The only downside may be that the bathroom didn't have the wet and dry area separate. the hotel is close to the walking street during Saturday and Sunday night. THere are bicycle available for guest who interests to ride by themselves. We didn't have the breakfast with the hotel but instead looking for other local food elsewhere.
Reviewed December 31, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Chulin from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Great stay!”
Friendly staffs, clean room and nice decoration
A nice small hotel that we recommend to everyone coming to Lampang. Hotel staffs are all super-friendly. Little garden gives a nice resort-like feeling for this city hotel. The room we stayed in was nice and clean. We would definitely book this hotel for our next stay.
Reviewed December 29, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Linda from United States
Couple
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Hotel is located in a nice neighborhood.”
Design of building and gardens and bikes.
Wish we had stayed longer as the location and accommodations were perfect. Will stay again if we travel to Lampang.
Reviewed December 19, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
paisit from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Wonderful place. Quiet place to stay”
1. Staff 2. Greenery and quiet 3. Feel like home
This is my great choice in Lampang. We stay for two nights to enjoy local food, temple sightseeing and hot spring nearby. Friendly staff and we really felt that we are at home. Location is near the local market where you can find the local food on morning and evening and minutes away from historic temple. If you stay during Fri-Sun, it will be more happening since night market around will be opened and you can enjoy variety of food, goods.
Reviewed December 16, 2013
6.0
Kenneth from United States
Solo traveler
Superior (Twin)
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
Nice quiet location”
Friendly staff. Gave us bikes to ride to a restaurant. Nice gardens
Reviewed November 14, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Trevor from Canada
Family with young children
Superior (Twin)
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Nice comfortable stay with kind staff”
good breakfast, very friendly, helpful
very good stay, nice and quiet surroundings, and very nice looking garden area
Reviewed November 04, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Anne from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior (Twin)
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
A great stay.”
The owner was very helpful, staff excellent and a great location.
The owner was very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. The friendly staff organised taxis for me and my horse and cart tour and pointed me in the right area for points of interest. I felt very welcome. A great bonus was the free bike hire for getting around Lampang and they were in good condition. A very nice breakfast, the room was very clean and comfortable. The internet a bit slow at times. The gardens and area were very quite and it was located in a good spot. I would go back there if I am in Lampang. I am travelling on my own through Thailand and the owner gave me lots of very helpful travel tips. They also gave me a couple of excellent restaurants to eat at which had both western and thai food and the owners spoke English.
Reviewed September 26, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Martin from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
A Good Choice”
This hotel is well located in a quiet part of town, within easy walking distance of the town center and even closed to major attractions. The staff are superb. The garden is a delight
Excellent experience, good quality advice, good breakfasts, a really pleasant stay and very good value for money. I would both recommend it to friends and happily repet my stay.
Reviewed September 25, 2013
4.7
John from Canada
Business traveler
Superior (Twin)
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
acceptable but not really anything special”
quiet, sort of clean, friendly staff
The big problem with this hotel is finding it - amazingly they only have a sign in English! However the staff were good and send out someone to collect us and lead us back to the hotel. the rooms are simple, nothing special with very small TV with absolutely the worst TV selection I have seen in a hotel in Thailand, no English Tv and very poor reception on the Thai side. They need to seriously improve on this. Breakfast is not included so I cannot comment on this.
Reviewed September 19, 2013
5.7
Virginia from Italy
Couple
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Nice”
Room, wifi, hall
The hotel is nice and not so far from the city center (10 minutes walk). It was a pity that the first day at our arrival nobody spoke English.
Reviewed August 21, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Dale from Canada
Couple
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013
Quiet, friendly, oasis-like hotel”
Very helpful staff, beautiful setting, very comfortable room.
All went very well. Lampang is a wonderful city to wander in. The staff helped arrange transportation to attractions outside the city. Be forewarned that street and temple dogs can be aggressive. Thailand has developed a major problem in this respect. The Land of Smiles has also become the Land of Snarls. They need to get a handle on this.
Reviewed August 05, 2013
7.7
Very good
serena from Italy
Couple
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
very beautiful”
very cozy, welcoming and clean hotel with wonderful garden. put yourself in a good mood. The staff is very friendly and helpful
wonderful stay, i would definitely recommend other people to go. If I could have done it, I would have stayed longer time. Lampang is a quite and very small city, if you are looking for crazy nights out it's probably not the best choice, but if you are trying to explore the real Thailand, far aways from the shows and fictions, you are in the right place, and the Auangkam resort give you a perfect cozy, welcoming and clean place where to sleep. Just one thing, breakfast it's not included, but if you want it in the hotel, you can order it the evening before (by 22.00).
Reviewed August 03, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
nicholas from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Relaxed atmosphere with great host”
Friendly and helpful owner, clean room and comfortable bed
A lovely stay towards the end of a long cycle made all the more enjoyable by our wonderful host who gave us advice on the last part of our journey.
Reviewed July 17, 2013
8.3
Excellent
lewis from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior (Twin)
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
We had a Relaxing, Healthy, easy stay at this Hote”
Well designed, Spacious, lovely natural Garden suroundings!
Had a lovely relaxing stay at this hotel, staff were efficient, smiled lots and made you feel a welcome visitor!. rooms were large and well designed, garden was nice!, hotel was 5 minute taxi ride from centre of Lampang but it felt like you were in countryside almost Forest!. so it felt relaxing and stress free.
Reviewed July 16, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Tan from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Friendly and warm”
Friendly staff, good location, superb service
It has been a wonderful and excellent stay for us, thanks to the great hospitality the resort owner. We truly have had a great time there. The resort has a small and nice cosy kids corner and it has certainly provided my kids with lots of fun. The free bicycle services provided was also great to get around Lampang and the old city. Extremely warm and friendly staff with lots of smiles. We really felt at home when we were there.
Reviewed July 14, 2013
7.7
Very good
Andrew from Australia
Couple
Deluxe (Double)
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Value for money, quiet surroundings,friendly staff”
Friendly owner, quiet surroundings and free use of bicycle
The owner was very friendly and full of information. He also provided free use of the bicycles which is an enjoyable way to get around the city. The hotel is set in nice gardens in a quiet location but just a few minutes walk from the city centre. On Friday nights there is a nice little street market on the main street outside the hotel. Lampang is a really relaxing place to visit if you want to get away from all the traffic, tourists and the hassling you get in the bigger thai cities.
Reviewed July 13, 2013