Book Now: Avalon Beach Resort

Excellent
From 664 reviewsSee what guests said
8.3
/
10
Recommended by 90% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (664)Booking.com Reviews (192)
8.3
/
10
Excellent
From 664 reviews
Cleanliness8.7
Facilities7.9
Location8.9
Room comfort and quality8.2
Service8.3
Value for money8.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (664)
All room types
Showing 521 verified guest comments
7.6
Very good
MARTIN from Czech Republic
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2018
Great hotel”
Great hotel with perfect location. The rooms are really very clean and spacious. The staff especially in the reception is very unfriendly. Very nice and good beeakfast. Pool service should be improved. The pool staff should pay more attention to the guests than to its mobile phones.
Reviewed January 08, 2019
7.6
Very good
John from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018
I always enjoy staying here. It has a certain old world charm”
The place is a bit dated but still nice. Big rooms and I like the open foyer area. Reminds me a bit of Raffles in Singapore early 70's where there was no AC in main lobby area but plenty of airflow to give natural cooling. Breakfast is OK with fair variety. Did not eat or drink there other than that. Too many good restaurants close by Could do with more power points in the rooms but I like the place very much and would certainly stay again
Reviewed December 14, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Philip from United Kingdom
Group
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in November 2018
Right on the beach”
One of the few hotels in Jomtien where you can walk in your bathers across from the pool and onto Dongtan Beach. Hotel a bit dated, but in a good way. i.e lobby open to the elements. Like most hotels in Pattaya, most of the guests are Russian. Nothing happens in the hotel evenings, but plenty of bars restuarants a short walk away.
Reviewed November 23, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018
Beautiful Resort”
Stayed here for 4 nights in November. Before booking I read reviews. Some had commented on the friendliness of the staff not being what it should. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Always asking if they could be of service. No issues at all. The pool area was very nice. Chairs are limited and do fill up early so I suggest if you want to spend time by the pool, get down there early. VERY convenient to the beach. It is directly across the street. And if you are looking for a bit of action, it is only a short walk down the beach. Also, some reviews complained that the resort was "old" or "in need of upgrades". Again, I thought it was more than acceptable. Of course it is a resort that is directly on the beach. There is going to be a beach feel and some ocean weathering but nothing that would make me regret booking or staying here again. In conclusion, Avalon is a great place to escape the craziness of Pattaya yet still be close enough if you want to go out.
Reviewed November 09, 2018
8.8
Excellent
James from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
This is not in Pattaya. But it's excellent”
Too many reviewers here criticizing the location. This is *not* in Pattaya. It's near Jomtien beach, which is a short bus or taxi ride away from Pattaya. If you're looking for a vacation of bars and clubs, this is not your hotel. If you're looking for a peaceful oasis away from everything, this is perfect. The beach is steps away and the hotel facilities are a little old, but excellent.
Reviewed March 05, 2018
6.8
Good
MARTIN from Czech Republic
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018
Beautiful hotel on the beach but..........”
This hotel has very spacious rooms. The only negative things are tons of mosquitoes everywhere and totally lazy and non English speaking staff. The pillows are incredibly hard. The staff in general is very lazy and not friendly, doesn't speak well English and plays most of the time with their telephones. The breakfast selection is rather poor, selection of bread is very bad. This hotel has a serious problems with supplies since there was not even coffee available all weekend. Prices of food in their restaurant are pretty high compared with the amount and its quality. Most of the menu is western food but the taste of it is not right. They should hire a chef who can cook western food if they want to serve it. Generally this hotel is really nice but it seems the management stopped to care about the quality of services rendered.
Reviewed October 24, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Ozzi from Finland
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
Right next to the beach”
this prorperty is right at the beach with great big swimming pool
Reviewed November 07, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Joseph from Spain
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
Pleasant and relaxing”
The hotel is very well located. The facilities are good and the rooms spacious. The staff in reception and bell boys are friendly, helpful and nice although the ones at breakfast buffet look that they are bored of working thus unless you call them they will not come to offer you coffee or tea. Also the breakfast buffet is scarce and not according to a 4-star hotel standard so it could be improvable.
Reviewed December 20, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Stuart from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Right on the Jomtien Beach”
This hotel is a pretty good value at Jomtien Beach. The hotel is right on the beach, and the pool area is quite nice (although they need to renovate the wooden deck). Breakfast is decent at this room price.
Reviewed July 11, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
NokaoiC from Japan
Couple
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in January 2017
Good location by the beach”
Quiet and relaxing set up which was a nice change after being in Bangkok for a week. Being by the sandy beach helps although the swimming pool is quite good . Enjoyed the relaxing stay. The Gym was not up to the standard of the rest of this lovely hotel. Thus 4 stars for the Facilities rate.
Reviewed May 28, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Antony from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in March 2017
Perfectly located & well maintained hotel on the beach. ”
Hotel location is absolute beachfront, all rooms are clean, spacious & well equipped, all built around a stunning lagoon style pool. Breakfast is more than adequate, friendly staff & an electric buggy provides transport up the main road.
Reviewed March 23, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Gary from Australia
Couple
Garden
Stayed 5 nights in December 2016
Beautiful peaceful resort”
Very close to the beach, pool and gardens are really beautiful, recommend you take a garden room with direct access to the pool. Staff just do their job and aren't overly friendly or welcoming which is a shame for such a beautiful resort. Breakfast is standard and some dishes are changed daily. I will stay again in the future as I consider the best located hotel in Jomtien.
Reviewed December 21, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Haji from Brunei Darussalam
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Amazing Hotel, Amazing View, Beautiful Room, Terrible Wifi Signal”
My first time staying at beach resort. It is definitely a beautiful experience. I don't usually swim in a hotel's swimming pool but this one we did. The hotel room is beautiful and spacious. The view of the beach is breathtaking and the sunset was gorgeous. The breakfast buffet was just nice. Only downside was the wifi signal. Our room was at the end of the hall, right next to the stairs so probably the signal was weak at that area. Even so, the mobile network signal was not that strong either inside the room. We had to sit outside at the balcony to get a proper connection. The Jomtien NIght Market is 1km away which was around 15 - 20 minutes walk. Grab taxis are pretty decent around Pattaya. Almost no ubers, sadly.
Reviewed October 19, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Thomas from France
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Again ! :-)”
One or twice a year I visit Thailand and normally before returning to France, I spend a few days of mild idleness in Jomtien at Avalon. I have never been disappointed or annoyed at this hotel, its large and well equipped rooms, THE swimming pool, great breakfast and its direct access to the beach fills me every visite!, I will return. Thoams Lim.
Reviewed October 12, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Francois from France
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in January 2016
On the beach, large and quiet room, good staff”
On the beach, large room, quiet, good staff
We stay at Avalon 2-3 times a year since many years, always happy to be there. I would advice the management to improve the internet connectivity, current setting force the users to re-log & password each time. The server should keep memory of the guest all through the allowance time (3 or 7 days).
Reviewed January 14, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
naparat from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Very good service and good location.”
Staffs are very nice, Hotel located near beach, good for relax, since it's quiet area.
We are very sastisfiled during stay here, room is big, hotel is near beach, breakfast is nice, swimming pool is nice, however water heater is not working well, it's would be perfected if the heater is working.
Reviewed August 13, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Joseph from Spain
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Amazing and relaxing stay in Pattaya”
Good location by the beach, the large room and the beautitul swimming pool.
The stay at Avalon Beach Resort was amazing and relaxing. The hotel has an impressive swimming pool, large rooms and a very good location by the sea. The stay was perfect although the breakfast buffet could improve with some more variety of dishes.
Reviewed March 06, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
John from Thailand
Family with young children
Garden
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Great weekend away great value”
Pool, Beach, Price
Just great, will stay there again if I can get an "Agoda Special" just great value, kids didn't want to leave the hotel, happy to stay in the amazing pool and just relax which worked for me! highly recommend and will stay there again as soon as I get another "Agoda Discount"
Reviewed August 07, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Michael from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Great location”
Proximity to beach, nice pool
A lovely hotel, right on the beach at Jomtien. Good sized rooms, with a choice of types. Lovely pool. Free wifi. Massage service available poolside. I found breakfast a bit ordinary - a reasonable choice of food, but most of it was cold! Nice staff.
Reviewed October 22, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Stephen from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in April 2011
Lovely resort right next to the beach”
Quite area, nice rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff
beautifully deigned resort only metres from jomtien beach. set away in a quiet area so very peaceful. the rooms are a good size. breakfast every morning is plentiful and varied slightly every day. beautiful pool area. the only things missing from this resort is a fitness centre and free internet/wi-fi
Reviewed April 25, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Robert from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in December 2010
Great Stay”
On the Beach, nice an quiet, very relaxing
mosquitos, but they are everywhere in the early evening
I have stayed here for the last 5 years in December, always a treat, never too crowded. Super friendly staff. Breakfast has a large verity, so you will always find something you like. Shuttle service to the main road. My favorite in Pattaya.
Reviewed December 24, 2010
8.3
Excellent
Savit from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2010
Nice 4 stars”
Staff
-
The hotel is quite nice with a beautiful swimming pool. The staff are good: very attentive. The hotel is well decorated even though it's not that beautiful, it is a plus. It is connected to the beach area and the room is better than what I expected. The thing that I don't like is the hotel sign that is not clearly visible, with the small entrance, you can miss it quite easily. The parking space is limited but doesn't really matter.
Reviewed November 26, 2010
8.8
Excellent
Gordon from Thailand
Solo traveler
Garden
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Great resort”
Great resort but my air con broke down earlier that evening and they could not move me to same room type without compensation...Little dissapointed how they handled this could have been better,other wise great resort.
Reviewed March 30, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
2 Nights Only”
Nice size hotel, (not to big) good value for the area, breakfast super, staff excellent, great location if you not interested in walking street. We would use this hotel again for a short break/traveling through..
Reviewed February 12, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jeffery from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018
Beautiful hotel, staff were awesome in everyway.”
Great location, quiet, beautiful open air lobby, room was nice, aircon awesome, pool was very nice, lush tropical landscape. Cons? Hard bed, pillows were too big,
Reviewed October 18, 2018
5.6
Apirak from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
Food , swimming pool and staff”
There was a a long piece of cleaning steel wool in a chicken for my breakfast. Called staff and she just said " Oh I thought it wasn't cooked" and just took it away. Didn't say sorry it compasate whatever...we could have just said something right there but whatever we just say it now...they need to be trained properly how to deal and what to say. That was unacceptable...you let 2 people ruined the entire trip...what's what cost the business ... Staff at receptions were nice and 2 ladies room stewardess were nice and helpful...only 2 fat ladies work at restaurant were below any expectation ( a guy in white shirt and tie was friendly and waiters were as well) You guys didn't tell us swimming pool was under maintenance. I wanted to have quiet holiday but just all workers around all day... You have to do something about it....we stayed 3 nights and have to go somewhere else for a swim without noises ... I like the place but not sure now I wanted to stay there again.
Reviewed August 20, 2018
4.8
Thomas from Germany
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in August 2018
Acceptable”
They repair the way around the pool - it was so loud and it Looks like a construction area - that is a no go! one time room cleaning forget to Close after cleaning my room door - I guess someone broke the door.... old Hotel with a lot fo missing Details....
Reviewed August 07, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Tor from Norway
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 19 nights in November 2018
Very good”
Nice room and very good service. This hotel is a pretty good value at Jomtien Beach.
Reviewed December 22, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Steve from Italy
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018
Magnificent hotel with big rooms, lovely swimming pool and landscaping. Great breakfast. ”
Only complaint bathtub shower curtain not adequate to stop floor flooding.
Reviewed November 06, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Ian from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Great location and good value”
Quiet location on Dongtan beach with a nice private swimming pool and spacious rooms, at a good value.
Reviewed April 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Eugene from Zimbabwe
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 9 nights in November 2017
Excellent”
Had one of my most enjoyable stays in Thailand at the Avalon. The Staff could not have been more helpful and the location close to the Beach could not have been bettered. The courtesy transport a winner. The pool are is a delight and the provision of free towels for the pool and beach an added bonus. Hope to be back next year.
Reviewed December 15, 2017
6.4
Good
Frank from Germany
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Value for money is ok”
The rotten wood desk around the pool is a shame for a hotel. Stuff was friendly and location is great if you like to be away from Pattaya center. Rooms are big and clean with balcony. BF is sufficient. Overall good value for money
Reviewed October 31, 2017
7.6
Very good
Chutchada from Thailand
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
Good value for the money.”
Good value with a nice location; a little more relaxed and quiet in between the busier parts of Jomtien and Pattaya. The breakfast was also very good and the room was spacious. The only real downside was that the tiles in the pool were getting a little old and the mortar in between them were getting washed away leaving some jagged edges when swimming or playing. Overall, a nice and relaxed environment that was in walking distance of the Jomtien restaurants.
Reviewed August 05, 2017
5.2
steven from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Avalon not so good”
Maybe its just a Pattaya thing but I live and travel in SE Asia for two years and this was the least friendly and helpful staff Ive encountered. Location is ok especially if youre gay considering the activities I observd in the immediate area. Nice pool but closes at 7pm. Breakfast had good variety for weatern tastes but you wouldnt want more than 2 days straight. We had early flight out and early checkout. Wakeup call was 15 minutes late. We go to lobby and wake duty people but they dont turn on lights. We end up leaving a painting behind at the counter. Didnt notice in the dark. Sent them email about recovering it and no reply. Have called a couple times and no answer. Impressive! Never stay there again or anywhere Pattaya for that matter.
Reviewed November 16, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Sion from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016
A very nice surprise”
Lovely, clean, private hotel tucked away behind the beach. Very much in the Thai tradition with large open spaces and lots of wood. Pool was large, spacious and quiet set within very nice gardens. Breakfast has plenty of variety and staff were helpful. Plenty of bars and places to eat within 5 minutes walk. Only disappointment was slow Wi-Fi. I will stay there again however.
Reviewed May 10, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
suman from India
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 7 nights in October 2015
Excellent Stay !”
Location , Pool and the staff .
Was a peaceful and relaxing stay ...... The only thing which the resort needs to have is to increase their TV channels ( English channels ) which is now very limited and also to have a 24 hrs rooms service ( which is now only available till 22.30 hrs)
Reviewed October 25, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Steven from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Very nice pool”
The pool is great and extremely quiet. The Beach is a srones throw from the hotel. The staff are very helpfull
The hotel although slightly away from the nightlife of Pattaya is not actually a problem as there is a shuttle service available and there are a couple of bars close by. The hotel has everything you need and is very clean and has a great friendly staff. A little tip. My partner is Thai and had a 1 hour massage, she said it was the best she had ever had! Massage and drinks by the pool, what could be better.
Reviewed July 23, 2015
8.3
Excellent
stephen from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Great stay for 3 nights”
Lcation, pool, cleaniness
We enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Avalon. We organised for hotel to send a driver to pick us up from Bangkok airport and that worked out great. The breakfasts were delicious. The staff friendly and the pool area was very nice. While it is a big hotel, there were very few guests at the time so it was quiet and peaceful. Would recommend it.
Reviewed July 05, 2015
6.3
Good
nedim from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Beach hotel ”
Beach, quite, room
Location is very nice bear the beach, delux room was nice and stuff was friendly. Breakfast was terrible, you can find better in a 3 times Cheeper hotel in the area. For 3000 bath per night I expected more then just Lipton tea and worse artificial juices for breakfast. Freshly squeezed Orange juice would be nice. The higher management is very cheep to have a great hotel with such a lousy breakfast . I don't think I will be back again. Also onky choice cheesiest white bimbo bread . Just terrible .
Reviewed April 07, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Josse from Belgium
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Far from the noise”
Good breakfast - Big rooms - swimming pool
We only stayed one day here , but it was a good experience . Check-in was quick . The rooms are big and clean . Everything you expect was there . Fast wifi . Nice swimming pool . Direct access to the beach . Breakfast is very good , though the choice of bread is somewhat limited .
Reviewed January 25, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Steve from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
nice place to stay”
1. the pool 2. on top of the gay beach 3. the nice feeling of the hotel
I have stayed at this hotel twice before. I have always enjoyed my stay but not as much this time. this time I got a room facing the alley / walkway and I was not happy with it. the breakfast was also very disappointing , the selection I thought it was terrible. again I have stayed here before and the room was great and the breakfast was great, but not this time.
Reviewed January 22, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Supachet from Thailand
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Very nice hotel. Surely come back.”
Swimming pool, room and staff
We stayed at the hotel for only one night with our two kids. Everything is fine. Swimming pool is very nice so that we can enjoy swimming for hours. Kids also like the swimming pool very much. The beach is very close to the hotel but it is dirty. Room is big and clean. Bahtroom is very nice. Breakfast has variety of choices and is tasty. We will surely stay here again for the next visit to Pattaya.
Reviewed May 22, 2014
7.7
Very good
anon from Thailand
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
fair”
big room, clean
At that when i went there, the swiming pool was under maintenace. The reception was not a nice person to give me the answer or help me out. I went there with my 2 kid who would like to spend his weekend in the pool but he cannot use it.
Reviewed May 04, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Sandy from Canada
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in February 2014
So good we're coming back!”
Room, staff, breakfasts, massages
We loved this hotel, the staff were attentive and even though sometimes they couldn't speak our language they managed to get what we asked for done. Massages by the pool were excellent. Breakfasts were great, other meals not as good. Swimming pool was great. Beach access was easy, road that you had to cross to get to the beach had little traffic...not like the road 1/2 block south.
Reviewed February 14, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Colin from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 10 nights in July 2013
A quiet, comfortable hotel with attentive staff”
Attractive layout, an excellent pool and friendly staff
I spent two weeks in this hotel which I would thoroughly recommend to others. My room was spacious with a pleasing view of the attractive pool. The buffet breakfast is excellent. The hotel is well situated with easy access to the beach and nearby restaurants. The staff could not have been friendlier and more attentive. This was my second visit to the hotel which I consider to be excellent value for money.
Reviewed July 24, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Hamish from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 10 nights in July 2013
Excellent bed and breakfast hotel”
Rooms and room service were excellent. Very good pool, large and well looked after. Friendly staff.
I stayed there 10 nights and it was an ideal spot to stay in Pattaya. Reasonably quiet though in an urban situation. Best breakfast buffet I have had: everything really fresh and wide range of food. Air conditioning in rooms effective and not noisy. The staff were friendly and helpful and check-in and check-out fast and easy. Very quiet when I was there as it was off-season but young couples and those with young families seemed happy there. I was staying on a bed and breakfast basis and there were good restaurants, bars and cafes very close. The beach was 50 metres away with rooms looking out over the pool and the sea. Recommend it strongly.
Reviewed July 22, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Lev from Russia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
Enjoyed this stay”
Great room, nice swimming pool, close to the beach
I liked this hotel, it has a nice design and big rooms, staff was helpful and food was nice in the their restaurant. I was their during low season so rate for a room was low too. Stay was worth its money.
Reviewed June 14, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Duncan from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Comfortable and relaxing”
The pool, free wi-fi, good breakfast
Pattaya and Jomtien are pretty grotty, sleazy and dirty places. Even the beach outside the hotel is dirty with syringes, litter and dangerous pavings. The sea water is dirty with pollution and mud brought down through storm drains in the rainy season. I wouldn't swim in it if you paid me. Local authorities are hopeless at looking after even the basic road and pavement structure. BUT the Avalon is a wonderful oasis in this desert of grot. Staff are pleasant an helpful (when asked). But staff are VERY undertrained and there is little or no sign of any management or supervision of front line staff. The hotel's design, its gardens and the basic amenities are lovely - obviously built in another era of this coast's devlopment and now sadly overshadowed by massive 20 to 30 story condominium blocks with absolutely zero architectural appeal. Other than dirty old men picking up local Thai girls (or boys)the only other clientelle seems to be Russian families.
Reviewed April 03, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Rolf from Switzerland
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 7 nights in February 2013
Nice, large, clean rooms. Lovely Thai stile rooms”
Friendly staff at reception and bellboys.
We liked the thai stile hotel between all the new skyscraper condominiums Staff at reception and bellboys extremely friendly. Restaurant rather poor. Breakfast medium, except for the asian food. Service in restaurant not at all friendly' where is the thai smile?
Reviewed February 24, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Gwo from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 12 nights in October 2012
Lovely Resort”
Location right in front of Dong Tan Beach.
I stayed here 3 times now, we are always impressed the place for what you are paying for. Good service but staff need to spend more times for learning English . not many of them speak English. Communication.... Many Russian tourists staying here now. I feel like being in Russia. But most of them are fine with little English. Room and Bed are huge and is always very clean.
Reviewed November 18, 2012
4.3
Stirling from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 11 nights in April 2012
No fluffy luxury on offer here”
Large room and good housekeeping
I think the Avalon is in some sort sort of perpetual cycle of decline. Whilst I can imagine this was once a very nice hotel it now appears to being maintained on a minimum budget. Everything about the hotel has a "worn in" feeling. The towels are fraying at the edges, the roms (whilst large) need a refurb, the area around the pool is simply dreadful (rotton decking etc) and the pool itself looks a bit cloudy.....I certainly was not happy with its cleanliness. The hotel charges for internet access but they are not really providing a service since line speeds are terribly slow. Breakfast was a very modest affair and I didn't much care for it being served in an open environment where there was no attempt to chill any of the salad, fruit etc. All in all a disappointing experience
Reviewed April 30, 2012
7.7
Very good
Robert from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
Great Location”
Close to Beach
Great location, easy to get to and from, they have a free shuttle service to the main road. mLovely pool, sounder shower and very nice pool side facilities. Beach is only 20 meters in front of the hotel. Very quiet at night, no street noise. The breakfast is a little boring day after day, they change it very little. This is one improvement they could make to make this part of the day a little more interesting.
Reviewed March 10, 2012
7.7
Very good
Michael from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in February 2012
Great location hotel”
Beautiful pool, big & comfortable rooms, location right on the beach
Have been going there a few years now. Hotel still looks good. Rooms are very comfortable, big size, nice bathrooms, well kept. Pool is lovely. Breakfast has a lot of choices. Hotel is now patronised mainly by Russian people however. All pool chairs "reserved" for the day well before breakfast.
Reviewed February 23, 2012
7.7
Very good
Robert from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 7 nights in December 2011
Great Jomtiem location”
Nice Pool, very clean, quiet
lovely setting, nice and quiet, out of the way location. away from the hectic pattay traffic and noise of dusty pattay. they have a free electric shuttle car to the main road which is always available. nice staff, i have stayed here several times and many of the staff are there year after year which is nice to see!
Reviewed January 08, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Leon from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
Lovely hotel with genuine 4 star accommodation”
location and very friendly staff
Avalon is a bit on the pricey side, but the environment they offer is impressive. This low-rise 4 storey hotel is arranged in an L shape around the two pools, in beautifully presented grounds, adjacent to Dong Tarn beach in Jomtien. The downstairs atrium is beautifully decorated. For business customers or tourists alike, this hotel offers everything for a really restful stay.
Reviewed December 26, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Thomas from Germany
Couple
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in November 2011
Nice place just out of town,”
Large well maitained hotel grounds, right on the beach front.
This was a last minute switch to this hotel from a nearby hotel because of a group catch up. After seeing my original choice I was glad that I made the switch. Room was large, very clean and well air conditioned. Ensuite bathroom modern and well equipped. The only small negative is the shape of the bath tub. The shower is over the bath but because of the longish slope of the end of the bath where the shower is, it is impossible to to have the water from the shower hit you on the top of the shoulders. One has to take hold of the shower handle in your hand (unhook it from the wall)and put the water where you want it. The wifi tends to be a bit weak at times and dropped out occasionally unless you go to the lobby area where the signal is the strongest. A couple of extra wifi transmitters through out the building would help greatly. The buffet breakfast is great and plenty of choice and is set in nice resturant surroundings adjoining the pool area. The pool is very clean and at least one staff member is always watching over the pool and to hand out fresh towels. Only gripe with pool is that the pool hours could be a little longer, at least until sunset. 1900hrs is a tad too early, would be nice to use the pool after a day of shopping/sight seeing etc. In regards to the staff, they need to learn to smile or at least look happy. They were never rude or anything like that, just didn't see happy, I think I saw two staff that seemed to be happy and always said hello when they passed you. This is a nice establishement/hotel but I think it falls short of a resort label. Yes it has large grounds with a pool but thats it. There are no other activities here to do apart from the pool. Other resorts that I have seen have multiple activities on the premises. This hotel needs to attend to some minor maintenance issues such some paint work, pool area decking and replace sun damaged poolside umbrellas. Would I stay again, YES.
Reviewed December 01, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Roger from Switzerland
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in November 2011
Nice and relatively quiet resort with good service”
Large and clean Pool and quiet location although close to the beach
enjoyed the warm welcome, the lovely, large and clean room as well as a good breakfast buuffet with a large variety of food. one could nicely relax at the large pool or even enjoy a massage at the pool. we can really recommend this hotel!
Reviewed November 26, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Addison from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011
Beautiful hotel”
Wonderful view over the pool
this is a great hotel and perfect location in jomtien right on the beach. the grounds are beautiful, the rooms spacious and each has a large patio with table and chairs overlooking the gorgeous pool and grounds. the staff are very polite and friendly and the breakfast buffet is more than adequate. one small drawback is that wifi is not included but available for baht per day. the hotel provides a golf cart shuttle service to the main road if you don't want to walk along the beach path.
Reviewed November 04, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Christopher from Nigeria
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011
Exactly. Lovely Hotel. Service witha Smile, ”
Beautiful Architecture. Spacious Facilities. Small and Homely.
After a road trip from Bangkok, we were made welcome in a spacious Lobby. For the first time, in our lives, we were made to sit on a chair during the Check In formalities at a Hotel. While we grinned to signify our delight at this gesture, we received a platter of two glasses of a cold green fruit drink. Our two nights passed off quite nicely. Even the cleaners were on hand to bid us farewell. Avalon - our new Home in Thailand.
Reviewed August 21, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Mario from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011
"Lovely Hotel with poor service"”
Nice rooms, great outside pool, and close to the ocean.
i am not a happy costumer, the hotel service has not much to say for a good service. the hotel will charge per additional person to the room. if you are a couple and invite a friend to stay over one night, they will charge even though your friend doesn't sleep in your room, they will still charge you. also not friendly to gay people.
Reviewed August 17, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Aranya from Thailand
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in July 2011
Nice hotel on Jomtian beach”
More space in the room
nice hotel on the beach, more space in the room makes me feel very relax. not far from jomtian beach and main street, easy to get in downtown. price is reasonable, cheapest actually. food quality and availability is acceptable. and, swimming pool is clean and nice.
Reviewed August 03, 2011
7.7
Very good
christopher from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in May 2011
Good location and lovely pool area”
swimming pool and proximity to beach
Hotel was very well maintained. Cleaning staff was very impressive in their work ethic. Lovely pool area. It seemed like a good location. Laid back area yet short walking distance to shops, restaurants, etc..
Reviewed June 02, 2011
7.3
Very good
Michael from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in May 2011
great hotel - great location”
location, style, pool
i love this hotel and always feel very relaxed here. it is located right on the beach. it has big rooms (they are basically all the same size - but some are decorated a little differently) with nice balconies. staff are nice and helpful. the pool is wonderful. breakfast is always nice with a lot of choice.
Reviewed May 24, 2011
7.7
Very good
jamie from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in May 2011
Lovely hotel with good location ”
Metres from the beach and Jomtiem nightlife
stayed here for 6 nights recently and was overall impressed .mainly catering to a russian/european crowd but lowish season meant there were few people around. food average but not bad by any standard,lovely pool kept very clean although most staff looked "grumpy" except the cleaning maids ! overall was happy and room big enough as superior will stay again for sure .
Reviewed May 18, 2011
8.7
Excellent
thirawat from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in April 2011
environment”
good location and facility
It's good location and staff intendtion of guest.It's very near the beach and resturant. The room is good desire.There is comfortable bed that can make you sleep well all night.the service and breckfast also fantastic.I recommend everyone to stay at this hotel. Furthermore the swimming pool is wonderful .Water very clean it's good to relax at the pool.
Reviewed April 23, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Lam from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in February 2011
Lovely hotel Great big rooms”
Beach front and nice swimming pool
Good location of hotel, beach front,pool view and partly sea view, 24 hour security, rooms bright and clean, free parking, hotel rooms are sound proved thick windows make your stay have quite day and night, good deal with this site includes breakfast, breakfast normal not many choice, highly recommend, will stay next trip.
Reviewed February 14, 2011
7.7
Very good
Michael from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2011
Lovely hotel, right on the beach”
location, swimming pool, big rooms
I have stayed at this hotel many times before. I like it because of its location right on Jomtien beach. The rooms are very nice and it has a lovely big pool. It is a very relaxing place and the landscaping is beautifully done, to give a beautiful tropical atmosphere. The staff are generally very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is ok - not outstanding - but quite a lot of choice and is included in the room price.
Reviewed February 03, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Jack from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2011
Location convenient to beach, nice pool”
Good value. Convenient to beaches and Jomtien Beach
Enjoyed a short stay here. Very nice pool and good location. Internet access in rooms is slow and not free, but relatively inexpensive. Breakfast was average- would like more vegetarian selections. Safe premises. Recommend bringing some bug spray to ward off mosquitoes.
Reviewed January 24, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Wesley from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2010
great beach resort in Jomtien/Pattaya”
great place, nice pool, convenient location, helpful staff
none
The Avalon Beach Resort was a great to place stay in Jomtien. It locates right on the beach but it also has a great pool, which we ended up hanging out at most of the time. The staff was very friendly. I had problems with my internet connection and they responded immediately. They also tried very hard to find information for me when I needed it. The room was spacious and pleasant. It was kept very clean. Breakfast buffet was good. We even had dinner and lunch there from time to time (although there are a lot of restaurants nearby). I would go back and stay there.
Reviewed November 10, 2010
8.3
Excellent
Allen from Netherlands
Couple
Garden
Stayed 8 nights in September 2010
Vacation”
Excellent pool, Location, Courtesy shuttle
We stayed at the Avalon in a Garden roomfor a week in Sept 2010. the place was quiet as it was the off season. We had the pool basically to ourselves, and the poolside service was very good. We used the free shuttle to the main road into Pattaya most every night. My fiance used the massage services daily and was more than satisfied with their work. The beach is literaly across the street which was very convenient. Again, as it was not busy the service on the beach was excellent. all in all we truly enjoyed our stay and will be back. As the hotel is located in the gay area of Jomtien those who are offended by this lifestyle may want to consider a different location. There are many small but excellent restaurants along the short walk along the beach to Jomtien. they are much cheaper than the larger restaurants on walking street, and the food was fresh and plentiful. you can also sit and watch the sunset which is beautiful.
Reviewed September 29, 2010