Book Now: Ayara Kamala Resort

Excellent
From 757 reviewsSee what guests said
8.4
Recommended by 91% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (757)Booking.com Reviews (263)
8.4
Excellent
From 757 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness9.0
Facilities8.5
Location7.7
Room comfort and quality8.8
Service8.9
Value for money8.2
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
ภาษาไทย
more
Room type
Deluxe Ocean View
Deluxe Pool Access View
Grand Classic Room
Grand Thai with Spa Bath And Private Pool
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 709 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Peter-Joseph from United States
Couple
Grand Classic Room
Stayed 5 nights in April 2017
Exceptional”
The resort was fantastic. The inclusive breakfasts, tennis courts, pool, beach, and a spa definitely make the resort a relaxing place, to say the least. The staff was friendly, attentive, and helpful. Location is beautiful, with a wonderful view of the ocean. Would recommend 100%.
Reviewed April 22, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
celine from Hong Kong
Group
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017
Best value around the area, roomy.”
We enjoyed our stay here. The door had some gaps but luckily there were no bugs inside the room for the 4 nights we stayed. The room is nice and a good size for 2. The beds i got were twin beds and comes with a couch. The shuttle to kamala were very helpful. I had a wedding to attend nearby and we just had to pay 150 each way and they were 24-hr! It was hard to call for cabs especially via grab and they were overpriced through the hotel. Airport transfer was also overpriced. Shower pressure was great but the screws holding the shower head were a bit loose. I also didn't like that the toilet and room had a big gap lacking privacy and there were no hand towel racks. Overall great service. They even had iron and ironing board
Reviewed March 24, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Harry from Australia
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in February 2017
Exceptional”
Stayed here end Feb 2017 ( 8 Days ), My Wife and I , Stayed in a sea view Villa high in the hills, Beautiful Villa, buggy Ride to and fro to the Office & Restaurant / Bar, Free Transport to Kamala beach town, 5 minutes drive , shuttle leaves every 2 hrs and return up until 8 pm, 150 BAHT ( 6 AUD ) per room any other time, 700 BAHT ( 28 AUD ) TAXI to Patong town beach 20 minutes drive, The Restaurant at the resort is very good and priced accordingly to the other resorts in the Aria, The Restaurants in Kamala town range from Good to Average, We ate in four and only recommend 1, (Grill Bill ) only a small venue so booking a must, Plate size very large and very tasty ate here twice on our stay, (Excellent) This Resort is a Tranquil and relaxing place to stay, away from the hustle and bustle of Patong but not to far to visit if need be, The staff at the villa are all Amazing and couldn't do enough to accommodate our needs Thank you to Management and Staff Well Done. Would recommend to others, and stay here myself again on next visit to Phuket.
Reviewed March 05, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Antony from United Kingdom
Couple
Grand Classic Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Finish our trip in style ”
I'd Like to thank all the Staff that made our stay so special and a special thanks to Mr Wirat Justin for making my proposal so special !!They couldn't do enough the views are gorgeous the food and service second to none .Thank u again and I would highly recommend this place ,it's a must if u are traveling to a phucket
Reviewed March 04, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Lucy from United Kingdom
Couple
Grand Pool Villa Ocean View Max Occupancy 2
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Nice Private Villas”
Stayed in a villa at the top of the hill which was glorious. The hill is quite steep to climb however the staff will take you in a buggy upon request and have no issues in doing so. Breakfast is fairly simple but sufficient and the hotel is a bit out of the way so you have a sense of privacy in comparison with some of the other large hotels in Kamala.
Reviewed March 02, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Lucy from United Kingdom
Couple
Grand Pool Villa Ocean View Max Occupancy 2
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017
Amazing views”
Had a lovely time staying at the Ayara Kamala. I liked this hotel as it is more intimate than the other larger hotels nearby giving a sense of serenity. The staff cannot do enough for you, particularly in the bar area around the main pool. They were always very attentive and polite and ensured that all of our requirements were catered to. Would come back.
Reviewed March 02, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Lucy from United Kingdom
Group
Deluxe Pool Access View
Stayed 5 nights in February 2017
Great stay, amazing villas”
The villa accommodation we stayed in was gorgeous. The private pool overlooking the ocean is a great view and makes for a very relaxed and calm atmosphere.
Reviewed March 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Reena from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Pool Access View
Stayed 8 nights in February 2017
Amazing place”
They upgraded to their Grand Villa with spectacular views, amazing facilities and phenomenal views. 5 stars all the way.
Reviewed February 23, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Allison from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Excellent room and food. will visit again.”
Excellent room and food. will visit again.
Reviewed February 06, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Wangchen from China
Couple
Deluxe Pool Access View
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
All good!”
Staff very helpful, and very relaxed hotel with great view! Will come back again
Reviewed February 06, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Kenny from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Fantastic Holiday”
The view from my room was to die for. Staffs were friendly, helpful and courteous.
Reviewed February 05, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Christopher from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 6 nights in January 2017
Great location”
A fantastic experience on top of the Kamala hills. One of the best locations on the whole island of Phuket. The staff were very attentive, nothing was too hard for them and were always willing to help. Would go again!
Reviewed February 02, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Kevin from Ireland
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 5 nights in November 2016
Great hotel great view”
Had a fantastic stay at this hotel really friendly and helpful staff. Great location on the hill side over looking the sea. Problem on arrival with my booking was swiftly sorted out by Hotel and Agoda to my satisfaction. One small problem the breakfast was great however after 5 days the variety remained exactly the same really distracted from an otherwise great holiday.
Reviewed November 29, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Robin from France
Family with young children
Family Suite
Stayed 7 nights in October 2016
Nice family room ”
Very nice family room with access to large swimming pool, good privacy and enjoyable view. The breakfast was average (food a bit stale sometimes but maybe it's because it was low season) but otherwise the restaurant was excellent. The beach was still closed (they only open in November). Staff was nice, discreet and always helpful.
Reviewed October 30, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Hae from South Korea
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Summer Vacation”
Great views, kind and attentive staffs
Reviewed July 22, 2016
4.4
Joshua from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Grand Pool Villa Ocean View Max Occupancy 2
Stayed 6 nights in June 2016
Disappointing ”
I'm not normally one to complain but I think that this hotel is outdated, overpriced and the staff were lazy. My husband and I stayed with our 8 month old baby in an ocean delux room. The room was big but it wasn't modern by any stretch of the imagination. The shower didn't work properly and they didn't give us any shower towels after repeatedly asking for them day after day and not getting them we resorted to using the pool towels. The breakfast was disappointing - flies everywhere with a dismal selection and loads of staff standing around talking to each other and difficult to flag down to order from them even though us plus another couple were the only two ta.
Reviewed July 06, 2016
8.0
Excellent
William from Singapore
Couple
Grand Classic Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016
never disappoints”
this is my 3rd visit to the property. this time round have one on the upper unit. just as enjoyable as my last few visit. However, pays to rent a car as the property is out of the way and you really need to drive thru and fro to enjoy all that phuket has to offer. this property is always my first choice for phuket
Reviewed June 01, 2016
7.6
Very good
jo from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Pool Access View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016
Great service”
As this hotel was under renovations the facilities were limited , including main pool area and pool bar , however we were upgraded to a pool villa which was lovely . The service was fantastic .
Reviewed May 24, 2016
8.0
Excellent
suteera from Thailand
Group
Deluxe Pool Access View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Nice”
So lovely staff n peaceful hotel
Reviewed May 06, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 5 nights in April 2016
Michael Connelly”
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa is a spectacular place to stay in, when visiting Phuket. Absolutely impeccable service within all facilities in the resort including the restaurant which serves excellent food. Very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff under the leadership of Christian, are doing excellent job to make your stay very pleasant !!! All facilities are in excellent condition and very well maintained. If you visit Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa just one time, see the view of the ocean and the hotel's location, you will never want to leave. Personally I, Michael Connelly and my fiancé Pranee would like very much, again to thank all the staff helping and serving us during our stay, Great work, thank you very much. Michael & Pranee
Reviewed April 22, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Philip from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Wonderful villa”
Was given a pleasant surprise upgrade to villa. View was fantastic. Staff were very polite and helpful. Private pool and private sun deck were perfect for me and wife to spend our time with full privacy.
Reviewed April 17, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
mohammed from United Arab Emirates
Family with young children
Grand Classic Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016
Great location friendly staff”
Nice hotel
Reviewed March 11, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Brent from United States
Couple
Grand Pool Villa Ocean View Max Occupancy 2
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Pleasant time”
Beautiful view, lovely room, great food
Hotel has a beautiful view, food was excellent. Good experience.
Reviewed March 08, 2016
6.7
Good
simon from Switzerland
Business traveler
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Definitely not a great interior design ”
Location - quiet - price
If you come here for a honeymoon it's not the place to be as it feels very much strange the whole athnoshoere and interior design - white instead of warm yellow lighting etc
Reviewed March 02, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Manoj from India
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Stay at Ayara Kamala Resort - Phuket”
Excellent rooms, beautiful views and great service
Overall we really enjoyed staying at Ayara Kamala resort. To start with, the hotel staff was very friendly, rooms were plush, shuttle service to Kamala beach was quite handy and the breakfast they served was good as well. The location although a bit far away from the city was very nicely chosen and gave a good amount of privacy for people who like the calm and quite atmosphere.
Reviewed March 01, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Jie from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Pool Access View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
You must book at least a pool access room”
pool access, peace, view
If you are looking for peace and quiet, Ayara Kamala is the place to be. It is up a hill but has a private beach. My room had pool access and that made my stay really very enjoyable. I agree that the bathrooms looks old but I think this applied to the small tiles they used. The furnishing in the bedroom was modern.
Reviewed February 24, 2016
7.0
Very good
Jindi from China
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Generally good bar the breakfast is underwhelmed”
Sea view room
Reviewed February 18, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
irynne from United States
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Travel to Phuket”
Great service & very accommodating.
Reviewed February 11, 2016
7.6
Very good
Yuta from Hong Kong
Couple
Grand Pool Villa Ocean View Max Occupancy 2
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Good sea view”
Nice
Reviewed February 09, 2016
4.3
Nigel from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Grand Classic Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Underwhelming ”
The view, the overall external aesthetics of the resort and some of the staff were relatively helpful
Very disappointing for a place that styles itself as a high end establishment. The breakfast was decidely no better than an average 4 star hotel in Thailand. It's also halal so don't expect any bacon . The reception staff and security were not particularly welcoming and actually made us feel we were an inconvenience. Only allowed one key for the room which was very inconvenient. When staff were asked to arrange hi tea, we were told to call the kitchen ourselves. The room are spacious but the lack of quality finishes shows. Towels and bed linen were past their peak. The water in the Villa pool was clean there were many insects floating about. there are far better places. Don't expect 5 star treatment here.
Reviewed January 01, 2016
4.7
Ken from Malaysia
Family with young children
Grand Classic Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Lesser of an experience”
large rooms, breakfast, hotel shuttle
Not well maintained and only found the famous Thai hospitality and smile in only a few staff.
Reviewed December 10, 2015
7.3
Very good
SHERMAN from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Pool Access View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
The rooms are abit old ”
location service staff
was not really good ,the hotel room is abit old
Reviewed December 03, 2015
7.3
Very good
TEE from Singapore
Family with young children
Family Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
great stay”
friendly staff, good views and clean
very good if there is sandy beach will be excellent
Reviewed November 29, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Joseph from United States
Couple
Grand Classic Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Exceeded expectations”
Location, Room, spa
Fantastic!
Reviewed November 26, 2015
8.0
Excellent
juventia from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
good resort”
best view
ayara kamala resort is best place for honeymoon
Reviewed November 20, 2015
7.7
Very good
xiaoman from United States
Group
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
Nice room, great layout and friendly staff”
Friendly Staff, clean and good layout
Enjoyable, good privacy Too far from shop but there a free shuttle.
Reviewed October 29, 2015
8.0
Excellent
xiaoman from United States
Group
Grand Classic Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
Great hotel but I feel it's a 4stars not 5”
Hotel layout, design and staff
Enjoyed, friendly staff great layout of hotel. But, only 1 small swimming pool. Shop are far but hotel provide shuttle for free. So it all good.
Reviewed October 29, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
MA from China
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Happy stay”
Clean, good breakfast and quiet
Both of us feel wonderful to stay at this hotel
Reviewed October 10, 2015
6.0
sze from China
Family with teens
Grand Classic Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
View is good but location is inconvenient ”
Nice swimming pool and service
Taxi booking will be charged thb700. It makes no sense.
Reviewed October 02, 2015
5.7
YEAN from Malaysia
Couple
Grand Classic Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Does not meet expectations”
Moderate, below expectations
Reviewed September 28, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Sathyanarayanan from India
Family with teens
Family Suite
Stayed 5 nights in August 2015
Traditional Thai Resort”
Ayara Kamala is an enchanting resort built in the traditional thai style with comfortable suites and elegant public spaces. The resort is located on a steep mountain overlooking the balmy Andaman sea
Great stay and a lovely escape
Reviewed August 23, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Simon from Australia
Couple
Grand Classic Room
Stayed 7 nights in August 2015
Exceeded all expectations”
The staff, the view and the food
Our decision to stay at Ayara Kamala resort was last minute without our usual research so we weren't sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised with this resort which exceeded all expectations. The staff were absolutely fantastic, helpful and very friendly. The room was spacious, clean and well furnished with magic views. And the restaurant produced wonderful meals. The resort is located out of town so we stayed the entire time at the resort which was peaceful and relaxing. Great for a quiet, relaxing break! Thank Ayara Kamala Resort
Reviewed August 20, 2015
5.0
Todd from United States
Solo traveler
Grand Classic Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
A hotel you will regret staying at”
Bed was ok
I booked the Ayara Resort with high expectations. After a few hours I was shocked and disappointed at how poorly a resort could be run. Slow service and unprofessional staff members. Even during low season it seems they couldn't take care of small things. No wifi in my room, no hot water in my shower for the duration of my stay, noisy staff outside my room and even a maid walking into my room while I was sleeping in the middle of the night. No access to the sea were amongst the disappointments. The resort is way up in the mountain away from everything. Two plus km to the nearest convience store. I would never stay there again. They charge outrageous prices for simple things. A massage 2,200 baht which is nice but I can get the same for 300 baht beach side. I tried to talk to the manager about the hot water problem. He was unavailable and never did show his face. What a terrible way to run a hotel. I would not recommend you stay at this resort. Many nicer resorts to choose from in Thailand.
Reviewed August 19, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Wei from Singapore
Solo traveler
Family Suite
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Quiet retreat but quite far from action”
Cleanliness, privacy, polite staff
Ayara is a quiet hotel in Kamala that is almost 40mins from the Patong / Karon area so it's quite a troublesome to get to the city for a walk about. Rooms are clean and well equipped. Staff are polite and always go out on a limb to help you with any service queries. This hotel is good for those who intend not to leave the resort but lounge by the pool. Else, there are no 7-11s or coffee joints around.
Reviewed August 10, 2015
7.3
Very good
Benjamin from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Grand Classic Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Overall nice trip”
swimming pool, view and room design.
room shower water in bad condition (yellowish in colour). other than this, overall is nice.
Reviewed July 22, 2015
7.0
Very good
Kam from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Pool Access View
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Bad location”
Buy 1 get 1 free SPA, stunning views, clean
I have been staying this hotel for 2 days, I would rate it 3.5/5. Location is too far away from Patong. It costs 700BHT for taxi which offered by the hotel to there, roundtrip would be 1300BHT in total. Quite Expensive. I suggest to get a taxi from Patong which costs 500 BHT back to hotel (You have to negotiate the price with the taxi driver in Patong). This hotel has free shuttle bus to Kamala beach, only 5 shuttle bus per day, and it takes around 10-15 mins to get there. 90% was Chinese who stayed at this hotel. Breakfast was so so, not many variety of food placed there, make sure to ask about the Thai breakfast menu. Room was clean, I had the pool access room, but the water wasn't clean enough, not sure if it was about the rain. The only thing I love the most is the SPA, they offered a buy 1 get 1 free for any choice on the spa menu. I chose the hot oil one, and it costs about 2500BHT tax included for 2 person. The environment was so nice, I enjoyed it a lot.
Reviewed July 16, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Vanessa from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Hideaway^^”
Awesome view, clean and nice staffs!
Many times here^^ just need to improve on the breakfas^^ the rest, awesome!
Reviewed June 22, 2015
7.0
Very good
Lim from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe Ocean View
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014
Hotel on the hilltop, away from the busy phuket”
Room - Clean - Quiet
you need to rent a car to get to this place, thank you google map :) the hotel is new, clean and nice. right on top of a hill and you need to walk down a step stairs to get down to beach. the weather was rough so we didn't go down... room is clean, spacious and tastefully design. food was a problem as we need to drive out to phuket beach or town to get food and groceries. its a good place to spend time with your girlfriend or wife, but defenitely not for kids.
Reviewed May 29, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Jarold from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Pool Access View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Quiet and peaceful”
Quietness, Cleaniess and Staff
Well, depends on you go for what purpose. If you want to peace your mind, its a good place to go. But if you wan for shopping, drinking, its quite a distance to those shopping areas. and the transportation from ayara to patong/Phuket town is not that cheap. Staff was very polite and helpful, English speaking. So overall im still okay with the hotel, will rate at 7/10.
Reviewed May 03, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
ling from China
Couple
Grand Pool Villa Ocean View Max Occupancy 2
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
I love this hotel!”
View people and environment
I enjoy everything. Very nice hotel. A little bit expensive.
Reviewed April 11, 2015