Book Now: Baan Talay Dao Resort

Excellent
From 719 reviewsSee what guests said
8.1
/
10
Recommended by 92% of guests

Reviews of Baan Talay Dao Resort Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (719)Booking.com Reviews (2)
8.1
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.4
Facilities7.7
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality8.3
Service8.4
Value for money7.8
All languages
All guests (719)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 534 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Peter from Australia
Couple
Studio
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Quiet ,secluded venue ,perfect to relax ”

Quiet

Reviewed April 09, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Peter from Australia
Couple
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Nice little secluded spot to relax”

Away from the crowds

Reviewed April 02, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Apitsada from Thailand
Couple
Pavilion Villa
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

A perfect getaway”

We celebrated our New Year's Eve there this year. And it was such a great place to be. The private bathtub in pavilion villa was amazing. The room is spacious and very clean. Breakfast is good (would be great if there're more muslims friendly choices ;) We asked the front dest to book us a table for 2 at the restaurant and we got the best one! Thank u very much! We will definitely coming back again 💙

Reviewed January 03, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Rod from Australia
Couple
Studio
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016

Still Great!”

This was our third stay this year at Baan Talay Dao. We love it due to it's simple eco touches, great garden, restaurant and pool area, and friendly and welcoming staff. It's also in a quieter part of Hua Hin but close to Cicada Market and some nice restaurants and cafes.

Reviewed October 25, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Su from Singapore
Couple
Studio
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016

Nice place to chill and relax”

Staff take pride in their work, very industrious, bedding very clean, decor simple, resort is small, love the greenery. Massage and airport transfer 150 bht, slightly expensive, you can just walk out to the main room to get a better deal for massage, and take the public green car 10 bht per person. Free shuttle bus twice a day is convenient. I would stay here next time.

Reviewed September 08, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Rod from Australia
Couple
Studio
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016

Perfect Place to Relax”

We were hoping that Baan Talay Dao would be great but it turned out even better than our expectations. We were in a Studio Room on the 1st floor (2nd floor in American English). The rooms on this floor have a deep balcony with a very relaxing built in seating area (other floors just have chairs). Plus the whole place is surrounded by trees and a beautiful garden so it doesn't feel too hot. The Studio Room was very comfortable and ultra clean. We also checked out one of the bungalows as we think we might stay in one next time. They are also very nice with plenty of space and a 'roofless bath'. I would recommend getting one back a little from the pool/restaurant area. The pool is beautiful - right up against the beach with nice trees shading the area. The restaurant is also very nice - very extensive and varied breakfast (Thai and Western) which exceeded our expectations. Also a great menu during the day and evening. It's a little of of town which for us was fine - we rented a motorbike to get in and out. It takes about 15mins. The resort is very close to the fabulous Cicada Market (walking distance) which is a must visit if you are there on a weekend. We will definitely go back. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and unlike many other similar places in Thailand it felt like management was really working to keep the place in top condition. We also liked the fact that the hotel tries to be genuinely environmentally minded through the Green Leafe Hotel accreditation program.

Reviewed May 13, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Graham from United Kingdom
Couple
Studio
Stayed 9 nights in November 2011

Small and compact with a 'family' atmosphere”

Good location on beachfront, great food

Although the hotel and grounds are compact, the hotel does a great job of making the most of what it has.The restaurant area and grounds open up onto the beach with a small pool (but no gym facility). We found it an excellent base as there was no fighting through the often frantic traffic on the main strip at downtown Hua Hin (BTD is about 15 minutes south of HH by the free hotel courtesy bus) particularly late afternoons and evenings. Staff were helpful and friendly and the security guards even take you by golf buggy from reception to the main entrance and back. Few people seemed to use the restaurant in the evenings, but we found it to provide the best Thai food we visited during our 10 days there. Would we return? I have just booked another trip back there through Agoda!

Reviewed January 01, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Seema from Thailand
Family with teens
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in April 2010

Good relaxing place”

Really impressive when we walked through the front desk with dilicious welcome drink.Room is such a warm place. In addition, we feet relief after see the view around the hotel with wonderful seaview.
Too small.

Such a good place for taking a rest after you are tired from weekdays. Family can have a good time together. Brother and Sister enjoyed in beautiful pool.Lovers feel private in a romantic atmosphere when they walked along shining beach at sunset time. This is the hotel that take care every sense of clients.

Reviewed May 03, 2010
8.0
Excellent
YASUHIRO from Japan
Solo traveler
Studio
Stayed 3 nights in October 2009

Hotel in Hoa Hin”

Friendly staff and quiet place were comfortable. In addition, free internet and bicycle were convenient.
Free shuttle service was not flexible, so it was inconvenient to go downtown freely. Meal was not so good.

Friendly staff and quiet location was good. I enjoyed swimming and relaxing looking sea and sky. If hotel shuttle service is available on customer request basis, hotel guests would be able to visit the hotel again.

Reviewed November 01, 2009
8.3
Excellent
Narisorn from Thailand
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in September 2008

Nice boutique resort”

location, view, friendly staff
alot of mosquitos, small pool

I went there with my parents in which they found it very satisfying. The resort is rather small but cozy. The swimming pool is kept clean but is tiny. The food at the restaurant was rather pricey. The rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly.It is located near to Kao Takieb in which is not too far from downtown huahin, 10 mins drive.

Reviewed September 30, 2009
7.6
Very good
Leslie from Thailand
Couple
Studio
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Not Ready for us; Still Good”

The staff were polite & attended to all requests. On arrival there were too many small problems in the room eg; missing price list for fridge, missing log in code for internet, phone not working, cushions missing from outdoor furniture.. It was obvious that our arrival was not prepared for and there was no system to check the room prior to arrival. Everything else was excellent. We would stay again.

Reviewed December 08, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Aniwat from Thailand
Couple
Studio
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

All good”

Everything are very good. Nice location for relaxing. Parking car is not next to Resort but there is a mini golf car sevice. All staffs are so kind. There is a clean beach and able to swim.

Reviewed June 19, 2018
6.0
Jorgen from Sweden
Couple
Studio
Stayed 5 nights in December 2017

Above average”

The resort is located close to the sea, but have No beach... If you want to go to beach its bus from hotel, or better rent motorbike! The swimming pool is old and small...The small garden is nice and service is ok...

Reviewed January 09, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Peter from Canada
Couple
Studio
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Peaceful and friendly”

Loved this hotel. The staf are amazing, breakfast was fantastic. The food if great overall. The room was really clean and the bed very comfy. It is on the edge of town but we walked over to the action in 15 minutes...easy! We would stay there again

Reviewed December 20, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Saran from Thailand
Family with young children
Studio
Stayed 1 night in July 2017

Nice place and good breakfast”

This is first time i was here, it very nice place and clean room , have private garden around the room, small swimming pool and very nice and good taste breakfast the food is not too much variety and it was good taste and nice preseatation of buffet line The parking space is not near the hotel but have shuttle bus for delivery

Reviewed July 21, 2017
5.2
Mauritz from Sweden
Couple
Studio
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

Nice location and calm setting ....”

Nice location and calm setting .... Nice location next to beach and calm and tranquil setting in relatively small hotel. Villa room was Nice butTo be higer score the Facilities need a bit of renovation to be in top class and staff need improve attitude

Reviewed February 08, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Saara from Thailand
Family with young children
Studio
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016

Lovely little hotel at a perfect spot”

We spent four nights in this hotel in October. Unfortunately it was very rainy but we will enjoyed the beautiful seaview from the pool and restaurant. Breakfast was adequate and the food at the restaurant tasty. we only had Thai food so cannot vouch for the western dishes. Pool was smaller than it looked in the pictures, but our children (7 and 3) still enjoyed it a lot. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely consider staying again.

Reviewed November 02, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Victoria from United Kingdom
Couple
Studio
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016

Beautiful setting”

Loved our stay here, the hotel is right on a beautiful beach and the pool overlooks it. It is very peaceful here and was a good setting for us (away from the main town centre). Room's are a good size and bathroom was very nice. The only let down is the food, breakfast was ok but we had lunch and dinner (both western and Thai) and the food was below average. Other than that a lovely resort and plenty of other places to eat locally!

Reviewed July 17, 2016
7.3
Very good
Phillip from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Studio
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015

Nice hotel by the sea”

Location, service and price

I needed a hotel for three nights while sailing in Hua Hin and this hotel was a good find. While not a outstanding hotel if was peaceful and right by the sea. It's about 2 to 3 km outside the main town but has plenty of buses going every 15 minute to the town (10 baht). The breakfast is good and dinner not bad either, but there are loads of restaurants nearby for fresh food. The reception staff are very efficient and kind. The negatives are in the Internet is a bit slow and the rooms properly needs a lick of paint. However, these are very minor negatives.

Reviewed December 11, 2015
4.7
David from United Kingdom
Couple
Studio
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015

Would not stay there again”

Location on the beach and thatvis all

Extremely disappointed. Breakfast food was very limited and had to wait for a long time to get even the basics replenished. One gentleman waited so long for some fruit to be replenished that when he went to order some egs (just a few minutes after 10.00am) he was told breakfast was finished and that hecwas too late for eggs! The rooms are looking very dated and not cleaned properly, same for the dining tables not being cleaned and very sticky to the touch. Service was only just acceptable but generally not a good place to stay

Reviewed February 13, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Brian from United States
Solo traveler
Studio
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013

Quiet, relaxing and on the beach”

Located on the beach, good breakfast, great staff

Enjoyed my stay here. Staff were helpful and friendly. Location is on the beach and design is natural and pleasing for a relaxing stay. Would stay here again when in Hua Hin. Enjoyed walking on the beach in the mornings and evenings.

Reviewed November 03, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Nat from Thailand
Couple
Studio
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

Nice and comfortable”

Nice. Comfortable. Affordable

Great place for weekend/ holiday relaxation. Affordable price. Quite environment. Friendly staff. Clean and cozy room. 50 steps to the beach. Medium size swimming pool. Breakfast is good but not for veggie people, should have some fish or more vegetarian dishes offer. Large bed, clean and quite new towels, soft pillows. The best this is you don't have to share the wall with others guest.

Reviewed September 03, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Ren from Malaysia
Couple
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013

very relaxing no fuss”

location, value for money, good food

it was a very pleasant stay and we really enjoyed ourselves. the hotel was simple and clean and meets the requirement of a no fuss relaxing beach holiday. breakfast is basic but quality of food is good. we had dinner in the hotel and the food was great and affordable!! The staffs were friendly with basic spoken English and very helpful with directions. small pool but sufficient.

Reviewed August 29, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Yongxu from China
Family with teens
Studio
Stayed 1 night in February 2013

Quite hotel a little bit far away from the center ”

Quite, out-door swimming pool, beach, out door restaurant

The hotel lies a little bit far away from the Hua Hin center (10 min by taxi, not big deal). Hotel also offers taxi for guest to go to the town center. The entertainment around the hotel is limited, however, the beach is clean and the environment is quite. Basically, the price for the hotel is expensive.

Reviewed February 11, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Johan from Sweden
Couple
Studio
Stayed 14 nights in December 2012

Really nice hotel with a good position”

Nice and quite family hotel

the hotel provides good spacious rooms, good size bathrooms with a very nice thai restaurant. the pool area gives plenty of room both with sun and shade. pool just the right size. a surprise was perhaps the lack of beech and some days the sea can be rough. good shutle service to downtown hua hin albeit the taxi ride back somewhat pricey!

Reviewed December 29, 2012
6.0
Elizabeth from United Kingdom
Group
Studio
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

Hotel tradtional ok for a one night stay”

nothing

Hotel was ok, nothing much tradtional thai hotel ok for a one night stay. A little away from hua hin city so taking a taxi a little tipsy was a nightmare to say the least. The pool was cute but dont expect swimming lengths as it was small. No beach dont expect one! Even though pictures show otherwise. Food in morning was satisfactory but breakfast in thailand your not expecting nothing special so didnt expect much to say the least. Service on other hand was great and couldnt fault it! Would i stay again! My fourth time in hua hin...... No you have better options to play with accomdation. And competition is high in hua hin such a shame for the hotel. if your travelling from over sees do not do this place.......Its not how you should picture thailand

Reviewed December 28, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Christopher from United Kingdom
Couple
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012

My idealic kind of place”

Lovely rooms great service and friendly staff.

Tv's were a bit old but saw new coming in as we left shame we went rainy season as had quite a bit but loved the place. Because of the rain didnt see sunset but lovely restaurant and choice of 2 beautiful pools. Would recommend and will be going back next year.

Reviewed September 26, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Richard from United States
Couple
Studio
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012

lovely osasis by the sea”

lovely gardens, small hotel and gracious staff

This is my second stay at the Baan Tayal Dao. I choose to come here because of the relaxed atmosphere, comfortable well appointed rooms and lovely gardens and attentive staff. The rooms are small but comfortable mixing traditional Thai style with modern amenities. The restaurant is small and the breakfast simple but well prepared to western and Thai standards. It seems that the clientel is an eaqual mix of Thai and foreign visitors. The pool is small but adequet for my purposes and not filled with screeming children. The hotel is a good distance from Hua Hin (which was fine with me) but I understand they run a shuttle service and I am sure they can arrange transport by taxi or tuk tuk if desured.

Reviewed June 04, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Tara from United States
Family with young children
Studio
Stayed 4 nights in April 2012

We are frequent customers!”

Location, many friendly staff, cute place!

We've been coming to the Baan Talay Dao for over 4 years. They know us and remember our children each time. We love the breakfast, however it is best when there's a proper buffet (there must be more guests staying for them to open the buffet). The pool is small, but cute and good for the kids. The rooms are sufficient and fit our family nicely. They always give us the same room and baby cot for our little one (our son is able to sleep on the day-bed available. During our last visit, they had a mosquito spraying incident take over the entire resort. We were not the only family to be totally shocked by it. I had a fit and got very upset, as this is very dangerous for children. The manager listened to my complaints, apologized and ensured that all guests at the time would receive complimentary dinners. That was a very nice gesture and it ensured that we will remain frequent guests.

Reviewed May 04, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Kesinee from Thailand
Couple
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012

Nice room, lovely ambience & good service”

Generous space, nice garden & nice beach

The room was good and the breakfast varities were good too. We love their small but cozy garden. Their pool is a bit too small but love the access to the peaceful beach. Good for morning and after dinner walk.

Reviewed April 21, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Vibeke from Denmark
Couple
Studio
Stayed 22 nights in February 2012

A pearl at the Tokia Beach at Hua Hin. ”

Perfect rooms, beautiful layout of the garden, service in top, right to the beach with its lovely sunrise and set. Good food, value for money.

A pearl if you are looking for tranquility and good service in fabulous surrondings. Gives a private atmosphere and make you cool down. Only a few miles to down town Hua Hin with coach service and to the fishermans' village where you get excellent and fresh sea foods.

Reviewed March 17, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Rastislav from Slovakia
Couple
Studio
Stayed 1 night in December 2011

Excellent butique hotel”

Traditional thai fisherman houses set with european standard inside

very satisfied with this hotel, worth of money that we paid. unbelievable service - scooter rental complimentary for hotel guests, cake for my birthday, have not been long time in friendly place like this.

Reviewed January 05, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Paul from United States
Couple
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011

Great vacation get-away with ocean view”

environment, service, ocean view

it was a total surprise, clean room, friendly staff, great surrounding. simply just love the fact to have an ocean view literally right at your backyard! hotel also provide free shuttle service (one-way) to downtown hua-hin, twice a day. got free breakfast, which is also delicious and many varieties. although it is a bit far from the downtown hua-hin area, but it is still within reasonable reach, about 150b to get tuktuk/taxi from downtown. will definitely go again next visiting hua-hin.

Reviewed November 08, 2011
8.0
Excellent
VITAWAN from Thailand
Couple
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011

Resonable price and good location”

Good location,facing the sea and near by the seafood restaurant. Room is clean and quiet...

I have book this hotel by agada.com which offered the best price compare to other website. I normally stay at the hotel which good location as seaside location and not far from restaurant and market. This hotel offerd the best price and resonable...breaskfast was good and variety. The room was clean only the outdoor swimingpool should be renovated, It looked a bit old.

Reviewed August 31, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Sopa from Thailand
Couple
Studio
Stayed 1 night in July 2011

very cozy nice atmosphere and good service”

peaceful and nice secenery

room is a little bit small but the room has nice balcony that allows us to spend time outside the room surrounded with big trees. the beach in front of the hotel is very nice. we can walk along the beach. breakfast is good. there are many kinds of food available. overall the service is good.

Reviewed July 21, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
John from United States
Couple
Studio
Stayed 3 nights in October 2010

Intimate, Peaceful Getaway”

Staff, room, surroundings---all excellent

Baan Talay Dao is a very unique, small, well kept property and perfect for a getaway or vacation. Good for all types of traveler including us who came over from Chonburi for a few days of R&R, food, etc. We had stayed in Hua Hin many times over the years but never here. A real find. Being on the Gulf of Thailand Beach is a real plus for walkers, joggers and ocean buffs.

Reviewed November 03, 2010
8.3
Excellent
Richard from United States
Couple
Studio
Stayed 3 nights in August 2010

nice location on private beach”

beach, comfortable rooms, garden and grounds
little expensive, food average

I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at the Baan Talay Dao hotel. The grounds and garden are beautiful and the room very comfortable with traditional wood floors but was a bit small. . large beach it was great to not have to walk off the hotel grounds. The breakfast was excellent despite the negative reviews I had read but the restaurant was a little expensive and the food uninspired. I think they could do better especially with the excellent beachfront location. Staff was pleasant and accomodating.

Reviewed September 03, 2010
8.3
Excellent
Panit from Thailand
Family with young children
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in August 2010

Great for family trip”

Beach front, Not very crowded
facilities

I went to this hotel with my wife and 2 years old daughter. We really love this hotel because it is low rise hotel and not very crowded. It is only 5 mins drive to Huahin downtown so it's easy if you want to get sth from home.

Reviewed August 25, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
woraset from Thailand
Couple
Studio
Stayed 1 night in July 2010

calm and quiet”

the price is very reasonable and really worth for the money. the beach at the hotel is very nice and the atmosphere around the hotel also calm and peaceful. the food is good and service is in the standard.

Reviewed August 02, 2010
8.3
Excellent
Kok from Singapore
Couple
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in July 2010

Baan Talay Dao Resort”

Nice beach
Far from town

Nice location right along the long stretch of the beautiful beach. Quiet and peaceful during the low season. Has a pool that faces the sea with beach chairs for tanning. Restaurant is also facing the beach but is a little pricey. Hotel rooms were comfortable and spacey with a chalet like feel. Wonderful stay would return again. Staff were also friendly and helpful and serve well.

Reviewed July 26, 2010
9.7
Exceptional
Tara from United States
Family with young children
Studio
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010

Wonderful time as always!”

Location, staff are wonderful, good breakfast, nice rooms, small but cute pool, love that it's not Hua Hin!
For us, none!

My family and I have visited the Baan Talay Dao many times. We never have a bad time there and we are always happy with our experiences there. It's worth the money. The staff remember us and have watched my son grow through the past two years. They are helpful and kind. The sea water is not gorgeous, but it's nice enough. And it's quite shallow, so it's perfect for families with little ones. Love the breakfast, as I've said in past reviews. Oh, and after 11:00 (the end of the buffet), you can order a decent espresso coffee. Believe it or not, that is important to us (no Nescafe for us, thank you). Their pool is small, but my son loves the little fountains in it and the water jets. If you have your own transportation, there are many restaurants nearby. But, it's best to drive to them. Oh, and I love jogging on the beach (once my little one takes a nap). So.. I can't complain. On the other hand, I don't want the place to get too buys and fill up.... it's our little gem.

Reviewed June 09, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
suviroje from Thailand
Family with young children
Pavilion Villa
Stayed 2 nights in April 2010

family good time”

nice garden, cosy, fresh air, beautiful and playable beach.
Breakfast is not grand as the number of houses is not many.

If you are looking for place like home which is next to the beach and surrouded by beautiful garden, this is your best choice. It is not too crowded, you can sit by the swimming pool and relax while watching your kids playiing and swimming with other kids. plus, it is not far from the center of city so u can avoid staying in your car for long time to go for dinner. 8.5 / 10 for my family.

Reviewed April 23, 2010
8.0
Excellent
Sharon from Singapore
Family with teens
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in December 2009

Good value!”

Right on the beach front, good food & service
No shops or other restaurants within walking distance.

We love this resort as it's right on the beach front. During high tide, the water comes up to the property, but during low tide, you have a nice expanse of clean, fine sand to walk on. The service staff is very good - including front desk, housekeeping & F&B. The food at the restaurant is surprisingly good for such a small and somewhat humble-looking establishment. The lemongrass chicken is amazing! The lemongrass is pounded to fine strips and deep fried with the chicken wings. It was very yummy! Many of the past reviews we'd read commented on the breakfast. We had no issues with it. The spread on the Sunday that we were there was decent in terms of quantity and variety. You can't compare it against a 5-star chain hotel type of buffet breakfast. On the other day where there were fewer guests, the cold dishes like cereals, cold cuts and salad were available at the buffet table, but the hot dishes like eggs, sausages, porridge etc, you order with the wait staff. I think this is a really clever way for them to ensure that your food is hot while not incurring any wastage.

Reviewed December 30, 2009
8.0
Excellent
Michael from United States
Family with young children
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in October 2009

Quiet and traditional”

Warm and helpful staff, quiet location.
Swimming pool had no slope.

The seemingly remote location of Baan Talay Dao proved to have advantages and no real disadvantages. Our party of three adults and a child were graciously accommodated, and we soon learned how to use the free shuttle service to shopping areas. Since the hotel is located some distance from busy roads, we enjoyed quiet and privacy. We felt we had found an antidote to Pattaya.

Reviewed November 12, 2009
7.7
Very good
Anchalee from Thailand
Family with teens
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in October 2009

Baan Talay Dao review”

nice room nice garden nice staff good service.
small pool no balcony

It's cozy and relaxing. The room is clean and cozy. breakfast buffet is fine but if you wake up a little late like 9 or 9:30 the food is run out without refill.It's suppose to be availble from 7am to 10am. the pool seems small. the garden and the tree and resort are nicely setting. the staff are nice and polite. TV have very few channels.

Reviewed October 28, 2009
9.0
Exceptional
Otto from Netherlands
Couple
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in September 2009

small beachresort with view of Khao Takiab”

right on the beach,privacy in the junglelike garden, breakfast overlooking the beach
at high tide there is no beach

Friendly resort with smallish rooms and bathrooms A good balcony to sit on and enjoy the beautiful garden. We stayed there for two nights on our way back from Koh Samui. The first night (Thursday) not many guests were staying and we wondered why we had been given a room with a balcony through which a full grown tree grew. This meant not so much room for the two of us, but on the other hand we enjoyed the privacy and we felt one with the garden. The next day the hotel was completely booked with a group of Thai. A bank staffmeeting. So then we knew why we were given that room. We enjoyed the breakfast which is served at the restaurant at the beach. Rather frugal the first day, because there were so few guests. The next day though there was a buffet breakfast which was quite acceptable. Because the carpark is at the entrance and the hotelrooms and reception and restaurant near the beach, there is a golfcar to bring you to the front. Road or carpark.

Reviewed September 26, 2009
9.3
Exceptional
Tara from United States
Family with young children
Studio
Stayed 3 nights in March 2009

We love this place”

Location, breakfast, beach, room
Pricey, but it's okay.

We have gone to the Baan Talay Dao several times in the past year. We love it! It's a fairly short trip from Bangkok. So it works for a three day weekend or even just a regular weekend. The breakfast is so great. They make fresh waffles- and even special waffles too (with cashews!). And there's always a nice berry sauce to go with the waffles. It all depends on what you are looking for in a holiday. If you want to party, than the Baan Talay Dao is not for you. It's great for small families or quiet couples. It's also best if you have your own transportation, as it's far away from other places (restaurants, bars, coffee shops, laundry). But, we like it and it suits our needs. The gardening around the establishment is lovely too. It's a cute, quaint place.

Reviewed May 13, 2009
8.7
Excellent
John from United States
Solo traveler
Studio
Stayed 1 night in May 2009

an excellent choice”

beautiful setting, wonderfully helpful staff, tastefully decorated rooms
swimming pool is smallish

The Baan Talay Dao Resort is pretty much what it describes itself to be, a wonderful retreat in a beautiful setting. The room I stayed in was large and well appointed, with a very comfortable queen-size bed, and large shower and outside bathtub. I visited in the hot season, but the air conditioning kept the room comfortable. The staff were very helpful, responding to requests immediately and with characteristic Thai warmth and courtesy. I could have done without the loudish music in the evening, but it seemed to stop at 10pm (and it was Friday night).

Reviewed May 11, 2009
9.0
Exceptional
Martin from Germany
Family with teens
Stayed 5 nights in October 2007

Honemoon at it best”

Fantastic location, beach beach beach and so close to the shopping distict...
a little bit outside, you should know some THai to enjoy.

We spend our Honeymoon here and yes we had a great time. A certain amount of Thai helps a lot her, but you are close to the KIng summer residence what you expect. This very romantic place for this low value you will find nowhere else. We love it and we will come back, for sure...

Reviewed March 15, 2009
8.0
Excellent
alan from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 14 nights in January 2009

jungle paradise”

small and intimate
The courtesy bus was too early for us at 6.00 p.m. to go into town. perhaps 7.00 ish would suit people better

This hotel was perfect for us as it was small and friendly. Our room was very nice with a good bathroom. Sheets were changed most days and we had a lovely veranda to sit on. Fresh fruit and flowers were given to us as well. The gardens were lovely and we thought we were in the jungle but in comfort. The staff were extemely pleasant and very helpful. It was wonderful to just sit overlooking the sea at breakfast, which had a very good selection of food for all guests.

Reviewed February 12, 2009
9.3
Exceptional
Tara from United States
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in September 2008

Great family weekend in Kao Takiab”

The location- right on the beach. The breakfast buffet- homemade bread, waffles, homemade fruit syrup, meats, fruits..such a great selection! The atmosphere was alive, family-friendly and quaint. The staff were very helpful. Wireless internet. The room was comfortable. Free DVD rentals. Far away from the hussle and bussle of Hua Hin, but close enough to drive to for dinner. Kao Takiab is a great area.
The pool is much smaller than appears in pictures.

Our weekend at Baan Talay Dao was absolutely wonderful! We have a baby (10 months old) and were nervous about the quality of the hotel. But we were nicely surprised by everything! Baan Talay Dao is a great value for the money. All of the staff members were helpful and understanding. The location was great, as we were able to play with our baby in the sea and the pool! The establishment is very family friendly- so many other children and babies for our son to socialize with! The food was excellent. Even the restaurant had a good, decently priced menu. The bed was big and comfortable and the other furnishings were adequate. The room was safe for young children. The grounds were well decorated with beautiful plants, sculptures, fountains and small pools (with fish!). Our son was thrilled to explore this new place. We will very happily visit Baan Talay Dao again. I highly recommend it.

Reviewed September 13, 2008
7.6
Very good
Nick from United Kingdom
Couple
Studio
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Very good”

Simple, small hotel - rooms OK, but loo paper has to be put in a separate basket -decor a bit tired throughout hotel-small pool -quiet location - on seafront - no beach except a small strip of sand at low tide- very good staff- simple breakfast but you have to use coupons which is rather like Bulgarian hotels in the 80s! Plenty of mosquitoes during our stay. In my view this is a 2.5+ star hotel .

Reviewed November 19, 2018
5.2
Aungkana from Thailand
Family with young children
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

Wifi is bad. Front staffs are unfriendly. Swimming pool too small for kids and not clean.”

During my stay WiFi couldn't be use all time after I told the staffs no one seemed to care. Breakfast was alright but you can pay a bit more and get much better hotel. And front staff was very rough and not well trained.

Reviewed October 19, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Wannipa from Thailand
Group
Studio
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Lovely resort with good service”

I came with my parents. They are quite old and cannot walk properly. The hotel provide 1st floor room for us which is very convenience. Staffs are very nice and helpful.

Reviewed December 24, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Rod from Australia
Couple
Pavilion Villa
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017

Our 4th Visit speaks for itself”

an excellent place - we will be back!

Reviewed October 27, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Kritsachai from Thailand
Couple
Studio
Stayed 1 night in June 2017

Lovely place to stay in Hua Hin”

Just a walking distance to Cicada market. Adjacent to the beach.

Reviewed August 05, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
PASSARA from Thailand
Family with young children
Studio
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

Compact with all u need”

Truely relax coz a lot of trees and a few steps to a beach

Reviewed February 21, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Michael from Australia
Couple
Studio
Stayed 1 night in January 2017

Nice”

Good clean hotel in a nice location. Right on rhe beach so beautiful views (not from rooms) from pool or restaurant. Staff are good.

Reviewed January 19, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
li from Singapore
Group
Studio
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

everything was good”

love the view, love the place

Reviewed July 05, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Russell from Malaysia
Couple
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016

Relaxing and Scenery”

We had a very relaxing weekend at this resort. Good food, location and scenery. Will definitely go back!

Reviewed July 05, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Wuttipat from Thailand
Group
Studio
Stayed 1 night in June 2016

Good memory”

Warm environment and very greenery. Located at very nice area where we can connect to any place easily. Even though the room is old but still warm.

Reviewed June 13, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Woody from Thailand
Couple
Studio
Stayed 1 night in March 2015

i will recommend to friends”

BeachFront, greenery garden, cleanliness

perfect resort to stay

Reviewed April 20, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Keattisak from Thailand
Business traveler
Studio
Stayed 1 night in December 2014

Good view and location”

Good atmosphere

good service and beautiful beach

Reviewed March 11, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Hans from Norway
Couple
Pavilion Villa
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014

Great hotel”

Nice rooms, friendly staff, great location

Had a perfect stay at Baan Talay Dao Resort with my wife. The resort is located at the beach, and the sea is just a few steps away. Great food in the restaurant!

Reviewed September 14, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Panutt from Thailand
Couple
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013

Good”

Atmosphere, Peaceful and Good Service

Everything is ok, good service, small property, peaceful and nice view even garden view or sea view.

Reviewed October 02, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Aya from Japan
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in February 2008

Great!”

I would like to come back to this hotel!

Reviewed April 20, 2008
9.2
Exceptional
Manisara from Thailand
Couple
Studio
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Nice cozy place among beautiful environment , many big trees and the beach is just teo steps away.”

Small boutique hotel,You can enjoy dinner and breakfast beside the beachfront!

Reviewed October 13, 2018
6.0
Neil from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Above average”

Nice ambience, but the photos are misleading. No facilities to speak of other than a small pool. Despite being at the beach, with a gate to the beach, there is no direct beach access, even at low tide, unless you like to wade through about 2 feet of water. Overpriced for what you get.

Reviewed December 04, 2017
6.0
nathalie from Thailand
Family with teens
Studio
Stayed 1 night in July 2017

we liked it”

we booked the studio room which is on the 3rd floor quite tiring for my 58 year-old mom to walk up the stairs. the room was small but everything was nice and tidy. nice and quite area to stay. enjoy the walk along the beach.

Reviewed July 10, 2017
6.8
Good
MARK from Hong Kong
Couple
Pavilion Villa
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016

Good location and hotel room”

Location is good as close to one night market in a 7mins walking distance. Have to take taxi / tuk tuk to city centre each time at THB150. The breakfast is average as not much variety and foods are keeping in room temperature only.

Reviewed October 14, 2016