Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 76 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.2
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 5.7
Sort by

Kenson from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Friendly, comfortable, clean.
Staff are caring, place is clean and comfortable, air cond is cold.
Good, pleasant stay.
Reviewed May 04, 2015

Sebastian from Malaysia
Groups
6-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Comfy and homey, clean, friendly
Feels comfotable and homey, place is clean and people here are generally friendly.
At first glance it doesn't look like much. But it's enough for backpackers as the name suggests. The shared bathrooms, toilets are generally clean. Double decker beds can be squeaky if you move a lot when you sleep. Not recommended for light sleepers as the walls are thin and sounds outside can easily be heard. Rooms have air con and quite comfy even for afternoon nap. Plug sockets are limited so it's recommended to bring an extension. They have tables and chairs at the common area to chill and hang out, even a TV with some decent shows just to relax. Location is good as there is a 7-11 just opposite the place, porridge and pork satay just beside it and a few more eating places along the road. The waterfront is just the row behind it with boat rides and beautiful scenery. It's walking distance from St Thomas church and Hilton as I was attending a friend's wedding. Also within walking distance is Plaza Merdeka if you fancy fast food and shopping malls. Overall quite a good experience except the staff there would smoke in the pantry and made my shirt smell like cigarettes.
Reviewed May 04, 2015

Luis from France
Solo travelers
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Avoid if you can!
Location
This place should be close for healthy and safety issues!... The two rooms that I saw during my stay have mould and fungus on the ceiling and walls that anybody with athsma or any other respiratory problem will get seriously ill.
Reviewed February 23, 2015

Penelope from South Africa
Solo travelers
Standard Single
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015
Stay at backpacker stay
Location
Ok, bedroom no windows, bathrooms not great, people friendly and helpful.
Reviewed February 22, 2015

Alice from Australia
Solo travelers
Standard Single
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Damp
Location, cost
I had to check out after one night as the room was incredibly damp. There was black mould growing on one wall and the complete lack of ventilation meant that the room smelled like feet. The rest of the hostel was grimy with minimal decoration and unwelcoming communal spaces. The hot water didn't work in any of the three showers. Luckily at a night I was able to cut my losses and move elsewhere.
Reviewed February 17, 2015

Nadja from Germany
Solo travelers
6-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
very dirty toilet and broken showers
location
The batroom downstairs was the worst I have seen so far after a long long time traveling. Water all over the floor (its not allowed to wear shoes in the hostel so you are right in it), broken toilet, mould, smelly, cigerette ashes - very bad! Upstairs was slightly better. They have three cold showers, but two of them are broken. The strawberry marmalade (only option) for breakfast was green on top and red at the bottom. The room was ok, but not much space for luggage or anything. no window in the room. When I arrived the staff only told me the roomnumber and let me find my own way. I had to ask for anything myself as they werent very communicative at all. There is no real common area to meet other travellers. I won't come back, sorry.
Reviewed February 05, 2015

Rosalind from Singapore
Solo travelers
Standard Single
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Backpacker stay on a budget
Great location, reasonable room size and price
Was able to check in earlier on arrival and given an upgrade to a twin room which was spacious. GREAT ! WIFI Access provided. Common bathroom in need of upgrade with broken shower head. Was rather inconvenient to have to climb up and down the stairs to access water dispenser located on ground floor. Convenient hostel location, very near Main Bazaar with its numerous row of shops selling souvenirs and handicraft. Can access modern shopping mall, Plaza Merdeka (5 mins walk). Walking distance to waterfront for view of Sarawak River and boarding the small boat to get across to the small village opposite. Situated next door to a Chinese food court which has one of the most delicious braised duck and kueh chap in South East Asia. Had a great time walking along Carpenter Street/Bishop Street exploring and having a feel of the bygone era.
Reviewed December 31, 2014

Chandra from United States
Solo travelers
6-Bed Dormitory
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Very Helpful +Friendly Staff-- so I returned !
Helpful STAFF, COMFORTABLE TWIN BED, Great LOCATION !
This was a quick return stay, before flying onward to KL... this time I chose the FEMALE DORM: it was empty, no others were booked, the twin bed is more comfortable than the over-soft double bed! Even though the room is next to the common eating area, it was quieter than the upstairs rooms, which recv noise from the next-door Chinese Food Court, which starts food prep btwn 3-4AM.... and can frequently be heard in the upstairs rooms. During my first stay, there was peanut butter available: this time, there wasn't any--and the night staff-person promised he would buy some PNB the next morning, before breakfast-- and it was there! Thank You! The areas are kept clean. However, the two broken shower-water-heaters were still broken, a month later... and the third shower (on the first floor) was still working quite well, with strong, HOT water -- helpful for shaving, ha ha ha. The location of Backpacker Stay is GREAT for the Cinema (2 wiin easy walking distance!), for Museums, the Natl Park+Tourist Info offices, the PO, and the newest shopping mall, Merdeka Plaza, as well as the Waterfront and the market streets of Jalan India and Main Bazaar. I recommend Backpacker Stay for fellow Budget Travellers to Kuching.
Reviewed December 18, 2014

jennifer from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Standard Single
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
worth every penny you spend!
budget, clean and location strategic
Definitely will come back stay here. Toilet and bathroom clean. Toiletries have to bring your own. Satisfied! Ps 1st time staying backpacking in kuching. Before this fancy hotel. I will say this is awesome!
Reviewed November 26, 2014

Winston from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Homely Feel Stay
Clean bathroom, free flow cold and hot drinking water, clean beds
Value for money and friendly staffs.
Reviewed November 17, 2014


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: