Very good 7.9
Based on 411 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 411 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 7.3
Sort by

Brigit from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Old Pagan hotel
The terrace for dining is beautifully situated by the river.It is next to the museum.
Reviewed January 28, 2016

Hyundong from Myanmar
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
good enviroment but needs to inprove on sanitation
The hotel is located near by many temples and pagodas in Old Bagan. Even inside the hotel, there are two pagodas that you can explore. Surrounded by many attractions and the hotel's complementary breakfast was excellent. Only problem I found was the towels it provided smells like old laundry and the toilet was in a poor condition. Other than that, staffs were very helpful and their overall surrounding was spectacular.
Reviewed January 27, 2016

Samuel from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Junior Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Not worth it
Location, garden, views
The staff at reception are helpful and the location by the river was good. That's where the positives end. I had one of the cheapest rooms which was very big but the condition was pretty run down especially the bathroom. If you are dining alone the waiting staff will probably ignore you, I waited a long time to get my bill at the end of my meal and in the end got up and walked away from my table. Only then was there a sense of urgency to get me my bill. If you are booking a more expensive chalet style room on the river bank, please consider that boats start going up and down continuously from approx 3:30 - 4am and their engines sound like a helicopter taking off or a machine gun being fired. I could hear them pretty loudly from my room far away from the river. You will pay western prices for this hotel but what you get is below par. No doubt the staff get paid a pittance and the huge margins go into one of the generals gold lined pockets. I'm glad I only booked one night!
Reviewed January 07, 2016

Rodney from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Good Hotel in Great Riverside Location
Location in Old Bagan close to many Temples, Riverside Bar and Dining Terrace, Friendly and helpful staff.
This was my second stay at this Hotel. I really like the Riverside location close to the Temples in the Old Bagan Walled City area which can easily be reached by walking the dusty paths. The Horse Cart stand is also very close to the Hotel for excursions to the more remote Temples. The setting of the Bar and Dining Terrace overlooking the Ayeyarwady River is great and food and service are both very good. Staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and remembered me from my last stay even though it was a year ago. Just be aware that the rooms may not be as luxurious as the price may suggest, but they are very clean, comfortable and ambient, and any shortfall there is certainly made up by the advantages of staying in this location and the amenities such as the Riverside Bar and Dining and the large Swimming Pool.
Reviewed January 04, 2016

Marcel from Myanmar
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Wonderful sunset
Location location locationl
Ideally located in old bagan, with a wonderful terrace overlooking the river, in a nice garden with a couple of temples. Nice staff, large rooms. Good wifi. Good breakfast. They should nevertheless put free bicycles at the disposal of patrons as most hotels in Bagan do.
Reviewed December 30, 2015

carola from Netherlands
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Beautiful hotel
location, view and nice charm in room
We had a good stay, but it hurt to see that the hotel could have only been put there by someone with the right contacts and permissions. To have centuries old pagodas in your compound and allowed to serve alcohol at the same time, is usually forbidden in Myanmar. The rooms were ok, but overpriced. Old towels, old beds etcetera.
Reviewed November 27, 2015

Alexander from Australia
Couple
Deluxe River View
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Suite is not a suite
Location
Our stay was dismal. The river view suite is NOT a suite. It's a single room with rather dirty bathroom. We were constantly woken by the loud Chinese guests who thought letting off firecrackers outside at midnight was fun. When we rang the front office to complain they were uninterested. In the morning when we complained to the front staff again there was not record of our complaint logged during the evening. The room was definitely not a suite and should not be advertised as a suite as that is not just an exaggeration but a complete fabrication.
Reviewed November 15, 2015

Jonathan from United Kingdom
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Ageing resort that urgently needs renovation
Location, charm, view
The Good Set amongst a gorgeous patch of Old Bagan near the riverfront, the hotel even boasts a couple of 700+ year old pagodas of its own. It's hard to beat as you sip a cocktail (or better yet, a bottled Myanmar beer) on the outdoor terrace overlooking the Irrawaddy. It's easy to visualise a picture-perfect wedding taking place here. The Bad The Bagan Hotel River View has seen better days. Much better. Beds are old and one can feel the springs in your backs at night. Rooms are dark, kettles haven't been cleaned for years, bedside lights are inadequate for reading - and a struggle even with all lighting on full. After requesting a new room due to a faulty, loud AC unit, our replacement room was just as bad. Our neighbours across the hallway also complained of the same. But once expressed to the main reception, another room was provided with functioning air conditioning and the repairmen went to work. 5 hours later the AC unit was still completely disassembled on the main hallway of the hotel floor. Why the faulty units weren't noticed by staff beforehand and removed out of sight for repair is beyond unprofessional. The bathrooms in all three rooms we experienced smell, bathtubs cracking in all three different rooms, each bathroom and toilet dank, dingy and cramped. Towels are old and smell bad - any experience involving the bathroom is an unpleasant one. If you choose to stay here, bring your own towels. The whole resort has been crying out for a renovation for what must be many years. it is perplexing why nothing has been done to bring it to 2015 standards as there is much potential. Sadly, it cannot be recommended as is, but by and large it could be a metaphor for the rest of the country - it just isn't equipped for midrange or luxury tourism yet. Rooms smell of stale cigarette smoke. Service is generally very good across the hotel though and it has its charms for sure.
Reviewed November 12, 2015

Arij from Netherlands
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
ok but dated
location, staff
Enjoyable
Reviewed August 19, 2015

Verity from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Beautiful hotel & location but needs a bit of work
Location, views, decor
We stayed at the Bagan River View Hotel for one night, during our first visit to Bagan. I chose this hotel because it was located in the centre of Old Bagan, so we would be very close to as many pagodas as possible during our stay. I was also attracted by the riverside location and the fact it had a swimming pool and two pagodas in the hotel grounds. On all of these points, this hotel did not disappoint. It's just a shame that breakfast and lunch isn't served at the riverside terrace, so that guests can enjoy the views of the river and the pagodas. Our room was also nicely decorated, a good size, clean and comfortable. The downsides were the following: The food at this hotel is not amazing. Nothing was bad, but it's just average. The swimming pool is very shallow. Great for cooling off, and lovely to sit around, but my sister, who is a very keen swimmer, was a bit disappointed! It also had very murky water, even after they had cleaned it. I wonder if this is because Bagan is very dusty and windy. It didn't bother us too much, and we still swam twice during our stay, but I know other people can be very picky about these things! Finally, a few areas of the hotel could have used a new coat of paint or a bit more cleaning. Overall, a good stay. The room offered reasonable value for money, and couldn't be beaten on looks and location. It just needs a few tweaks here and there to make it feel as luxurious as it could be.
Reviewed August 17, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: