Travelling to Australia? Read all updated requirements before you book.
Ballina Homestead Motel
Ballina Homestead Motel
Ballina Homestead Motel
Ballina Homestead Motel
Ballina Homestead Motel
Ballina Homestead Motel
Ballina Homestead Motel

Removed from saved list

8.8

Excellent

53 reviews

53 reviews

Housekeeping8
Breakfast1
See map

9.1

Exceptional

Location rating score

Exceptional location
Parking
FREE
Nearby landmarks
Northern Rivers Community Gallery 770 m
Ballina Professionals 1.0 km
Visitors Centre 1.1 km
Naval & Maritime Museum 1.1 km
Richmond River Cruises 1.2 km
Richmond River Light 2.5 km
Richmond River Lighthouse 2.5 km
Ballina Byron Gateway Airport 3.0 km
Big Prawn 3.3 km
Emmanuel Anglican College 3.5 km

Ballina Homestead Motel

95 Cherry Street, Ballina, Ballina, Australia, 2478 - See map

The car parking and the Wi-Fi are always free, so you can stay in touch and come and go as you please. Conveniently situated in the Ballina part of Ballina, this property puts you close to attractions and interesting dining options. Don't leave before paying a visit to the famous Ballina Byron Gateway Airport. Rated with 3.5 stars, this high-quality property provides guests with access to restaurant, indoor pool and outdoor pool on-site.

Show more

Highlights

Sparkling clean

Check-in/out [express]

Excellent room comfort & quality

Complimentary WIFi in all rooms

A/C

Hygiene Plus
This property has self-selected and self-certified the following hygiene measures.Learn more
Safety Features
Staff trained in safety protocol
See all amenities
Preventative Equipment
Hand sanitizer
Free face masks
Health and Medical
First aid kit
Doctor/nurse on call

Facilities

Bicycle rental

Pets allowed

Car park

Complimentary WIFi in all rooms

Swimming pool [outdoor]

Golf course [on-site]

Check-in/out [express]

BBQ facilities

Value for money8.8
Location rating9.1

Rooms available at Ballina Homestead Motel

Exceptional
Room comfort & quality

9.1

2-Bedroom Apartment
...
  • Room size: 46 m²/495 ft²
  • Courtyard view
  • 1 queen bed & 3 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
1 Bedroom Apartment
...
  • Room size: 31 m²/334 ft²
  • Courtyard view
  • 1 queen bed & 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Double Room
...
  • Room size: 16 m²/172 ft²
  • Street view
  • 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
Studio
...
  • Room size: 27 m²/291 ft²
  • Garden view
  • 1 queen bed and 1 single be...
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Queen
...
  • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
  • Garden view
  • 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Twin
...
  • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
  • Garden view
  • 1 queen bed and 1 single be...
Enter dates to see prices
Executive Suite
...
  • Room size: 48 m²/517 ft²
  • Garden view
  • 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Family Room
...
  • Room size: 29 m²/312 ft²
  • Street view
  • 1 queen bed and 2 single be...
Enter dates to see prices
Executive Apartment
...
  • Room size: 48 m²/517 ft²
  • Garden view
  • 1 sofa bed & 1 sofa bed and...
Enter dates to see prices
Executive Apartment
...
  • Room size: 48 m²/517 ft²
Enter dates to see prices

Frequently asked questions

How much does it cost to stay at Ballina Homestead Motel?

Room rates depend on the dates, room types, and number of guests, so please click here to see the latest and best deals from Agoda!

What time is check-in and check-out at Ballina Homestead Motel?

Check-in is from 02:00 PM, and check-out is until 10:00 AM. You may request early check-in or late check-out during booking, subject to availability. Guests checking in or out before or after the designated periods may be charged an additional fee. The hotel offers luggage storage to guests for before check-in and after check-out.

How do I get to Ballina Homestead Motel?

For those who wish to drive their own cars, Ballina Homestead Motel has a car park on site, as well as additional parking nearby if the first car park is full. Parking is free for guests. If you're looking for an easy way to get around Ballina with private transportation, the hotel can arrange both taxis or car rental.

Is breakfast offered at Ballina Homestead Motel?

Wake up to a great continental breakfast at Ballina Homestead Motel. Adults can enjoy breakfast offered with an additional charge of 15 AUD if not included in the room rate. You may save on breakfast costs with Agoda by booking a room with breakfast, which is often included for less than buying it at the hotel.

What is the smoking policy at Ballina Homestead Motel?

Ballina Homestead Motel does not permit smoking in any of its rooms, but allows smoking in designated areas.

What is the closest airport to Ballina Homestead Motel?

The closest airport is Ballina Byron Gateway Airport, 2.9 km away from Ballina Homestead Motel.

What restaurants are nearby Ballina Homestead Motel?

Ballina Homestead Motel is located in Ballina, famous for good restaurants such as Cafe Sebastian, L'ultime French and Cherry’s Restaurant.

What popular shopping places are close to Ballina Homestead Motel?

Ballina Homestead Motel is located in Ballina area which features shopping places such as Northern Rivers Community Gallery.

What are popular attractions near Ballina Homestead Motel?

Ballina Homestead Motel is located in Ballina area, which is famous for attractions such as Naval & Maritime Museum.

Show more questions
See map

Explore the neighborhood

What people love about Ballina Homestead Motel

  • 9.6

    Exceptional
    Cleanliness

    "Clean, updated rooms,"

    Valmai

    |

    May 22, 2022

  • 7.6

    Very good
    Cleanliness

    "Clean and tidy happy to stay again"

    Robert

    |

    January 19, 2022

  • 10

    Exceptional
    Cleanliness

    "Lovely room, clean and facilities were good."

    Ana

    |

    November 14, 2020

Overall rating:

8.8

Excellent
53 reviews
Cleanliness
9.2
Facilities
8.6
Location
9.1
Read all reviews >
More about Ballina Homestead Motel

More about Ballina Homestead Motel

Ballina Homestead Motel

Get the best of both worlds, with city and ocean pleasures when you stay at Ballina Homestead Motel just minutes from the heart of Ballina. Not sure what you want to do in Ballina? Keep your choices easy and open and go with the flow when staying at Ballina Homestead Motel, just 2.9 km from Ballina Byron Gateway Airport.
Ballina Homestead Motel provides the best in services and amenities to help make guests feel comfortable. Never be out of touch with your contacts, with free Wi-Fi offered throughout your stay. Taxi and car hire services provided by the hotel make it easy to plan your day trips, sightseeing, and more around Ballina. If you plan to arrive by car, you'll appreciate the hotel's free parking, right on-site.
The hotel provides front desk services such as concierge service, express check-in or check-out and luggage storage for guests' convenience. If you need, the ticket service and tours can even help you book tickets and reservations at all the best shows and programs nearby. Staying for a long time, or just need clean clothes? laundromat and laundry service offered at the hotel will keep your favorite travel outfits clean and available. For lazy days and nights, in-room conveniences like room service and daily housekeeping let you make the most of your room.
Please be advised that smoking is not allowed in the hotel to allow cleaner air for all guests. Smoking is limited to designated areas only, for the health and well-being of all guests and staff.
Each guestroom at Ballina Homestead Motel is furnished and equipped with handy amenities. Some rooms are equipped with linen service, blackout curtains and air conditioning for your convenience. Some rooms at Ballina Homestead Motel include separate living room and balcony or terrace as part of their design layout. In-room entertainment such as television and cable TV is provided for guests in some selected rooms.
The hotel also offers a refrigerator, a coffee or tea maker, instant coffee and instant tea in some rooms for when you feel like it is needed. It's good to know that a hair dryer, toiletries and towels are provided in some guest bathrooms.


Dining and things to do

Nothing starts a morning better than a delicious breakfast, which you can always enjoy in-house at Ballina Homestead Motel. Everyone loves a good cup of coffee! A coffee shop on-site means you can enjoy a cup of real, freshly brewed coffee every morning -- or anytime you feel like it. If you don't feel like going out to eat, you can always opt for the delicious dining options at the hotel. Guests who prefer to make their own meals will love the in-house BBQ facilities available here.
Enjoy the countless activities offered at Ballina Homestead Motel. Don't forget to explore the hotel's easily accessible beach. Start your vacation off right with a dip in the pool. Get wet in the best way on sunny days by joining water-world activities like fishing, snorkeling and diving.
Get the family involved in activities such as horse riding. Have fun without traveling far, by taking advantage of the golf course on site, hiking trails and bowling alley at Ballina Homestead Motel.


Reasons to stay here

Rooms don't get much cheaper than here, being less than 97% of the city's accommodation.
This hotel beats 86% of accommodations in the city on value for money.
It's hard to beat the room comfort here, which is rated higher than 95% of other accommodations in Ballina.

Show more
Amenities and facilities
Excellent
Facilities

8.6

Most talked about facilities

Housekeeping

4 mentions

Breakfast

1 mention

Swimming Pool

1 mention

Languages spoken

  • English
  • French
  • German

Outdoor

  • Bicycles

Accessibility

  • Wheelchair accessible

Internet access

  • Complimentary WIFi in all rooms
  • Internet services
  • Wi-Fi in public areas

Things to do, ways to relax

  • Bowling alley
  • Diving
  • Fishing
  • Game room
  • Garden
  • Golf course [on-site]
  • Hiking
  • Horseback riding
  • Snorkeling
  • Swimming pool [indoor]
  • Swimming pool [outdoor]
  • Ticket services
  • Tours

Cleanliness and safety

  • Anti-viral cleaning products
  • Breakfast in room
  • Breakfast takeaway service
  • Cashless payment service
  • Daily disinfection in all rooms
  • Daily disinfection in common areas
  • Doctor/nurse on call
  • First aid kit
  • Free face masks
  • Guest rooms seal after sanitization
  • Hand sanitizer
  • Hot water linen and laundry washing
  • Hygiene certification
  • Individually-wrapped food options
  • Physical distancing of at least 1 meter
  • Protective screens in common areas
  • Room sanitization opt-out available
  • Rooms sanitized between stays
  • Safe dining setup
  • Sanitized kitchen and tableware items
  • Shared stationery removed
  • Staff trained in safety protocol
  • Temperature check for guests and staff

Dining, drinking, and snacking

  • Alternative meal arrangement
  • BBQ facilities
  • Coffee shop
  • Grocery delivery
  • Kitchen
  • Restaurants
  • Room service

Services and conveniences

  • Air conditioning in public area
  • Concierge
  • Contactless check-in/out
  • Daily cleaning
  • Disabled facilities
  • Elevator
  • Food delivery
  • Heating in public area
  • Invoice provided
  • Ironing service
  • Laundromat
  • Laundry service
  • Luggage storage
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • Smoke-free property
  • Smoking area

For the kids

  • Family room
  • Kids meal

Land sports

  • Golf course (within 3 km)

Access

  • Cat-friendly
  • CCTV in common areas
  • CCTV outside property
  • Check-in/out [express]
  • Fire extinguisher
  • Non-smoking rooms
  • Pets allowed
  • Safety/security feature
  • Smoke alarms

Getting around

  • Bicycle parking
  • Car park [free of charge]
  • Car park [nearby]
  • Car park [on-site]
  • Rental car
  • Taxi service

Sports equipment rental

  • Bicycle rental

Available in all rooms

  • A/C
  • Coffee/tea machine
  • Complimentary drinking water
  • Daily cleaning
  • Desk
  • DVD/CD player
  • Fan
  • Hair dryer
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Kitchenette
  • LAN Internet in room [free]
  • Microwave
  • Private bathroom
  • Refrigerator
  • Satellite/cable channels
  • Seating area
  • Shower
  • Smoke alarm
  • Toiletries
  • Towels
  • Wi-Fi [complimentary]
Food and dining
Breakfast options
  • Continental
Restaurants on site

The Proper Cafe

  • Cuisine: Australian
  • Menu: Buffet
Location
95 Cherry Street, Ballina, Ballina, Australia, 2478
Exceptional
Location

9.1

Property policies
Children and extra beds

Extra beds vary by room. Please check each room's capacity for details.

All children are welcome.

Others
  • Children 0 -2 year(s) stay free if using existing bedding, additional charge will be applied for a cot.
  • When booking 6 or more rooms, special policies may apply.
Some helpful facts

Check-in/Check-out

  • Check-in from14:00
  • Check-in until20:00
  • Check-out from07:00
  • Check-out until10:00
  • Reception open until20:00

Getting around

  • Travel time to airport (minutes)5

Extras

  • Breakfast charge (unless included in room price)15 AUD

The property

  • Non-smoking rooms/floorsYes
  • Number of floors1
  • Number of rooms 27
  • Year property opened1970
  • Most recent renovation2019

Reviews of Ballina Homestead Motel from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
8.8
/
10
Cleanliness9.2
Facilities8.6
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality9.1
Service9.1
Value for money8.8
High score for Ballina
Rating
9+ Exceptional (13)
8-9 Excellent (8)
7-8 Very Good (9)
6-7 Good (0)
<6 Below Expectation (0)
Time of the year
Mar - May (7)
Jun - Aug (3)
Sep - Nov (9)
Dec - Feb (11)
All guests (53)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 30 verified guest comments
12
8.7
Excellent
Jasper from Singapore
Couple
Standard Family Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

Clean and comfortable basic motel”

Clean

Just needed a place to spend the night.Did not want to waste the views by powering through Ballina and Byron Bay through the night on the way to Gold Coadt. Arrived at the motel at around 10pm after a 6 hour drive. Was able to contact the manager and gave me instructions on where the key was kept. Got a fa,mily room as we were 2 couples. Place was clean, beds, pillows and linen are what you would find in a nice hotel. The curtains were just bit dusty and gave me an allergy. Overall a good enough place to sleep in before heading out somewhere else the next day.

Reviewed October 21, 2012

See room deals

7.6
Very good
Brooke from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017

Ok for 3 nights”

We stayed for a bowls tournament so location to the club this was held at was great, just down the road. Otherwise it was a good 10-15 minute walk to Main Street. We had breakfast at motel 1 morning and it was very nice. Rooms need major updating but they were clean and tidy and fine for our stay. Only gripe was the $200 per night we paid but that was over peak Christmas time so expensive everywhere in Ballina that time of year

Reviewed January 05, 2018

See room deals

Hi Brooke, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. We do have a refurbishment plan in place and continue to upgrade our accommodation rooms after the school holidays with 1/3 completed so far. We can assure you that all profits make over the Christmas period will be reinvested into the business to upgrade our facilities. Looking forward to seeing you again at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Michael

Responded January 06, 2018
Ballina Homestead Motel
10.0
Exceptional
Lisa from Australia
Family with young children
Standard Family Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Pleasantly Surprised”

We often stay overnight at Motels when going longer distances, to break up the trip. My review is based on a Motel. With that in mind, I can not fault this establishment. Very pleased.

Reviewed December 16, 2017

See room deals

Hi Lisa, Thank you so much for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. Looking forward to seeing you again at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Michael

Responded December 17, 2017
Ballina Homestead Motel
9.3
Exceptional
Daryl from Australia
Business traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013

Comfortable, quiet”

Pleasant, attentive staff, great home cooked meals

Very pleasant. Close to shopping area. Away from main traffic route, especially since the Ballina by-pass is finished.

Reviewed December 02, 2013

See room deals

9.6
Exceptional
Blake from Australia
Couple
Standard Family Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

Great place to stay in Ballina”

Great value, clean, air con and fan, microwave, recently renovated, extremely friendly staff, undercover pakking. The motel is within 2min walk to bowlo where we had a lovely meal. They also provided a membership card for discounts at the bowlo. There is also a gorgeous little cafe adjoining the motel were we had a delicious breakfast. We will be back!

Reviewed March 16, 2018

See room deals

Hi Blake, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. Looking forward to seeing you again at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Michael

Responded March 17, 2018
Ballina Homestead Motel
9.2
Exceptional
John from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 5 nights in February 2017

Exceptional”

Good helpful management. The motel is under renovation as at Feb 2017, so former well-used rooms are being modernized; which should see an increase in scores.

Reviewed February 27, 2017

See room deals

Hi John, thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. Looking forward to seeing you again at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Michael

Responded July 03, 2018
Ballina Homestead Motel
9.3
Exceptional
Kerry from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2014

Good value, comfortable, clean and quiet”

This motel is located close to main street and restaurants. This was good value accommodation in a generous sized room.

We had a pleasant stopover on our way north to Brisbane. Everything was perfect and this is the reason why we have used this motel on other occasions.

Reviewed February 13, 2014

See room deals

9.2
Exceptional
Tony from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

Couldn't be Cleaner”

Not a new establishment however it would put many expensive motels to shame. A great nights sleep

Reviewed February 20, 2017

See room deals

Hi Tony, thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. Looking forward to seeing you again at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Michael

Responded July 03, 2018
Ballina Homestead Motel
8.0
Excellent
Kerry from Australia
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2012

Older style motel, on road into and out of town.”

Undercover parking

while this hotel was quite a long walk from the main shopping street, it was within walking distance of the local bowling club, which provided reasonably priced meals. the hotel room was a decent size and recently refurbished. the undercover parking was a bonus, keeping the car cool. overall, good value for money.

Reviewed December 03, 2012

See room deals

8.0
Excellent
Kawika from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in October 2020

Mid week one night stay”

Checked in a little ahead of time. Lady at check in seemed a bit hostile towards me at first. Not sure if she was having a bad day or just rude. Gent that took over checking me in was very pleasant and helpful with guiding my tall vehicle into the underground carpark. Requested a quiet room as I am a light sleeper with no passing foot traffic. Unfortunately, there were other guest in rooms opposite mine that returned from dinner late and decided to talk outside their rooms at 10pm. Room was clean and well presented. No Foxtel or Netflix as was noted in the compendium due to Covid. This is the third time I have encountered this and it was not mentioned at check-in and there was no offer to reduce tariff or something to make up the shortfall of that service NOT being available. If it is included in the room rate; and isn’t available, then surely you are not getting ALL you paid for. Overall, I would stay again if I needed a clean room in the middle of town. Bowling club is a short walk away, my chicken schnitzel was the WORST I think I have ever had when I dined there, over cooked, caesar salad was the go.

Reviewed October 16, 2020

See room deals

Dear Kawika, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay again at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. Glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry about the Foxtel, but they are necessary cost saving measure from an industry that has been decimated by COVID-19. We are unable to offer rebates for a service that we don't charge for, thank you for your understanding. We are looking forward to seeing you at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Michael

Responded October 29, 2020
Ballina Homestead Motel
8.0
Excellent
KERRIE from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in April 2014

our room was very spacious and comfortable. ”

quiet location, walk to town centre, spacious room

The motel was very nice, room was large and quiet, service friendly and helpful.

Reviewed April 25, 2014

See room deals

8.3
Excellent
EDDIE from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in November 2013

A very comfortable stay at a bargain price.”

Comfort , staff , parking

My stay was all I hoped it would be . The staff were extremely helpful and friendly , the room was excellent . It had everything I wanted at a reasonable price . Will stay again.

Reviewed November 22, 2013

See room deals

8.7
Excellent
Margaret from Australia
Family with teens
Standard Family Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014

Relaxing and enjoyable stay”

Comfortable, Friendly Staff, Clean

We loved our stay here. It was great to come back to the room after a big day of sightseeing to find our beds made, clean towels and the room clean and tidy. I could sit back with a coffee while the rest of the family swam in the pool. Definitely will stay here again.

Reviewed January 26, 2014

See room deals

10.0
Exceptional
Ana from Australia
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2020

Great stay over ”

Lovely room, clean and facilities were good. Staff are fantastic and very friendly, def stay here again

Reviewed November 14, 2020

See room deals

Dear Ana, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay again at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. Glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to seeing you at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Michael

Responded November 15, 2020
Ballina Homestead Motel
8.8
Excellent
IAN from New Zealand
Couple
Standard Family Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2017

Excellent stay”

More than happy with our time here. It was a good base from which to explore and shop. You really do need a vehicle if staying here but providing you have one, can thoroughly recommend it.

Reviewed June 30, 2018

See room deals

Hi Ian, thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. Looking forward to seeing you again at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Michael

Responded July 03, 2018
Ballina Homestead Motel
7.6
Very good
Wayne
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2019

Rooms not Soundproof”

Unfortunately the rooms were not soundproof we could hear everything from the adjoining room including a child who cried half the night

Reviewed August 04, 2019

See room deals

Dear Wayne, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. We'll investigate to see if we can make any improvements to the particular unit you have stayed in. We are looking forward to seeing you at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Michael

Responded August 05, 2019
Ballina Homestead Motel
10.0
Exceptional
Brooke from Australia
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Business Stay”

Stayed overnight for business as I usually do. Always clean & tidy - comfy beds and close to restaurants for dinner

Reviewed March 18, 2019

See room deals

Dear Brooke, thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. Glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Michael

Responded March 19, 2019
Ballina Homestead Motel
9.3
Exceptional
john from Australia
Couple
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013

Staff went above and beyond about our arrival”

Relaxng.

Excellent. We'd do it again. GreAt staff, great surroundings, great town.

Reviewed November 13, 2013

See room deals

10.0
Exceptional
Brooke from Australia
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

Exceptional”

Stayed her a couple of times now. Nice and close to the club for dinner and short walk to Main Street

Reviewed July 28, 2018

See room deals

Hi Brooke, thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. Looking forward to seeing you again at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Michael

Responded July 29, 2018
Ballina Homestead Motel
8.0
Excellent
Kathryn from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

Good value overnighter. ”

Price, clean, large rooms.

Pleasant overnight stay. Large comfortable, clean room. Real milk for coffee!!

Reviewed April 05, 2014

See room deals

12
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss