Book Now: Bamboo Cottages

Excellent
From 212 reviewsSee what guests said
8.6
/
10
Recommended by 92% of guests

Reviews of Bamboo Cottages Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (212)Booking.com Reviews (173)
8.6
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.6
Facilities8.6
Location8.7
Room comfort and quality7.5
Service9.3
Value for money8.4
All languages
All guests (212)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 160 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
B from Australia
Solo traveler
Double Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in May 2019

Sensational ”

My friends recommended that I stay at Bamboo Cottages and I'm so glad I did! Staff are friendly, professional, attentive. Rooms are spacious, clean and located just metres from the water. The resort is located away from the busy parts of the island - I often had the beach to myself. The restaurant serves fresh delicious meals and, as a vegetarian, I had plenty of options on the menu to choose from. I extended my stay and I predict you will want to do the same.

Reviewed May 18, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
christopher
Couple
Double Sea View
Stayed 9 nights in April 2019

Absolutely amazing place! Can't wait to go back”

The staff is so nice. When we arrived we were upgraded to a beachfront cabin. Then we were waited on hand and foot for 9 days. Morning yoga was a treat. The servers became our best friends. There were plenty of options available for tours around the island, kayaking, hiking, etc. But we chose to just laze. Incredible food, free water, free drinks and appetizers many nights. We would give six stars if we could!

Reviewed April 22, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Alexander from Denmark
Couple
Water Cottage
Stayed 5 nights in February 2019

Nice and quiet location”

The rooms, the staff and the restaurant is absolutely amazing. The beach could be better. It is very exposed to wind and the water is wild and unfortunately a lot of plastic flows around even though the hotel does what it can to keep it clean. I would recommend the hotel every day and hope to come back again.

Reviewed March 05, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Cassandra from United States
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018

Quiet location away from it all!”

Quiet location on beautiful beach away from the crazy development in town. Fantastic staff and food. Perfect place to relax and forget the world. Enjoyed the eco resort aspects. The bungalows are open air so the geckos and ants may be your roommates, but it’s worth it!

Reviewed October 14, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Alan from United States
Solo traveler
Double Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

Eco friendly solar powered bungalo village. Staff was awesome and the view was amazing.”

It's an ecofriendly place, so it's not the Hilton. Solar power means when powers gone it's gone till morning. Now I enjoyed that because it allowed me to enjoy the finer things in life, like writing and reading while sitting on a beach all by myself. Staff is amazing. You don't go here for the bathtub and a.c. room, you come here to share their place and become one with their family. Food was out of this world. Sights were amazing, stars are so bright away from the cities pollution. Road in is a bit rough, but I believe it will soon be finished. Very isolated, but in a great way. Also, be sure to get mosquito spray and be aware of snakes, you are in a jungle. With that, I would come here again hands down. They got billards, beer and a beach. What more do you need mate?

Reviewed September 02, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Binh from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Double Beach Front
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

Amazing paradise for nature lovers”

If you want to experience firsthand the eco-friendly practices that all hotels should adopt from 2018 onward, Bamboo Cottages is the paradise you need to stop by. The resort has a STUNNING beach. The surrounding is quiet and immersive in nature. Their meals are delicious and tummy-filling. The experience is unique. If you still insist on your luxurious 5-star vacation, you should still give this a try. You'll connect to nature like you have never done before.

Reviewed July 08, 2018

Mr Binh Cam On (Thank you) very happy to meet you and very happy you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon The Bamboo Cottages Family

Responded July 25, 2018
Bamboo Cottages
7.6
Very good
Binh from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Double Beach Front
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Very good”

Gorgeous private beach, worth going here just for the beach. The meals were huge and great value. Staff was very attentive and helpful. Though for the current price range at $70-$90/ night, I think other resorts offered better value for money as the resort is fully eco (no AC, no fridge etc.) and the room was a bit rundown.

Reviewed February 22, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Gary from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 7 nights in December 2018

Excellent”

The staff really do make the place exceptional. They go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay. The food was a delight and the lime soda on arrival extremely refreshing. The rooms could do with a little TLC.

Reviewed December 16, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Mathias from Germany
Solo traveler
Double Beach Front
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017

A Place With A Soul”

A place with a soul! Extremly friendly and attentive staff, well managed, serene, quiet and naturally beautiful, very nice cottages, good food: the true luxury here is that this is a place to truly relax and immerse in a beautiful natual setting. I shall come back

Reviewed September 22, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Jeremy from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Water Cottage
Stayed 5 nights in October 2018

Amazing off the grid Stay”

I stayed here for five nights recently - loved everything about the place. Firstly the service is brilliant all the staff went out of the way to ensure we had a great stay - even the house keeping and turn down is so well done. Always with a smile. Thanks so much. The food is excellent - a bit pricy by Vietnam standards but cheap by Western. Breakfast is included which is a great touch with unlimited coffee and juices. It is about 3km in a dirt road to the main road so you either need to rent a scooter or have taxis take you out - it is about 10km to the closest village. Unfortunately they are building a wharf by the beach so there is the associated noise and traffic (this is what turns the road into a mess) and sadly it seems most of Phu Quoc is being developed at the expense of nature. This is a lovely beach for swimming you like nature, nice clean bungalows, great service and good food stay here. If you want shopping, discos, and bars then best to stay somewhere else.

Reviewed October 16, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
RACHEL from Spain
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 4 nights in August 2018

Wonderful Romantic Vacation that's Also Eco-Conscious”

My partner and I spent about a week here and we had a wonderful time. The thoughtfulness and expert management were apparent to us, not only in what was right about the place, but in what didn't go well and was fixed professionally by the manager, Kai. The staff is wonderful, the beach is lovely, the place is clean as a whistle and the food was very good. It's apparent that this place is a labor of love (and eco-consciousness; Bamboo Cottages' leadership by example cannot be minimized and hopefully will inspire more resorts to do the same), which made us eager to come back again.

Reviewed September 11, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Philip from Australia
Solo traveler
Double Beach Front
Stayed 9 nights in May 2018

Have just spent 9 nights here and it was the best part of my 5 weeks in vietnam. ”

Can't speak more highly of bamboo cottages. Lovely QUIET bay away from all the tourist areas. Hilton the manager and all the staff go out of there way to make you feel at home. Accommodation and meals are very reasonably priced. Free kayak/mask/snorkel hire. Have a massage in the bamboo hut right on the beach. If i could I'd give it a 11/10. Planning to bring my wife here next trip

Reviewed June 03, 2018

Hi Phill, was great to have you stay with us, the team miss you, hope to see you again next year :)

Responded June 18, 2018
Bamboo Cottages
9.6
Exceptional
Mats from Sweden
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Very nice place to relax”

The Staff was wonderful! The Room to the Beach perfekt. Maybe it could be more on the meny, but the food was very tasty!

Reviewed March 05, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Anna from United States
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018

A special, tranquil spot”

I was so pleased to have found Bamboo Cottages for my quick trip to Phu Quoc. I was there during Tet, so the prices were higher than usual, but I would definitely return another time. The staff is really standout and their attention to detail is commendable. I normally don't like eco resorts because they tend not to be as clean or stylish as other spots, but Bamboo did not compromise either. The food and drinks are also of note - delicious and great value. Highly recommend.

Reviewed February 28, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jessica from Sweden
Group
Double Sea View
Stayed 7 nights in January 2018

Amazing place ”

- Beautiful view and surroundings. - Friendly and helpful staff who really care about their guests. - Good food. - Activities such as yoga and vietnamese classes for those who are interested. All in all a great place which I would recommend to anyone. It seems like it's mostly couples who stay at this place, but I traveled with a group of 6 friends and we all enjoyed our 1 week stay here. One week was however a bit too long as there is not too much to do around this area, I think 3-4 days would have been perfect for us. But we wanted a nice, calm and relaxing week in paradise which is exactly what we got!

Reviewed February 02, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Lars from Germany
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018

Awesome view, great place to rest a few days”

The sea view cottages offer a breathtaking view of the bay. The bathroom is partially without a roof, so you can enjoy the pure nature. It's an eco resort, so no AC. The mattress was a little to hard, our hips hurt a little after the third night. The beach is well maintained, not really private, but mainly uses by their own guests. They offer free kayaks and have some nice activities on the schedule. The food was good but a little bit too pricey for Vietnamese standards. The staff is great and very helpful. The resort is a little remote, thus you need a taxi or the hotel shuttle, which was around $20. The driver was a little too ambitious, trying to get to and from the resort really fast, almost pushing motorbikes off the road. I don't want to be on the road on a motorbike having him overtake me.

Reviewed January 16, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jennifer from Sweden
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Our best experience in Phu Quoc”

This little retreat in the northwest side of PQ is an absolute dream. The location is lovely. It’s a very cool, petite, eco hotel and the layout is really rustic and cool. They welcome you as a family member and the staff is amazingly professional. Great service, spoke great english (not everyone does, which we learnt traveling around the island) and you can borrow kayaks, board games etc in the reception for free. Highly recommend you to join the yoga lessons with Lola. It’s twice a day - intense yoga in the morning and relaxing yoga in the afternoon. Last but not least THE FOOD. We extended our stay here twice to be able to eat through the menu! Don’t miss it.

Reviewed December 18, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Elisabeth from Austria
Couple
Double Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017

Just wonderful!!”

We have stayed three nights in Bamboo Cottage and it was very special and a great experience. The location is very quiet and relaxing. What we have preferred most was the individual and special approach at this eco-tourism place: It's run by solar power, there are no plastic bottles, but refill glas bottles and you have the feeling that there is a general feeling of great responsibility and sustainability towards the islands nature as well as employees and guests. The beach is really nice (no worries about the pier mentioned in some reviews - it's smaller than expected and while we were there it was barely in operation and was not loud at all!), food is exceptional and the staff always putting a smile on your face. Yoga classes are really good as well! The restaurant is located directly at the beach - so enjoy your time there with your feet in the sand and the sea breaze around. Highly recommended!

Reviewed December 14, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Zoe from Australia
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017

Environmental, friendly and truly beautiful!”

One thing I really struggle with when I travel is leaving a positive impact on the countries I go to. Making people smile is a start but our environmental footprint is a lot harder to control. Everything we buy seems to be wrapped in plastic, every hotel has an endless breakfast buffet that no doubt results in a huge amount of waste, and I don't even want to think about how much electricity the tourist industry uses. Luckily there is a glimmer of hope on the horizon. Eco-tourism is a growing industry that is helping travellers minimise the down side of our adventures. Bamboo Cottages is a great example of a resort that really takes this seriously. This resort is almost completely plastic free - the boss looked ready to fire someone when he found out I was given a plastic straw with my drink! It is off the grid (solar powered) - water is not always hot but it's totally worth it. And the delicious food seems to be prepared with local produce and minimal waste. Another plus with this resort is that they look after their staff (and you can tell), there is something genuine in the friendly guest interactions, these are not programmed robots, they are people who seem to really enjoy their jobs and making guests happy. Our welcome was overwhelming, as soon as we got out of the cab we were surrounded by smiling faces and the positive vibes continued throughout our stay. My fondest memory of bamboo Cottages was the family dinner, the food was exquisite and the atmosphere was perfect for making new friends. The place is run by a family and often at night the father, Hai, who is a very charismatic and entertaining man, will sing, play guitar, and invite people up to join him. He is also a great story teller and at the end of the dinner we were lucky enough to hear stories about his family and how they escaped to America after the war. I could continue this review and tell you about the spectacular location, the beautiful 'stilt-house' we stayed in, the Kayaking trip we took

Reviewed September 06, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Chi from Vietnam
Couple
Double Sea View
Stayed 6 nights in July 2017

Great place for a getaway”

Location: the North of Phu Quoc island is a remote area, not much tourist activities to do there. There's no local restaurant in that area so most of the time we eat the the cottage. It best suitable for anyone who want to stay with the nature, and enjoy quiet time with their family or friends. The beach is very clean, you can also see the fishing ships nearby (and can even reach them if you using kayak). During our stay, the construction site did not work, or maybe we stay on the far side so we did not hear any disturbing noise. Food: The restaurant is very good. The serving size is pretty big (for me at least) and it's fusion so both foreigners and local can enjoy it. Price is acceptable with this quality. It cost about 12~15$/person. However, the food in the restaurant is just general Vietnamese dish, the one you can eat in any decent restaurants in HCM, and they don't serve Phu Quoc local dishes. If you want to try genuine Phu Quoc dish you need to take a taxi for 1 hour to the south of the island. It's ok if you just stay in the cottage for 2-3 days, but we stay for 6 days so it's kind of boring for us. Breakfast is free but it's the same every day, and it's not so good compared with lunch & dinner. Staff are very friendly and helpful. They truly bending over backward to help us during our stay. Room service is clean. We received many helpful guide from kitchen staffs when we planed our island tour. They offer many free drinks and suction cup massage. The cottage helped you arrange taxi and motor rent, and everything went smoothly for us, which was very helpful, since the location is very difficult to rent a bike or taxi by yourself. The outdoor bathroom is not as bad as we imagined, the roof cover 1/2 of the bath, and only heavy rain will annoy you a little bit. In trade-off, you get the chance to experience taking shower in the open air, with sunshine and wind. The main problem is their solar energy system, the fan turned off after 0AM midnight. If it is

Reviewed September 01, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Justin from United States
Group
Double Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017

Wonderful staff, good price, great food, unforgettable experience ”

Traveled to Phu Quoc for 4 days and decided to split our time between the bamboo cottages and another resort. Upon arriving to the cottages, we immediately regretted not staying the whole trip at the cottages. The resort offers free use of kayaks and hosted a barbecue one night which was equally as fun as it was delicious. Charles, the manager, was very attentive to our every need and does a great job running the resort. Even after we checked out, we were welcomed to use our room and just hang out for an extra couple hours before leaving (no one was set to stay in the same cottage that night). The beaches were the cleanest we've seen in Phu Quoc and we loved hearing the ocean as we went to bed. The lack of AC was something to get used to at night, but provided fans helped. Can't wait to come back again one day soon! Thanks for everything Bamboo Family!

Reviewed July 14, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Daniel from Australia
Solo traveler
Double Beach Front
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017

An incredible escape”

Bamboo Cottages is by far the nicest place to stay on the island. It has the most beautiful beach, the nicest rooms and the friendliest staff. I came away looking for a beautiful beach escape and this was it! I didn't leave the resort for 3 days!

Reviewed July 13, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
frida from Sweden
Solo traveler
Double Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017

Friendly and relaxed!”

The staff are so friendly and helpfull. I had an axident and the helped me as my own family would do. Great locaded just in front of the beach. Good food, big and clean room. Perfect place for resting and relaxing.

Reviewed July 11, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Kathy from United States
Couple
Double Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017

Every aspect is perfection”

The staff were so friendly. They even recognized my birthday. The food was amazing. We ordered off the menu one night, shared family style with other travelers, and joined the BBQ. On top of all this the setting is magnificent. Wonderful dinning tables right on the beach. Cabins with huge glass doors that open to the sea breeze are surrounded by carefully tended gardens. We used the free kayak to paddle about 15 minutes to a nice little reef. Although sadly much of the coral is dying there were some lovely colors and some fish. Go when you can because the wind was up the next day so we were advised not to go out. This is a really good model for eco tourism. Solar electricity and hot water, refillable water bottle, no ac., cloth napkins, etc. definately worth supporting their efforts.

Reviewed March 25, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Alberto from Italy
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017

Really nice eco resort ”

Pros: very eco friendly, super nice staff, free yoga classes, free bycicles and kayaks, restaurant on the beach and a really nice and healthy menu, amazing breakfast, and the rooms are nice and clean and facing the sea Cons: overbuilding in the island is a real problem and even though the staff cleans the beach every morning, so is plastic pollution.

Reviewed March 23, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Rani from Norway
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 10 nights in February 2017

Paradise on earth!”

Fantastic place, fantastic staff, but be sure to read up on the place to know what you're in for. They dont have AC, they dont have electricity all through the night, but it's all worth it in my opinion. We stayed 10 days, longer than most, but we really enjoyed ourself.

Reviewed March 06, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Katie from New Zealand
Family with teens
Double Beach Front
Stayed 7 nights in July 2016

Absolutely loved it”

I have never stayed in a nicer place. The staff are the most kind hearted people you will ever meet. I fell a little bit ill and everyday they were making me tea and making sure I was feeling a bit better. The location is stunning, such calm water and a beautiful beach. I utterly fell in love with the little puppy Mot, he is such a sweet little guy and very playful and loves pats. Our room was beautiful and the house keepers did such an immaculate job each day and they were so quick. We ate at the restaurant every day, breakfast lunch and dinner. The food is incredible! All such wonderful people, if I could give 100000 stars I would. If you get the chance to stay here do it, we were very sad to go

Reviewed July 15, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Lindsay from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016

Wonderful place!! Wish there are more places like thi!”

Bamboo cottages, is the only place to stay on Phu Quoc Island!! Right on the beach, lovely rooms, great breakfast, nice staff, always with a smile!! Would go back in a heartbeat!!! Free yoga too! Nanna was a great teacher thank you :)

Reviewed March 24, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Mrs from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016

A little bit of paradise”

Location, staff and quirkiness

This place is a little bit of paradise. The location was perfect, far enough away from the crowds of the main town but close enough to get there by scooter or taxi for a day or evening out. The cottages were quirky and cute, the outdoor shower was literally the best we have ever had anywhere. The staff were wonderful, made you feel very much at home. The beach was kept immaculately clean, unfortunately this is quite rare in Vietnam where litter is usually just left on beaches and road sides. The breakfast was lovely and the evening meals fab ... We enjoyed the BBQ very much, it was fantastic. We just 'chilled' completely while we were there and would go there again in a heartbeat. If you do visit, please note there are very few road signs on Phu Quoc so don't go out without a map ( like us) especially if you are on a scooter as you will never get to where you want to go. If you can, do visit the Bee Farm a couple of miles away from Bamboo Cottages, it is so lovely. We learnt about bees and enjoyed Gina and tonic with honey in the sweetest little cafe in the garden ... This was a highlight of our trip to Phu Quoc!

Reviewed March 19, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Joe-Ann from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 5 nights in February 2016

Perfect we did not want to leave”

Bungalow was the most luxurious we've stayed in with a perfect sea view and unique inside outside bathroom. Staff very friendly and could not do enough for you and most spoke enough English to get by with some speaking excellent English. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice and better than any other breakfasts we've bought in Vietnam. Restaurant food was lovely and daily specials gave opportunity to taste other regional specialities. Lots of free extras such as free water, kayak, bike, yoga, Vietnamese lessons. The joining pack talked about joining the bamboo family which sounded a bit OTT but that was really how it felt. All in all it was perfect, a unique haven and really special place that is well worth every penny.

Reviewed March 07, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Edina from Hungary
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016

Relax”

It was a very calm and peaceful place, with good food, very nice enviroment. You can go kayaking to the the nearby coral reefs, or go yoga class, or a perfect massage. The staff is very kind and helpful. 😀

Reviewed February 08, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Tina from United States
Group
Double Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

Worth staying at an eco resort”

location, room size, eco friendly efforts of hotel

+ Staff members were quite friendly. Breakfast selection was good. Efforts to be as GREEN and ECO FRIENDLY as possible were truly appreciated. Hotel overall was clean. Availability of yoga class twice a day was a plus. Location of hotel room (beachfront) was fantastic. Access to lounge chairs and hammock were great. - The food was average for hotel food; definitely catered to the western palate. Was not eager to have all our meals there. Would suggest using lemongrass (a natural resource in VN) or citronella to keep mosquitoes out of room and common areas. The proximity to the construction was unpleasant and uncomfortable at times. Rest of feedback will provide directly to hotel via email in the near future.

Reviewed January 12, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Stephanie from Switzerland
Group
Double Beach Front
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015

Perfect Stay”

The best thing about this hotel is definitely its delicious food, followed by its nice staff and its amazing location.

We really enjoyed staying at the Bamboo Cottages. It's a great place to relax. The location is just amazing. The beaches are clean and beautiful. There is also a small island near by to which you can kayak. The food was delicious. We never felt the urge to go to somewhere else to eat, as the menu offered a wide range of everything in the highest quality. We were truly amazed by the food (as you probably can tell we like to eat). The staff is extremely helpful and kind. The massages were also great! To sum up, our stay was perfect and we would recommend this hotel to everyone that wants a place to fully relax! The only thing that was a bit bothering was construction work next to their property.

Reviewed November 09, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Nora from United States
Solo traveler
Double Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015

Great isolated ecoresort!”

Eco-elegance, isolated location, service/food

Bamboo Cottages was awesome! I was actually worried about the isolated location but it ended up being one of my favorite parts. The cottages are beautiful and it feels luxurious, but not like a "fancy resort". It's a perfect place for relaxation. The staff is all very friendly and the restaurant food is excellent.

Reviewed October 24, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Maeve from Ireland
Couple
Double Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015

A couples paradise”

The best three things were location, staff friendliness and the lack of tourists around

We live in Saigon and wanted a few days away for peace, quiet and romance. We definitely found all of those things at bamboo cottages and, while some may rind the bumpy dirt road to get there annoying, we found it a blessing as it gave us e perfect excuse to go nowhere and just enjoy the beautiful beach and resort. Eating in their lovely garden while looking out at pristine water was special. Having travelled to many beaches in Vietnam, this was by far the cleanest and most appealing. We snorkled off the nearby island after kayaking there ourselves and it was a mini nemo land, we would have gone back if we'd had more time. Thanks to the cool laid back staff who made our stay so special, upgrading us when they realised it was our honeymoon. We'll be back for sure, next time with our toddler who'd love it

Reviewed September 12, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Gunnar from Denmark
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015

Very beautiful place...!!!”

beautiful look to the oacian 😀🏊🏽

wonderful place and very friendly service staf and they help with everything, go by boad, rent motorbike etc. and we borrow mountain bike etc. it is a beautiful place to relax and go for long walk at the beautiful beach :) 😎🚣🏽🏊🏽🐟🌅☀️😄

Reviewed August 05, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Mari from Sweden
Family with young children
Double Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015

Lovely place”

The vibe, the food, the staff

This is a wonderful little resort on a beautiful but quite remote beach - which was sadly full of garbage at the time we stayed there. So were the waves. The main house, reception and restaurant, is super charming and so is the staff, they are really friendly and helpful. If you want peace and quiet – go there!

Reviewed March 17, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Mauro from Italy
Couple
Double Sea View
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014

Quiet and beautiful location”

Location, staff, sourround

We spent 5 nights here, it's the best choice on the island if you want to have a break from the cities, the staff is very kind and helpful, the menu offers nice food but there are no many choice and it could be less expensive. Anyway the structure, the garden and the rooms were really cozy and comfortable. We would recommend you to stay here

Reviewed December 10, 2014
6.7
Good
Do from Vietnam
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 1 night in August 2014

Wild area”

Quiet, nice view, great food

Staffs are very useful and supportive, even though this hotel is quite far from the central and it is not easy to go there during rainy season but you wont regret to stay here. No power supply during daylight will give you a chance to stay out of normal busy life

Reviewed September 04, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Rachel from United States
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014

Bamboo Cottages was serene, peaceful, and relaxing”

Staff was wonderful, beach was beautiful and had a great breeze, and meals and dining area was great.

Wonderful. We loved the cottage, the beach, the staff, the food, and the ambiance. Cottage had an outdoor bathroom but was clean and mostly free of bugs (save a few tiny ants) inside. Cottage had a great view of the ocean, which was amazing to wake up to. Loved that breakfast was included and was delicious. Meal options were simple but very tasty and had a decent wine selection. Enjoyed using the kayak to check out a tiny island just off the beach. Staff was great in arranging a taxi to the airport as well. A steal for the price.

Reviewed March 26, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Mike from United States
Family with young children
Double Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013

This hotel was just what we were looking for.”

The hotel was in front of a great beach with plenty of room and few visitors, we could swim out to a small island with a coral reef, and renting a motorbike was fun and inexpensive.

We really appreciated the friendly staff. This hotel is not for those looking to connect with a lot of other people or tourists. We are well away from any party scene. What is great is the beach, the snorkeling, and the ease to get around the island. We wish we had more time. A week was not enough. The food was good but people who have to have a typical American meal may not enjoy it as much as we did. The rooms were great and included a very large gecko that ate cycads.

Reviewed January 22, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Subrata from India
Group
Double Beach Front
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014

A QUIET & RELAXING SEA-FRONT COTTAGE”

BEACH-FRONT COTTAGE , FEW TOURISTS , NO DISTRACTIONS

The stay was one of good relaxation . Nothing much to do . Stare at the waters , have your drink on the beach , and laze around . Or take a nature walk . Take one drive into town in the afternoon and evening , where all the tourists are .

Reviewed January 20, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Sarah from Germany
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013

Amazing! Beste accomodation to relax”

Location, Rooms, Staff, Food

Perfect stay at a pefect spot far away from the busy beach and streets of Duong. The houses are very nice, tasteful and clean. The variety of food is not too big, but alway delicious and freshly homemade. The staff is very helpful and supporting the guest in any way. You have a private and therefore quiet beach which is perfect to relax. And last but noch least: Extra points for sustainable tourism! But if you would like to stay at Bamboo you have to keep one thing in mind: There is nothing else you can do at this part on the island than hangig around at bamboo, it's one hour to go to Duong with a car.

Reviewed January 15, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Travis from Canada
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013

Heaven on Earth”

Location, peace and quiet, staff

Amazing. Bamboo cottages really is heaven on earth. The ride from the airport is a bit bumpy but the reward is worth it to really feel like you are on your own private island. The staff go out of their way to try and make your stay enjoyable. They are so nice and accommodating. I really admire their commitment to a "green hotel" . If you really want to get away from it all the bamboo cottages is the way to go,

Reviewed November 16, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
hideki from Japan
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 1 night in July 2013

perfect situation”

ocean front, romantic, quiet

At first I wanna say huge thank you to a staff who is sooo cute girl and fluently in English at reception. she took care for everything while i was staying here. also thank you to very friendly owner. He lived in USA and very good English speaker too. Actually this hotel is too far from downtown and it takes almost 40 minutes from airport by car. That's why it's perfect atmosphere... there's no noisy, fresh air, beautiful beach, nice restaurant, nice room and bathroom, friendly staff,,, absolutely you can have a relaxing time. I stayed just 1 night so I tried to do for a short while but if i have time I can go around this island by cheap rental motorcycle. anyway if you want take a good rest and get away from your routine life... I wanna say YOU have to stay here when you go to Phu Quoc.

Reviewed July 24, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Suzann from Germany
Couple
Double Sea View
Stayed 14 nights in February 2013

Nice cottages / very friendly staff”

Lovely arranged, friendly atmosphere

If you don't want to party all night or having banana boat action on the beach or need to be animated the whole time....you wanna be right here. You can really relax, enjoy swimming and have snorkeling site just 700 m away. Kayak and bikes for rent. Rooms are nice and doesn't really need an AC although we wouldn't refuse it neither. To get into town by taxi is quite expensive but the staff can help to get you things if you need it. Just ask. ( thanks by the way for all your help) If you stay a little longer you might will be through the menu after a couple of days but the daily changing dinner set is also very good. Vegetarian dishes are also available. The solar warm water system is very good and kind of ahead for Asia, best of luck for the solar electricity project. Water refill to reduce plastic waste needs also a thumb up.

Reviewed March 10, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Alexander from Canada
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013

A lovely resort, an empty beach, almost perfect!”

The staff were great, the beach was quiet and clean, the cottages were lovely and the location is remote and private.

the resort is located on the nw coast, a 30 minute (bumpy) drive from town. the resort has no electricity but they provide 24/7 wifi charging in the lobby via battery and use a generator at dawn/dusk for several hours (so you can enjoy lights, fans, etc). hot water all day via solar heaters. beach was immaculate; with chairs, loungers and hammocks spread out across the length of the property there was always a private shady spot to relax. the cottages were lovely. they are open-air so you will see ants and lizards inside but there is a mosquito net on the bed if you like. the only con for us was the food. the menu is small, with daily set menus and a small a la carte selection. it was fine for the first two days but got boring quickly. my wife is a pescatarian - we asked ahead of time and were assured that there would be "plenty of fresh seafood options" (which is to be expected on an island). unfortunately, the only seafood options were the same every day. overcooked shrimp and squid substituted in different dishes. we were super-excited to see "fresh grilled tuna" one night on the menu, but were served soggy fried mackerel instead - big disappointment. the manager made up for our complaint by providing us with a private great seafood hot pot on our last night. the non-seafood dishes were nice. the meats (often cooked in a claypot) were good and the salads and spring rolls (fried or fresh) were delicious. it was a disappointment to see such a lack of seafood options when every other place we visited were entirely dedicated to fresh-caught seafood. we ended up taking many meals on the two neighbouring beach restaurants or motorbiking to the gio bien resort on the north coast (delicious seafood!!!) the resort would be perfect if they expanded the menu a little and started serving fresh seafood - available in massive quantities and for super cheap all over the island! for now, if you get bored just walk either way to the next restaurants or grab a mot

Reviewed February 25, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Torrent from Denmark
Family with teens
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013

Nice, remote & charming cottages”

Right on the beach, nice common room/restaurant. Good breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Quiet place.

If you're looking for a quiet place with great opportunities for swimming, snorkeling etc. this is the place. No disturbances, no tv and electric power in the cottages only between 6 pm & midnight. A real 'Bounty Island'. Perfect if you want to avoid the crowds. If you want to be close to the town, choose something else.

Reviewed February 18, 2013
7.2
Very good
Katja from Germany
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018

Beautiful place but with a lot of struction work ”

The bamboo cottage has a wonderful location a a little nicht beach wich would be perfect to relax. Unfortunately the are building a road close to the place. The very loud trucks and cranes started around 8 a.m in the morning already and there was nothing written about it when we booked it. I checked our paper agai. Because then I would have chosen another place. The bed was hard like a stone but they changed mattress and it was ok. BBQ for almost half a million was very overpriced. But the food was very and and stuff very nice. Room was clean but not the bathtube. And we also didn’t know that they Switch of the Energy completely so that there is no fan going anymore. Woke up in my own sweat every night the fan stopped. But appart from that the place is beautiful and worth to go

Reviewed November 19, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Dr. from Bangladesh
Group
Double Beach Front
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017

Good resort”

Good Resort. We enjoyed here.

Reviewed August 01, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Mario from Germany
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016

Paradise”

For us it's the best place on the island. Nice beach, top service, really friendly staff and tasty food.

Reviewed December 16, 2016
3.2
Sophia from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018

Over priced and over hyped! ”

Over priced for what it is, in need of upgrading, no yoga available which was main reason for booking, beach not great - dirty beach and sea very rough, staff were not very nice, much nicer places to go on island.

Reviewed February 23, 2018
6.4
Good
Jodi from United States
Solo traveler
Double Sea View
Stayed 1 night in June 2016

Not paradise”

The cottages are beautiful--the seaview bungalow is just steps from the water, and it all creates a beautiful picture (if you creatively angle the camera not to capture the rusty barges just meters offshore, or the ugly pier construction with running machinery to the left, or the construction in the distance to the right...). The island is almost completely under construction on that side--with what looks to be giant resorts--not the cottages' fault by any means, but their remote location is not going to be remote much longer so go now while it's all just ugly skeleton buildings and the sound of machines instead of an overpriced tourist destination. Anyways, there is construction, there are ugly barges in front of the rooms, not that far from shore. The food, I thought was great until I got terribly sick one night--along with 2 other guests--not a coincidence, I think. There are NO other food options in the vicinity and the food at the cottages is not cheap. Add in severe vomiting and diarrhea and it's pretty expensive. The staff was sympathetic to my situation but not overly so--they were more than willing to book another night at full price for me when I was too sick to travel. There were not many guests there and often times we were congregated together at meals, so I did get lax about locking my bungalow--I got addicted to the sea air--not their fault. However, I had all my Vietnamese money stolen out of my room. So, I was ready to go after that even though friends were so jealous of the view...

Reviewed June 23, 2016
6.0
Damien from Switzerland
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016

Nice stay on the beach ”

Bungalow directly on the beach with a very nice view, professional massage on the beach, and free kayak

Small breakfast with restricted choice. Poor choice on main dishes, very expensive and no other restaurant in the area. Only 1-2 persons per shift who spoke English (therefore many misunderstandings).

Reviewed January 24, 2016
7.7
Very good
Robert from United States
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015

My review bamboo cottages for 3 nights. ”

1. Location - bamboo cottages is about a 40 minute taxi ride from the airport which will cost you around 17 US dohe will feel very relaxed just sitting in your room or on the beach.

We had a great stay at bamboo cottages. We would come back again. The only concern was that housekeeping should not try on customers shoes because they liked them. While we out for breakfast my wife went back to our room to pick something up. Housekeeping was in our room cleaning and putting on my wife's shoes. she told her please take them off. Her response was she liked them and wanted to try them on.

Reviewed December 11, 2015
7.0
Very good
Fredrik from Sweden
Family with young children
Double Sea View
Stayed 6 nights in September 2015

Simple resort with remote location and very friend”

Friendly staff, remote location, “private” beach

The resort has a family feeling to it. Everybody worked hard to make you feel welcomed. We travelled with our little baby and the staff at Bamboo was so friendly and nice to our baby. Rooms are simple but have sea view and offers you time to “log off”. Restaurant is a little more expensive than nearby restaurants but portions are bigger and the food tastes better at Bamboo. + Friendly staff, remote location, “private” beach. - Port and construction site just beside the resort with noise and boats trafficking day and night, remote location.

Reviewed October 27, 2015
6.7
Good
Kathleen from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Sea View
Stayed 6 nights in February 2015

Relaxing”

Location, service,ambience.

Had a really relaxing stay at bamboo cottages at the end off our Vietnamese holiday, all the staff were very helpful and friendly, it was also a good location to explore the top end of the island. Kath Jed

Reviewed February 25, 2015
7.0
Very good
Erik from Denmark
Couple
Double Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015

Superb Location, Average hotel”

Location, Kayaks, Music

This is probably one of the best locations on Phu Quoc and the setting with restaurant between trees and palms right by the beach is really something. Locations is 5 stars. Hotel is 2+. Our stay had a lot of minor flaws: - Little plastic pieces in one dish. - order mix ups at breakfast. - a leaking water tank on the roof, leaking a lot of water into our room - we reported this and a guy went to roof, crossing our no roof bathroom without warning, almost catching me with my pants down, literally. - Two lamps were dysfunctional. We reported it, and had to remind them to return them. These things can happen to anyone, it's just not dealt with very well. No apology, no making it up to us. Other places might have offered a free drink or even upgrade to a better room. One hotel upgrade us because the key didn't work for 5 minutes. The general staff is very nice and friendly, but the management seems inexperienced and not fully competent, although very trying. Also when you book a room they are very eager to get you to also book their transport to/from the airport. This is 30$ one way and apparently without profit. We got a metered cap at the airport, it was 25$. When leaving the kept asking about arranging transport. It was 22$ to town. We asked them to call a cap - they responded with an odd look. It was only 13$!?! A nice tip is to visit the near by Vung Bau resort, They have excellent food and their Lime juice is 15.000 not 45.000 dong and is not filled with ice. 5.000 extra if you don't want ice at Bamboo Cottage! The free kayaks are a huge plus and we received some helpful information as well. Bamboo Cottage seems to be one of the best options there is but it's far from perfect. Minor improvements could make for a better experience.

Reviewed February 08, 2015
7.7
Very good
Ryan from United States
Couple
Double Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014

3 days in Phu Quoc”

location, value, helpfulness of staff

I think we received a great value for the money that we spent. The hotel is right on the beach has kayaks, snorkels, free yoga that are available to guests. The menu is a little basic, portion sizes are small but the taste was great. The staff were very helpful. The beds were hard and we had a difficult time sleeping on them. There is not really anything near this resort so it makes for a very tranquil vacation.

Reviewed December 01, 2014
7.3
Very good
Jody from Australia
Solo traveler
Double Beach Front
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013

Right on the ocean's edge; fantastic hospitality”

Right by the water; friendly staff and owners; Beautifully quiet

Overall I loved my stay here. Was made to feel at home by great owners. The location was perfect (if you want some seclusion and real down time). Negatives - nowhere to leave valuables; food really hit and miss (some was great, some truly terrible)

Reviewed December 19, 2013
7.7
Very good
Gordon from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 5 nights in March 2013

All good but hot at night”

the ocean view

Excellent value for money. Be warned though there is no air con so difficult to sleep. Also the bathroom was plauged by ants and other creepies. Not really a problem as long as your not expecting luxury. The biggest let down is the food. Quality is excellent but choice to limited (set menu each night) We traveled into town to eat at the night market which is excellent. Note also we spent over £100 on cabs whilst here as about an hour out of town. Staff were great although a little disorganised at times.

Reviewed April 12, 2013
5.7
NEIL from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013

Great location very peaceful”

Right on beach

This is a great place, but please be aware it takes about 30-40 minutes to get there from the airport on quite bumpy roads, the staff are friendly and it's a great location to chill out and relax, there is not much else to do as it is quite remote. The food is good but we felt it needed a little more imagination to the menu, to spice it up a bit.

Reviewed February 24, 2013
7.3
Very good
hendrik from Germany
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013

Pure relaxation”

eco friendly hotel "owns" the bay

This is a peaceful place up north on Phu Quoc Island and really has most of the Vuong Bay beach for itself. The owners and staff are really friendly and caring. Be aware that there only is solar-powered heating (no sun - cold water) and electricity only works from sunset to midnight. But who needs electricity when your bungalow is on the beach and you get the full "nature treatment"? Little Minus: The price is comparably high

Reviewed February 05, 2013
7.3
Very good
Deidre from Australia
Couple
Double Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013

Peaceful and relaxing but quite isolated”

Fantastic beach view

Looking back, I see we booked a " Sea View" cottage, but this is not what we got. Instead a co joined flat without a view and so missed out on the only lounges available. Very enjoyable non the less and meals were limited in choice but very nice. A more intimate form of accommodation compared to some of the bigger hotels in town. The area was quite isolated and quite expensive taxi ride form airport or town, so once you were there, you tended to stay there. Hiring a scooter for the day was a good choice.

Reviewed January 15, 2013
7.6
Very good
HUI-LUN from Taiwan
Group
Double Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016

You will like it!”

good!

Reviewed May 11, 2016
6.0
Petr from Czech Republic
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013

Beach, sun and snorkeling”

Quiet place, friendly staff, nice beach

Quiet place good to relax and enjoy beach, sun, swimming and snorkeling. Lack of electricity makes it hard to survive the nights, that became too hot

Reviewed May 06, 2013
8.4
Excellent
William from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Double Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018

super chilled - nice people”

nice rustic place - great eco values - place you go to totally switch off! lovely staff, also easy to get out and explore if you want to... great food too!

Reviewed February 08, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Thomas from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

Great getaway”

Brilliant relaxing location with amazing staff. Food is really good too. Quite, relaxing, just perfect.

Reviewed November 05, 2017

Chao Thomas, Thank you so much for staying with us and leaving such a motivational review. It would be so great if you could post it on Tripadvisor as well. Those like that really help our small business while more and more mega-resorts are opening in the island. Whenever you wish to come back, just send us an email for the best deal. ;) Best regards, Ngan and the Bamboo Family

Responded November 10, 2017
Bamboo Cottages
9.2
Exceptional
Rebecca from United States
Solo traveler
Double Beach Front
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017

Great secluded getaway”

Wonderful location. Friendly staff. Good prices. Great communication. Gets hot at night when trying to sleep (eco resort so no AC and power shuts off). Would definitely come back.

Reviewed April 21, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Daniel from Sweden
Couple
Double Beach Front
Stayed 6 nights in February 2017

Remote and friendly”

Close to the ocean.

Reviewed February 17, 2017