Book Now: Ban's Diving Resort

Very good
From 676 reviewsSee what guests said
7.6
/
10
Recommended by 80% of guests

Reviews of Ban's Diving Resort Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (676)Booking.com Reviews (304)
7.6
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.9
Facilities7.5
Location8.2
Room comfort and quality7.6
Service7.2
Value for money7.4
All languages
All guests (676)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 547 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Rajesh from United States
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Double
Stayed 4 nights in April 2019

Perfect place for specific clients ”

Pros: thoughtful place perfect for the diving community, party goers and lazy couples that want to be close to the everything without walking too much. They care about the environment and the restaurant on the beach is great, we ate there everyday. Cons: these didn't bother us because we knew this going in. Very loud until midnight from the bar by the beach. Steep climbs to get to the hilltop rooms (we had garden view which is close to the beach and easy, but hard to know that unless you read comments before booking). A bit understaffed when we went to the restaurant, so takes time to get your order, esp when the place is full during obvious hours). Pools are used for diver training (it's a diving hotel :) but they usually have a free one for non divers available. Not many cons if you understand why. Great place, will def come back.

Reviewed April 21, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Felix from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Hill Top Double
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Great Hill View Suite”

The Suite is huge and offers big luxury! Just rent a scooter and you can ride in 2min down to breakfast/sea instead of walking down 7-8min. Not nice is - ALL pools are blocked full day (or 9.30AM to 5PM) by divers - at least one pool should stay reserved for swimming and no divers blocking everything. But well priority here seems to be on diving only. Breakfast was good quality for the freshly cooked food - but could be improved and a bit more fruits.

Reviewed March 06, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Kurt from Canada
Family with teens
Jungle House with Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Excellent rooms with a brand new pool at our doorstep.”

We stayed in the ‘Jungle’ rooms. They are a 10 minute walk up the hill from reception and the beach. The walk is well worth it if you want new facilities away from the party scene on the beach at a great price.

Reviewed March 04, 2019
8.4
Excellent
SEOEUN from South Korea
Solo traveler
Jungle House with Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

Great location”

I stay at jungle house which on the hill side where is still on the construction and little bit difficult to go to main street.- The room doesn’t have telephone so I had to walk to the reception house and asked for cart service. Except that, it is very close to town the town, have good restaurants and diving or tour shop around them.

Reviewed July 25, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Malcolm from South Africa
Family with teens
Budget Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

Great Place, great location ”

We spent 3 nights at Bans resort. Our accommodation was up the hill which was away from the noise and good exercise. Room was clean and a beautiful view. The 3 pools were mainly used for scuba training which could be a pain. The bar below on the beach was great with live music and friendly expats. All in all a very chill environment, love Koh Tao. Will recommend this property. Make sure you are healthy if you are to walk up the hill a few times a day. If not make sure to ask for a room on the lower level of the property.

Reviewed January 22, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Devin from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Hill Top Double
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

Excellent”

Beautiful property up the hill and pools. The diving was the best we have had so far. The reception staff and dive staff were super friendly but the other staff seemed to really dis-like tourists. Other then that I would highly recommend the place. Beach front with a cool atmosphere.

Reviewed January 30, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Maria from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Double Bed
Stayed 5 nights in August 2017

Great Value for Money”

The resort is absolutely huge! There are 3 amazing pools and one that's used mostly by those learning to dive. The rooms are huge and the bathroom is nice. It's quite hilly but quite easy to get around. It's quite central to everything and taxis aren't too expensive and neither is the food. Breakfast is filling too. The beach near the hotel isn't the best but you can take a taxi boat out to other bays where the beaches are much nicer. Overall it's a really good hotel and worth the money.

Reviewed August 28, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Robin
Group
Jungle House with Double Bed
Stayed 4 nights in April 2017

Exceptional”

Well established and growing resort with various kinds of accomodation in different buildings located from the middle of Sairee beach to jungle in the hills. Kind and helpful staff, 3 beautiful and clean pools, but sometime crowded by divers from diving school, stunning jungle garden, all you need at the lower part of resort, including shops, restaurant, disco. We stayed in the Jungle house at the top of the resort. Nice, tidy, quite luxurious rooms in the quiet part of resort. 10 minutes walking distance to lower part of resort, staff will kindly take you by golf cart there and back if you do not want walk. The only drawback is scrap-heap in the middle of resort. Other parts of resort are kept clean and tidy. Definitely recommended, good choice.

Reviewed May 08, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Petrina from Romania
Solo traveler
Jungle House with Double Bed
Stayed 8 nights in February 2017

Perfect place”

I had the deluxe room garden view, 100%clean, in 1 week they changed twice the bedsheets, fresh towels every other day. It smelled so nice. The bathrooms are nothing special but the big balcony is wow! Cleaning service perfect, pool can't be used, the diving courses are taking place there, everybody was extremely nice. The restaurant is ok, fair prices and good food but I had better food on the island. The diving course was perfect, I had the best instructors, Neil and Andreas. Cool guys, helpful and answering all the questions. I ll definitely go back, I am In Love with the hotel and with the island.

Reviewed March 09, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Allison from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Double
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Nice dive resort”

Check in was good. They picked us up from the pier for free. We went for the diving. There seemed to be more people on course than fundiving so we had small groups with a dive leader and one of the days it was just us so that was cool. We found it a bit chaotic though and things weren't really explained to us as far as what to expect for our day out on the boat. The room itself was great. Big shower and garden view. Big beach towels and umbrella provided. The garden is beautiful. The wifi worked well in the room and at the restaurant. We couldn't get it to work at the pool. They have 3 pools. 2 are nice for lounging and swimming and one is for training. But when we went to the nice pool it was all taken up by people training. Also there were no cushions on the chairs so it wasnt very comfortable. The breakfast is pretty good. Can choose between thai or western. The location is perfect. Lots of good restaurants around. Our favourite was El Toro for both thai and western food.

Reviewed November 07, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Anastasia from Austria
Couple
Jungle House with Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

Really nice resort”

We got a upgrade and stay in a nice room called deluxe hilltop. It was quiet, a really nice room with a food view. Yes you have to walk a few minutes to the beach, but it's worth it. There are a lot of bars and restaurants, supermarkets and shops. A special thing for me is that this resort takes care of the nature! It's important and i like it how they do it without compromises. Go there guys!

Reviewed October 27, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
paul from United States
Group
Jungle House with Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018

Clean and very nice”

Bans was a hi light of my Thai trip, great food great island good diving. be ready to hike up to your room my room was up high good view but I has a scooter for the 4 days I stayed book it have fun club crawl and lady boy show was awesome and I do not drink!!!

Reviewed October 25, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Sascha from Germany
Group
Superior Double Bed
Stayed 4 nights in February 2018

great stay”

when we got off the ferry we saw a sign with the name of the resort and talked to a guy, so he gave us a free ride to the resort, which we didn‘t book and didn‘t know about. the room was vers big and clean, the staff was very helpful and we even got breakfast to take into the room when we didnt feel good one day. also got a discount on a diving course!

Reviewed September 18, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Ingrid from Netherlands
Family with young children
Family Garden
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018

Beautifull room with nice balcony”

Beautifull family room with a large balcony. Large hotel that spreads out over a large area. It is a long walk to the reception, breakfast etc. This could be located much more convenient for the newer rooms on the other side of the road. Also breakfast has different choices but these are strange combinaties and portioneren are too large. A lot of food is wasted because you either just don’t like It or It is too much! Good diving facilities

Reviewed August 28, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Philipp from Austria
Family with young children
Deluxe Garden View Double
Stayed 4 nights in August 2018

Recommendation”

Hotel directly at the sea with various types of rooms. The breakfast is huge, most of the employees are friendly. I would book this Hotel again, but would take a room on the hill. This is more quiet at night and next to the nice pool without divers. In addition they are cheaper.

Reviewed August 20, 2018
4.0
susumu from Thailand
Solo traveler
Jungle House with Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

Poor dive shop”

They seems to be specialized in diving courses with rental equipment. Poor facility for fun dive. Water tanks to rinse equipment were too small, too few and extremely dirty. They claim to be one of the biggest in PADI world but the size and the quality seems to be two different thing.

Reviewed July 31, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Janet from Singapore
Couple
Superior Double Bed
Stayed 4 nights in February 2019

Quiet room”

We had our superior room right up the hill facing the forested area. It’s really quiet and we love it.

Reviewed February 22, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Maria from Chile
Solo traveler
Superior Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Exceptional”

Great location even though my room was literally on top of the hill. Great pool and nice staff. Very good breakfast.

Reviewed August 31, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Edward
Couple
Superior Twin bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

Good for price”

Only problem we had, was the wi-fi

Reviewed August 12, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Megan from United States
Group
Deluxe Hill Top Twin
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017

Amazing time at Bans!”

My friends and I stayed here in August 2017 and we really enjoyed this resort! We did not dive at this resort, but we did book a snorkeling day trip in the office and it was more than we could have expected! The property is huge and took us a day to get acquainted to where the pools were and how to get back to our hotel room. We had a room up the hill with an AMAZING view of the island. We enjoyed the location and were able to easily walk everywhere we went on our trip. We did rent a cot because there were 3 of us, which was only a mattress on the floor, but it was still plenty comfortable. The only negative...do NOT get the included breakfast, it was disgusting. We stayed for 4 days and only ate it once and chose to pay for breakfast elsewhere. BUT the restaurant on the property Darawan made up for it . We had the most wonderful experience for both dinner and breakfast here and I would highly recommend it to anyone whether they are staying in the resort or not.

Reviewed March 16, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Jessica from United States
Couple
Superior Double Bed
Stayed 4 nights in February 2018

Best location, great rooms!”

Super well located at the heart of Koh Tao, they offer every service you will need, diving classes, motorbike rentals, boat, laundry service... only thing I didn’t like was the food at their restaurant, not worth payment more for breakfast, there are a lot of restaurants around tho... rooms are nice, well decorated, spacious and clean.. WiFi sucks and 2 first days no hot water (looks like the water and energy supply is something with the island, not the hotel itself) would still recomend it!

Reviewed March 09, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Douglas from United States
Group
Deluxe Hill Top Double
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017

Mixed Feelings”

First of all, the room I had was excellent! It was very comfortable, it had a great view, and the air con was good and the water hot! The Wifi was fine...no problem with the room. Ban's dive resort is huge!! To get to my excellent room, I had to literally hike uphill for about 2 kilometers, and once I was there, if I wanted something, I had to hike back down. Sometimes the staff will take you up in a golf cart, but they stop doing that at 10:00 I think...anyway, I might have been out later than than enjoying the island's night life. I went on 2 dives with their attached dive company, and they were some of the worst dives I have ever had! I have almost 200 logged dives, and these were just boring! I think they took me out with a bunch of beginning divers who were doing skills tests. Overall, I've been to Koh Tao a few times, and in the future, I will stay at a smaller hotel and dive with a different dive company. Ban's has a good idea, but they've taken it waaaay too far!

Reviewed February 26, 2018
7.2
Very good
Ammi from India
Group
Deluxe Garden View Twin
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018

Very good”

We were 3 people, one of them being a senior person who is not extremely fit. This place is bigger than the pictures show and had slopes which were tough for the senior to handle easily. They did have golf carts around but they didn’t let us use them unless we were checking in or out with luggage. There are 2 parts to the resort, one half is beach side & other half is across a main road on a hill. The beach side has one small pool which seems to be constantly in use by diving groups. The hill side had 3 pools of which I saw only 2. Of these two, one seems to be used by diving groups all the time. Hence its very irritating if you are not diving. The restaurant (where complimentary breakfast is served) is on the beach with good food & great view. It also turns into a party place at night and is one of the two which is open till 2 am - Great if you want to party, but not so much if your room is close to the beach & you want to sleep. Rooms are good but bathroom walls are very thin.

Reviewed February 12, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Jakob from Denmark
Couple
Superior Double Bed
Stayed 5 nights in January 2018

Exceptional”

Great hotel and great location! Their restaurant is also really good but I think the waiters were really rude except Win from Burma. He was really cool! The pools there are really good and big but there is also a lot of diving practice but it's not a big deal.

Reviewed February 01, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Nathan from United States
Couple
Suite Garden View Double
Stayed 5 nights in December 2017

Will return, probably twice more.”

Great place, location, staff, services, and dining. My only critiques, the dining staff appear indifferent at first. It’s likely because of a constant stream of unfriendly or insensitive guest who just make demands or expect too much. After day two, the servers started to warm up and pay more attention to us. More importantly. Please make better arrangements for vegan guests. It was a struggle trying to explain to servers my girlfriend couldn’t have dairy on her granola or butter on her toast. Overall, still my recommended stay on the island.

Reviewed January 16, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Cody from Thailand
Couple
Superior Double Bed
Stayed 6 nights in July 2017

Exceptional”

Pros , great living conditions, clean, central, and accomdating. Cons, some staff were grumpy, and that's about it.. great stay for the money. Take advantage of the free breakfast and maybe wake up before 10am

Reviewed July 23, 2017
3.6
Emma from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017

WIFI NEVER WORKED”

Supposed to be free wifi, but you have to re-enter the log in details every 200 minutes or so. I ended up just using data on my phone it was that annoying. Also the resort looks like its on the beach. It's not. Most of the rooms are 2-4 block back. I wish I booked somewhere else.

Reviewed May 05, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Thunyapat from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017

Everything you need, they have it”

I stayed here for a diving class which later I found out that it's Asia 's biggest diving school. Many types of accommodation to suite you. I've stayed in a deluxe garden view type with refrigerator, kettle, safe box, hair dryer, satellite TV with quality movie channels, DVD player. When I'm back at my room I don't want to go anywhere out. There are 2 7-11 it's so life saver. Multiple swimming pool as there are many dive class. Too crowded for normal guest to use swimming pool though. 2 main restaurant-1 at the beach, a club like one, western who love bars and music will love it. And another on the mountain side. A nice view more quiet luxury kind one, Thais and Chinese should prefer this one.

Reviewed May 04, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
julie from Canada
Couple
Jungle House with Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Loved everything about this place”

We booked two nights initially and then after seeing the resort and our room, we went and booked 3 more nights. Very clean and relaxing. Note the if you are staying on the other side of the road you'll need a scooter... its quite a walk with steep hills. Would definitely come again and stay a ban's. Ps the diving classes always take up the pools... not much room for casual swimming.

Reviewed February 25, 2017
7.6
Very good
Michael from Canada
Couple
Jungle House with Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017

Great potential, could use a little more attention.”

We had a decent enough time at Ban's, we were there for 3 nights and while we enjoyed it we felt like they could have spent a little more effort on keeping the grounds clean and tidy, and the big beautiful swimming pool could use a good scrub, also apart from the staff in the star lit restaurant (who were wonderful) the staff weren't the most helpful friendly bunch, but if your in koh Tao you could do worse than this place, if you don't mind a bit of a walk to your room, the secluded jungle house rooms are amazing.

Reviewed February 10, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Weronika from Poland
Couple
Superior Double Bed
Stayed 5 nights in January 2017

Really nice place with great localisation!”

Everything was very nice, clean and ok. There was a shower little broken in our room but it was nothing really important. Really good diving courses, helpfull staff. Small advice - don't rent a motorbike in a rental placed in the higher part of the resort. They are not from the hotel and they tried to cheat us.

Reviewed February 05, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Idan from Israel
Solo traveler
Jungle House with Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017

Great Resort!”

Close to the main road where all the bars parties and stores are, staff speaks english. I took the superior room and it was excellent. At first I booked their cheapest room but found out the room is very VERY far from where I want to be somewhere in the jungle... Bottom line I'd go there again when I visit Ko Tao!

Reviewed February 04, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Nicholas from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Hill Top Double
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

Great location!”

We spent six days at bans first at the hillside deluxe suite was amazing! Awesome views very quiet but some serious hills to get back to the room. For the last six days are friends met us and we were in pool side rooms. Went to check in and the room wasn't cleaned and did not set a great tone it was also up top and for the last few days we wanted to be closer to the main strip so we went down to the front and paid to upgrade it a nice room right by the main road. Ur a few steps away from the fishbowl which was a great hang out for beer pong and music at night. If you are more of a resort goer then a back packer I would highly recommend bans! Minus the issue with the one room the other two were amazing and clean. If you want quiet the upper suites on the hill our awesome if you want more action stay in the lower section!! We have seen some scary places to stay in Thailand and this was deffinetely more like a resort style place then a just a spot to throw ur bags in and sleep.

Reviewed December 31, 2016
6.4
Good
Nick from United States
Solo traveler
Jungle House with Double Bed
Stayed 9 nights in October 2016

Great grounds, lack attention to details”

The grounds/garden at Bans are amazing. The setting of the Darwin Restaurant unreal. The negatives, Jungle house located far far away not that big of deal except walking through the construction site became very old. Stayed 8 days room was only cleaned once. At my request. Staff was around my room daily sweeping the dirt in the garden?? The construction going on 100 yards away not a big deal, until they decided to burn there garbage. Nice touch. The smell of burning trash. Was going to dive with there shop, submitted not less than 10 e-mails asking simple yes/no questions, no reply . Booked with different dive shop. I guess my take on Bans, could be amazing, lack of personal attention make it mediocre at best.

Reviewed November 11, 2016
8.8
Excellent
shann from Malaysia
Group
Family Garden
Stayed 1 night in August 2016

Nice Resort”

nice and clean room with beautiful view. short walking distance to the walking street. cozy & peaceful environment. you can enjoy your breakfast with beautiful scenery at the restaurant! it will be better if hotel can provide free shutter to the jetty

Reviewed August 22, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
lisa from Australia
Couple
Pool Villa 1
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016

Nice Location”

We stayed in the pool villa 1. It was absolutely beautiful with our own private pool (no one was staying in the other pool villa 's - they are normally shared). The trek upto this beautiful room was a very steep hill and once reception is closed at night (around 9pm) you will have to walk it up there on your own. Otherwise they offer a golf cart ride (completely free)

Reviewed August 06, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Katherine from United States
Solo traveler
Jungle House with Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

Decent for the price”

We stayed here after a week on Koh Tao staying elsewhere. We wanted to dive and Ban's is the best place to do so. It is located close to many restaurants and shops. The Ban's Resort Restaurant was good and the staff was very nice. Make sure to get a mango daiquiri, they're delicious!

Reviewed June 27, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Jenny from Sweden
Family with young children
Deluxe Garden View Twin
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016

Stunningly beautiful ”

Super happy and satisfied with our stay at Ban's. Big family of seven, three teenagers tried scubadiving for the first time and were stoked. Great instructor, safety and gear. We had a deluxe Hill top villa a bit of a walk up the hills with two toddlers but surrounding so beautiful with green gardens and buildings a long with the ocean view made it worth it big time. Perfect location at Sairee beach with bars, restaurants and small shopping. Loved it and will definitely come back. Stayed in June and even though tide seasons, you can swim at the beach.

Reviewed June 25, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Christina from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior Twin bed
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016

Nice but expensive”

Ban's was, by far, the most expensive place we stayed at for our entire trip to Thailand. While it was beautiful and very enjoyable, I am not convinced that it was worth the amount that we paid. We were ready for a bit of "luxury" by this point in our trip so do not regret forking out the extra money but just be aware it is a little on the pricey side compared to some of the other diving resorts in the area. Grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. The pools are gorgeous. There are several eating options located right at the resort which was very convenient. Bathroom was very nice and the shower was excellent.

Reviewed April 04, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Patrick from United States
Solo traveler
Jungle House with Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016

Solo Adventure to Koh Tao”

Ban's was a great place to stay. It had a reasonable price for a great room. One side note is the Jungle room I stayed in was a little far from the main part of the hotel so if you aren't for a walk to the back of the resort don't book the Jungle room. The room and surrounding area was very peaceful and secluded from the rest of the resort but walking up and down the hill(it would take me 8mins each way) finally got to me after the 10th or so time. The dive staff and trips were wealth worth the money and the guides were exceptional. Very knowledgable about the local fish and wild life at each dive site.

Reviewed March 30, 2016
8.4
Excellent
MaryMargaret from United States
Solo traveler
Jungle House with Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

Not as Eco as I would like”

this was the first Resort I stayed in in my 5-week travels that would not let me fill my water bottles from larger containers. They claim that water was too expensive for them to do this. They told me to buy water in plastic bottles at 7-Eleven. Plastic is the number one issue in our environment right now and they claim to be an ecologically concerned I also purposely did not put the makeup room sign on my door when I left for my snorkeling trip. However they came in anyway and changed my sheets and all my towels, none of which needed to be done :-( Finally on the snorkeling trip ( Which by the way did have the large water containers from which you could fill your bottles! ) tthey did not provide fins even though they are a dive Resort. Moreover there was a 100 baht fee extra to go to the island which they did not tell us about and was not published on their flyer.

Reviewed March 28, 2016
4.3
MASAFUMI from Japan
Solo traveler
Jungle House with Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

Suffered from very remote annex room”

Hotel location

Though hotel location is good (just in front of beach), the hotel facility seems extended without proper planning. I was sent to remote annex from where it takes 10 minutes to outside road and 15 minutes to reception. I can even lose myself due to improper design of hotel. I was not allowed to use transportation cart without proper reason.

Reviewed January 21, 2016
5.3
Mark from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Jungle House with Double Bed
Stayed 5 nights in January 2016

Dirty Room and Location. Staff were not interested”

Near the beach

Visiting Koh Tao was the highlight of my trip. I felt that my requests were totally ignored. I since I booked many months ago, I asked for a room with a view. (Not a hard request I felt) My room was on the ground floor next to the entrance to the 'L' block. It was very noisy in the early hours of the mornings with drunk people returning to the rooms. The room itself was "cleaned" everyday, but had cob webs hanging from the bathroom ceiling, and two dead bugs on the bathroom floor for the duration of my stay. The bathroom sink had mold growing around it. It clearly hadn't been clean for a long time. The complex is HUGE and the staff seamed more interested in the younger dive customers than a solo traveller. I even had to cut my trip short, due to (my error) in transit connections from the island to return to Phuket. I informed the staff that I will be checking out a day early. I didn't even get asked the question "Why is everything OK"? The attitude I felt was. Hey we've had your money ...BYE ! Would I stay there again...? No

Reviewed January 17, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Jonas from Sweden
Couple
Superior Double Bed
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015

Nice And Centrally located”

Large resort area, good variety in food available and good standard of the rooms

Nice hotel which I would recommend! I would however wish for more information about scuba diving in advance. Apparently you could get free accomodation if you took their classes! Scuba diving school was super good! Would stay here again! Much hotel for the money!

Reviewed December 04, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Nina from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015

Clean, well kept, great place to stay”

Location, food, cleanliness

We had a great time at Ban's. Firstly we had booked into a 'jungle room' not realising how far from the main resort it really was.. Apparently we had to drive there! We refused to do this so were offered a room slightly closer but had to pay an extra 500baht per night! However our stay was really good. Rooms were clean. Some staff in the restaurant were very lazy but some were also really efficient and helpful. The pool area was great, and only 3 min walk down to the beach.

Reviewed October 06, 2015
6.0
Craig from Australia
Couple
Suite Garden View Double
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

Worse each time”

Location

I’ve been going to Bans for 15+ years every 3-4 years and although the buildings are upgraded and it’s now massive, it’s lost its soul. They really just churn through the people and see guests as cash machines. You can do worse in Koh Tao, but it’s a pretty heartless experience. The non-Thai waiters can’t even manage a grunt of acknowledgement and scowl at you if you try to get their attention. Rooms near the beach are noisy especially if it’s a pub crawl night.

Reviewed September 10, 2015
8.0
Excellent
SUNHEE from Singapore
Couple
Superior Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

Good & exciting Stay”

Diving centre room swimming pool

Ban's diving resort is well organised! From pick up from pier, I was so impressed! The room (our room was in L building, I guess it is newly built or renovated) was pool view! rooms were clean and I loved it but there are ants and mosquitoes (it is surrounded by nature). Breakfast is continental type. One thing I was disappointed a lot for the resort was the staff who are standby in the office (taxi pickup point) between reception and L building. I had ankle pain after diving and asked the staff there if I can get the room by buggy (There were 3 buggies stopped there and 5 staffs were in the office) but he showed me the finger indicating to walking or crawling. It was so rude. By the way, the staffs in main reception were so attentive and always willing to help us!

Reviewed August 26, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Jacob from Denmark
Family with young children
Family Garden
Stayed 6 nights in July 2015

Good place for divers - and the family on land”

Good pool (3 of them). Okay food and diving!

The hotel have rooms in all levels. My wife and two small children have a good time at Ban's. They have good prices on PADI diving courses. Only down side is that stet have a tendency to have "fun dives" at the same 4 sites. There is many good sites - 10-30 minutes avay.

Reviewed August 04, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Megan from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015

Amazing resort for wonderful price ”

Clean rooms, great food, classy resort

Amazing! Best place I have stayed in Thailand. It would easily cost $250 a night to stay at a place like this in the U.S. The restaurants have amazing views and delicious food. The diving instructors are great if you choose to dive. The location is amazing!

Reviewed June 09, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Naomi from United Kingdom
Group
Deluxe Garden View Double
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015

Loved my stay at Bans diving resort!”

The food at the fishbowl restaurant was amazing and great value for money. Location was spot on and great atmosphere there yet very relaxing

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort and wish we had stayed longer here. Love koh Tao and would definitely go back to this resort. Shame there wasn't a pool near the beach as the one available was a trek up a hill and lacked atmosphere. The other pool is used for diving training Didn't let this put us off though. Want to go back and do the scuba diving here next time!

Reviewed June 05, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Sarah from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Hill Top Double
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015

Great location and view”

view, location, size of room

We loved the location - close to all the action. But then our room was far enough away so that it was quiet at night. The room was a great size too. The room was a bit dated but clean and an amazing view so it didn't matter.

Reviewed January 09, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Marta from Belgium
Group
Deluxe Garden View Twin
Stayed 1 night in December 2014

Beautiful Place with Amazing, Cozy Ambience”

staff, location, ambience

The resort is fantastic! They picked us up at the pier which was a very nice surprise. It was a complimentary service! When we checked in, they gave us a ride in a golf cart with all our luggage up to the hill to our room. Room was spacious, had a nice interior design and was very well equipped. It had beach towels and umbrellas on top of all the standard amenities. Shower was great! We didn't have warm water so they gave us keys to the room next door and let us use this one. They also let us do the late checkout at 2pm. The place has a really cool reception area with many staff members to assist you. Right next to it, there's a restaurant which transforms into a lively bar at night with live music and party with DJ and a fire show at the beach afterwards. The ambience of the place is simply amazing! Full of people, beautiful houses surrounded by lush greenery, nice restaurants and pools. There's a restaurant up the hill where we stayed that serves breakfast and has amazing views of the sea. Totally recommended!

Reviewed December 09, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
constantin from United States
Solo traveler
Bungalow Hilltop
Stayed 1 night in November 2014

Very nice hotel. very nicely located ”

Views were great. rooms were great, and hotel design is very nice.

i only stayed one night, did a dive from Ban, and went to the restaurant and bar. Nice bar at night. they are pretty central to the fun area. I want to stay again here if im in Ko Tao but more than one night. great place and worth the money.

Reviewed December 05, 2014
7.3
Very good
Stan from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View Double
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014

Great location but expensive”

The location is great, as well if the staff and the bar and food!

It was a nice but expensive stay at a great location. The hotel is particulary interesting for divers (only). The staff was great as well as the food and bar, but the rooms and comfort could be better for a 'resort'.

Reviewed November 16, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Fabian from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Hill Top Double
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014

perfect Hotel for Diving, Enjoying and Vacation”

Diving, View, Location

We had a great Room (Hilltop Villa Ocean View) Unfortunately we just stayed there 2 nights during our Travel through Thailand. But here where the only days where I forgot work and settled completely down. I recomment this Hotel for everybody.

Reviewed November 11, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Gail from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe Garden View Double
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014

Koh Tao”

Beaches location view

Ok this hotel really does only cators for the young who want to dive age group between 18/30 anyone older and you are too old to stay here. The darawain restaurant that was attached to the hotel was absolutely lovely and the views from there made up for everything else.

Reviewed September 11, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Tanyawan from Thailand
Group
Deluxe Garden View Double
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014

Excellent”

Accommodation staff location

Very nice and friendly staff, the best dive instructors/masters , clean area, good location very closed to the beach, providing free shuttle to the pier, night life is amazing at the resort , famous bar locates there. Very impressive.

Reviewed March 22, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Heather from United States
Couple
Deluxe Hill Top Twin
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014

Comfortable room and great diving ”

private deck, clean room, good breakfast buffet

We opted to stay in the upgraded room with AC, not the dorm rooms. We were up the hill off the beach, but it was quiet and clean. The breakfast buffet was included and was very good. Easy and free transport to and from the ferry.

Reviewed February 20, 2014
4.7
Peter from Belgium
Couple
Suite Garden View Double
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014

bit of a factory feeling”

location / dive shop included

For Koh Tao standards, quite largehotel, spread out over several buildings. There was some confusion at the check-in, other people got same room and entered the room when we were there, not pleasant feeling; staff acted bit strange in fixing the problem. Breakfast buffet is a disappointment. Dive school is integrated in the hotel, which is really handy. School is a bit too big making it impersonal. but dive instructor was very good. Beach-side restaurant has plesant busy feeling. In sum, not my top choice, but not bad either if you like bigger hotels like that.

Reviewed February 17, 2014
3.7
Helmut from Austria
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Twin
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014

total disappointment - disinteressted staff”

location

Good Location, but worn hotel, needs restauration. Demotivated staff. At the reception, when I asked a question the agent did not look at me continued with paper work and answered without stopping her other work at reception where customer should be King.

Reviewed February 02, 2014
8.0
Excellent
William from South Africa
Family with teens
Deluxe Hill Top Double
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013

Diving hotel and for Young Adults”

Diving, right on the beach, professional diving instructors

We booked a deluxe hilltop through Agoda, received a different room next to generator. When asked to change was charged 1000 Baht a night extra. New room right near FISHBOWL Bar. Music starts at 10:00 then at 12:00 pm - 2 in the morning weird electro or house music. Loud. Took sleeping tablet night one, depressed on night 2 and decided to cut stay short. Two swimming pools but mainly used for new open water divers. Diving is great but older divers should find a different hotel unless loud (very) loud music does not disturb. Another omission is getting to Koh Tao via catamaran or ferry. Long lines at checking, people pushing, sweating, and bad signage. People standing in wrong lines at Lomprayah to go to Samui. So if you do not like crowds, backpackers, noise .... this is not for you. The beach used to be beautiful but this year we noticed quite a lot of garbage on the beach and in the water. No need for life jacket as salt content allows you to float without fins as well.

Reviewed January 13, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Erin from United States
Couple
Deluxe Hill Top Double
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013

Amazing!! Could have spent my entire trip here!”

Diving, Room, View

I loved Ban's. The hotel and dive staff were great. We were upgraded to a suite from a Deluxe Hilltop Room and our view/room was rad! Our room was clean, large and bright. There are a lot of hills but they weren't a problem because we had a scooter or an ATV the entire time. We also extended our stay an extra night.

Reviewed May 29, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Sarah from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Hill Top Double
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013

Fantastic hotel/staff, amazing facilities/location”

Staff, features, facilities, location

This hotel was amazing. We stayed in the mountain view hotel which had a view over the whole beach. It was about a 5 minute walk up the hill from the bottom of the hotel (at the beach) if you are fast at up-hill walking/stairs. The view and the tranquility was definitely worth it! And the value for money was just amazing. The hotel has 2 fantastic pools, both of which are usually used for scuba lessons during the day but allow for swimmers as well. The hotel has two great restaurants and two receptions and is totally accommodating for all. The room was massive, with a living room, bathroom and bedroom, 2 television sets, a DVD Player, 2 air-cons, dresser and lounge and balcony. Right on Sairee Beach and close enough to walk to Mae Haad (15minutes) and also the Sairee centre (5-10minutes). 24 Hour Ban's Convenience store and internet area area, plus free wifi anywhere in the hotel/its restaurants were a plus also. Tours and taxis/ferries can be booked easily and cheaply through the hotel, and of course scuba diving. Would definitely recommend and am going back asap!

Reviewed March 04, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Linda from United Kingdom
Group
Deluxe Garden View Double
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012

Absolutely loved this hotel!”

2 amazing pools, not really needed as it is right next to the beach, a 2-4 min walk depending on your room!

An amzing place to stay, great gardens, pool, room, beds, balcony. The hotel restaurant does a nice BBQ and their bar "fishbowl" has some really friendly staff and a great atmosphere. I went at a quiet time and it was full of people every night.

Reviewed February 21, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Maria from Chile
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Double
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

Great Room, Great Location - Ideal for diving fans”

Resort type rooms, location

Liked: -They are waiting you at the Pier and transfer you and all other passengers (lot) to the hotel (I did not had idea how to get there so it was great to have someone waiting for you) - Location was the thing that we loved most, very central. - The room we took was around USS90 per night and it was like a 4.5 stars resort, very Nice! - They gave us a 200B discount on the discovery diving day as we were staying there Not liked: - Not to have a breakfast buffe included, instead is "a la carte" - Ko Tao in general do not have good internet connection so it was very weak Pools were always used for diving classes...nothing to do with that... At the end north of Sairee beach it was the best place to swim and see the sunset

Reviewed February 14, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
claudia from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Hill Top Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

Great hotel on an amazing island”

Diving facilities, breakfast

great hotel, friendly staff, fun activities, loved my garden room, actually my first decent breakfast in thailand, such a beautiful and clean island! only thing i could say was getting a ferry transfer was the biggest pain as the boat capacity is exceeded by the demand to get to the island after full moon!!!

Reviewed February 02, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Rod from Australia
Family with teens
Deluxe Garden View Double
Stayed 5 nights in January 2013

Sensational location and great facilities.”

Great room, (Villa), perfect diving amenities, rocking bar and good restaurant.

Very happy with just about everything. Did the open water diving course, brilliant instructors-. Remember to allow a little extra time to check in and out..... you're on island time; that sort of thing can take a little effort.

Reviewed January 24, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Margot from France
Group
Deluxe Hill Top Twin
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012

Great location & very good rooms”

view from hill top rooms, location, diving facilities

The new rooms on the hill top part are really nice with breathtaking views of Koh Tao. The hotel itself is very busy with hundreds of people coming for multi days PADI courses. Staff was very helpful and our stay was great overall.

Reviewed January 02, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Einar from Norway
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Double
Stayed 5 nights in December 2012

Best Dive hotel in Asia”

this hotel is situated on the beautifull sairee beach. a perfekt location. it is famous for beeing one of the best dive school/hotell in asia. at least it is the one who educate the most padi divers in the world. kind staff and excelent dive sites.

Reviewed December 27, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Lucy from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Double
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012

Good location, clean, large room”

Room cleaned everyday, good view from our suite

we decided to complete our padi certification so was given a discounted room, which worked out well. our room was spacious and clean, and staff were very helpful even though it was extremely busy. nice and close to the beach as well.

Reviewed December 12, 2012