Banks Hotel

Banks Hotel

5-9 Park Avenue Ilford, Greater London East, London, United Kingdom, IG1 4RS
- View on map
Junior Suite Banks Hotel
Junior Suite
    Removed from saved list
    Interior view Banks Hotel
    Interior view Banks Hotel
    Bathroom Banks Hotel
    Double Room Banks Hotel
    See all 29 photos
     Banks Hotel

    Banks Hotel Reviews

    5.7
    Review score
    /10
    (121 reviews)See what guests said
    5.6
    Review score

    "Rooms were clean, stuff was safe in the rooms and staff were..."

    Dani

    -

    August 5, 2017

    Things you’ll love about Banks Hotel

    Things you'll love

    • 540 meters to public transportation

    • Bar

    • Laundry service

    • Gift/souvenir shop

    Good
    Location
    6.3
    See map
    Popular
    Nearby
  • Tower of London11.76 km
  • Tower Bridge11.86 km
  • British Museum14.35 km
  • London Eye14.62 km
  • Big Ben15.08 km
  • Camden Market15.17 km
  • Westminster Abbey15.17 km
  • Houses of Parliament15.22 km
  • St. James's Park15.54 km
  • Buckingham Palace16.13 km
  • Value for money5.9
    Location rating6.3
    Nearest airportLondon City Airport (LCY)
    Distance to airport6.8 km

    Rooms available at Banks Hotel

    Double Room
    Double Room
    ...
    • Shower
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Twin Room
    Twin Room
    ...
    • Non-smoking
    • Shower
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Family Room
    Family Room
    ...
    • Shower
    • 2 single beds and 1 double ...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Triple Room
    Triple Room
    ...
    • Shower
    • 1 single bed and 1 double b...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Double with Share Bathroom
    Double with Share Bathroom
    ...
    • Non-smoking
    • Shared bathroom
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Junior Suite
    Junior Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 11 m²/118 ft²
    • Shower
    • 1 queen bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Single Room
    Single Room
    ...
    • Shower
    • 1 single bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Basic Family
    Basic Family
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      Basic Double
      Basic Double
      ...
        Enter dates to see prices
        Basic Triple
        Basic Triple
        ...
          Enter dates to see prices
          Have a question for Banks Hotel?

          What people love about Banks Hotel

          • 9.6
            Exceptional
            Breakfast

            "Breakfast was bery good."

            Mariana

            |

            October 29, 2018

          • 5.6
            Review score
            Location

            "Great breakfast, great location."

            Joyous

            |

            July 14, 2018

          • 6.8
            Good
            Breakfast

            "Great breakfast and very quiet hotel for the price i payed i got a great experience"

            Kayleigh

            |

            March 8, 2018

          Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

          Prices drop the moment you sign in!

          Sign in now
          More about Banks Hotel

          More about Banks Hotel

          10.0
          Exceptional

          "I enjoyed my 2 days in this hotel and i will go there again."

          Mohammed

          |

          March 21, 2018

          An overview

          Show less

          What they offer

          8.4
          Excellent

          "Friendly staff includes breakfast and within budget"

          Clara

          |

          November 27, 2018

          Read more reviews
          Show less

          Nearest essentials

          Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
          Show less

          What to eat nearby

          British cuisine
          British cuisine
          Zu's
          3.3 km British, Fast food, Halal
          Familia Cafe
          3.4 km British, Spanish
          The Holly Tree
          3.4 km British, Italian
          American cuisine
          American cuisine
          Longhorn
          3.1 km American, Barbecue, Central American
          Potbelly
          5.6 km American, Fast food
          Shake Shack Westfield E20
          5.7 km American, Fast food
          European cuisine
          European cuisine
          Selmos
          5.2 km European, Portuguese
          Oceano
          5.4 km European, Mediterranean, Portuguese
          Nando's - Beckton
          5.4 km European

          What's nearby

          Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
          Show more

          Property's guest policies

          Show less

          Some helpful facts

          Show less

          Reviews of Banks Hotel from real guests

          Provided by verified guests of Agoda
          Agoda Reviews (121)Booking.com Reviews (834)
          5.7
          /
          10
          Review score
          Cleanliness5.2
          Facilities5.3
          Location6.3
          Room comfort and quality4.9
          Service5.8
          Value for money5.9
          All languages
          All guests (121)
          All room types
          Showing 71 verified guest comments
          1234
          4.4
          Iva
          Couple
          Double with Share Bathroom
          Stayed 9 nights in April 2019

          The red head woman was very rude I recommend you dont speak to her speak to the other staff. Thanks”

          She is very rude. She is not friendly. She is not respectful. She is meant to make her customers feel happy but she hasnt. All she knows is to complain and be rude. She is not serious and she thinks she is the biggest professional manager in the world but in reality she is not. She needs to leave that hotel and never come back because there is no point of her working there she wasted my money and my time. Someone tell her to wash her hair before she thinks she can talk. Sorry for me being truthful atleast im not lying. Anyway, other hotels are very nice in Ilford and Banks Hotel could of been a nice hotel but she just ruins it. Thankyou very much

          Reviewed May 10, 2019

          banks hotel team

          Responded May 16, 2019
          Banks Hotel
          2.8
          Carl from United Kingdom
          Business traveler
          Twin Room
          Stayed 1 night in May 2019

          Contactors digs ”

          Cheap room when away from home with work Very rude arrogant woman on reception this visit she totally lacks any customer service skills and clearly hates her job and people in general

          Reviewed May 15, 2019

          Banks Hotel team

          Responded May 16, 2019
          Banks Hotel
          3.2
          Carl from United Kingdom
          Business traveler
          Twin Room
          Stayed 1 night in May 2019

          Grotty room”

          Room stinks of sewets from bathroom drains Shower held together by womens hairbands Dirty grotty room

          Reviewed May 12, 2019

          BANKS HOTEL

          Responded May 16, 2019
          Banks Hotel
          6.8
          Good
          Chad from United Kingdom
          Couple
          Twin Room
          Stayed 1 night in May 2019

          Basic but sufficient”

          The breakfast is great value for money as it is included in the price. The wifi was a little slow but good enough to do what was needed. Rooms are clean and serviced daily. The bathroom has a slight smell unfortunately. Overall good value for what you pay. Slightly noisy over weekends in the area.

          Reviewed May 06, 2019

          Dear Chad , thank you for choosing to stay at our Banks Hotel and for your feedback, very much appreciated.We will try our best to improve the facilities to provide a comfortable stay for all our guests. Looking forward to see you again in the near future. Regards,kate Reception Staff

          Responded May 06, 2019
          Banks Hotel
          8.0
          Excellent
          Brigitte
          Business traveler
          Twin Room
          Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

          The hotel experience on its own overall was good”

          U get full English breakfast included when you book a room. The only con about the hotel was one of the receptionist, short brown/burgundy hair. Very unfriendly individual, her attitude stinks and she tried to scam me the customer by overcharging them in regards to the room prices.

          Reviewed February 17, 2019

          Dear Brigitte,Thank you for your time writing a review after your stay, that will help us to improve our services. Regarding the overcharging fees as you mentioned in your review, we did investigate it and on the camera shows that you arrived on the 14th February at 9 am for check-in. Our check-in time starts at 12, for an early check-in apply a fee of 20£, but on top of that you didn't had a reservation for the 14th and your reservation was made for the 21st February and when you asked to get a room in that moment of course the price will be different, unfortunately we cannot make the same deals as Agoda with the prices for a room. Hope you will understand our policy and once again we are really sorry for the inconvenience you encountered and we will make sure your next stay will be a more comfortable one! Best Regards,Lory Reception Team

          Responded February 21, 2019
          Banks Hotel
          8.0
          Excellent
          Mario from Netherlands
          Solo traveler
          Stayed 1 night in April 2012

          sober, maar schoon en goed ontbijt”

          ontbijt was prima, veel keuze en zeer vriendelijke bediening

          ik had onverwacht een kamer zonder toilet/badkamer geboekt, dus dat viel erg tegen maar de kamer was prima verzorgd, ligging prima naast een mooi park en op enkele minuten lopen van het centrum van Ilford

          Reviewed May 09, 2012
          2.4
          Carl from United Kingdom
          Business traveler
          Twin Room
          Stayed 1 night in April 2019

          Dirty noisy and run down”

          Damo smelly room Noisy from 6am Do not go here

          Reviewed April 19, 2019

          BANKS HOTEL

          Responded May 16, 2019
          Banks Hotel
          4.4
          Carl from United Kingdom
          Business traveler
          Twin Room
          Stayed 1 night in December 2018

          Old dirty and smelly”

          Run down thread bare carpets Dirty musty smell throughout Rat deterants in corridors Poor quality breakfast Dont stay here unless your on a rentokil practical course

          Reviewed December 06, 2018

          Dear guest, We apologies for the discomfort you had while staying with us. We can promise that we will look into the problems you had and try our best to improve the facilities in order to provide a more comfortable stay for all our guest. We do hope to see you again in our Hotel. Kind Regards, Lory Reception Staff

          Responded February 21, 2019
          Banks Hotel
          8.0
          Excellent
          Kamila
          Couple
          Double Room
          Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

          good place to overnight”

          Banks Hotel is a great choice for those who want to sightsee all days and come back just to overnight. The room was small but cosy, bathroom ensuite, full english breakfast - really big! Quite far from the underground (about 1,5 km). But close to some restaurants and shops. We were satisfied with this hotel and can recommend it.

          Reviewed December 18, 2016

          Dear Kamila,Thank you for sharing with us this fantastic review, we are happy that you were satisfied with our hospitality and services. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Lory Reception Team

          Responded September 01, 2018
          Banks Hotel
          5.2
          Abhinav from France
          Couple
          Triple Room
          Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

          Don't judge this location but its photos”

          The hotel was not worth staying. The breakfast opens at 7 and ends at sharp 9. No service after that time. The heating was a constant issue and it stinks of cigarettes in the hotel. The showers as advertised are power showers but have no apparent power. No toiletries were given either. The cleaning staff, however, goes out of their way to make sure the rooms are clean to the maximum. We had to change rooms and we were checked into a stinking room, the housekeeping did their best but could not clean enough, the next day we were given a better room without heating though. The beds are squeaky and the rooms lack proper lighting. Overall, a very bad experience but since we were desperate to find a stay we had no option. I would not recommend going to this place unless you don't have any other option. The photos are highly misleading. Big No.

          Reviewed October 15, 2018

          Dear Abinav, We are deeply sorry to hear about your objectionable experience at Banks Hotel. Our breakfast time is fixed and we do offer wake up calls if necessary in the morning. Our rooms come with basic soaps but I am not sure if your room did not have any or your expectations were different. Your feedback has been passed to the management and we can assure you that appropriate measures will be taken. We apologise once again and we hope to see you again, even as a last option. Regards, Dana Reception Team

          Responded November 19, 2018
          Banks Hotel
          3.6
          Harj from United Kingdom
          Family with young children
          Double with Share Bathroom
          Stayed 1 night in July 2018

          Basic facility .”

          Agoda are fraudsters . They charged me for a family twin bed room but on arrival I was given a small double bed room. The room had a broken window and no toilet . I informed staff that I asked for a family room and I have 2 children . I was told it’s your problem speak with Agoda. Rang Agoda and I was held on line for over a hour with no one answering the phone. I gave up!! In the end I had to alternative arrangements for my family . Agoda are rubbish I do not recommend them.

          Reviewed July 30, 2018

          Dear guest, We apologies for the discomfort you had while staying with us. We can promise that we will look into the problems you had and try our best to improve the facilities in order to provide a more comfortable stay for all our guest. We do hope to see you again in our Hotel. Kind Regards, Lory Reception Staff

          Responded February 21, 2019
          Banks Hotel
          4.0
          ADRIANA from Argentina
          Family with teens
          Double Room
          Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

          No volveré”

          No tenemos grandes pretenciones...pero hay detalles que hicieron de nuestra estadía una mala experiencia. Lo bueno: Llegamos antes del horario de check in y nos permitieron instalarnos en la habitación. Está cerca de líneas de buses y trenes Lo malo: Muy bullicioso. Gente hablando en voz muy alta o escuchando música fuerte o incluso discutiendo a las 11 de la.noche...o a las 12...a la 1 de la mañana...a las 6 am...dá igual...el bullicio era a cualquier hora y las recepcionistas nunca hicieron nada al respecto. El desayuno era al estilo inglés...no está pensado para otra clase de turistas...solo teníamos café y tostadas...todos los.dias Pero lo peor de todo fue la última noche...comenzaron a caer gotas de las 3 luces del baño...y luego 4 goteras en la habitación...uds creen que me cambiaron de habitación? No!! Porque era un problema de maquinarias...me.dijeron q en un rato iba a parar...x lo.q estuve hasta las 3 am con toallas en el piso y un balde para q no s. No vuelvo ni loca

          Reviewed July 18, 2018

          Dear guest, We apologies for the discomfort you had while staying with us. We can promise that we will look into the problems you had and try our best to improve the facilities in order to provide a more comfortable stay for all our guest. We do hope to see you again in our Hotel. Kind Regards, Lory Reception Staff

          Responded February 21, 2019
          Banks Hotel
          5.6
          Joyous from United Kingdom
          Couple
          Twin Room
          Stayed 3 nights in May 2018

          Carpet was ripped, room smelt of cigarette and only one of the receptionist was nice, breakfast good”

          Great breakfast, great location. Receptionist can be friendly, the price was just okay for what we got. The carpet was ripped in so many places, maintenance was terrible, they change sheets once every 3 days. Its a hotel! Sheets should be changed everyday.

          Reviewed July 14, 2018

          Dear Joyous,Many thanks for your appreciation and hope to see you again in our hotel. Thank you for choosing Banks Hotel.We apologies for the discomfort you had while staying with us. We can promise that we will look into the problems you had and try our best to improve the facilities in order to provide a more comfortable stay for all our guest. We do hope to see you again in our Hotel. Kind Regards,Lory Reception Team

          Responded September 01, 2018
          Banks Hotel
          10.0
          Exceptional
          Adnan from United Kingdom
          Solo traveler
          Double Room
          Stayed 1 night in January 2019

          GOOD location”

          GOOD staff good parking at hotel if u have a car

          Reviewed January 23, 2019

          Dear Adnan, Thank you for choosing Banks Hotel and for the time taken to write this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again. Lory Reception Team

          Responded February 21, 2019
          Banks Hotel
          8.4
          Excellent
          Clara from United Kingdom
          Couple
          Double Room
          Stayed 1 night in November 2018

          Friendly staff”

          Friendly staff includes breakfast and within budget

          Reviewed November 27, 2018

          Dear Clara, Thank you for choosing Banks Hotel and for the time taken to write this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again. Lory Reception Team

          Responded February 21, 2019
          Banks Hotel
          6.0
          Murali from United Kingdom
          Solo traveler
          Double with Share Bathroom
          Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

          Good”

          Good

          Reviewed February 20, 2019

          Dear Murali, Thank you for choosing Banks Hotel and for the time taken to write this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again. Lory Reception Team

          Responded February 21, 2019
          Banks Hotel
          6.8
          Good
          Obidike from United Kingdom
          Solo traveler
          Double with Share Bathroom
          Stayed 1 night in February 2019

          Good”

          Sound proofing was poor

          Reviewed February 14, 2019

          Dear guest, We apologies for the discomfort you had while staying with us. We can promise that we will look into the problems you had and try our best to improve the facilities in order to provide a more comfortable stay for all our guest. We do hope to see you again in our Hotel. Kind Regards, Lory Reception Staff

          Responded February 21, 2019
          Banks Hotel
          5.6
          Abdul from United Kingdom
          Business traveler
          Triple Room
          Stayed 1 night in January 2019

          Above average”

          1 bed was broken in triple room

          Reviewed January 31, 2019

          Dear guest, We apologies for the discomfort you had while staying with us. We can promise that we will look into the problems you had and try our best to improve the facilities in order to provide a more comfortable stay for all our guest. We do hope to see you again in our Hotel. Kind Regards, Lory Reception Staff

          Responded February 21, 2019
          Banks Hotel
          3.6
          Michel from United Kingdom
          Solo traveler
          Double Room
          Stayed 1 night in January 2019

          Poor service ”

          Unwelcoming staff, rude and pretty awful at making refunds

          Reviewed January 23, 2019

          Dear guest, We apologies for the discomfort you had while staying with us. We can promise that we will look into the problems you had and try our best to improve the facilities in order to provide a more comfortable stay for all our guest. We do hope to see you again in our Hotel. Kind Regards, Lory Reception Staff

          Responded February 21, 2019
          Banks Hotel
          2.0
          Priya from Mauritius
          Family with teens
          Twin Room
          Stayed 5 nights in December 2018

          It is not even a one star hotel”

          We booked 2 rooms First night the rooms we got was stinking No heater in the rooms A lady staff was arrogant and not helpful No soap Every day same breakfast Bed sheet was not changed every day

          Reviewed January 07, 2019

          Dear guest, We apologies for the discomfort you had while staying with us. We can promise that we will look into the problems you had and try our best to improve the facilities in order to provide a more comfortable stay for all our guest. We do hope to see you again in our Hotel. Kind Regards, Lory Reception Staff

          Responded February 21, 2019
          Banks Hotel
          1234
          This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

          Back to search results

          Back to room choices

          |

          Dismiss

          Banks Hotel
          |Review score 5.7
          ×
          Check in. Step out.
          Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

          • Tower of London
          • Ilford Train Station is within 0.54 km