Book Now: Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru Resort

Excellent
From 176 reviewsSee what guests said
8.9
/
10
Recommended by 84% of guests

Reviews of Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru Resort Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (176)Booking.com Reviews (330)
8.9
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness9.2
Facilities8.6
Location9.4
Room comfort and quality9.1
Service9.2
Value for money8.2
All languages
All guests (176)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 145 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Ka from Hong Kong
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Small hotel with high C/P and beautiful coral and good enough marine life”

Compare to those big resort, this small reosrt equipped with good facilities. Almost guaranteed to watch the reef shark and Stingray. They even have the marine lab for the environment protection which could share their work with the guest in the workshop. Low density and near to the airport which make very easy to travel by their own speed boat. The time wont be wasted in the transportation in seaplane.

Reviewed April 18, 2019

Dear Ka; our valued guest, Thank you very much for this amazing review. It gives great pride reading all the positive comments on our island with good facilities, great privacy, marine conservative activities, daily stingray feeding, and strategic location with a short speedboat ride from the Velana international airport. We thank you once again for your kind feedback. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back for another inspired experience in the Maldives, Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru. Kind Regards, Ahmed Zahir Executive Assistant Manager

Responded April 20, 2019
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru Resort
10.0
Exceptional
Ramesh from India
Family with teens
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018

Been to numerous island resorts all over the world. ”

By far the best resort. The rooms are beautiful and overlook the ocean. Beaches are clean. The reef is close to the shore and great to snorkel. A guided snorkeling trip in the day or at night is definitely spectacular. The staff are very friendly and very attentive to your needs. The manager Habeeb was very helpful. Harish who was our liaison did a very good job making us feel at home. Tolol and Sam who guided the snorkeling trips were excellent. Overall would recommend this resort. The all inclusive option is the best value .

Reviewed October 22, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
sherwin from Philippines
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in August 2018

Lovely place with hospitable staff”

Beautiful place and amazing house reef. It’s our 2nd time in this resort and will definetely be back again. The staff were very helpful and nice, special metion to Shabeer from housekeeping, Sharif from the Restaurant and Iliana from the front desk.

Reviewed August 27, 2018

Dear sherwin, Heartfelt thanks for your encouraging review and continuous support. We are thrilled to know that you had a fantastic holiday with us in Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru once again and enjoyed our magnificent house reef full of marine lives, breathtaking scenery, and impeccable service from our friendly, courteous and professional staff. Thank you very much for your word of praise for Shareef from Housekeeping, Moosa from Food & Beverage and Lina from Front Office. They will be more than happy to be recognized for their outstanding work. sherwin, thank you so much for your feedback. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back for another inspired experience. Kind Regards, Ahmed Zahir Executive Assistant Manager

Show more
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru Resort
10.0
Exceptional
Aveline from Malaysia
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

Excellent stay”

We had a good stay. We were there to celebrate our anniversary so they arranged for a bottle of wine & decorated the bed with petals. We were also given a complementary 30 minutes massage which we enjoyed tremendously. I booked Banyan Tree because of the daily stingray feeding. I thought there was a turtle conservation ( that i will be able to see them as well) but there was an issue with turtle & their government policy. We were given little gifts too. It's the little things like this that makes it special. The island is great and you can hop on the boat to get to the next island Angsana Resort. I had the best time at the jetty because i can see sharks. Breakfast buffet is good. Lunch and dinner is set menu which my partner didn't enjoy as much. The lemon sorbet is amazing! Khalil (i think is his name) was very nice. He's the one that made up our room twice daily and he's very helpful and friendly. Actually everyone working there are very friendly which makes you feel right at home

Reviewed July 02, 2018

Dear Aveline, Heartfelt thanks for your amazing review. We are thrilled to know that you had a fantastic holiday with us in Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru and enjoyed our immaculate and comfortable villa with a special set up to celebrate your anniversary, complimentary spa treatment, daily stingray feeding, complimentary ferry to our sister resort; Angsana Ihuru for more offerings, sumptuous breakfast, impeccable service from our friendly, courteous and professional staff especially Khaleel. He will be more than happy to be recognized for his outstanding work. Your comment on set menu at lunch and dinner not delighted your partner’s palate has been noted and shared with our Executive Chef and culinary team for further improvement. We thank you once again for your feedback. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back for another inspired experience. Kind Regards, Ahmed Zahir - Executive Assistant Manager

Show more
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru Resort
8.8
Excellent
Zhou from China
Family with young children
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

Fantastic”

I love the tea tree soap, bath gel, shampoo very much. Room is big enough with beautiful garden. Ocean view and pavilion is fantastic. Well, as I had been to Great Barrier Reef before and thus the sea is not that charming to me.

Reviewed December 21, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Zhou from China
Family with young children
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017

Exceptional”

Fantastic island with beautiful see and view. Stuff are very nice and helpful. Anywhere is good for photo. So many sea cucumber are sleeping in the shore. Many coral reef but not that beautiful compared to GBR. However, the turn around coral reef cliff is still marvelous. Sunset is charming. Lay down on the bed and watch the blue sky and sea with cool air.

Reviewed March 18, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Rajiv from India
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017

Wonderful Place, Awesome Stay”

Great island, fantastic rooms, amazing staff and wonderful reef and marine life. Lots of nice excursions available too but the quibble there is they get cancelled/prioritized based on getting enough interested guests to join unless you are willing to foot the whole bill.

Reviewed March 04, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
MOHAMMAD from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016

Best Resort Ever”

Everything was excellent , beautiful place for relaxing , great and professional staff , the restaurant has a variety of dishes and the buffet was delicious. I enjoyed every single moment of my staying and I highly recommend this resort.

Reviewed October 01, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Ruth from Singapore
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016

The level of service was great! ”

First timers alert - there are many boat transfer counters at the Male airport that goes to nearby resorts so no need to fret even if you haven't made any transfer reservations. They have a list of who's due to check in that day. + points here already! We got a free upgrade to a bigger garden villa because we are celebrating our wedding anniversary (with compliments of Laura, a beautiful German lady). She asked for a copy of our wedding cert but we didn't bring. I did have my wedding photo on my phone which had the date stamped on it and could have shown it to her but there was no need to. Major trust there! She also made special arrangements for our transfer at check out. ❤️ Our sunrise-facing villa (no. 45) was huge, 2 outdoor showers, 2 jacuzzi, 1 pool, 1 veranda, 1 patio, and direct access to the lovely 50 shades of blue waters. Everyone was warm and lovely, and ever so accommodating with our requests. The sand at our door step was not quite as fine as the opposite site of the island but it turns to the powdery form further down. Room and turn down service was great, they even set up the ambience really nicely. We took bed+breakfast option as we booked through Agoda. It was fine with us as we had quite a no of things to do and didn't want to abide by the dining timings. 2 restaurants in the entire island, with daily menu changes. Breakfast was quite a wide spread (muffins - my favourite) while dinner, we usually order dine-in room service (seafood pizza is a must-try!). If you're a beginner at snorkeling, Banyan is an awesome place to begin with. You can already see marine life just a few meters away from shore. It's my first time too and I did the group guided tour. It was awesome (for a first time!), I saw many small sharks and finally a turtle just as we were returning. 😍 Don't forget the 5pm feeding stingray and 530pm baby turtles time slots! It was quite the experience. Thank you Banyan, for making our stay so pleasant.

Reviewed August 11, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Bruno from Australia
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016

Pure Magic”

The resort is located about a 30 mins ride by speed boat from the airport. There was a staff of the hotel at the airport to welcome us and direct us to the awaiting boat. It is extremely well organised. when we arrived at the resort, there was a resort staff waiting for us at the pier to welcome us and explain the lay out of the hotel, facilities and the room. The resort, the beach service, food is excellent. our stay was pure magic. highly recommended, extremely relaxing and more important is the privacy each room provides to the quest. will definitely go again.

Reviewed April 17, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Uzair from India
Family with young children
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015

Excellent resort for couples and family.”

Pool, Food and Staff

We had an excellent stay at the Banyan Tree. We were travelling with 2 young kids and found the resort safe for kids. The restaurant staff are very friendly and make real efforts to look after guests. Resort offers full board packages and supply plenty of water, tea coffee, juices and fruits in room, in addition to buffet lunch and set menu dinner.

Reviewed December 04, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Andy from Australia
Family with young children
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015

You'll love it!”

Staff, service and all that you could think of

Very enjoyable that we were upgraded on check in to a slightly better villa , only 2 in the group of 48 villas but most importantly were the attention and care given by the staff like Prica, Alvin, Rajivh (the chef) and Aslam (our room maker)plus every staff we greet you anytime you walk past them or if they see you from a far.

Reviewed July 02, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Bee from Malaysia
Family with teens
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013

Paradise Island”

Comfortable, Clean & Nature

The island is a true paradise on earth...beautiful, quiet, peaceful & tranquil. We were worried about the weather since August is within the rainy season...but we enjoyed sunshine for all 5 days of our stay. Blue sky & cool breeze. The room is comfy & clean with pool & jet pool attached. They even lit up essential oils everyday in the room. Highly recommend the beachfront villa. Our villa 28 is just beside a jetty. The food served is also delicious & quite a wide variety from maldivian, western to asian style cuisines. Breakfast & lunch are in buffet style. The 5 course set dinner is also very tempting. For kids, there is a kid menu to choose from(pizza, fish&chips, mini steak etc). My son(7 years old) is a very choosy eater...however, the restaurant staff made extra effort to satisfy him by cooking to his liking. We really appreciate the extra mile with many thanks. Tha marine lab is one of the best place to spend time. We attended the marine class(mon & thu) which is very informative & interesting. The sting rays & sea turtles feeding are not to be missed. The major reason for me to choose BTV over other resorts is the nature preserving concept & activities provided. Watching the sharks at the jetty at night is also very interesting. Snorkelling around the house reef is very fascinating with lots of marine creatures & corals. BTV provides snorkelling equipments & life jackets free of charge. We will definitely visit BTV again.

Reviewed August 17, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
milan from Croatia
Family with young children
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 8 nights in July 2013

hotel, restaurant, room, beach everything is great”

location of bungalow, restaurant and nature around island

It was perfect holiday. I was there with my 7 year old grandson at beach front bungalow ich is just marboleus. Butler in room is great it was very clean. Reastaurant and staff in restaurant and chief of the restaurat are the best. Recepton is maximum pleasue to talk to. Only little problem with corals on the beach but hotel is cleaning that every day. Transport speed boato is very conftable. This hotel is for recomandation to everybody.

Reviewed July 15, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Li from Canada
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013

Nice resort, great reef for snorkelers”

Great reef coral and lives for snorkeling, decent room design and decoration, friendly staff

Small island surrounding by great coral and marine life. I did a lot of snorkeling during my stay, and found that good snorkel sites are almost around the island, and the best ones are all on the edge of the reef. On the south-east corner (left to the arriving jetty), you'd get a good chance to see some blacktip reef sharks, as well as great coral and other fishes. The Stingray Feeding operated by the Marine Lab was great, a group of 9 stingrays will come for the free food everyday at 5pm and the marine lab staff will give a lot of information about stingray and marine life. The room is well designed and decorated by the Banyan Tree standard. The room is clean and well equipped. The swing pool is small but the jacuzzi is cute. The room cleaning was done very professionally and in time. This is a celebrate our 10th anniversary, the Resort was sweet enough to provide a complimentary room makeup and a cake, thank you! The down side of the resort is the restaurant. The restaurant staff was not professional trained to the 5-star resort/restaurant. The choices were not too many. There's only one restaurant on the island. The guest are mainly from China (about 70%), the resort has several Chinese speaking staff to server Chinese customers.

Reviewed June 23, 2013
8.7
Excellent
CHOU from Taiwan
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Nice Room, Nice Staff”

very considerate staffs

I stayed there for just one night. It's a small island with wonderful housereef. The staffs are considerate to answer all my requests. Most of the tourists are Chinese so many Chinese staffs. The gift shop is going to reconstruct so we got 50% off when we bought presents for our family and friends.

Reviewed July 16, 2012
6.8
Good
Hossam from United Arab Emirates
Family with young children
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Dont stay here if youre return flight is in the evening”

if youre flight is in the evening like ours DONT STAY HERE, we requested late check out for any extra charge they ask because we had a 1 year old with us they told us they are fully booked but on every site online they still had 6 rooms?? they told us they can give us a room for 100 USD which we happily accepted after they moved us to that room the shock began the room is 3 by 3 meters filled with insects and Geckos appartenly this is a day use room and apparently they upgrade some dayusers of their choise to the resort rooms which we pay over 700 USD for, we payed over 5000 USD for 3 days here and this is how they treat us on our last day ruining our whole stay by bringing us to a 3 by 3 m room because they gave our room to a day user who was suppose to stay in the day use room they told us the 6 available resort rooms are used by dayusers after 4 hours of arguing mrs noha came she was very nice to us and did everything she can and managed to give us our room back

Reviewed March 17, 2019

Dear Hossam429; our valued guest, Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru. We are pleased to read and have shared your gracious comments to Khaleel from Housekeeping and Nouhaila (Assistant Front Office Manager). It was great to read that you enjoy our beautifully designed villa with exceptional service and the best morning fishing trip with us. Please accept my unreserved apologies for the disappointment you have experienced during the last day of your trip. There are no acceptable excuses I can offer with the shortfalls in the service you experienced with regards to the handing of your request with late check-out by our Front Office associate. These concerns have been raised to our Front Office Leaders for them to look into ways of eliminating such incidents from occurring again. On behalf of the Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru family, we hope to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely Yours, Ahmed Zahir Executive Assistant Manager

Show more
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru Resort
10.0
Exceptional
Joseph from Australia
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Absolutely exceptional!”

We stayed two nights and three days and every aspect of our stay was exceptional. The staff are so lovely, the villa is amazing, the snorkelling off the reef is magnificent. If you are after a resort relatively close to the airport but far enough away to feel away from it all - this is it! We finished our trip off at the Banyan Tree and flew home completely relaxed.

Reviewed April 07, 2018

Dear Joseph, Heartfelt thanks for your invaluable review. We are beyond delighted to know that you have an incredible and relaxing holiday with us in Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed the overall aspect of your holiday especially hearty service from our friendly, courteous and professional staff, well-designed villa, snorkeling on our beautiful house reef full with flora and fauna, and strategic location with a short speedboat ride from the airport. At Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru, we always endeavor for guest satisfaction and we are glad to hear that we are successful in achieving this with you. We certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru in a near future for another inspired experience. Kind Regards, Ahmed Zahir Executive Assistant Manager

Show more
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru Resort
9.6
Exceptional
MIchel from Austria
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Tranquillity in the making”

Banyan Tree is one of my favourite chains. I love the exotic vibe, the jungle-feel and the meditation oriented rooms everywhere around the world. This time Banyan Tree in the Maldives was on a super deal and my gf and I decided to make use of this deal. The staff was so amazing and so kind; perfectly trained to please customers. Our originally reserved room was unavailable but that did not stop the staff to give us an early check-in in an UPGRADED room. This was just awesome and we appreciated it so much. The only hick-up for me was the expensive prices in the resort. I know this is a luxury place in the Maldives and so this is to be expected, but seriously $3.50 for a bottle of locally produced water in a place were its always hot is a crime. The food was also too expensive for our likings, but I can see that they are targeting far richer people than myself :). Other than that

Reviewed April 06, 2018

Dear MIchel, Heartfelt thanks for your wonderful review and continuous support to Banyan Tree Hotels & Resorts and invaluable review. We are beyond delighted to know that you have an amazing holiday with us in Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed tranquility, villa upgrade, and impeccable service from our friendly, helpful and professional staff. It is indeed motivating and encouraging. We are thankful for your kind understanding of food and beverage prices since the majority of food and beverage is exported from overseas. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru in a near future. Kind Regards, Ahmed Zahir Executive Assistant Manager

Show more
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru Resort
8.4
Excellent
Pierre
Family with young children
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 7 nights in February 2018

Hôtel for sea lovers”

There is nothing to complain about this hotel. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Food is excellent. Very quiet place - only 30 minutes from airport. Nice reef (even if damaged after El Niño storm) sharks, turtles, Rays.... even our 6 years old daughter did snorkel everything single day with us ... ending with a good jacuzzi.

Reviewed February 18, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Leila from United Arab Emirates
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017

Unforgettable Stay ”

we had a great time at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru, location is perfect not too far from male , we stayed in villa 38 (ocean view villa ) which was spacious and comfortable . the island is very beautiful and quiet . staff were very kind , special thanks to Khalil, Habeeb , Didi who were very friendly and always active and smiling .

Reviewed December 03, 2017
8.8
Excellent
SEOK from South Korea
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 6 nights in November 2017

Very Detail Review (아주 디테일한 리뷰)”

First of all, we went to Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru Resort for our honeymoon trip. We never wanted package products from many other OTAs, we had researched very long time about Maldives before we went there. So please refer the information below from the perspective which is arranging every single procedure by yourself. Choose Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru Resort (BTV) for people who want, 1. Short distance from Male Int., Airport. It is a monopoly structure for local transportation in Maldives. It is a huge burden if you have to arrange another local flight to your resort. Especially if your flight is landing in Male at night, you have to waste your precious one night of time near the airport. It differs to everyone, but we did not want to do that. 20-25mins by speedboat from Male Int., Airport. What you need to do is pay the pick-up + send-off amount when you checkout. Actual amount will be differed according to seasons. Check with person in charge, they do reply very quickly when you write an email. 2. Water villa, but also beach front villa. It is a little tricky and you may need a little of luck to get a good room. We were looking for water villa (talking about floating like villa on the see,) all the time, but we decided BTV in the end because we noticed BTV has pavilion in the front of Beach Pool Villa type of room. Though the villa is located along with the beach, three-four of those villas have pavilion on the see surface. We did not get one of those even though front desk accepted our request because even the pavilion is not ON the see, it has its feeling when it comes to rising tide. 3. To enjoy lagoon and reef environment easily. First of all, BTV is more like a typical lagoon oriented environment. It has wide range of lagoon all around the island. But some people are tired of snorkeling lagoon too long. Then you have alternative option to visit neighbor Ihuru Island where only takes 3mins by boat. From 8:30, there is a free boat goes round every t

Reviewed November 15, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
fahad from Kuwait
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017

sound of nature”

some activities are free, good food and diverse dishes silence, nice weather, wind and tree sound and many bird and pets are in the island good relaxation for nervous system we didn't saw any lizard inside our room only the bad thing, they took from us $100 for late check out and there are many small rocks in the beach made the swimming bad

Reviewed September 10, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Nicola from Czech Republic
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 7 nights in April 2016

Beautiful getaway”

Our stay in Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru was very pleasant. We ve stayed for one week and the island is simply paradise. Although it is quite small and there is only one restaurant on Vabbinfaru, you can do various activities in the hotel and the food was very good, tasty and varied a lot. You can also take advantage of visiting the neighbour island Angsana Ihuru. We very much enjoyed snorkling as the reef is simoly stunning. The spa is also grat with very proffessional staff. The "arrival jet lag massage" was the best idea ever! The staff is very kind and willing to help. We loved the daily stingray and baby turtle feeding and the Marine Biology Class is a must see.

Reviewed April 24, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Martin from United States
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015

very few glitches, fantastic stay”

our (pool) room on the beach was amazing

...wth a pool and tub to retire to after snorkeling and places to rest on the beach or reading or watching. Staff were so incredibly helpful. Just a slight bit less friendly than Angsanga. The buffets were amazing with my only comment to make it more spicy. The snorkeling is as good as Angsanga but for slightly increased turbidity due to larger beach area and a longer way to swim to get to the outer reef. I hope that 2016 does not bleach the corals which are recovering nicely from the bleaching the Maldives experienced in 1998. This is an amazing resort!

Reviewed December 27, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Liliana from Portugal
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 5 nights in August 2015

Paradise on earth!”

Room, View, Snorkeling

It was a great stay overall. The villa is awesome, with all the amenities you need, the pool and Jacuzzi very useful on rainy days. Staff are nice and polite. View from beachfront pool villa is really breathtaking. Very beautiful reef around the island, it was great to snorkel around. The only thing did not reach our expectation was the food, that's the reason it is not value for money in our opinion.

Reviewed August 24, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Chen from China
Family with teens
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014

The Heaven On Earth”

The best three things about this hotel is the breathtaking sceneries, water activities, and the caring staff.

Right when we got off the speed boat the resort sent to pick us up from the airport, one of the staff was already at the jetty waiting to pick us up. Like other Banyan Tree, they offered us with a tasty drink to cool us down from the heat. It was around noon when we reach the resort and they offered us lunch to eat before we return to our rooms. The stay was amazing, not only the beautiful Maldivan sky and ocean, but also the service Banyan Tree provides their guests. Their caring ness has made us, and I believe all guests, feel welcomed and belonged. We think that they've assigned a waitress in the restaurant to a few family, and that had made us feel extremely important to the resort. Also, the room has an ambient design which relaxes us in the morning and at night. Although the room has a pool and jacuzzi, it is not massive, but it is cozy. The best part of it is probably that you are able to feel the sand just a footstep away from your room. There's a Thai sala for us to sit in which allowed us to listen to the sound of the waves and enjoy the breathtaking scenery in front of our eyes. The marine lab and the projects they've been working on is very impressive. We were able to see the sea turtles they are taking care of, and to see the Rays coming in everyday for food. There are so many wildlife around the island I guess it is because of how welcoming Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru has made us all feel.

Reviewed December 25, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Arshia from Pakistan
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014

Fantastic experience”

Location and hospitality and food

We are impressed by the hospitality of all staff of banyan tree. The food was delicious and perfect ambience served with personal touch of hospitality. Perfect getaway with ultimate relaxation and privacy. Ocean front pool villa was amazing with excellent commodities and room service.

Reviewed November 29, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
SUNGSU from South Korea
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014

Nice lagoon, Best spa, Good room condition.”

Nice lagoon, Best spa, Good room condition.

Best for honeymoon stay!, Nice blue and greenish lagoon is surrounding of island. Banyantree spa has best massage therapist, and they know exactly what they do. Beachfront villa has good room condition with beautiful roof made by straw. jacuzzi is working good for rest after snorkeling.

Reviewed July 04, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Wei from China
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014

Awesome,fantastic and great service ”

Awesome,fantastic and great service

We just stayed for 1 night as we had a friends party at a bar near by. Check in was painless. Room was ok, dated, but clean. Bed was quite hard. Towels were pretty ragged. Breakfast was pretty unimpressive. Check out was at noon, however we had a cleaner enter the room at 11:00, just a quick knock and then he entered the room, I have never had that happen in my 1000's of hotel stays around the world. Why come in early on a check out day? Then we received a phone call a few minutes later to tell us that check out was at noon. Quite annoying when trying to get a little extra sleep in.

Reviewed June 09, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
David from Austria
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in March 2014

FABULOUS”

GREAT STAFF. GREAT FOOD. GREAT SNORKELING

Very enjoyable. A stark contrast from Angsana which had very very very poor administration and needs a broom thru the whole lot of them. Restaurant staff at Angsana were some of the best we have come across anywhere in the world )Asim in particular needs special mention for his excellent service)

Reviewed March 26, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Yuen from Hong Kong
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013

Amazing Days in this Resort”

The room is so clean and tidy. All the staff are so nice and friendly, especially those in Marine Center. They are so helpful and make our stay full of fun.

Our flight was delayed for 6 hours and so we only arrived Male Airport at 2am. But the staff was waiting us at the airport and made our transfer to the Resort at once. The whole check-in process are so efficient.

Reviewed September 01, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
YUN from Singapore
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012

10/10”

Large rooms, beach, fishing

Wife and I came here for 2nd trip to maldives.. Positives Really good view of the ocean from the room. Room was well designed, let in lots of natural light. Looked better than in the photos! Fairly decent personal pool Very good snorkelling. Yes, would agree Angsana next door has easier access to snorkelling. Saw sharks while snorkelling at angsana. Turtle part is so -so. Really good to see the stingrays upclose Really good to see the nurse sharks at night at the pier. (yes!) Really interesting to be able to hop next door to angsana, though not much except snorkelling to do there. Really good fishing trip, hauling up much easier than my other maldive trip. They will cook it for lunch the next day if u wish Blueberry Icecream was superb.

Reviewed July 31, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Sarah from United States
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 5 nights in May 2013

True Paradise”

located on the coral reef,quiet and secluded,friendly staff

Wonderful vacation, I wish we could have stayed longer.Amazing snorkel (including night snorkeling)good spa treatment. Very friendly staff,great value for a full board meal plan in a luxury resort. The gym needs an upgrade, old dumbells.

Reviewed May 31, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Avery from United States
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 7 nights in May 2013

Quiet and relaxing”

Staff, Food, activities.

Like many of the reviewers I found the Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru a wonderful experience. The staff were incredibly helpful in arranging everything you every wanted for your stay. Despite a few days of heavy rain they still managed to help us arrange a villa BBQ, an intimate moments decoration of the room and a destination dining at the SPA (Sandbank Dining was out of the question due to weather). The staff went well above the call of duty in ensuring that we were happy and comfortable. The Spa was amazing; as are all Banyan tree Spa's; however treatments can be a bit on the expensive side. There seems to be some erosion problems occurring on the north side of the island. It also appears that much of corral in this part of the reef is dead so there isn't much to look at unless you go very far out into the water. Another downside is that due to the erosion guests who are wondering the island tend to come rather close at times to your villa which can disturbe your bit of paradise. The staf was hard at work trying to reclaim the beach from the Ocean but it would appear mother nature is winning.

Reviewed May 28, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Jasmine from Hong Kong
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

A nice resort”

Beautiful beach, nice villa

We went to Maldives for our honeymoon and we stayed in two resorts. Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru was the first one. Though we booked the two resorts and the Male hotel by different means, the communication between them is really good. We needed not to worry about anything, but just enjoyed our trip!! We stayed in the beachfront pool villa, with our own pavilion facing the sea, which is breathtaking!! The villa looks exactly like the photos we saw on web. The service is good, the food is good, and there are different activities here, of course including the interesting stingray feeding show!! Overall it was a wonderful experience at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru!!

Reviewed February 02, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Colin from United Kingdom
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 6 nights in January 2013

Great beach, good service and fabulous spa”

large lagoon with coral, immaculate beach and beautiful private villas

We had a Beach Villa close to the resort centre. Each Villa has its own private garden with a pool and hot tub. The outside bathroom takes a little getting used to but adds to the experience. Lunch is a different style buffet everyday and dinner served in the resturant with a choice of courses. The spa is fantastic and the choice of treatments wide and varied but all very relaxing. The bar is casual with its sand floor and great for drinks anytime of the day. Staff are all friendly and the manager goes out his way to make you feel welcomed personally. If your looking for a holiday with lots of activities then this isnt for you.

Reviewed January 22, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
YUE from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in October 2012

Nice resort for honeymoon”

snorkeling and seafood

The hotel is very nice for honeymoon. The sea is blue and there is a lot of coral under the water. And we can see a lot of fish when we go to snorkeling. My wife and I were very enjoy in this honeymoon. It is near the airport which only need around 20mins from the airport to the resort. we highly recommend this resort to the people who are going for honeymoon.

Reviewed October 09, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Nicholas from United Kingdom
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 8 nights in May 2010

Lovely Hotel”

Relaxed atmospehere, proper desert island, good food, friendly staff, amazing coral reef
remember the mosi spray!

This is a great hotel - we stayed for a week which was about right - the food was lovely (everyone is on a full board) and they don't let standards slip even though its paid for in advance and there is only one restaurant. The reef is great - sharks, turtles and hundreds of different fish within a five minute snorkel away. We had a deluxe beachfront villa (no 42) which had to be one of the best villas - some of them didnt look as nice in terms of their beaches - some erosion - so make sure you request one!

Reviewed June 08, 2010
10.0
Exceptional
buchun from China
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in November 2017

All are so Kind .”

No any defaults

Reviewed November 16, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
gautam from India
Family with young children
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017

Memorable”

Fantastic property n hispitality

Reviewed March 06, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Bader from Kuwait
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016

Loved it ”

Nice place for relaxing and privet time.

Reviewed May 24, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
sherwin from Philippines
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015

Great place”

The reef awsome we saw lots of shark n sea turtle. Manta feeding must see. the food was great.
Reviewed January 01, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Kok from Malaysia
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 6 nights in July 2014

Good Beach, Marine Life, Crystal Clear Water”

Very Private, Secluded, Good Staff

Overall staff is good. We stay there for 1 week, therefore after a few days we started to get bore. Not too much of activities to go for. Weather is average during the stay.

Reviewed September 11, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Chiao from Malaysia
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in May 2014

More than a paradise”

Environment, room and staffs

Everything was perfect, room, jet pool, private pool, sundeck, white sandy beach, crystal clear water, sunset view, variety of food, friendly staffs, and surprise anniversary celebration for us!

Reviewed June 08, 2014
8.7
Excellent
SUNGHI from South Korea
Family with young children
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013

great time to be in Maldives”

kind staff, beautiful beach, gorgeous ocean

every thing was fine except the bed was too soft. the food was find and mostly frendly staff make us happy.

Reviewed November 20, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Stephanie from Malaysia
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013

excellent in everything and super friendly staff”

clean friendly and modern
Reviewed June 13, 2013
8.4
Excellent
Jin from Malaysia
Family with teens
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Excellent”

Only 25 minutes boat ride from the airport. Friendly staff, good quality food. Overall a great experience.

Reviewed June 19, 2018

Dear Jin, Heartfelt thanks for your invaluable review. We are beyond delighted to know that you had an amazing holiday with us in Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru and enjoyed the strategic location by a short speedboat ride from the Velana airport, delectable cuisine and impeccable service from our friendly, attentive, and professional staff. At Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru, we always endeavor for guest satisfaction and we are glad to hear that we are successful in achieving this with you. Jin, we thank you once again for your encouraging feedback. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you and your family back for another inspired experience. Kind Regards, Ahmed Zahir Executive Assistant Manager

Show more
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru Resort
6.8
Good
SAAD from Kuwait
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 5 nights in September 2016

No more activities ”

No activity Internet is very slow No swimming pool No more restaurant only 1 لايوجد نشاطات لايوجد سوى مطعم فقط الغرفه جميله بها حمام سباحه صغير وجاكوزي فندق حرام خمس نجوم ٣ نجوم او اقل طبعا هو نفسه تابعه لفندق انقسانا وقريب منه الحجز مع فطور فقط وتم دفع الف دولار للاكل الباقي والمشروبات

Reviewed September 07, 2016
6.7
Good
Einas from Kuwait
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 5 nights in February 2016

Great location ”

Location. Wildlife and staff performance

Overall we enjoyed our stay. But I don't think we will be back. The food was not up to our liking as I felt it was too repetitive and not much variety. The activities was limited and not well advertised.

Reviewed March 04, 2016
4.3
NOBUO from Japan
Family with teens
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 8 nights in February 2015

For long relaxing holidays”

It's unique location, privacy , less people

Everything was great except too many Chinese tourists ruin the entire atmosphere. They wear room bathrobe to the restaurant , their small kids shout everywhere. Manner issues need to be taken care of.

Reviewed February 27, 2015
7.7
Very good
Yin from Hong Kong
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014

everything is great, recommend to stay”

nice coral, service, room decor and facitliy, location

Overall service, facilities and environment are perfect. Hotel environment is calm and clean. Beach is beautiful, with nice coral. Appreciates Banyan Tree vabbinfaru conservation program. Stingray and baby turtle feeding program are great. Biology Class can pass a good message for tourists how to protect the environment. More meal options would be suggested.

Reviewed June 19, 2014
7.7
Very good
FENG from China
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013

Luxury beach resort with great fantastic reef”

Good privacy, great beach, top notch diving/snorkeling

Great resort with a lot of privacy. Only 20 minutes away from airport via boat. But boat transfer cost around $150 pp including tax. Both west side and east side have great beach. West side is exposed to more sunshine and attracts more people at sunset. Great and long house reef. Good for both diving and snorkeling. Food is between average and good. Full board doesn't include drinks (even water) for lunch and dinner. Staff are mostly friendly but also salemen. Overall good resort. Will likely go again with kids.

Reviewed August 05, 2013
5.3
Ann from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011

The Malidves are beautiful, ”

Location

Our stay at the Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru Resort was our first stay at a Banyan Tree Resort and it will be our last. We had three rooms and one of the rooms had a lice infestation in the closet - the provided bathrobes were crawling. We have never had such an experience, even at bare minimum hotels in third world countries. When we told management there was a curt thank you for telling them.

Reviewed January 03, 2012
7.0
Very good
Jovert from Australia
Family with young children
Stayed 5 nights in May 2010

Ultimate place to unwind and rejuvenate”

Excellent service Attentive, Friendly and Accommodating staff Amazing beachfront villa location Private and exclusive island with very rich marine life (fish and coral reefs) Sunset
Buffet cleared without warning call Food needed variety

Banyan Tree's 5 star service and accommodation does not disappoint with the maldives amazing location. The place is truly the most ideal place to unwind, rejuvenate and escape from the pace of city life, even for a while. We stayed for 5 days with our 6 month old son and we had an absolutely amazing time. Staff service was excellent. Beachfront villa was perfect to take our little boy swimming on his floaty on a warm refreshing waters of this maldive island. The food however needs some variety as it was becoming dull if you stay for 5 or more days. Also great to provide a last call to the buffet as there were occasions we were helping for a second serve and everything was pretty much cleared.

Reviewed June 11, 2010
7.2
Very good
Fares from United Arab Emirates
Family with young children
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017

Very good”

The bed is not cofortable and the AC is not cold also bathroom is not more private

Reviewed December 21, 2017
6.0
Dominic from Hong Kong
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016

Lovely Hotel”

Many sharks and turtles! Good location...

Reviewed November 06, 2016
6.3
Good
nejood from Qatar
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012

nice but not perfect”

quite, nice beach

the service was good. room is small. food not very nice. only one restaurant. not a lot of activities available.

Reviewed October 24, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
LEUNG from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018

Family gathering n birthday celebration ”

Extremely caring and understanding. Surprise birthday gift is extremely good and warm. All staff are knowledgeable and presentable.l with good temperament and attention.

Reviewed March 26, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Ahmed from United Arab Emirates
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018

Amazing”

Relaxing

Reviewed February 24, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Shirley from United Kingdom
Couple
Banyan Tree Spa Sanctuary Suite
Stayed 7 nights in February 2018

Close to paradise.”

Everything about this place made us feel special. Perfect for a romantic getaway for two.

Reviewed February 13, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Yan from China
Family with young children
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in November 2017

Excellent resort to enjoy your vacation.”

Amazing views, nice staff, food quality is ok but can be better.

Reviewed November 20, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Sungbeom from South Korea
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

Amazing”

You are SO kind. Thanks.

Reviewed November 13, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Tracey from United Kingdom
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017

Paradise ”

Beautiful small island, nothing negative to say about this place. The villas are superb, they have thought of every, lots of attention to detail. Loved it.

Reviewed October 19, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Ola from United Arab Emirates
Family with young children
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017

Amazing food eventhough only one restaurant is offering the food ”

It would be great to have a small play area for kids

Reviewed September 08, 2017
8.4
Excellent
THALLAB from Kuwait
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 5 nights in August 2016

Nice”

Nice place very Clean and Amazing ..

Reviewed November 24, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
NAM from South Korea
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016

Summer vacation”

Summer vacation

Reviewed August 06, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
zaid from Kuwait
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016

amazing”

very romantic place

Reviewed July 31, 2016
8.7
Excellent
NG from Malaysia
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015

Nice resort”

Suitable for honeymoon..a lot of privacy..feel so relax n peaceful while staying there
Reviewed October 31, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Nadeya from United Kingdom
Couple
Ocean View Pool Villa
Stayed 7 nights in August 2015

The Banyan Tree, Maldives (experience)”

The reef, the spa, the accommodation.

Overall the experience was wonderful, but we experienced some noise from neighbouring rooms.

Reviewed August 23, 2015