Book Now: Barjeel Heritage Guesthouse

Excellent
From 101 reviewsSee what guests said
8.4
/
10
Recommended by 100% of guests

Reviews of Barjeel Heritage Guesthouse Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (101)Booking.com Reviews (132)
8.4
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.4
Facilities7.6
Location9.3
Room comfort and quality8.4
Service8.5
Value for money8.6
All languages
All guests (101)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 85 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
JEFFREY from Brunei Darussalam
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Bespoke customer service at a beautiful heritage home”

I'm so glad I booked my last stay in Dubai at this lovely heritage home on 26 April 2019. It is within walking distance to the Al Ghubaiba Bus Station to Abu Dhabi and Carrefour Hypermart! The rooms are spacious with cold-AC and are immaculately decorated and clean. All morning and night shift staff are prompt, professional and courteous. I want to give a special thanks to Nathan (night shift staff) for helping me with my luggage down to the nearest Metro station--this is what I call bespoke customer service! I will return to this lovely guesthouse in my next trip Dubai. Thank you for making my stay memorable =)

Reviewed May 06, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Andre from Thailand
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Traditional ”

Traditional Arabic guesthouse at the Creek in the historical Shindaga district. Very convenient for public transport. Rooms are spacious with high ceilings, staff is very helpful. Good restaurant on ground floor. Area is very quiet at night.

Reviewed September 17, 2018
8.3
Excellent
jenniffer from Philippines
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015

lovely cultural guesthouse in dubai”

very good location, cultural vibe, nice staff

at first we have difficulty finding the hotel because we arrived nighttime & the signage wasnt that clear. at daytime we realized that it was centrally located, at the front you can enjoy views of the dubai creek, heritage village was just at the neighborhood, the metro station was just 2minutes walk, the bus station just a mere 5 minutes walk, & the shindagha city center is just opposite the road. The room is spacious, arabic/indian-inspired bed & decors. my partner who lives in UK told me that he really felt the old, arabic vibe in this hotel & not the usual metropolis dubai. staff were nice, they helped me with my luggages & explained everything to me. Breakfast was made to order, so you have to place your order the night before so they can prepare it in the morning. There was this one time we forgot to place our breakfast order but the kitchen staff still accomodated our requests in the morning. it is very affordable considering the location & the cultural vibe & neighborhood you are getting. Highly recommend this guest house.

Reviewed October 27, 2015
9.6
Exceptional
Elena from Russia
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

Amazing place!”

Amazing heritage guest house. Perfectly located, 150 m. from metro, easy to reach from airport with luggage. Also easy to reach all the city attractions by metro as well, including Dubai Mall and JBR beach. Area is quiet, it was awesome to walk around in the morning. The guest house is located right at the bank of the Creek (although no rooms with river view I think). Near there is a boat station where you can go to the other side for just 1 Dirham. What I really liked, was the interior: traditional room style, beautiful restaurant with nice jars and carpets. In the room there was supply of bottled water as well as tea/coffee making facilities (mini-bar is charged). Just awesome breakfasts! Every day you fill the form where you select what you wish and it is cooked for you in the morning. Very tasty and lovingly-made. My special thanks to the lady at the front desk for amazing customer service and help with everything I needed. Recommend the guest house.

Reviewed November 17, 2018
5.2
Afreen from Saudi Arabia
Family with young children
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Above average”

we had booked 2 rooms for 4 adults and 4 children ..but they made us pay for and extra room

Reviewed January 05, 2019
7.6
Very good
jennifer from Philippines
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2016

Old World Charm”

In the midst of all the modern high rises is a guesthouse full of old world charm. Boasting of a courtyard, a restaurant and a nice rooftop deck with a beautiful view of the creek. The staff was efficient, friendly and very willing to help. Breakfast was nothing spectacular but satisfying. We were served eggs, baked beans, beef bacon cooked quite nicely and chicken sausages with jam and toast. A car can’t get you to its doorstep because it is located inside a heritage village. It is, however, by the creek and is very near the boatyard and a stone’s throw away from the Al Ghubaiba Metro Station and Carrefour. Medium size rooms but very dark. We tried to open the shades but the window opens to a walkway and anyone passing through can see through the window. The bed (looks like an antique), although comfortable, seemed quite fragile. It creaks at every move. Overall, it is a lovely guesthouse in an excellent location.

Reviewed May 12, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Hilary from Australia
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Authentic stay in old town”

I turned up at Barjeel but was directed to their sister location in river position not far away. Staff were very helpful. Location is excellent Note: this is not resort acco.modation, but an authentic experience!

Reviewed May 04, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Craig from Australia
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2017

Traditional Dubai - away from the skyscrapers”

The hotel is in a great location - approximately 150 meters to the nearest train station (Metro Green Line - Station 24), and immediately outside the front door is Dubai Creek promenade. A short walk away is the Bur Dubai Abra Dock where you can take a traditional dowh (wooden boat) across the river (cost Dh1 per person) to explore the Spice, Gold & Perfume Souks of Deira. There is also an enormous Carrefour Supermarket nearby - extremely handy for stocking up on essential supplies, as well as bottled water and snacks. The rooms are very nicely decorated, but the lighting is very very dull, so don't expect to see clearly (good luck ladies with applying your make-up). Breakfast is adequate. We dined once during the evening and while the taste of the food was lovely, the meals we received were different to what was described on the menu. Also the quantity of food was lacking. One very frustrating aspect we found during our stay was that Reception was hardly ever manned. The hotel asks that you drop your key at Reception when leaving for the day, however each morning we had to search to find a member of staff to leave it with, and then when returning in the afternoon/early evening, we usually had to search again for a member of staff in order to get our key and gain access to our room. Not a huge issue for us, but some people may find this annoying. Overall, we enjoyed our stay - but we don't like the massive manufactured hotels - instead much preferring boutique properties.

Reviewed April 02, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Barbara from United States
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017

Great guesthouse in heritage area of Dubai”

The Barjeel is an 8 dirham ride on the metro from the airport. When you emerge from the metro station (could be exit 4, I can't remember, look for the water icon as the guesthouse is on the creek), the Barjeel will be right in front of you. It has nine rooms and is a repurposed Arabic house with a lovely courtyard in the middle. The walls are thick, the doors are heavy, the lock and key system not to be missed. Breakfast is included. WiFi available. Staff is kind and helpful, but not always in the reception area, so if you phone be prepared to let the phone ring a while. Room has AC. Lighting is dim, so if you want to read in bed, bring a headlamp. Guesthouse is on the creek, so there's lots to watch. I loved staying here on a pleasure plus business trip.

Reviewed April 01, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Denise from United Kingdom
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Second visit”

Came back after a great stay last year, room just as before but a little tired but unfortunately there was a lot of redevelopment of the area including a building site next door about 6 feet away which caused a lot of dust and dirt around the guest house which they did try to clean but its just like dusting your house while a builder is knocking down a wall. The whole Heritage centre area was closed off and no river side walk. Will return when work is finished as I love the location.

Reviewed February 09, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Ong from Singapore
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2017

The feel of history...”

Unique room.. lock to excess into the room, not the scanning key card type.. The environmental surrounding are cosy with a nice view of the river & with a few cutie cats around to accompany you. Breakfast are simple but with the touch of homely feeling..

Reviewed January 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Laurita from United States
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016

Enjoyed the heritage feel of Barjeel”

Barjeel is away from all the glitz of the Marina District in a heritage area. Museums & markets close by. We loved the location. Took Metro from airport. Beaches & shopping malls are just a Metro ride away if you are interested in that.

Reviewed November 10, 2016
8.8
Excellent
M from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016

heritage lovers you will love it”

very convenient location, excellent rooms and surroundings and good breakfasts. We have 101 and 102 and we had a private terrace outside even. Very very nice experience. Beddings towels are very clean. Some walls are a little bit old but does not matter, generally is nice. Taxi to hotel at mid-night is 60 diram. Dont know why, may be from airport meter starts at 30 diram?? Otherwise it is cheap taxi fare. But best is to print the map in advance for the taxi driver so that they drop you at the right place. The place where taxi drop me off in the first place was wrong and the taxi driver went further until he hit a grass lawn, I barely could see the neon light words "Banjeel guest house" but luckily I was not wrong. It is just one two min walk, past a metro exit and I was there. So map on their web site is important. Print out in advance. Staff is minimal but helpful. English is no problem in this hotel. You can also use the facitlties at their sisters hotels where there are spa, nice restaurents etc. Generally I highly recommended. Right outside the guesthouse, there is 1 dirum fare for boat which takes you to other side of the river where there are lots to see. Nice experience. Also someone told me right next to the guesthouse is the bus station where takes you to the capital city and a lot more places. I did not go, not enough time, but other people at the guest house went. All said excellence experience with the hote.. Good deal, best deal!!!

Reviewed September 02, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Tegan from Australia
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016

Absolutely amazing”

A 2 minute walk from the bus and train station, it took us no time to explore Dubai. The facilities were amazing, clean, beautiful. The staff were beyond helpful, I would definitely recommend this place to anyone, and will be staying here again!

Reviewed August 07, 2016
7.2
Very good
NADIAH from Singapore
Family with young children
Barjeel Suite
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016

Service could be improved”

The location was good, way different from being in the main city of Dubai. This was the 'cheaper' version of Dubai. Hotel was a museum that made the stay more interesting with antiques as decorations. But the service of the hotel staff could have been better. Other than that, location was the best!

Reviewed June 07, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Sylvia from Netherlands
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 5 nights in April 2016

lovely cultural guesthouse in dubai ”

It was a great experience, we enjoy it very much. We will recommend this hotel who really want to experience the old Dubai and her heritage. This Guest house is very close to central bus station and Metro, it is very good place to start with to explore Dubai.

Reviewed April 07, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Ravi from India
Family with teens
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 8 nights in January 2016

Best Location and Connectivity”

Barjeel Guest House is good because: 1. it is at the creek - one of the most beautiful locations in Dubai 2. it is at the heart of old Dubai - right next to Meena Bazaar and walking distance from Abra that takes you to Dera Dubai and to Gold Souq, Spice Souq, etc. 3. it is next to metro station 4. it is next to taxi station 5. it is next to bus station - this bus also goes to Abu Dhabi 6. it is next to water taxi station 7. it is next to heritage village 8. it is next to a supermarket Need I give more reasons for recommending this place :) Barjeel is not great in following areas: 1. rooms are little less lit 2. some rooms are small 3. cleanliness in rooms in things such as curtains, etc. can be better 4. towels were clean but torn at times

Reviewed March 19, 2016
8.0
Excellent
monica from Philippines
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015

Best inexpensive place to stay in Dubai”

Location,charming place and value for money

It was really a nice and charming place to stay in Dubai a stark contrast from the skyscraper hotels in downtown. You really get to have a sense of place and culture in Barjeel guesthouse. It is located along the row of traditional houses of the early settlers along the Dubai creek. Also a really a big plus is its proximity to the metro station and bus station,even if you are just sleep walking from your hotel room you'll get to the nearest station. ;p There are souks nearby which is nice to check out,plenty of interesting and traditional finds. Plenty of good eating places that are inexpensive but good. Their rooms are just soo charming and cozy its very spacious. The traditional furniture pieces really add to the experience. Its far enough from the street so you wont hear any vehicular noise but very near the creek which is nice to stroll along specially during night time. The breakfast was ok,just enough to have something in your tummy but please dont expect much. We stayed for 7 nights and 8 days and we truly enjoyed our stay in Barjeel. Even my friend who lives in Dubai was surprised with that charming place she never expected something like it along with its inexpensive rate she even wanted to stay there for a night. Though i have read some reviews that it was a bit tricky to find. We were lucky our cab driver knew where it was. I would definitely stay there again if we visit dubai again and would definitely recommend it. The friendly and accomodating staff Erol and Wyclef were a plus in making our stay hassle free.

Reviewed December 30, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Jane from United States
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015

Perfect location”

Wonderful historic location. Convenient for transportation boat, metro, bus. All historic stuff within walking distance or 1 metro stop

Good. To an extent you get what you pay for but this is value for money. Staff were great & location wonderful. One thing you should know you can't be delivered to the entrance by taxi: short walk from taxi drop off, metro, bus or boat ferry

Reviewed December 12, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Michael from United States
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015

Barjeel Holiday”

Location, location, location! Right on the Dubai Creek and very close to metro station. Ideal spot for access to the old part of town.

Erol , the desk clerk, breakfast waiter room attendant was great. Our room was decent size, bed hard but acceptable and everything clean and tidy. The air conditioner was super loud (like a 787 in the room) which disturbed our sleep. Also, the window over the door has no curtain and very bright outside lights were on all night making room very bright. Hot water was luke warm at best and I finally complained. It was adjusted and improved the last 2 days (we stayed 4 nights). Ate breakfast there one morning but it was pretty poor so we ate elsewhere other days. Did not try restaurant for other meals. All in all we were happy with our stay and would stay again.

Reviewed November 28, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Nashville from Philippines
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015

Good Location”

Location, Staff, Inexpensive

Located 50 meters from Exit 4 of Al Ghubaiba Metro Station. Avoid Dubai traffic and use the Metro to all the major landmarks. The staff were very nice and cheerful. Basic amenities but adequate. Fast WiFi and heritage architecture.

Reviewed May 25, 2015
6.0
H from United States
Family with young children
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2015

good location”

location and good alternative to normal hotels

Good location for getting into Bur. Nice layout and view of the creek. Easy to walk from the hotel to the creek without having to deal with any street traffic. Price seems a bit high. Restaurant ok.

Reviewed April 17, 2015
8.0
Excellent
michael from Belgium
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015

for lovers of a unique experience”

charm, location, authenticity

It's difficult to find fault on this hotel. In an authentic style, located in a traffic-free zone with splendid river-view and next to the metro, it even has camels at the frontdoor to augment its historical charm. The rooms are arranged around an inner courtyard and are roomy and decorated in original oriental style. Meals can be enjoyed at streetlevel or on the roof, both with panoramic view over the scenic river. To recommend for those who prefer personality over anonymous luxury. A bit pricy though, but that's Dubai!

Reviewed February 06, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Chiu from Hong Kong
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014

Experience the Old Dubai”

Very convenient 30s walk to Metro station , Old Dubai style building and beautiful nearby creek

It was a great experience, we enjoy it very much. We will recommend this hotel who really want to experience the old Dubai and her heritage. This Guest house is very close to central bus station and Metro, it is very good place to start with to explore Dubai.

Reviewed November 15, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
herbert from Netherlands
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014

i would come again”

fantastic location in Bur Dubai with a magnificent view and a wonderful relaxed original atmosphere

We had very pleasant stay. The guesthouse is extremely well situated and close to many things including metro. A beautiful view of the river and a very different more original warm type of hotel than most Dubai hotels.

Reviewed November 01, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Niels from Netherlands
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014

Great stay in lively neighbourhood with excellent ”

Staff and location

We had a perfect stay. The staff is extremely ok! The complex is very cosy and the room spacious. The location is in the old dubai. Perfect and very cheap food and souvenirs. We would definately stay here again. The easiest way to find it is by Subway. Get of at al gubaiba and take exit 4. Walk straight and you can't Miss it. Be aware that on friday there is no metro!

Reviewed September 14, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Marcus from Canada
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014

Fantastic staff and perfect location”

Great staff, location, value

Great value for money. Centrally located near the Algubaiba metro so easy access to anywhere. The night manager helped me carry my huge bag from the sidewalk near the metro where the taxi dropped me off and then helped me carry it again back to the sidewalk to find a taxi to the airport. Quick wifi speed, walking distance to restaurants in the area. You can't go wrong with this hotel.

Reviewed July 16, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Wakana from Japan
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014

great location and a charming design”

location, design and attentive staffs

The hotel was located just nearby the metro station from where I can access to the airport easily. Good location to roam around the old souk, spice souk and gold souk. Fish market was also accessible by a small trip of the metro. Room was decorated charmingly and receptionists were all supportive.

Reviewed June 15, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Brigitte from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014

Best location. Heritage Hotel.”

The location along the river, walking through the souks, nice (heritage design) of hotel, good modern rooms in authentic style

Fantastic, great value for money. The location (along the river, walking through the souks and along the boulevard), nice (heritage design) of hotel, good modern rooms in authentic style makes this hotel unique in Dubai.

Reviewed January 20, 2014
8.0
Excellent
ANDREA from Reunion Island
Family with teens
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Very good”

Globally a charming place with a kind staff but the walls need some refreshment and the hot water in the shower needs some explication.

Reviewed December 26, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
EM from South Africa
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 8 nights in July 2018

PEACEFULL GEM OF A GUESTHOUSE”

ALL WAS GOOD THROUGH OUT OUR STAY . WILL RETURN IF WE HAVE ANOTHER OPPORTUNITY

Reviewed November 29, 2018
8.0
Excellent
mir from United Arab Emirates
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Excellent guest house ”

Feels back in times ... Touch of history

Reviewed May 12, 2018
7.6
Very good
Robert from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016

Short stay”

Atmospheric guesthouse on the Creek with Metro station and taxi rank 200m away but no closer access for cars which may be important if lots of luggage and very hot. The abra station to the gold and spice souks is equidistant. Staff very pleasant. Can't comment on breakfast as not included and restaurant not open. Everything worked in the room (Mumtaz) and although not immaculately decorated perfectly fine. Slightly curious that the room was not cleaned or made up in my three night stay.

Reviewed September 22, 2016
6.8
Good
YU-WEN from Taiwan
Group
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

It's really bad experience in car rental !!!”

Barjeel Heritage Guesthouse car rental service is very very very terrible. We had already confirmed with Barjeel Heritage Guesthouse front desk the price, pick-up time and pick-up place three times the day before we picked up. However, pick-up time delayed 2 hours, place changed, the most terrible thing was raising price on the spot!!! We'd argued with Barjeel Heritage Guesthouse, but they did not give us any help. It's very pity that this hotel has wonder historical atmosphere but disappointing service.

Reviewed July 05, 2016
6.7
Good
Sabeel from India
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2015

So - So”

Location, Heritage architecture

Room - Not cleaned well. Super Dusty. They need to at least dust it / Mop it well before the guest arrives. Bed was super creaky. Heritage architecture is good. Spacious. Give you a good ancient feel. Breakfast - The egg omelette was good. Other than that everything else was sub-standard. Only a handful of people for breakfast but the croissant and some basic pastries got over quickly and they dint bother replacing it until told. And when they did, they placed some super old stuff which was not edible. Staffs - All friendly and efficient. Check in and check out was fast. Location - 1min walk from the Ghubaiba Metro station. So that is plus ! Parking - I had my own vehicle and since the Barjeel is located next to the creek without parking facility, which is a negative. Nevertheless there is Paid parking in the vicinity. You just need to pay 10dhs for 24 hour parking and walk say 3mins to the hotel. Over all - Good for travelers/tourist who wants to get a feel of the Arab architecture specially with the metro right there! Since the heritage village is close by that also helps the feel. Pay maybe 70-100dhs extra you can stay in star hotel with probably the same or better comfort level but i guess it wouldn't be this dusty and definitely the breakfast would be of better quality.

Reviewed May 07, 2015
7.0
Very good
Quynh from United States
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

Hotel was unique. Great location!”

1. Location, location, location!

The best thing about the Guest House was that it was right next to the metrol line (Al Ghubaba - green line, station #24, exit #4 West). It was within a 2 minute walk to the water taxi which takes you into the Gold Souk. Time to the airport was only 30 minutes by metro with one transfer.

Reviewed April 08, 2014
4.0
abdulla from United Arab Emirates
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2016

NO PARKING ”

The hotel does not have parking facility as stated on the reservation the location is great staff are good

Reviewed August 06, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Jacqueline from United States
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016

Great location in Bur Dubai near creek , souks, abra station and metro. Could upgrade the breakfast.”

Staff was helpful and accommodating.

Reviewed January 03, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Bo from China
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016

Location is great!”

only 2 minutes walking distance from metro station.

Reviewed November 16, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Agnieszka from United Kingdom
Group
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 10 nights in September 2016

:)”

:)

Reviewed October 06, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Mohammed from Oman
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2016

Really nice place to stay at”

Fantastic place to stay at.It is a heritage guesthouse and is different from new hotels. Car park is far from the guesthouse( about 300 meters)

Reviewed August 06, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Edgar from Spain
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016

Fantastic place!!!”

Barjeel is close to the metro Station and the Creek. Very nice building and staff. An authentic Arabian House with all the facilities and a fantastic breakfast.

Reviewed August 03, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
syed from Brazil
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016

Nice heritage hotel”

Great for couples n friendly facilities eg metro

Reviewed August 03, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Bernard from United States
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016

Perfect location - fantastic breakfast”

Need we say more? 1 minute from the Metro in the heart of the old city. Nice rooms and a fantastic breakfast.

Reviewed May 29, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Sammy from United Arab Emirates
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016

Traditional Dubai”

Great location right next to the station with friendly staff who looked after me very well.

Reviewed May 16, 2016
8.0
Excellent
samir from India
Business traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016

Resort in the heart of dubai ”

Very quaint and quiet place. Excellent location

Reviewed February 26, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Jim from Australia
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015

An excellent place to stay in Dubai”

A very convenient location that is next to the metro and bus but well located for the old town. The room was very comfortable. I would be happy to stay there again.

Reviewed February 16, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Gary from Canada
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015

Wonderful stay on Dubai Creek”

Location, helpful staff, ambience of the building / neighbourhood

Excellent!

Reviewed October 19, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Alex from Portugal
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

Good”

Location, price, staff

Good hotel for short stay, it's ok

Reviewed August 01, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Sandra from United States
Couple
Barjeel Suite
Stayed 6 nights in May 2015

Dubai visit”

The staff is great. Nice rooms, Great food
Reviewed June 14, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Paul from United Kingdom
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

great location..diferent ”

great character, small ,personal and great location

Try something diferent...great service, superb location.

Reviewed April 06, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Jeffrey from Canada
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 5 nights in November 2013

excellent small hotel near the water”

great staff, near the subway, local atmosphere

quiet rooms with good beds and pillows, very clean and tidy with a local flavour. Great restaurant for dinner, we ate there twice!

Reviewed November 27, 2013
9.6
Exceptional
Wilma from United Arab Emirates
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

wonderful place to stay”

it's culture inspired rooms (building as a whole) brings a nostalgic feelings, I live it. It's quiet, the food is authentic, location is good, just a step away from the river and bus station.

Reviewed May 28, 2019
4.8
Dileepkumar from India
Family with young children
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016

Review”

Nothing but disappointment.

Reviewed May 12, 2016
7.0
Very good
Po from Australia
Couple
Barjeel Suite
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015

great experiences”

friendly staff, great location, wonderful view
Reviewed March 12, 2015
6.0
yayuk from Indonesia
Family with young children
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014

I can't rate this hotel”

No comment

I've been moved to other hotel

Reviewed December 31, 2014
7.3
Very good
Hyuck from South Korea
Business traveler
Barjeel Suite
Stayed 1 night in October 2014

Except parking lot, others are good.”

Very kind of their staff, very traditional room and clean status.

It's good memorial trip.

Reviewed October 09, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Guenter from Germany
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

Beste Verkehrsanbindung”

Traditionell, Lage am Creek, Verkehrsanbindung

Das Haus ist einfach, wie erwartet. Gute Matratzen, ruhige Lage. Mit dem Auto nicht direkt erreichbar.(ca. 100 m über eine Freifläche zu Fuß). Metrohaltestelle, Busbahnhof, Taxistand ca. 100 m entfernt. Abras-Station am Creek ca. 200 m. Souk und verschiedene Sehenswürdigkeiten zu Fuß erreichbar. Frühstück nach Bestellung (kein Buffet). Essen trotz Empfehlung sehr "touristenmäßig". Preis 0.k. (Dubai ist sehr teuer) Ich würde wieder dort wohnen

Reviewed January 05, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Peter from Germany
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014

Hotel in unmittelbarer Creek-Nähe”

Hotel in historisch nachgebautem Ambiente, absolut ruhig, absolut zentral

Wir wurden freundlich empfangen, das Zimmer lag an einem geschlossenen Innenhof, absolut ruhig und nach wenigen Schritten stand man direkt am Creek. Tolle Dachterrasse mit Blick auf Creek. Unmittelbare Metro-Anbindung direkt vor der Tür. Kein Business-Hotel mit Standard-Charme, vielmehr ein Haus mit dem Ambiente Dubais.

Reviewed February 26, 2014
7.2
Very good
Rainer from Germany
Business traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 7 nights in February 2016

Hotel nur für großzügige Individualisten”

Das Hotel ist eine echte Alternative zu den Palästen der internationalen Hotellerie, die in Dubai vollständig vertreten ist. Die hat allerdings auch Schattenseiten. Das kleine mit nur neun Zimmern ausgestattete Gästehaus liegt äusserst zentral direkt am Creek. Die Metro, die Busstation, das Heritage Village, Abra- und Fähranleger, der Textil Souk und auch eine kleine Mall sind direkt nebenan bzw. nur ein paar Meter entfernt. Das Gebäude und die Einrichtung sind an den traditionellen Stil angelehnt und der Innenhof ist eine Oase der Ruhe inmitten der Geschäftigkeit herum. Der Blick von der Dachterrasse ist fesselnd, das Personal sehr nett und hilfsbereit - wenn auch nicht sehr professionell. Das zum Hotel gehörende Restaurant bietet schmackhafte Angebote zu im Wesentlichen ordentlichen Preisen. Allerdings gibt es einige Einschränkungen: Nicht jeder mag einen praktisch fensterlosen Raum als Hotelzimmer. (Mich hat es nicht gestört). Das Bett nahm an jeder Körperdrehung geräuschvoll teil und die Metro fährt direkt und dem Hotel her, was sehr deutlich zu hören ist. Aber man gewöhnt sich shr schnell daran. Die Sauberkeit des Zimmers war in Ordnung. Auf dem Dach gibt es herrliche Aufenthaltsmöglichkeiten. Leider wird dieser Teil der Anlage vernachlässigt und wirkt daher etwas angegammelt. Zum Frühstück: Auf der Internetseite wird ein umfangreiches Emirati Frühstück versprochen mit Saffron Pancakes, Khameer, Datteln etc. Leider war davon absolut nichts zu sehen. Verständlich ist ja noch, dass man bei der geringen Gästezahl am Abend vorher seine Frühstücksbestellung aufgeben musste. Dies garantierte aber keinesfalls auch das zu bekommen, was man geordert hat. Angeboten wurde Kaffee und Tee, Orangen- und Fruchtsaft (billige Qualität) Toast, Croissants (echt mies, klein und Stunden vorher aufgebacken), Muffins und Danish. Die frischen Früchte entpuppten sich als ausschließlich wechselweise Wasser- bzw. Honigmelone. Die Bohnen kamen aus der Microwelle. Weiter wurde Jam, Honig u

Reviewed February 19, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Berthold from Germany
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016

Die ganze Anlage im ortsüblichen Stil hat uns gut gefallen. Die Lage am Creek ist toll.”

Die U- Bahn ist nur 300 Meter entfernt, Tourbusse und Boote sind gerade um die Ecke zu erreichen und bieten einen einfachen Zugang zu ganz Dubai an sich.

Reviewed October 04, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Anke from Germany
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015

Good joyce”

Zentrale Lage und dennoch ruhig! Grosse Zimmer und super grosses Badezimmer
Reviewed May 08, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Anna-Lena from Germany
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014

Tolles Guesthouse in perfekter Lage”

Lage, liebevolle Einrichtung, Dachterasse

Ein toll gelegenes Guesthouse direkt am Creek und Metrostation, etwas dunkle Zimmer aber schön eingerichtet, sehr freundliches Personal. Beim nächsten Dubai-Aufenthalt unbedingt wieder!

Reviewed November 27, 2014
3.6
sachiko from Japan
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Review score”

アゴダで予約していたのに現地に行くと「泊まれない」と言われて同系列のオリエントゲストハウスに回されました。川からの景色が良さそうだったし、アブラ乗り場も近いし、何より駅近だったので、何日も調べて悩んで決めた宿泊先だったので本当にショックでした。オリエントGHよりこちらのGHのほうが賑やかで雰囲気も良くて便利で、断然立地はいいです。宿泊できた方が本当に羨ましい。ただ、もう断られたくないのでこちらと同系列のホテルは二度と予約しません。

Reviewed April 18, 2018
9.3
Exceptional
Wataru from Japan
Couple
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2014

便利な立地の素晴らしいゲストハウス”

交通アクセス、スタッフの親切さ、朝食

メトロの駅やスーク街から程近く、とても便利です。またスタッフがとても親切に対応してくれました。レストランを楽しみにしていたのですが、ラマダン明けまで休業ということでちょっとがっかり。でも好きなモノを細かく選べる豊富な朝食メニューで挽回しました。とても満足しています。

Reviewed July 28, 2014
9.6
Exceptional
MUTSUMI from Japan
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2017

Exceptional”

アル・グバイバ駅の裏側、徒歩5分で便利。川沿いの散策も。

Reviewed May 08, 2017
7.6
Very good
YUKI from Japan
Couple
Barjeel Suite
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016

スタッフが迷惑”

スタッフの方は2人いて、1人12時間ずつでホテルを回してらっしゃるようだったのですが、夜6時から朝6時まで担当の男性スタップの方が「私は日本人のことが好きだ」などと言って色々話しかけてきました。親切心から色々話しかけてくれているというのはわかりますが、夜寝る準備をしている時に部屋に押しかけてきたりするなど、かなりありがた迷惑でした。

Reviewed September 02, 2016
5.7
KOBAYASHI from Japan
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

レトロ”

場所、昔風の作り、値段

駅には近く暑い日ざしの中では歩く時間は節約できます。HOTELは1階のみで12部屋程度。ドアは大きい錠前でシャワーも古いし、部屋全体の飾り付けもレトロ。好き嫌いがはっきりしそうです。夜中に3回も電源が落ち結局朝まで直らずwifiも使用出来ずあまり良い印象は無い。次回は宿泊しない。

Reviewed August 11, 2015
9.2
Exceptional
SHUK from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018

地點佳,職員好,包早餐”

metro 4 exit行5 mins就到,1 exit可到supermarket和巴士站 (到阿布達比), 前面就是water taxi, 可到對面舊城區,很方便,也步行到dubai museum職員很好人,早餐很豐富,下次都會入住

Reviewed September 13, 2018
7.2
Very good
EUNJUNG from South Korea
Solo traveler
Mumtaz Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018

위치가 짱”

부대시설이란게 따로없어요. 직원은 친절하고 방은 오래되었지만 큰편이여요. 일단 위치가 좋아서 그걸로만도 만족합니다.

Reviewed November 11, 2018