Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 596 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 7.3
  • Room comfort and quality 8.1
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 8.3
  • Food and dining 7.5
Sort by

muhamad from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
nice and lovely hotel
nice food and very quiet
quite far from the city center and shops but the hotel is clean and nice
Reviewed February 01, 2013

Ridley from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Courtyard Queen with Open Shower
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Awesome setting
Relaxed atmosphere; doesn't feel like you are in the city
Stay was good, the room was a little far and not convenient when it rains as there are no sheltered walk ways.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Anne from Australia
Solo travelers
Poolside Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Convenient Quiet Location, Idyllic Pool in Gardens
Close to features of Kuching but quiet with friendly staff, good restaurant great choice of Western anf local dishes, superb pool area.
i have now stayed at least three times at basaga holiday residences-in three different room types / rates and all have been more than satisfactory.its not so easy to find the hotel at first... hidden in a laneway off busy jalan tabuan a short drive into cbd kuching or a lazy stroll to the shoppers' paradise which is the spring.the staff at basaga are very friendly helpful and efficient.nothing is too much trouble.there is a choice of room types and rates and my favourite is an upstairs room off the balcony which overlooks the pool.these spacious bright and always spotlessly clean rooms, have french doors to the balcony plus windows at the rear of the double bedroom and the shower room with wc.air conditioning and fans are in most rooms plus tv etc. downstairs and opening out to the pool area are rooms which have same amenities and a similar floor plan breakfast is included and although not a lot of choice is always fresh and tasty, especially the hot strong coffee and the vegetarian omelettes cooked at your request.if you prefer a quiet room then the downstairs courtyard room is for you- smaller but with an inside wc and an outside shower off your own private courtyard. basaga is certainly value for money whatever your currency !
Reviewed January 27, 2013

SITI from Malaysia
Couples
Mainhouse Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Lovely and good services
Big room
big room,very comfortable and nice view. the recieptionist very helpful and always smilling. will come to basaga again for next trip to kuching. having a great memories at basaga.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Yvonne from Malaysia
Families with older children
Courtyard Queen with Open Shower
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Great environment
Nature
The rooms were clean and nice. Plants and trees all around your room, quiet and nice.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Yvonne from Malaysia
Families with older children
Poolside Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Outskirt of town, quite and peace
Quiet and nature
The hotel were nice and clean. However, the staff services were not as good as the arrange for my car rental is being delayed. And i waited almost an hour to get the car, and it is from the agent. I need to get all the way to the agent office in the airport to sign with my credit card. It wasted some of my times. The hotel should provide more shuttle bus time slot to the town or some attractions.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Shamundiswari from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
An oasis of green in bustling Kuching
Charming hotel, helpful and friendly staff reflect the best of Kuching
This was one of my best stays away from home. Basaga is indeed amazing. An oasis of green, the overall concept conveys the best of the tropics. My single room was large, airy and had its own little balcony. Loved the wooden floors and the bed was perfect. Overhead fan and air-con were included but as the room was mostly cool, I just had the fan on. The french-style windows also kept the room pleasantly cool. Surprisingly, there were no mozzies. Basaga seems to burn citronella candles to keep them away. If there is anything, I'd say wi-fi connections are weak and cable TV channels few. The in-room shower is also small and may be a squeeze for some. Though service was a tad slow, the western-styled breakfast was adequate. It would be nice if Basaga could consider Malaysian breakfast alternatives. Coffee and kaya toast perhaps? I must also say that coffee served was a strange brew. Malaysian style Nescafe would've been a better choice I think. Basaga is not centrally located, although taxis to the centre are cheap (about RM15/-). It is within walking distance to Spring Mall but there're no sidewalks. Either take a taxi or cycle. Trips to Semmenggoh and the Sarawak cultural village can be arranged by Basaga, if like myself, your stay in Kuching is short. Basaga also has its resident cats and if you're lucky, you just might be greeted by one.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Timothy from Australia
Couples
Mainhouse Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
A little out of the way
Nice garden setting
I was a little disappointed with Basaga, firstly because it is a 20 min walk along a busy road away from the waterfront. The rooms are very clean and the bed was comfy, but there was more noise than I was expecting, especially traffic noise from the 4 lane road out the front, and also because of the large amounts of timber flooring which echoes alot. The Hotel is an old converted school building and it does have charm in its architecture. The restaurant is set in the middle of the property behind the main house (where we stayed for 3 nights), and has a great rainforest feel with lots of gardens and big trees. Behind the restaurant is the pool and a double storey set of rooms. I think these would have far less traffic noise than the main house rooms. The restaurant has a large well stocked casual bar, giving it a backpacker feel, but the prices for food are quite high compared with many of the other mid range hotels in Kuching. The food is ok, nothing special, but then again nothing wrong with it. The service I found to be patchy, with some waiters attentive at first but then never ever coming back to ask if you would like more drinks or to order food. The breakfast staff bordered on surley sometimes. On the other hand some staff are very helpful and friendly so maybe I just encountered a few people who didnt want to be working those days? The price was reasonable for the rooms but due to the location and hit and miss service I probably wouldnt come back when there are so many excellent hotels right down by the waterfront.
Reviewed January 06, 2013

ABANG from Malaysia
Groups
Poolside Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Lovely environment
Nice bed...
We stayed here 1 night only. Why we choose here, 1st they got swimming pool. But quite disappointing, the swimming pool look like abandon. The taste of swimming pool also taste weird and seem like no regular treatment. I love the environment, full fill the trees... yes, it feel like to been to somewhere far from the city... For the room itself, we stayed in a twin room. Its down stair, just in front of swimming pool. But not like upstairs room, which they don't have like a chair to sit outside the room. Better get the upstair room. For the TV, some of the channel got bad coverage. Our bathroom door for Room 1 (cannot be closed, which makes me angry....!) because I had pay and because I'm local, they gave me maybe a bad room. We got 2 free breakfast, but didn't make it because we were too sleepy. They got problem with their WIFI.... eventhough can connected, but still cannot be use... useless... so tention, then the problem solve because I brought the external broadband. You cannot smoke in the room nor the bathroom. If u get caught, you will be fine RM100. And the reception like repeat it to me for a few times feels like Im going to get caught.. haha.. And for the security, we tested it with we coming back late from the club. Around 5am. Of course the security was sleeping. We call the security for about 10minutes before he get up. With the angry face, he come up... he asked fiercely what we want. So we said we staying there, because we are local, of course he didnt believe.. SO he asked us to show the key.... so we showed it, then we get through.. thanks security! we know u just doing ur job... For the price.. they actually got promotion which were very cheap. If I know, will not booked through Agoda.... but if I walk-in, I cant guranteed that I can get the room. So.. overall, awesome basaga retreat for us! we will be back
Reviewed January 02, 2013

Pei from Malaysia
Couples
Courtyard Queen with Open Shower
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Everything is great
Green scenery and romantic concept
It was definitely a pleasant stay, we enjoyed ourselves a lot. Relaxing and comfortable with friendly staff at front desk and also yummy breakfast that made us so full. There is a garden themed cafe in the hotel, so we had our dinner there as well, no extra charge even though it was Christmas Eve. Thumbs up and will definitely choose Basaga again.
Reviewed December 28, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: