Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 398 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.8
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 7.1
Sort by

Donald from United Kingdom
Couples
Twin Room with Courtyard View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Disappointing hotel
Booked this because of the good reviews but were overall disappointed. Staff were super friendly and helpful, but the hotel felt dingy and neglected, there were no decent public places to sit. Breakfast was uninspiring.The design is quite quirky, but the place is in need of some tlc - we got the feeling that the original personal passion in its development has now been superceded by the owners new project at Damai. The room was spacious and we did have a window which some rooms did not but it was a bit scruffy for a 'boutique' hotel. OK as a superior backpackers.
Reviewed March 22, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Monica from Malaysia
Families with older children
Courtyard King Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Great stay.
Very friendly and helpful staff, Great location, clean and comfortable room with the choicest of amenities given.
Reviewed March 21, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

SEOW from Malaysia
Business travelers
Courtyard King Room
Stayed one night in September 2015
Little gems in the heart of Kuching town
Very good location, cozy and comfortable with friendly staffs
First time for me to Kuching and the staffs has been very helpful providing me with much information I need to go around the townn. The location was perfect in the heart of the town and as well as walking distance to all the famous tourist spots and amenities. Looking for food, no problem at all. Just few minutes walking distance and you will find the famous Sarawak noodle. Chill out and drinking place, no worries, just few minutes walking distance as well. It was a cozy hotel with nice surrounding although its just a boutique hotel. Fully recommend not just for business travelers but families and couples as well.
Reviewed March 08, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Nola from United States
Couples
Courtyard King Room
Stayed one night in February 2016
Great staff, great, room, great value.
Staff, staff, staff.
Definitely planning on making this hotel our base next time we are in Borneo for a longer visit. Rooms are sophisticated in design, spacious, clean, and comfortable. They provide an excellent variety of coffee and tea for free with the room. Not the Nescafé and cheap sabah brand tea I'm used to seeing at hotels. Even the 4 star, $300 a night resort we stayed in didn't provide as good quality coffee and tea with the room. That extra bit of effort and care by Batik was not taken for granted. Even the little welcoming/information booklet they provide along with the room key when you first check in was a welcome breath of fresh air. Free Breakfast is delicious! Especially the banjo breakfast sandwich. They also let you try a variety of local rice wines brewed by one of the staffs aunties. So nice and so delicious. Had I been confident we could get it back home through customs I'd have purchased some. Lastly, I cannot stress enough how lovely and welcoming the staff is at this establishment. We really felt at home and everyone was above and beyond accommodating with our requests. I feel a lot of other hotels could learn soon much from Batik. Not that we had bad experiences with hotels In Malaysia, quite the opposite. Everywhere we stayed was great. It's just that Batik takes it to a whole other level of greatness. Greatness 2.0!
Reviewed February 26, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Matthew from Australia
Couples
Deluxe Suite (Internal Window)
Stayed one night in February 2016
Beyond Amazing
Every 5 star review you have read doesn't even touch on the hospitality, friendliness and pure enjoyment we experienced at Batik Boutique. The staff are extremely friendly, welcoming, & genuine. It was like walking into a friends place and having a chat. The rooms are great: spacious, clean as can be and stocked with great coffee, tea and all amenities you would need. The bath tub even had bath salts, however we didn't have time to experience those. Food around town is good but if you have any specific needs the staff tell you where to find it, what is good and draw it out on their own Batik Boutique map. We stayed 1 night, followed by another night in Mulu. After this experience we came back to Kuching after Mulu and stayed another night as the service was beyond any review or normal hotel experience. I have never stayed in a hotel that offers the use of their shower post check-out! After checking out we visited Bako National Park before our 9pm flight. Understandably we were a bit sweaty, and the fine folk at Batik Boutique offered (we didn't even ask!) us the use of a spare room to have a quick shower before our flight. As I said, I have never ever heard of a hotel treating anyone this way post check-out. Worth going back to Kuching from Sydney simply to experience the hotel again! Thank you so much.
Reviewed February 24, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Kwan from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Courtyard King Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Good, helpful and friendly staff
Good service
Brilliant. Very good location.
Reviewed February 21, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Christina from Malaysia
Groups
Deluxe Suite (Internal Window)
Stayed one night in January 2016
Friendly staff, tuak and batik cake as welcome ref
Served batik cake and tuak when check in, room and bathroom very spacious. Only bed sheet and duvet cover looks not clean.
Reviewed February 04, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

yeo from Malaysia
Couples
City View King Room
Stayed one night in January 2016
nice hotel
good 4 stay
Reviewed February 01, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Krishnan from India
Couples
Deluxe double room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
They really exceeded our expectations in every way
We made a two day trip to Kuching last week. We froze our program just two days prior to our departure. I wanted to economize on this trip, so I chose Batk Butique, a relatively inexpensive hotel among those with good reviews. I requested for complimentary airport pickup, a spacious room with a large bed, just to check how far the hotel would strive to meet the high expectations set by the reviews. We did not receive any confirmation from the hotel prior to our departure, but to our utter surprise, we were picked up at the airport, initially provided a deluxe room consistent with our order, but later the same evening moved to a very spacious room with a nice large king size bed and nice bath. The hotel staff were extraordinarily friendly and always more than happy to guide us and assist in arranging our local sightseeing trips. We visited the Orangutan reserve, Bako national park, waterfront and river cruise, Sarawak cultural village all with their guidance and assistance. We were dropped back at the airport by the hotel staff. Honestly, this was the first time ever that I actually felt deeply obliged to a hotel for the services provided. The treatment was truly touching, indeed a treat to see youngsters have a great sense of joy in service. May their passion, teamwork and customer focus take Batik Butique to greater heights of success, and with it each of the staff.
Reviewed January 26, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Christopher from Malaysia
Solo travelers
City View King Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
A short trip to Kuching
Friendly Staff, Good Location, Clean and Comfortable Room
The hotel location is perfect, the local restaurants, coffee shop, cafe, shopping mall, pubs/bars and convenience stores are nearby. The hotel staffs are so friendly and very helpful, the room is clean and comfort. After a long day walk around the city or hiking, do try the spa (self treatment in room) provided by the hotel. It was great and relaxing. Thank you, all. Will see you all again.
Reviewed January 20, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: