Book Now: Ben Tre Oasis Hotel

Excellent
From 130 reviewsSee what guests said
8.4

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (130)Booking.com Reviews (131)
8.4
Excellent
From 130 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.5
Facilities8.4
Location8.0
Room comfort and quality8.6
Service9.0
Value for money8.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Français
Deutsch
Nederlands
more
Room type
Double Room
Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
Twin Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 128 verified guest comments
9.0
Exceptional
lee from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
great oasis”
staff and owner hire of bikes to great little villages
Excellent good value friendly staff nice and quiet
Reviewed October 21, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Trini from Singapore
Group
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Nice”
The staff!
Good experience. The staff and owners were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms and bed were clean.
Reviewed September 24, 2015
6.3
Good
Melody from France
Group
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Nice place”
Pool language map
Fine
Reviewed July 23, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Jocelyn from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Great place”
Friendly staff, Peace and quite, Kiwi Ken
So pleased with went to the Oasis it was so calming after HCM it felt like you where staying with friends. loved the ice cream palour round the corner.
Reviewed June 26, 2015
4.7
stephen from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Oasis Hotel”
Oasis Hotel
Reviewed June 05, 2015
5.3
Quang from Vietnam
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
small nice hotel”
friendly staff, comfortable, quiet
Nice staffs, clean but small room, small swimming pool. Relaxing and quiet.
Reviewed May 10, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
John from Australia
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
So good”
Hoang's River Tour, Pool, Stadf
So good would definitely come back again!
Reviewed April 15, 2015
7.7
Very good
NORMAN from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in February 2015
little gem of a place,”
the owners,the staff,the location
Our stay was so relaxing,the owners are know friends,will always remember our stay and will go back soon as,hospitality amazing,thank you so very much both.
Reviewed April 04, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Joye from Canada
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 days staying here.”
The perfect base for fabulous biking adventures. The cool pool was so refreshing after exploring the coconut jungles and river islands. The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful.
Reviewed March 30, 2015
8.3
Excellent
jason from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Meep”
Hong. Hammocks. Pier.
Really good
Reviewed March 28, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Leslie from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Far from the madding crowd”
Value for money, owners and staff and location
Was exactly as expected. A friend had recommended the Oasis to us and it was perfect for what we wanted, a peaceful and relaxing time.
Reviewed March 28, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Kathryn from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Great 3 days in July 2014”
Hong, cheap beer, friendly atmosphere
We stayed at the Oasis Hotel in July 2014. Our trip to Ben Tre was made by our lovely host, Hong, as well as the friendly and welcoming owners of the hotel. They couldn't do enough for us in terms of organising excursions and keeping us informed about the local area. The room was clean and cosy and a good breakfast provided each day. Hong was our guide for a boat and cycle tour around the local Mekong area, we visited local people and businesses and got a real feel for life in Ben Tre. Hong was superb, extremely welcoming, friendly and a truly great host/guide. We hope she is still there! Another excursion we did was a motorcycle tour out into the further parts of the delta with Lin which gave us a great sense of adventure and we met locals who took us in for a coconut, fantastic experience. All in all a good stop. There could be a little more to do in Ben Tre, but Oasis is a fantastic place to stay if you make it down that way. Kathryn & Paul
Reviewed February 02, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Russell from Australia
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Great value and service”
helpful advice from owners and management with regard to where to eat; how to get around vietnam; what to do in Ben Tre. Quite location near the river just out of the hustle of the centre. Value for m
a very good experience of the Mekong delta. Enjoyed the half day tour arranged by the hotel which included boat trip; brick factory visit; coconut factory visit; candy factory visit; lunch out in the country side with so much good food; tuk tuk ride; paddling down a small river and a helpful guide. Good advice by hotel management ( ms hong) on how to get there from saigon - phinh phat bus - only 73,000 vnd to the oasis hotel. Nice family room with one double and two singles. Good omelette for breakfast.
Reviewed January 23, 2015
6.0
Clive from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
A decent choice in Ben Tre”
The staff. Part
Reviewed January 03, 2015
7.7
Very good
Michael from Australia
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Great place, priced a bit high”
Pool. Bikes. Staff
We had a great stay would have liked to stay longer but things to see and phő to eat. If priced slightly lower could have justified staying longer. However a tidy little property and you wouldn't go wrong staying here. Knowledgable and friendly capable staff and a chilled feeling you could easily lose time here. We used the bikes to get around which was excellent and caught the 4-5 hour cargo boat to Tra Vinh which comes to Oasis jetty if you ask them to book.
Reviewed December 21, 2014
7.7
Very good
Deborah from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
An OASIS Indeed!”
It is away, far away from the mayhem of Ho Chi Minh City. The PEOPLE are FANTASTIC!!!! The pool is a great asset to cool off after a trip in the Mekong and heat!
Highlights include the beautiful spirited Hong...who took good care of us. And the generosity of Ken to run me to places on his motorbike - an experience in itself! The efficient air con was a godsend, the bikes were great too.
Reviewed December 19, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
raymond from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
aussie and kiwi getaway”
owner kiwi great bloke allways trying to help his wife viet a wonderfull lady very funny people meet other aussies and kiwi hadthe best time ofour holidaybe back ray
Reviewed November 20, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Evangeline from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
charming hosts and great local knowledge”
the hosts, the bar, the hammocks
Our stay was great. The Oasis is a hotel with a bit of relaxed backpacker hostel feel to it. The outdoor bar, pool, hammocks, and patio were a great space to hang out. It was quite nice to have a beer or two with one or two other parties who were staying there. The hosts are an Australian and his Vietnamese wife. They are genuinely enthusiastic about sharing tips and stories about the area. When we asked about the local coconut candy we had heard about, Ken took my boyfriend to the shop on the back of his motor bike - but not without stopping to buy new prescription glasses for $40 and going on a tour of Ben Tre. The rooms are average for Vietnam: clean, plenty of room, good light, cable, and amenities.
Reviewed November 07, 2014
4.7
Axel from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
fair stay with an unfortunately incident ”
nice area, breakfast, tours
We had a fair stay on this hotel. The tour they had was really nice. Hong is very kind and friendly. The room was okay, the bathroom was not so clean. But we had an unfortunately incident here. We rented a motorbike from the hotel a day, and in the afternoon outside a cafe which the staff recommended the motorbike was stolen! We did not know what to do. We came back to the hotel and no one said something. So we figured that they solved it. But then the next day when we were checked out and everything they refused to give us ours passport and told us that we had to pay for the motorbike. So we recommend to not rent a motorbike which not is insured!
Reviewed November 06, 2014
6.7
Good
Katherine from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
a nice relaxing evening.”
ease of booking onward boat travel, good internet, nice common space to relax by the pool
Comfortable rooms with good internet, a refreshing pool and good common area to meet the occasional other travelers. Though it's a bit far from the center, there are a couple of good eats nearby and they provide bicycles. They also helped us book our cargo boat to Tra Vinh. Their day tours around the area seemed a bit pricey, however.
Reviewed April 05, 2014
7.3
Very good
Michael from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Perfect for a short break in the Mekong Delta”
friendly, informative staff, good price, good pool
The hotel is small, run by a Kiwi-Vietnamese couple, and the staff are friendly and efficient. The pool is on the large side for this kind of family run hotel (10 metres or so), shaded, just about big enough for (short) laps, and good for just relaxing. The staff were very helpful in organising tours if we wanted them, and in giving information about the local area. Good quality bikes were available for hire. The area is a little out of town, about 20 minutes walk, but a pleasant walk along the river. Plenty of restaurants within that distance.
Reviewed January 30, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Rob from Canada
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
More to do here than expected!”
Quiet location on the river; great breakfast, great tour(s)
Great little hotel located in a quiet neighbourhood in Ben Tre. We had a nice room off the courtyard with 2 double beds, tv, fridge, AC, wireless, hot/cold water for shower. A tasty breakfast (choice of 3-4 items) was included with iced coffee or VN dripped coffee (both outstanding). Lovely hostess helped us with bus arrangements to Can Tho and host (Ken, a Kiwi) has much info on the town and surrounding area. Also great river tour available (recommended) and other land tours but didn't take, ran out of time. About a 30 min walk to town but cabs available for 40-60000 VND. Downtown there is a market, a Coop Mart and some street food. Great place, would stay there again.
Reviewed January 29, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Palmira from Spain
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Hidden Treasure”
Staff and owners were fantastic, clean and comftable, affordable.
The owners of Oasis Hotel are very helpful, they were eager to recomend routes and gave us advice of tours and ways to visit the nearest area. We hired a motorbike wiht them to visit the surronding areas. Everything was very clean, the swiming pool is middle size. Breakfast was chosen from some options and delicious.
Reviewed January 06, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Thomas from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Relaxing friendly staff first class room”
Location staff room friendly T
Reviewed January 01, 2014
4.0
William from Canada
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Over priced for what they offer”
Friendly staff, cold beer, bike rentals
Sorry, but as nice as the staff is the location, room and facilities are wanting. Poor location on the wrong side of the river from town ( 30 minute walk min.) breakfast was minimal and juice etc. was extra really nickel and dime, their tours were more expensive and shorter than others offered in town. TV had no English news stations ( this was the only hotel in our thirty days in Vietnam without news and with typhoons etc. it would be nice to know what is going on) rooms need to be redone, beds etc well past their usage dates, thinnest towels I have ever had to use etc. Would not stay here again.
Reviewed November 17, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Hareendra from Sri Lanka
Couple
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Good Hotel, great hosts”
Hosts, friendly staff, Quiet location
The owners Ken and Lieu were excellent hosts and their staff were friendly too. Lieu helped us to book a cargo boat to Tra Vinh which was one of the highlights of our trip in the mekong. The hotel rents well maintained automatic scooters, which is a great way to explore the surroundings. Due to our shot schedule in Vietnam we stayed only one night. Wish we could have stayed here for at least two nights.
Reviewed September 08, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Ross from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
Quite possible the nicest place in Ben Tre”
Ken is the most helpful man in Vietnam, Lovely location, Perfect for all.....
This is probably the nicest run hotel that we have stayed in, within Vietnam! Ken is ultra friendly/helpful. Nothing is too much for this man. I would recommend staying here for him alone! Ken and his wife are fantastic. The hotel is clean, the pool is clean, rooms are clean, breakfast is more than good enough for a budget hotel! This is no hilton but what are you expecting for the money, it truly is one of the best value hotels in Vietnam.
Reviewed August 31, 2013
8.7
Excellent
olivier from France
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Very nice stay in a quiet and friendly place”
great and friendly service, relaxation area (pool and hamocks)
We stayed only one night in this hotel but we really felt at home : the very friendly staff organized us a tour in the beautiful surroundings (boat and bicycle) and our trip back to HCMC; hammocks were really welcomed for a relaxation time, and children got cornflakes for breakfast (rare in Vietnam !)
Reviewed August 25, 2013
8.0
Excellent
chris from United States
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in August 2013
great place to stay n great local attractions...”
breakfast, staff and service
nice staff and location and will recommend for a relaxation trip away from city and pollution.
Reviewed August 20, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Augustine from Singapore
Group
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Great! The owner Ken was a walking encyclopedia.”
Warmth. Care of the staff. Away from the crowd.
This is a wonderful place to relax away from the crowds. We had a a very reasonable boat tour arranged by Ken. Our boatman/guide was a wonderful local gentleman. Our visit to a remote village in Mo Cay was memorable as I got some beautiful photos of the Sunday Market life (among other places). I just wished I had a bit more time to explore Ben Tre and its tree covered villages/and the swamp areas teeming with life
Reviewed August 18, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Simon from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
great hotel with friendly staff”
staff, relaxing atmosphere, available activities
Great stay, super friendly staff who want you to have fun and enjoy the area- there are plenty of things to do here (bike riding, boat tours, motorbike tours etc).
Reviewed August 01, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Grace from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Wish we could stay longer”
Friendly staff, clean, big room and affordable tour
Oasis was so relaxing we wished we could stay longer. We came here to experience the laidback charms of Ben Tre's green waterways and villages and the staff arranged the trip for us to our immense satisfaction. They included a young guide named Hom or Rose, who was very patient with our questions and a delight to have on our trip. The boat lady was always smiling and even cut us a water coconut fruit (it is actually a water chestnut, but they call it water coconut) so we can sample it. Not once did she harrass us for a tip. On the way back, we caught the sunset and bats feeding on the river! On the whole, it was a memorable trip, and we saw what we wanted at a fair price.
Reviewed June 01, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
nuangnoi from Thailand
Group
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Felt like home, nice people running the hotel.”
Nice and helpful people, place to relax.
Reviewed May 28, 2013
7.3
Very good
Stephen from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Small friendly hotel well located for visitinMekon”
The proprietors made you fell welcome.
Reviewed May 01, 2013
7.0
Very good
Bruce from Australia
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Relaxing stay - great pool - great area”
Friendly owner - relaxing pool and hammocks - brilliant tour organised
Very relaxing place to stay after the chaotic area of Ho Chi Minh City. Highly recommend the Ben Tre villages tour. The kids loved it especially the mud fishing
Reviewed April 29, 2013
7.7
Very good
Elizabeth from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Relaxing break in the Mekong”
pool, location, staff
We enjoyed our two night stay doing not much but swinging in the hammocks and cooling off in the pool, the hotel overlooks the river and you can walk alongside it to the town where the local market is a fascinating place to visit. The owners were very friendly and recommended an excellent local restaurant and ice cream parlour as well as arranging a taxi to the bus station for our onward journey
Reviewed April 15, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Carrie
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Staff were wonderful and made the ”
Great pool. Wonderful helpful staff. Charming location.
Loved that the room was set up to easily wash and dry clothes, the empty fridge and the drinking water available. It just seemed like the owners had thought out what their guests might need. Check out their website for how great travel tips and how to arrive easily at the door.
Reviewed April 07, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Annelise from Germany
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Small very clean Hotel with cosy little nice pool”
clean, good prices and help on any ossations by the owner
we had a lovely time and the owner and his son (australian) helped us with everything, tours on the river, arranged our leaving by cargo boat to our next stop, arranged the Hotelreservation at our next stop, took us to the cargoboat and got prices for us, we never would have got as a tourist. We have been traveling alround a lot, but we never met more friendly and helpful people like those two guys.Not looking for their profit, just helping.
Reviewed March 19, 2013
7.7
Very good
Phillip from Afghanistan
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Great visit”
Staff, Breakfast, Pool
I would stay here again if in Ben Tre. The staff speaks great English and can help you arrange transportation, boat rides on the river and the surrounding canals. The hotel rents moto's, bikes and can get you started with numerous activities in the area. The hotel is on the opposite side of the river. However a short 15 minute walk will put you on the city side of the river and at the local market/shopping areas. The town is not touristy at all, however the people we interacted with were warm and friendly. We hired a boat from a lady on the riverside for 500K dong(24USD) for 3 hours. Our boatman took us through the canals and along the river. He did not speak English but took care of us well during the trip. We did not stop at the brick factory to look at bricks being made or watch coconuts being processed ect....if you want that you can go with a feed me, burp me, wipe me tour which can be arranged through the hotel or downtown through numerous agencies. It will cost anywhere from 20-30 USD per person. The hotel also has a boat and charges 15USD for the 1st hour and 10USD for each hour after that with a minimum of two hours hire. The hotel arranged our transportation to Tra Vinh on a cargo freighter. It was a great 6 hour ride down the river. It was rustic but comfortable (We are independent travelers). The price was quoted as 100K dong at the hotel but the boat crew asked for 120K dong (6USD). Anyway it was a great stay and a great trip.
Reviewed March 14, 2013
7.0
Very good
Andre from Netherlands
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Very nice place and very helpfull staff”
The staff was very helpfull in planning trips
The oasis hotel is a somewhat outside the city. The hotel was motorbikes and (very old) bicycles available to go into the city and to see the surroundings. Everything is keep well and clean. The breakfast is simple but good. The staff was very helpful in advising what tobdo and what to see and how to travel best to our next destination. They arranged a cargo boat to stop the hotel for us to take us to take us to our next destination.
Reviewed February 28, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
john from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
quiet location”
Peaceful, away from the hustle of the city but within easy reach.
The staff were very friendly and helpful from the outset. Room was clean and comfortable. Pleasant riverside walk. a nice place to relax. Breakfast menu saisfactory. Good value for money. Would use this hotel again.
Reviewed February 28, 2013
7.0
Very good
Marianne from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Lovely location on the other side of river ”
Outside of town in a peaceful location
We stayed for one night and paid $22 dollars for a double room. The owner of the hotel was a lovely lady who spoke very good English, the room was on the small side but adequate and clean, the TV and a/c were good, the bathroom was clean with lots of hot water and all the usual hotel toiletries. We didn't get up in time to eat breakfast (oops) The pool looked lovely and they had hammocks for guests to use, it was a little outside of town maybe a 2 min drive.
Reviewed February 24, 2013
7.7
Very good
Catherine from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Great views, hard beds”
location in quiet spot on Ben Tre River, great views from balcony
This is a charming budget hotel with many positive features: a lovely garden, clean pleasant rooms, friendly and helpful staff. It is on a quiet road across the bridge from the central part of Ben Tre. In front of the hotle is a beautiful, new river walkway and a dock from which you can take tours of the Mekong area. Be sure to go up to the roof deck in the evening and watch the river traffic. The only problem is the matresses which are extremely hard and very tough on one's back.
Reviewed February 12, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Colleen from Italy
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Very friendly and helpful”
The pool is great to relax in after a day's travelling
The rooms are fine, and the omelettes for breakfast are great. We rented their bikes and enjoyed just heading off into the countryside close by. Lazing around in their hammocks after having a swim and a cocoanut drink from the counter is a good reward towards evening. A fair walk into town but you can use the bikes too.
Reviewed February 09, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Mark from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Just what we were after”
Friendliness of the Staff & Tour Guides
From the moment we arrived we felt at home and part of the family. The beer is cold & presented in stubbie holders. They organised tours of the Mekong & surrounding sites with local legend Mr & his famous dog. The scooter tour will be unforgettable. The Pagoda visit to see the old lady was a highlight. It was sad to leave, but it just wants to make you come back. Great restaurants recommended, 100% local dishes. Please be sure to take up the offer. Can't wait to visit again.
Reviewed January 30, 2013
7.0
Very good
Tina from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in January 2013
great staff - very quiet location”
clean pool, staff friendly
The hotel is a bit out of the way - there is a restaurant close but if like us you do not like chicken feet, soft lip fish or jelly fish salad the only alternative is to walk for 30 mins to the bridge to the big hotel on the other side of the river. lovely food there. the staff at the oasis are very friendly and speak English - being from |New Zealand. The rooms are small but clean - the pool is cold and clean. The rooms upstairs are quieter than the rooms around the pool and kitchen. Lovely to walk along the river but not a lot else to do. breakfast at oasis usual egg offering for westoners. beds comfortable.
Reviewed January 11, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Diana from Canada
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in December 2012
Quiet riverside location with great service”
Friendly and helpful owners, good base for cycling, nice room and refreshing pool
We enjoyed renting the hotel's decent push bikes to explore local roads and laneways, sometimes following the owner's suggestions (he sits you down with a map the moment you arrive!) and sometimes just following our noses - with a Vietnamese translation of "please tell us how to reach the main road" in our pocket just in case. After a couple of hours on bikes, we enjoyed swimming in the pool, a little rest in the shade, and then a walk into town. Comfortable, clean and nice, but we don't expect luxury. Ask for room #9.
Reviewed January 08, 2013
6.0
Lesley from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Poor value and unexpected additions to the bill”
helpful with travel arangements
The small, style-free rooms surround the pool and bar/kitchen area, so don't come expecting peace and quiet - there will be noise from first thing in the morning when breakfast preparations start. And on the subject of breakfast - fancy another cup of coffee, or some extra cereal? You'll be charged, but you wơn't find thís out till you leave. You might also want to check that a few extra beers haven't also made their way onto your bill. Some sites show that bike hire is free here, but it's not - though for the quality of the bikes available it really should be. Oasis is a rather longer walk into town than the advertised 15 minutes - more like half an hour at a brisk pace. On the positive side Lieu and the boys are very friendly and pleasant, and we appreciated their help in arranging our onward travel. But Oasis is not great value and they need to be more upfront about their charges.
Reviewed December 11, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Sandra from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
friendly, helpful and well run and fun to stay at”
friendliness and helpfulness - like staying with friends
Ben Tre offers the chance to experience life on the Mekong Delta. Its people are friendly and the town has a great market, good food and people charge local prices free of hassle. The hotel owners and staff are both knowleable and genuinely interested in to give you the best experience possible. It is also great value for money and great location right on the river
Reviewed November 12, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Jan from Belgium
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Be treated as a friend, not as a guest”
Ken and Lieu
The Oasis hotel in Ben Tre is the best place I have stayed in for years (and I travel a lot). The accomodation provides everything you need, but what really makes the difference are the hosts: Ken and his wife Lieu treat you as friends, not as hotel guests. Need something? They’ll help you and will spend enough time to provide you with their best possible help. Their suggestions to visit Ben Tre city and province are out of the classic ‘Tour’ box and therefore very original and helpful. When I will come back to Vietnam, I’ll make a detour to meet Ken and Lieu again, and I have never thought of this before about any other hotel.
Reviewed November 08, 2012