Hotel Reviews of Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel Chicago (IL) United States - Page 1
Book Now: Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel Reviews

Excellent
From 78 reviewsSee what guests said
8.6

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (78)Booking.com Reviews (340)
8.6
Excellent
From 78 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness9.1
Facilities8.0
Location9.3
Room comfort and quality8.9
Service9.0
Value for money8.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
한국어
Deutsch
more
Room type
1 King Bed - No Smoking
2 Double Beds - No Smoking
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Streetside Suite with 1 King Bed, Kitchenette and Shower - No Smoking
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 75 verified guest comments
9.3
Exceptional
Ken from United States
Couple
2 Double Beds - No Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Excellant Hotel”
Clean, comfortable rooms; situated in a great location accessible to restaurants, bars and shopping.
I have not stayed at the Best Western in a few years, but always enjoy my stay there.
Reviewed January 03, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Sheila from United States
Solo traveler
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
Excellent experience”
cleanliness, friendliness of staff, attentiveness of staff
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel.
Reviewed November 27, 2013
7.3
Very good
Jesse from United States
Solo traveler
2 Double Beds - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
Pretty good.”
The location, the staff, the room size.
The staff at the front desk greeted me pleasantly and gave me great information about restaurants and transportation around the area. My room was larger than expected. Parking was available for $30/day next door in the ramp which seemed pricey at first but is $10 cheaper than most parking ramps in the area. There was a hot tub and sauna available that my friend enjoyed using. The continental breakfast offered was very lacking considering the price of the stay. I've had much better breakfasts at $60/night hotels. Overall I'd say it was a pretty good stay considering the price and location.
Reviewed November 13, 2013
8.0
Excellent
James from United States
Couple
1 King Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013
Halloween trip to Boystown in Chicago”
Convenient to restaurants and bars, close to 146 Express bus to the Loop
Reviewed October 31, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Cecilia from United States
Couple
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
One of the best hotel I've stayed in. ”
Cleanliness, great location, and, affordable rates.
The overall stay was fantastic! The staff, especially the cleaning crew, were extremely professional. The hotel itself was at a great location (lake view area, with lots of dinning and shopping), with a cute vintage design that will please most aesthetics. Although, our room had a few minor issues like the remote not working as well, and there was no view due to the first floor, but the stay was one of the best experience I've gotten in a while.
Reviewed October 03, 2013
6.3
Good
we from Malaysia
Business traveler
Streetside Suite with 1 King Bed, Kitchenette and Shower - No Smoking
Stayed 7 nights in September 2013
Good and nice big rooms”
Size of the room, friendly staff, near to restaurant
Very nice apartment hotel but the breakfast was average, then again, all American hotel breakfast are normally the low cost type
Reviewed September 27, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Vincent from United States
Family with young children
2 Double Beds - No Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in September 2013
An Excellent Stay in Chicago ”
Excellent Location / Restaurants in Area / Staff
We had never been to Chicago before so we did not know the area or hotel - this hotel exceeded our expectations for location / excellent room / friendly and helpful staff.
Reviewed September 26, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Roger from United States
Family with teens
2 Double Beds - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
FUN!”
easy parking, close to wrigley field and nice breakfast buffet
Reviewed September 22, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Richard from United States
Solo traveler
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Great location. Great stay”
Location. Room. Cleanliness.
Great locale, restaurants right outside the door. Public transportation nearby. Clean well appointed room. Uber friendly staff.
Reviewed September 21, 2013
7.3
Very good
Sandra from United States
Couple
1 King Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in August 2013
Quiet and clean accomodations”
Convenience, close to Wrighley Field, close to many area restaurants
We enjoyed our stay. Room was very clean and staff was super accommodating. It's a nice location as opposed to staying downtown.
Reviewed September 05, 2013
8.0
Excellent
elizabeth from United States
Couple
2 Double Beds and Sofabed - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
great chicago overnight”
location/cleanliness/shower
Reviewed August 29, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Jolene from United States
Couple
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Charming hotel, GREAT location!”
Location, scenery, bathroom
Great stay! Perfect location, beautiful outside and inside of hotel. Room was very cozy, large bathroom with heat lamp outside of shower. Hope to stay here for every Cubs game I go to!!
Reviewed August 28, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Chad from United States
Family with young children
2 Double Beds - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Quant neighbor and nice nearby restaurants.”
Friendly staff, clean room and nice neighborhood.
Best Western hotels have turned themselves around. They are no longer the low budget hotels. This is not a Hilton but it still is a clean and sizable room with a friendly staff hotel.
Reviewed August 03, 2013
7.3
Very good
Michael from United States
Couple
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Swanky over-priced hotel in the lake view 'hood”
The room was big and cosy and clean
This hotel is quite over-priced for the plasticy feeling. I suppose the location may warrant the price but I'm going to do more research in the future. The staff were professional but not as knowledgable about the neighborhood as I would expect for the money being spent.
Reviewed July 26, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Vince from United States
Couple
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
Fun”
Location housekeeping friendly
They were to febreeze room to eliminate smoke and they never did
Reviewed July 04, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Cole from United States
Solo traveler
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
Wonderful location”
Location, Cleanliness, Friendly staff
The location of this place is great. There are great restaurants right outside the door, walking distance to Wrigley Field, only a few blocks from Lake Michigan and all the parks, beaches and running paths. Will definitely stay here again.
Reviewed June 26, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Sharra from United States
Solo traveler
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013
Comfortable clean and close to bus stop”
Friendly staff, Very clean, confortable, safe, close to bus stop
It was perfect... coming back in September.... Hopefully thing will work out just as well.
Reviewed June 23, 2013
7.3
Very good
Joseph from United States
Couple
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
a few blocks from the trains for easy access to ci”
clean, close to train, ann sutter across the street
Reviewed May 21, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Chad from United States
Family with young children
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
very convinient”
close to ballpark, beautiful hotel, comfortable bed
Reviewed May 20, 2013
7.7
Very good
Anne from United States
Couple
1 King Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Good location.”
Location, price, staff.
We have stayed at this hotel before and find it a good place if you want to go to Wrigley Field or iO Theater. There are many restaurants and bars nearby. The rooms are generally comfortable. We did not get much sleep in this particular room because the refrigerator ran all night and never really chilled our beverages. The sconstant humming was annoying. We probably sgould have changed rooms but we did not want to move in the middle of the night.
Reviewed May 16, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Natan from Israel
Solo traveler
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
it was nice, cozy and sufficient”
location, comfort and cleaness
Reviewed May 06, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Family with young children
2 Double Beds - No Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Fun family time”
Location, comfort, breakfast
Reviewed April 25, 2013
7.3
Very good
Augusta from United States
Couple
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Comfortable stay”
close to shopping areas and restaurant, parking garage next door, and nice designed-room
this is the first time I have visited Chicago so not familiar with the areas there. However I was very pleased with this hotel. It is located in the north side (few blocks from the lake). There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby so it is very convenient. Also since we drove there, it is very easy to park our car since a parking garage is right next door. It costs us $26/day parking. The garage is not associated with the hotel so the rate is discounted. As we walked to our room, the corridor smelled like smoke. But in our room, this is not the case. The room is quite small but very comfortable. the design is modern which I like. I also like the showerhead which is not the standard low flow showerhead like in most hotels. The air conditioning is a little noisy, blows air a little too often but it does the job. The breakfast was just okay, definitely could be improved.
Reviewed April 03, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Deanna from United States
Couple
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Great hotel, breakfast, nice staff. Spa!”
The spa, the steam room, above average breakfast
Great hotel. Very good location also! Breakfast is much better than your standard continental breakfast; bagels w/ cream cheeses, hard-boiled eggs, bacon, cereal and milk, yogurt, and good juice! Staff was very nice, we woke up late for breakfast and they let us help ourselves. They overbooked so we were upgraded for free to a Suite, which was great! Awesome hot tub spa and steamroom! Didn't even the pool but I believe it is indoors. Would stay here again! A bit pricey for a standard queen - but competitive with other hotels.
Reviewed March 29, 2013
7.7
Very good
Lilian from United States
Couple
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Closed to BoyTown with great restaurants nearby,”
Nice room close to lots of restaurants and people watching
Reviewed March 13, 2013
7.0
Very good
susan from United States
Family with teens
2 Double Beds - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
like location”
rooms updated
we've stayed at this hotel many times. like staying here because its close to family. just wish the front desk help was more friendly.
Reviewed December 30, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Joyce from United States
Couple
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Unique Hotel in Great Location”
Very convenient to shops and restaurants
We very much enjoyed our stay. The room was nice and people were very pleasant.
Reviewed December 26, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Wes from United States
Couple
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Very nice and clean and in a great location.”
Close to the EL and dining. Affordable parking, nice rooms.
Friendly staff. Clean updated rooms. Reasonable rates.
Reviewed December 19, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Steve from United States
Couple
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
Great hotel, great location”
Large room, coffee, mini fridge in room, friendly staff
If you want to stay in a quaint, walk-to-everything hotel, this is your hotel. Food, events, people watching; strolling was always a new adventure. We will be staying here again when we visit Chicago!
Reviewed November 28, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
YANG from China
Business traveler
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
room nice”
good location
comfirtbale nice clean i will live again in furture
Reviewed November 11, 2012
8.7
Excellent
bruce from United States
Family with young children
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Nice hotel”
Location, breakfast was great, staff very good.
Room small but bathroom nice size. Great location in Lakeview. Staff very nice.
Reviewed November 07, 2012
7.0
Very good
Andrew from United Kingdom
Couple
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in October 2012
Great location and good value”
Comfortable rooms, complimentary breakfast and close to Gay Village
Good mid range hotel, comfortable room. Owners need to work on public areas which look a bit tatty and smell of smoking in corridors. Also more seating for breakfast, but its good that this is complimentary and with good choice.
Reviewed November 07, 2012
8.7
Excellent
bruce from United States
Couple
1 King Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Great location”
Breakfast, location, staff was helpful and friendly
Our room smelled smokey. When I got home I needed to clean all of the clothes because of the smell. I requested a non smoking room but none were available. The bed was especially smelly. The hallway in the evenings smelled of pot.
Reviewed November 06, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Ma
Business traveler
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
Great location, clean room & lovely small garden”
Everything...
Great for almost everything though breakfast could be better.
Reviewed October 13, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Sharon from Singapore
Business traveler
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in September 2012
great location, great rooms, great service ”
very near lake michigan and bus stops. easy travelling and along a nice street
it was very pleasant stay and prices are affordable. nice breakfast and ambience
Reviewed October 08, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Bastiaan from Netherlands
Family with teens
2 Double Beds - No Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Great Hotel in a wonderful neighborhood”
Location
loved our 3 night stay in this hotel. beautiful older building, well decorated. ideal location with great acces to public transport. ok, you have to pay to park yr car (appr. usd 26 p/n), but you dont need the car when you can use the busses: usd 4.50 pp per 24 hrs. friendly neighborhood with good restaurnts nearby. also plenty of other shops, i.e. supermarkets, walgreens, walmart...nearby. room was very spacious. breakfast in the lobby area: a bit crampy! would recommend!
Reviewed August 29, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Phyllis from United States
Solo traveler
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
Quaint hotel”
Close to family
Family lives up in Wrigleyville and it was a perfect location for my visit. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was cozy. No negatives for me.
Reviewed June 01, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Lisa from United States
Couple
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March 2012
Great location, nice neighborhood”
Close to Cubs venues, nice, safe neighborhood. Nice updates in hotel rooms. Friendly staff. Definitely recommend!!
We were attending an event at the Cubby Bear. It was close enough we walked there, and the neighborhood was very clean and safe. The hotel itself was very nice. Older , established building with lots of great updates.
Reviewed April 04, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Oscar from United States
Solo traveler
2 Double Beds - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December 2011
Location location location!”
Location
This hotel had very spacious and clean rooms. The toiletries in the restroom were of great quality and there were plenty of towels. Talk about location! You are walking distance from many shops and restraunts, not to mention all the great bars in Boystown. You are near the train station, a 24 hour diner, pizza, starbucks and many other shops. Also, the breakfast that is provided in the morning is above average. You get coffee, milk, juice, cereal, yogurt, pastries and fruit. They also put out freshly baked cookies from 4-6 pm.
Reviewed December 31, 2011
7.7
Very good
Barbara from United States
Solo traveler
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in November 2011
Great location. Great staff.”
Wonderful neighborhood feel with ease of parking in public garage right next to the hotel.
Super convenient to all places I wanted to be. Room amenities: frig, micro, coffee maker,--al nice touches. Updated clean bath also a major plus. Downside - the bed and pillows are not very comfortable. Attentive staff.
Reviewed December 02, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Jacques from Canada
Business traveler
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in November 2011
Nice hotel affordable in Chicago”
rooms are clean, fridg, coffee machine included
this is an old hotel but very modern. rooms are clean and confortable. continental breakfast with diferent type of muffin, cereal, toast, fruit, etc. serve in the lobby. this is strage since there is no restaurent but what they offr is very good. complimentary, news paper and high speed internet in room.
Reviewed November 22, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Ana from Brazil
Couple
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011
Great location and lovely hotel!”
Locations is awesome: neighborhood isn't touristy and has great restaurants.
The location is great. The room is clean and comfortable. And the hotel is really charming!
Reviewed October 31, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Russell from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in October 2011
Very comfortable hotel, good location.”
Location
i used the hotel for a 4 night city break. i enjoyed what i thought was the best room in the hotel - top floor, front of building, quiet and a good outlook. a pleasant district a block away from the lake, close to restaurants, amenities and (gay) nightlife. easy reach of the city centre - 30 mins including 10 min walk to addison station and 20 mins on red line to the loop. relatively expensive for a single traveller. the only public area is a small front foyer so i ended up taking my breakfast back to the room. would recommend for a city break.
Reviewed October 16, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Mary from United States
Couple
1 King Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in August 2011
Lovely hotel, great location”
near Wrigleyville, but far enough outside to be a quiet neighborhood, recently remodeled rooms, luxurious bedding
We were seeing a Cubs game one day, and an Air and Water Show party the next, so this hotel was ideally located near the ballpark but also close to the lakeshore. We walked tree-lined streets past beautiful old Chicago apartment homes. The neighborhood is quiet and peaceful, with couples strolling children and male couples jaunting hand in hand (yes, this is either in Boystown or just next to it!). The hotel room itself was very nicely appointed, clearly having been redone fairly recently, with attractive modern styling. The King size bed was comfortable, with lots of pillows and a beautiful gold toned duvet cover. The bath had a granite countertop and chic tile in the shower area. There was a pretty courtyard in front of the hotel where guests could enjoy complimentary morning coffee and light breakfast fare.
Reviewed August 24, 2011
6.7
Good
Jacobus from Netherlands
Group
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in July 2011
Good location in lively neighborhood”
The hotel is situated in the lively neighborhood Lakeview: lots of restaurants and bars and just a few blocks away form the Wrigleystadium.
The hotel is sitauted in the Lakeview neighborhood. Around the block is Boystown with all the bars and restaurants on North Hallstead. The lake is not too far. And the Wrigleyfield Stadium is just a few blocks.
Reviewed July 15, 2011
7.7
Very good
Theodore from United States
Couple
1 King Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in May 2011
Cute hotel but not the best bargain”
Great location, lovely outdoor space
The rooms were small but adequate. The bathroom was well eguipped and had good ventilation. The air conditioning system was noisy and the picture on the television was fuzzy on some stations. One of the nicest amenities was the little fridge that included a freezer. (I recenty had knee surgery and needed to freeze my ice wrap, so this was very convenient.). I also really enjoyed the taste and ease of the Keurig coffee maker.
Reviewed May 13, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Brianne from United States
Couple
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April 2011
Lovely Hotel and Friendly Service”
right in the heart of north chicago - near many attractions
great place to stay if you're headed to wrigley field and near many other chicago attractions. the reason for our stay was for an event at schuba's on n. southport - which we were able to walk to. great place to grab an adult beverage and see a band! the after mid-night concierge was super friendly and helpful- a craving for pizza had us in a tizzy about where to order from and he was right on point with getting us a menu :) the atmosphere of the entire hotel is very warm and relaxing. our stay was short but i would definitely return.
Reviewed April 13, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Michael from Germany
Solo traveler
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November 2011
Schönes Hotel und freundlicher Service”
Gute Lage
Schönes kleines Hotel, Gute Lage, Garage ist preiswert für Chicago, freundlich ......
Reviewed November 20, 2011
6.0
KIMIHIKO from Japan
Business traveler
1 Queen Bed - No Smoking
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
レビュー”
綺麗、部屋が広い、アメニティーの充実
駅からは歩ける距離ではあるが、結構遠かった。 少し歩けばレストラン等は充実してあるので悪くない。部屋は綺麗で大きいので、満足出来ると思う。
Reviewed October 10, 2014
7.0
Very good
NAOHIRO from Japan
Business traveler
2 Double Beds - No Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in December 2013
コンベンションで利用、リーズナブルなホテル”
価格が中心部と比較してリーズナブル、部屋が広くてきれい、無料Wi-Fi
マコーミッププレイスで行われたコンベンションに参加した際に利用しました。 中止部へは、CTAのベルモント(Belmont)駅まで徒歩10分ほど歩き、そこからアクセスできます。 中心部からは離れているので、その地理的なDisadvantageを除くと、部屋もきれいで広く、Wi-Fiも無料で、朝食もつき、1日につき500ml×2本分のミネラルウォーターもつき、コストパフォーマンスが高かったように思います。 ホテル代が高騰するコンベンションの時期に、少しでも安く泊まろうと考えている人にとっては、地理的な要因を除いては、コストパフォーマンスもよく、勧められるホテルです。
Reviewed December 31, 2013