Book Now: Beyond Resort Kata

Excellent
From 2022 reviewsSee what guests said
8.0
Recommended by 80% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (2022)Booking.com Reviews (269)
8.0
Excellent
From 2022 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.9
Facilities7.3
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service7.7
Value for money7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
ภาษาไทย
more
Room type
Superior
Deluxe Sea View
Pool Access
Premier Deluxe Room
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 1878 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Douglas from Brazil
Family with young children
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 5 nights in May 2017
Very good”
Great staff, room, breakfast. Super recommend for family with kids. You wont be dissapointed.
Reviewed August 25, 2017
4.0
Alfred from Vietnam
Business traveler
Pool Access
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Shame of the hotel property and management”
The management of this hotel should feel shame on all aspect of cleanliness in room especially room 1107. Stain and smelly. Reservation never keen to reply your email. Your call to reception put on hold more than 5 minutes and cut off. Staff were not hospitality staff. Overall not rated resort property. I wonder how the owner recruit the rm or gm to run this resort business. Such a shame. I do even wanna step my feet in this property anymore.
Reviewed August 16, 2017
5.2
Cleber from Brazil
Family with young children
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 9 nights in August 2017
Lazy staff.”
Housekeeping is the worst I have seen.Flush toilet didn't clean at all.Laundry bag with filled form and clothes to wash in front of their eyes and nobody touched it.Every time we had to ask for missing towels or shampoo to be refilled,soap.Breaskfast was good however every morning a caos as you have to look for a table so imagine people around with plates of food walking around and no table.We asked for a late check out as our flight was late night and they said all rooms were 100% booked so I booked one more night by Agoda and even they didn't asked me to change room so 100% booked?Seriously?Location is good,pool staff were nice.Overall they have a lot to improve.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
4.4
Lars from Thailand
Family with young children
Pool Access
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
Complete disaster”
There is probably no problem with this hotel under normal conditions. But now there are hundreds of construction workers the whole hotel is stinking paint, we also had painters on our patio for three days. At the pool area, there are only a lot of noise from angle grinders and nail pisols! The breakfast restaurant stinks paint! According to the hotel, agoda knows about this? we did not get that information from Agoda, it's bad in my opinion!
Reviewed August 01, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
AMREEK from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
The hotel and beach conditions were excellent even with the renovations going on .”
Was one of my best holidays , thanks to the staff . The beach was clean and so close to the hotel , which made it really good .
Reviewed July 25, 2017
5.2
Krystle from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Difficult to communicate change of booking before or during stay, different staff advise differently”
Before my stay I was due to arrive 2 days late due to change in flight. It seemed impossible to contact Kata Beach Resort so contacted Agoda to notify them of my change. Agoda needed 48 hours notice for a response & even after 48 hours wrote an email to apologise but still had no answer from Resort. When I arrived the Resort couldn't find my booking & charged an extra night as I arrived 2am. Fair enough, even though I'd already booked it. I then arranged late check out & agreed to additional charge. On final day was harassed by reception & cleaning to leave my room as they found no evidence of my late checkout. Just annoying overall. It wasn't a pleasant stay chasing my tail for things outside my control.
Reviewed July 20, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Ashraf from Yemen
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Amazing ”
Big hotel clean room amazing resort.
Reviewed July 13, 2017
6.8
Good
sarocha from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 6 nights in July 2017
The biggest problem was the hotel was being refurbished. The aircon smelled of glue and there”
Were workers all over the hotel, with work tools and making noise the whole day long. The hotel should have offered a discount.
Reviewed July 13, 2017
5.6
Vivian from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 6 nights in July 2017
Good facility , shame about the refurbishment going on around u ”
Clearly refurb did not consider clients
Reviewed July 13, 2017
8.8
Excellent
JOHAN from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 5 nights in June 2017
Excellent”
It's a very nice hotel. Tq for the hospitality. We would like to come back again
Reviewed July 10, 2017
4.4
FRANK from United Arab Emirates
Solo traveler
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Acceptable”
Busy with revamp, had to extend because of a storm, but it was very unpleasant with all the noise of construction, nothing was mentioned upon booking
Reviewed July 04, 2017
4.8
FRANK from United Arab Emirates
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Acceptable”
They were busy revamping the hotel This was not mentioned upon booking very disturbing
Reviewed July 04, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Guoji from China
Couple
Pool Access
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Good but not for young people”
The style is old compared with my last hotel. But it has its beach. But if you want to enjoy the sea and beach, PP island is better. breakfast is good. One thing, When I checked in they told me when I booked is out. They upgrade my room, but I still want my pool room
Reviewed June 17, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Anthony from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Excellent”
Best location on Kata beach. Renovations currently under way, but most comfortable beds and great layout with pools, bars and beach access.
Reviewed June 16, 2017
3.6
Shannon from Australia
Group
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Disappointment - Don't waste your time and money”
After waiting to check in for 20 minutes with no smile, welcome towel or drink on arrival to the hotel we noticed renovations were underway in the foyer and grounds which wasn't advertised in the Agoda booking. The room wasn't anything special, we had requested a pillow top mattress for comfort which wasn't met, the bed was like sleeping on concrete and the pillows uncomfortable. Breakfast looked dirty with flies hanging around and dishes not replenished. I asked for some cold milk for my coffee and the waitress said go get it, it's over there and pointed. Customer service at this place was terrible, no smiles and we waited at the pool bar for a drink which no one came to offer so we gave up and left the pool. We had enough so we called Agoda to see if we could discontinue our stay but of course the Hotel rejected it! bad form! False advertising and terrible Customer Service. I work in the Airline industry and won't be recommending to any customers or friends, Kata Beach Resort and Spa is a waste of good land as it has so much potential due to the grounds and location. It is extremely poor of the hotel to enforce their policies, when they are not advertising correctly. Thanks Agoda for following this up with me as we were able to relocate after numerous emails and phone calls. I travel all around the world and have extensive experience dealing with hotel chains and this is very poor standards. This is extremely not acceptable and I hate to complain as I never do but it's disgusting, even breakfast one morning had bugs crawling in the bread. I'm furious and decided to pay more money just to get out. Which Agoda accepted to reimburse with no thanks to the hotel. I later noticed previous reviews on their site of the kata beach resort stating the hotel is under renovation which they were not aware of but it is still not advertised on your site which I believe is false advertising. I also read that other travellers have sought compensation due to the renovation. Ove
Reviewed June 14, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Sharon from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in June 2017
Excellent”
Returned yesterday from Kata Beach and couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough. There are major renovations going on right now [which we weren't aware of] so we were a bit shocked on our arrival at the appearance of the foyer. We asked for a refund and fully intended to change hotels, however, we were offered a room upgrade and free Wi-Fi. The room overlooked both the pool and the beach and the outlook was fantastic. The staff were very friendly & attentive & we couldn't fault their service. The pool area was never crowded and the beach is lovely white sand. The room was one of the best we have ever stayed in & we have stayed in many over the last 35yrs. Other guests received free dinners and other bonuss to compensate for the renovations. Would stay here again.
Reviewed June 09, 2017
6.4
Good
Lauren from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Great location but the hotel as a lot of construction going on at the moment ”
The location is perfect but the hotel has a lot of construction going on in the lobby and at some of the restaurants so no one seems to hang out at the bar or the other restaurant) but therebis plenty of night life and restaurants nearby). Nice pool (although they should really take the fencing down in the baby pool area as it is an eyesore) and right on the beach.
Reviewed June 06, 2017
7.2
Very good
Hee from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Great location, but overpriced ”
I wouldn't suggest staying here unless you don't care about money. Everything in the resort is priced high. You could just as easily stay at a nearby lodgings and walk/bike it to the beach and rent a 100 baht umbrella and seat for a better view and situation.
Reviewed May 20, 2017
4.0
Joel from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Crap value for money”
Out dated hotel for the price you pay. Great location right on the beach. Room was smelly and had termites eating our bed base. Windows were dirty. Found the shower head to be bent and reported to hotel staff only to have them blame us for the damage and try to charge us 9000bht. Full of rude russians
Reviewed April 18, 2017
5.6
Lei from Malaysia
Family with teens
Pool Access
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017
Not up to standard”
Overall is good just hotel no Wifr provided in the room only at lobby. And the staffs are not helpful and poor in English, they should train the lobby staffs as most of stay in guests are Europeans. Even the clearner can be very rude and not responding. The same breaksfast everyday as i staying for 4 nights this can be very boring as Phuket are food paradise. The Tuk Tuk right in front of resort not honest as we requested to go Karon Town with the same fare they just dropped us somewhere with food and shop which is still a distance to Karon. Hotel are the one who recommended us to take the tok tok but they shall warn or tell us in advance. Anyway the beach are so beautiful and the pools are good for kids.
Reviewed March 27, 2017
5.2
Heida from United States
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Needs improvement”
Hope they finished remodeling the pool! But the eat of the hotel needs a makeover ! Overall, ok
Reviewed February 13, 2017
7.6
Very good
Sandra from Singapore
Group
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Great location ”
Hotel is at a great location. Cafes, restaurants and convenience stores are all within walking distance.
Reviewed February 10, 2017
6.0
William from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in December 2016
Breakfast selection limited. No internet access in rooms or outside. ”
Need Internet access in rooms and outside. Need more selection at meals. Need airport transfer service. Car service overpriced.
Reviewed December 26, 2016
8.4
Excellent
noppamas from Thailand
Group
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Good location ”
Good Location best service
Reviewed December 13, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Amrish from Mauritius
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016
Good”
Good beach resort
Reviewed December 10, 2016
7.6
Very good
Sven from Germany
Couple
Premier Deluxe Room
Stayed 16 nights in November 2016
Recommendable”
Super location, with sea view a dream, not too quiet but to relax well, many events in the surrounding area
Reviewed November 29, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Lori from United States
Couple
Premier Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Second trip to Kata Beach Resort”
I scored the staff lower this time. Maybe because they were busier than the last time, but I didn't feel the service was as good. Housekeeping kind of flipped out about getting us extra towels..."only 2 towels! It's rule!" And the pool bar staff were VERY slow to respond. We often moved the heavy umbrella ourselves and each time the staff didn't come to help until after we had FINALLY gotten the thing moved. And, they never smiled! Thai people are generally very kind and friendly people...? Plus, we booked transport to the airport, which is expensive, and the driver dropped us at arrivals, not departures. We had to take all of our bags up to the 3rd level to checkin...irritating. It is a good hotel, and I will definitely stay there again, but I will probably have a conversation with the manager next time I check in.
Reviewed November 28, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Sharnie from Australia
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in November 2016
Will stay again for sure ”
Excellent hotel. Very clean, modern and renovated rooms. Lovely and helpful staff. Perfect location right on the beach.
Reviewed November 13, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Adam from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Around with my Bro”
its good for families. Nice waves its was fun. Taxi expensiveeee. Food soso but u can find everything around. the beach is not privet a lots of tourist. but looks good and clean.
Reviewed November 09, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Jay from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
beachfront resort”
Great view!
Reviewed November 07, 2016
7.2
Very good
Grady from Singapore
Family with teens
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
Best location in Kaya Beach. ”
Best about this beach is location. It's on the beach and has a great pool. The rooms are dated. We had a recently renovated room yet it still had issues. But, it's comfortable and great bang for the buck.
Reviewed October 30, 2016
4.4
gavin from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Booked my annual holiday”
After being a customer of Kata beach for 28 years now ,i chose to go again ,booked in august for october only to arrive at the hotel with the deluxe rooms being renovated and the pool being repaired .The reception tells me this started in september ,which is no problem but failed to inform as if i had known would have chosen another hotel ,after numerous calls at great expense to agoda a comprise was made which is all well and good but my holiday was disrupted ,in defence of agoda they did try ,but i have decided my end of the year trip and future no further reservations with Kata group or Agoda ,the whole experience was totally unacceptable
Reviewed October 29, 2016
3.6
Cynthia from Australia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Room smell like rotten cockroach ”
The room was stinks smells like rotten cockroach and smells like molds, i have to open the window all the time, lots of mosquitoes in the room. I saw a cockroach in the buffet table when we went to their restaurant for a dinner. And so many mozzys in the reception sitting area
Reviewed October 21, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Pornpavee from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Nice beach but crowded”
This hotel is very big and has the beach in front. There are many foreigners at this hotel. The staff is friendly and the room is big.
Reviewed October 16, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Deon from South Africa
Family with teens
Stayed 6 nights in December 2015
Best Location in Kata”
We had a great stay. Hotel is expensive but the location makes it worth the money. Best location in Kata.
Reviewed October 16, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Colin from China
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in October 2016
If you like Pina Coladas...”
Great location and seriously not-half-bad for the price but the staff didn't really seem to have much English. That's forgivable. I understand, after all, it's Thailand, why should I go around demanding everybody speak English. What is unforgivable, however, what stands as an absolute affront to both God and Reason, is that their Pina Colada was nearly completely alcohol-less. In fact, I would go so far as to say that they did not know how to make a Pina Colada. For a beachside hotel charging nearly 300 baht for a drink, that is simply unconscionable.
Reviewed October 15, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Simon from Australia
Solo traveler
Premier Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
See below”
The air con was welll below expectation - the temperature was barely cool even if turned to zero
Reviewed October 14, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Mauro from Italy
Family with young children
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014
Been there many times”
Always good value for the money
Reviewed October 11, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Mauro from Italy
Family with young children
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 9 nights in August 2014
Good position and sea access (+)”
Aircon very noisy (-)
Reviewed October 11, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Mauro from Italy
Family with young children
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
Good quality for good price”
Good position, view and access to sea. Aircon in the room very noisy
Reviewed October 11, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Mark from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Great Value for the money,”
Kata beach is pretty slow, the is a good family resort, but if your looking for nightlife stay somewhere else
Reviewed October 09, 2016
7.6
Very good
Gary from United States
Solo traveler
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Nice hotel but no pool”
Would have been nice if either the hotel or Agoda would have notified me before my trip that the pool of the hotel was under emergency repairs and would be out for the rest of my 4 day stay. After complaining that the one free dinner was insufficient compensation, they gave me a 2nd free dinner and upgraded my room to a villa with its own private pool. With that I was very happy and enjoyed my time there. The location is great, staff are nice and once the pool is repaired (they told me by October 15, 2016), it will be a gem. I will stay there again next time in Phuket.
Reviewed September 19, 2016
6.0
Marcus from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in September 2016
Under Renovations ”
Little run down, comfortable pillows and beds. Very average buffets. though beach location good.
Reviewed September 19, 2016
5.2
jing from United States
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Horrible Customer Service”
The worst customer service I've never had especially the front desk ladies!!
Reviewed September 19, 2016
5.2
clive from China
Couple
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 14 nights in August 2016
Our view of Kata Beach Resort”
when using the hotel we were overcharged when we dined in their dining hall. After making a complaint about the quality and cost, we were given diner vouchers. The airport transfer was also disappointing. The cost of travelling from the airport to the hotel cost 400 Baht. the return trip cost us 1650Baht. On the last 2 days I suffered from food poisoning, having only used the Hotel to eat in. In addition to this, the outside pool area was closed, due to replacing the tiles.
Reviewed September 14, 2016
4.8
Darren from Australia
Couple
Premier Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016
Very disappointing vacility”
Despite the glowing reviews and pretty picture this place is old out dated and run down, no indication that they are refurbishing and pool is out of service. Other than the spa the whole experience was very disappointing even with the complementary vouchers. I will not stay here again.
Reviewed September 10, 2016
7.2
Very good
iryna from Denmark
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 8 nights in August 2016
fantastic location. You are paying only for the location”
We have been staying for 8 nights from end of August til beginning of September. The weather was fantastic- sunny and it was raining only in the evening or early in the morning. Unfortunately, big waves were everyday and we could not swim, but the beach is fantastic!!! We have driving around and only Kata Noi is better than Kata. If you would like to have bounty beach then you will have it there. Room was ok and personal was great! Helpful and service minded. The only minus they have that they need to be better at cleaning public places like restaurant. Tables and baby chairs are extremely dirty. If you take a wet white cloth over the table then it will be COMPLETELY DARK!!! This is not suitable for a four star hotel. After 4 days staying, my son of age 18 months got a stomach problem and he was sick for 5 days. They should be better at cleaning place where you eat. Another big minus. We are living in 2016 and even cheap place to eat has wifi but not the hotel. Even if you pay for the Internet, connection is so bad that even some Facebook pictures cannot be downloaded. Don't waste your money on their wi if at the room!!! Don't eat their 500 batt dinner buffet. Food taste nothing- for this amount you can get a delicious food and a drink in the city.
Reviewed September 04, 2016
5.2
toyoko from United States
Family with teens
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Room is old and need renovation”
Buffet at night is so bad and towels are old. In bathroom no ventration so after took shower room was so wet and ceiling paint coming off. Internet in the room is only one user, this is not acceptable for the money I paid.
Reviewed September 04, 2016
8.8
Excellent
peter from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Excellent”
Little bit dated but a planned renovation in the next couple of years will bring it back up to a fantastic hotel again but cant fault location.
Reviewed September 02, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Henno from South Africa
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Great location on the beach”
We booked Teo rooms however on arrival they were not connected so we got upgraded to an amazing enormous room with the best view of the ocean. For the best location stay here
Reviewed August 30, 2016