BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
HD Image
Economy Family - Room plan BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
Playground BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
Lobby BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
See all 34 photos
Removed from saved list
7.6
Very good
/10
(192 reviews)See what guests said
See map
7.9
Very good
Location rating score
Very good location
Parking
FREE
  • Australian Aviation Heritage Centre16.97 km
  • Stokes Hill Wharf20.25 km
  • Darwin Wharf Precinct20.31 km
  • Wave Lagoon20.49 km
  • Darwin Waterfront20.6 km
  • Crocosaurus Cove21.46 km
  • Berry Springs Nature Reserve22.55 km
  • Museum & Art Gallery of the Northern Territory22.62 km
  • Mindil Beach22.8 km
  • Defence of Darwin Experience25.25 km
  • agodaHomes

    BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park

    170 Whitewood Road Howard Springs, Howard Springs, Darwin, Australia, 0835 - See map
    "Would stay there again with fam."
    Edith - June 26, 2016
    Exceptional facilities on premise
    9.1 facilities on premise
    Excellent cleanliness
    8.0 rating for cleanliness
    Very good service
    7.7 rating for service
    Very good comfort
    7.4 room quality and comfort
    • Sauna

    • Air conditioning

    • Balcony/terrace

    • Garden

    • Squash court

    Cheaper than 93% of all properties in Darwin in the last 24 hoursCompared to 262 Darwin properties at Agoda for various dates
    Value for money7.5
    Distance to city center23km
    Location rating7.9
    Nearest airportDarwin International Airport (DRW)
    Distance to airport19.6 km

    Rooms available at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park

    Three-Bedroom Villa
    Three-Bedroom Villa
    ...
    • Room size: 80 m²/861 ft²
    • Balcony/terrace
    • 1 double bed & 1 bunk bed &...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Open Plan Suite
    Open Plan Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 40 m²/431 ft²
    • Garden view
    • 1 queen bed and 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    2 Bedroom Cottage
    2 Bedroom Cottage
    ...
    • Room size: 60 m²/646 ft²
    • Garden view
    • 1 queen bed and 1 bunk bed ...
    Enter dates to see prices
    1 Bedroom Villa
    1 Bedroom Villa
    ...
    • Room size: 55 m²/592 ft²
    • Garden view
    • 1 double bed & 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Economy Family
    Economy Family
    ...
    • Room size: 40 m²/431 ft²
    • Garden view
    • 1 double bed and 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Open Plan Ensuite Cabin
    Open Plan Ensuite Cabin
    ...
    • Room size: 40 m²/431 ft²
    • Balcony/terrace
    • 1 queen bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    House Two Bedrooms
    House Two Bedrooms
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      Cottage Two Bedrooms
      Cottage Two Bedrooms
      ...
        Enter dates to see prices
        Double Standard
        Double Standard
        ...
          Enter dates to see prices
          Double Queen Size Bed
          Double Queen Size Bed
          ...
            Enter dates to see prices
            Property ranking|Compared to 262 Darwin properties
            See all rankings
            Review score - United States
            9.2/10
            Cheapest price score
            Room comfort score
            7.4/10
            Room size
            49 sqm.
            Better than
            98
            %
            of Darwin properties
            Better than
            93
            %
            of Darwin properties
            Better than
            90
            %
            of Darwin properties
            Bigger than
            89
            %
            of Darwin properties
            Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

            Prices drop the moment you sign in!

            Sign in now
            More about BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park

            More about BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park

            9.6
            Exceptional

            "Friendly staff to boot."

            Nicholle

            |

            August 18, 2016

            Description

            Show less

            Most talked about facilities

            Housekeeping
            7 mentions
            Swimming Pool
            4 mentions
            Food & Dining
            1 mention

            What they offer

            Show less

            Nearest essentials

            Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
            Show less

            What's nearby

            Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
            Show less

            Property's guest policies

            Show less

            Some helpful facts

            Show less

            Reviews of BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park from real guests

            Overall rating
            7.6
            Very good
            From 192 reviews
            Provided by verified guests of
            Agoda Reviews (44)Booking.com Reviews (148)
            Rating via Agoda7.5
            /
            10
            Cleanliness8.0
            Facilities9.1
            Location7.9
            Room comfort and quality7.4
            Service7.7
            Value for money7.5
            High score for Darwin
            Rating
            9+ Exceptional (9)
            8-9 Excellent (8)
            7-8 Very Good (6)
            6-7 Good (6)
            <6 Below Expectation (11)
            Time of the year
            Mar - May (2)
            Jun - Aug (27)
            Sep - Nov (7)
            Dec - Feb (4)
            All guests (44)
            All room types
            All languages
            Showing 40 verified guest comments
            12
            9.6
            Exceptional
            Raelene from Australia
            Family with teens
            Open Plan Suite
            Stayed 1 night in January 2020

            Wish we stayed longer!”

            Easy to find with friendly staff. Only stayed one night but so relaxing we wished we had booked for at least one more

            Reviewed January 18, 2020
            10.0
            Exceptional
            Lisa from Australia
            Couple
            1 Bedroom Villa
            Stayed 2 nights in December 2019

            Top Spot for a Nice NT Break”

            We were given a really friendly welcome which was refreshing as weary travellers. The Cabin was clean and accommodating with fabulous air con. We would definitely call in again!

            Reviewed January 08, 2020

            Thank you for your lovely review and 10/10 score Lisa. We love making our guests feel welcome to our little piece of paradise and we are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation and stay with us. We look forward to seeing you next time!

            Responded January 09, 2020
            BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
            5.6
            Liudmila from Australia
            Family with teens
            Open Plan Suite
            Stayed 1 night in December 2019

            Not pleasant to deal with ”

            The old chubby guy at reception (who refused to give me his name) needs to take an anger management and people skills courses...

            Reviewed January 04, 2020
            8.0
            Excellent
            boonyong from Singapore
            Family with teens
            Economy Family
            Stayed 1 night in June 2019

            All round good stay at reasonable pricing ”

            Stayed in a economy family cabin . Only 3 of us but the room can sleep 5 ( abit cramp when you do that ). Great if you want to do some cooking for your meals. Overall clean enough …..

            Reviewed June 10, 2019
            8.4
            Excellent
            Alexander from Australia
            Family with young children
            Economy Family
            Stayed 1 night in November 2018

            Great Family friendly Accomodation”

            Clean park, reasonable accommodation, amazing children facilities, including multiple pools, water fun park, play ground, jumping pillow and pedal go carts for hire ☺we enjoyed cooking breakfast in the large outdoor kitchen whilst the children played, swam and pedalled around the park ☺

            Reviewed November 08, 2018
            2.0
            Alan from Australia
            Solo traveler
            1 Bedroom Villa
            Stayed 1 night in October 2018

            Acceptable”

            Need a refund arrived at park and it was closed did not stay

            Reviewed October 19, 2018

            Hi Alan, We are very sorry that you were not able to stay with us. As your booking come through after our office was closed, we only discovered that you had a dog when you called on arrival and unfortunately we do not accept pets in our cabin accommodation. As we were unable to accommodate your booking, our Night Manager advised you to contact Agoda to cancel your reservation so that you wouldn't be charged. Please contact Agoda directly to organise this.

            Responded October 24, 2018
            BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
            9.6
            Exceptional
            Nicholle from Australia
            Couple
            Open Plan Suite
            Stayed 2 nights in August 2016

            Perfect for our needs!”

            The villa was clean, great sized balcony, roomy with plenty of amenities and a super comfy bed. Friendly staff to boot. Will be back for sure, with the little one in tow as the facilities are great.

            Reviewed August 18, 2016
            6.0
            Paul from Australia
            Family with young children
            2 Bedroom Cottage
            Stayed 1 night in July 2016

            Abrasive staff.”

            Upon arrival I recieved attitude because I didn't have a credit card. I presented my Mastercard debit card which is good enough around the world to be used as a credit card but not here. Special permission was sort to allow me to use it for the bond. Mind you I had used the same card to pay for the accommodation the previous day on agoda. I am a local and travel into Darwin every couple of weeks and we thought we would give this place a go due to the facilities for the kids. Not again not for us anyway I wouldn't qualify again as I don't have a credit card.

            Reviewed August 01, 2016
            10.0
            Exceptional
            Catherine from Australia
            Family with young children
            2 Bedroom Cottage
            Stayed 7 nights in July 2016

            .”

            .

            Reviewed July 20, 2016
            9.2
            Exceptional
            Noeletta from Australia
            Family with young children
            2 Bedroom Cottage
            Stayed 1 night in July 2016

            Nice place outta town ”

            Loved it and so did my kids!!

            Reviewed July 19, 2016
            9.2
            Exceptional
            Edith from United States
            Family with teens
            Open Plan Suite
            Stayed 1 night in June 2016

            Short stay with family with 2 teenagers ”

            Only one night passing thru but loved the cabins!!!! Only little negative was a little mildew on the shower. Would stay there again with fam.

            Reviewed June 26, 2016
            8.4
            Excellent
            Philip from Singapore
            Family with teens
            1 Bedroom Villa
            Stayed 1 night in June 2016

            Good place for stop over”

            Howard Spring Holiday Park's self-contained cabin is a unique experience for us coming from Singapore. Although it's small but it has everything we need. The management takes initiative to organize something every day of the week. We were lucky to be there on Monday and experienced some good food. We wanted to continue explore outside Darwin but find it a bit too far to drive into Darwin every night. So it's good to stay in Howard Spring.

            Reviewed June 16, 2016
            6.7
            Good
            Robyn from Australia
            Couple
            Economy Family
            Stayed 4 nights in October 2015

            Darwin NT”

            Pool, airconditioning, close to small shopping centre

            Ensuite Cabin was comfortable for 2 people, air conditioning worked well.

            Reviewed October 12, 2015
            5.3
            john from Australia
            Couple
            Economy Family
            Stayed 3 nights in August 2015

            stove didn't work soap holder fell onto toe in sh”

            wer location clean

            average numerous faults in cabin would not recommend to anyone

            Reviewed September 10, 2015
            6.0
            ELLEN from Australia
            Family with young children
            1 Bedroom Villa
            Stayed 3 nights in August 2015

            Pleasant, peaceful stay”

            Pools, play areas, value for money

            It was convenient for us and good for the child. Hot water wasn't very hot and the shower kept going cold. We returned home one day to find no running water - checked with the neighbour who said it went off just after we left in the morning, Water was back on within 1/2 hour of being back. But none was told that it was going off or for how long. Otherwise the stay was pleasant and quiet .

            Reviewed August 17, 2015
            8.0
            Excellent
            ARIEL from United Kingdom
            Family with young children
            2 Bedroom Cottage
            Stayed 1 night in February 2015

            Weekend getaway”

            Good pool, good place and location

            Good for young kids

            Reviewed February 25, 2015
            4.7
            Christopher from Australia
            Couple
            Economy Family
            Stayed 3 nights in October 2014

            Close to southern sights”

            pool, shade,
            Reviewed October 27, 2014
            5.7
            Donna from Australia
            Family with young children
            Economy Family
            Stayed 4 nights in September 2014

            Cheap but cheerful.”

            The pool. The atmosphere. The chickens.

            Overall the Big 4 was nice. The pool was great for children and the atmosphere was family friendly. But there were no sheets in the cabin for the bunk beds, just blankets and pillows. The hot water system was not working and we had to wait 2 days for it to be fixed. The management did offer for us to either move into the cabin next door or just use the shower until ours had been fixed. But the cabin next door had not been cleaned after the family of 5 that was staying in it left, so we passed on both options. The location is ok, it's just 10 mins from Palmerston but our cabin backed onto a major road, so street noise was an issue. The in room safe did not work and the locks on the doors did not instil a great deal of confidence about security, so I found myself talking all my valuables with me, even to the pool. The TV remote control was broken - the number 2 didn't work and the batteries would not stay in. We had a major issue with ants, they got into everything even sealed plastic containers. The cabin needs to be refurbished and sprayed for ants! The staff were nice and apologetic. I felt sorry for them having to deal with the problems of an ageing park. Might stay again after the refurb...

            Reviewed October 05, 2014
            8.3
            Excellent
            YUANHAO from Singapore
            Couple
            Economy Family
            Stayed 1 night in August 2013

            Comfort”

            Small room, comfort, clean

            Value for money, we just stop here to relax, it is a nice place and staff so good.

            Reviewed July 28, 2014
            5.0
            Vanya from Australia
            Family with teens
            Economy Family
            Stayed 7 nights in July 2014

            Nice place to visit”

            Surroundings, activities, cleanliness

            Its a good spot, but felt that my concerns were completely ignored. The lock on our cabin door was faulty. I reported it on day one...nothing happened. As a naturally security consious person, this was of concern to me for our entire stay. The Tv didn't work, I reported this on day 2, and nothing happened..this made it very difficult with two young children in cramped quarters for a week.

            Reviewed July 15, 2014
            12

            Reviews of BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park from real guests

            Overall rating
            7.6
            Very good
            From 192 reviews
            Provided by verified guests of
            Agoda Reviews (44)Booking.com Reviews (148)
            Rating via Agoda7.5
            /
            10
            Cleanliness8.0
            Facilities9.1
            Location7.9
            Room comfort and quality7.4
            Service7.7
            Value for money7.5
            High score for Darwin
            Rating
            9+ Exceptional (9)
            8-9 Excellent (8)
            7-8 Very Good (6)
            6-7 Good (6)
            <6 Below Expectation (11)
            Time of the year
            Mar - May (2)
            Jun - Aug (27)
            Sep - Nov (7)
            Dec - Feb (4)
            All guests (44)
            All room types
            All languages
            Showing 40 verified guest comments
            12
            9.6
            Exceptional
            Raelene from Australia
            Family with teens
            Open Plan Suite
            Stayed 1 night in January 2020

            Wish we stayed longer!”

            Easy to find with friendly staff. Only stayed one night but so relaxing we wished we had booked for at least one more

            Reviewed January 18, 2020
            10.0
            Exceptional
            Lisa from Australia
            Couple
            1 Bedroom Villa
            Stayed 2 nights in December 2019

            Top Spot for a Nice NT Break”

            We were given a really friendly welcome which was refreshing as weary travellers. The Cabin was clean and accommodating with fabulous air con. We would definitely call in again!

            Reviewed January 08, 2020

            Thank you for your lovely review and 10/10 score Lisa. We love making our guests feel welcome to our little piece of paradise and we are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation and stay with us. We look forward to seeing you next time!

            Responded January 09, 2020
            BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
            5.6
            Liudmila from Australia
            Family with teens
            Open Plan Suite
            Stayed 1 night in December 2019

            Not pleasant to deal with ”

            The old chubby guy at reception (who refused to give me his name) needs to take an anger management and people skills courses...

            Reviewed January 04, 2020
            8.0
            Excellent
            boonyong from Singapore
            Family with teens
            Economy Family
            Stayed 1 night in June 2019

            All round good stay at reasonable pricing ”

            Stayed in a economy family cabin . Only 3 of us but the room can sleep 5 ( abit cramp when you do that ). Great if you want to do some cooking for your meals. Overall clean enough …..

            Reviewed June 10, 2019
            8.4
            Excellent
            Alexander from Australia
            Family with young children
            Economy Family
            Stayed 1 night in November 2018

            Great Family friendly Accomodation”

            Clean park, reasonable accommodation, amazing children facilities, including multiple pools, water fun park, play ground, jumping pillow and pedal go carts for hire ☺we enjoyed cooking breakfast in the large outdoor kitchen whilst the children played, swam and pedalled around the park ☺

            Reviewed November 08, 2018
            2.0
            Alan from Australia
            Solo traveler
            1 Bedroom Villa
            Stayed 1 night in October 2018

            Acceptable”

            Need a refund arrived at park and it was closed did not stay

            Reviewed October 19, 2018

            Hi Alan, We are very sorry that you were not able to stay with us. As your booking come through after our office was closed, we only discovered that you had a dog when you called on arrival and unfortunately we do not accept pets in our cabin accommodation. As we were unable to accommodate your booking, our Night Manager advised you to contact Agoda to cancel your reservation so that you wouldn't be charged. Please contact Agoda directly to organise this.

            Responded October 24, 2018
            BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
            9.6
            Exceptional
            Nicholle from Australia
            Couple
            Open Plan Suite
            Stayed 2 nights in August 2016

            Perfect for our needs!”

            The villa was clean, great sized balcony, roomy with plenty of amenities and a super comfy bed. Friendly staff to boot. Will be back for sure, with the little one in tow as the facilities are great.

            Reviewed August 18, 2016
            6.0
            Paul from Australia
            Family with young children
            2 Bedroom Cottage
            Stayed 1 night in July 2016

            Abrasive staff.”

            Upon arrival I recieved attitude because I didn't have a credit card. I presented my Mastercard debit card which is good enough around the world to be used as a credit card but not here. Special permission was sort to allow me to use it for the bond. Mind you I had used the same card to pay for the accommodation the previous day on agoda. I am a local and travel into Darwin every couple of weeks and we thought we would give this place a go due to the facilities for the kids. Not again not for us anyway I wouldn't qualify again as I don't have a credit card.

            Reviewed August 01, 2016
            10.0
            Exceptional
            Catherine from Australia
            Family with young children
            2 Bedroom Cottage
            Stayed 7 nights in July 2016

            .”

            .

            Reviewed July 20, 2016
            9.2
            Exceptional
            Noeletta from Australia
            Family with young children
            2 Bedroom Cottage
            Stayed 1 night in July 2016

            Nice place outta town ”

            Loved it and so did my kids!!

            Reviewed July 19, 2016
            9.2
            Exceptional
            Edith from United States
            Family with teens
            Open Plan Suite
            Stayed 1 night in June 2016

            Short stay with family with 2 teenagers ”

            Only one night passing thru but loved the cabins!!!! Only little negative was a little mildew on the shower. Would stay there again with fam.

            Reviewed June 26, 2016
            8.4
            Excellent
            Philip from Singapore
            Family with teens
            1 Bedroom Villa
            Stayed 1 night in June 2016

            Good place for stop over”

            Howard Spring Holiday Park's self-contained cabin is a unique experience for us coming from Singapore. Although it's small but it has everything we need. The management takes initiative to organize something every day of the week. We were lucky to be there on Monday and experienced some good food. We wanted to continue explore outside Darwin but find it a bit too far to drive into Darwin every night. So it's good to stay in Howard Spring.

            Reviewed June 16, 2016
            6.7
            Good
            Robyn from Australia
            Couple
            Economy Family
            Stayed 4 nights in October 2015

            Darwin NT”

            Pool, airconditioning, close to small shopping centre

            Ensuite Cabin was comfortable for 2 people, air conditioning worked well.

            Reviewed October 12, 2015
            5.3
            john from Australia
            Couple
            Economy Family
            Stayed 3 nights in August 2015

            stove didn't work soap holder fell onto toe in sh”

            wer location clean

            average numerous faults in cabin would not recommend to anyone

            Reviewed September 10, 2015
            6.0
            ELLEN from Australia
            Family with young children
            1 Bedroom Villa
            Stayed 3 nights in August 2015

            Pleasant, peaceful stay”

            Pools, play areas, value for money

            It was convenient for us and good for the child. Hot water wasn't very hot and the shower kept going cold. We returned home one day to find no running water - checked with the neighbour who said it went off just after we left in the morning, Water was back on within 1/2 hour of being back. But none was told that it was going off or for how long. Otherwise the stay was pleasant and quiet .

            Reviewed August 17, 2015
            8.0
            Excellent
            ARIEL from United Kingdom
            Family with young children
            2 Bedroom Cottage
            Stayed 1 night in February 2015

            Weekend getaway”

            Good pool, good place and location

            Good for young kids

            Reviewed February 25, 2015
            4.7
            Christopher from Australia
            Couple
            Economy Family
            Stayed 3 nights in October 2014

            Close to southern sights”

            pool, shade,
            Reviewed October 27, 2014
            5.7
            Donna from Australia
            Family with young children
            Economy Family
            Stayed 4 nights in September 2014

            Cheap but cheerful.”

            The pool. The atmosphere. The chickens.

            Overall the Big 4 was nice. The pool was great for children and the atmosphere was family friendly. But there were no sheets in the cabin for the bunk beds, just blankets and pillows. The hot water system was not working and we had to wait 2 days for it to be fixed. The management did offer for us to either move into the cabin next door or just use the shower until ours had been fixed. But the cabin next door had not been cleaned after the family of 5 that was staying in it left, so we passed on both options. The location is ok, it's just 10 mins from Palmerston but our cabin backed onto a major road, so street noise was an issue. The in room safe did not work and the locks on the doors did not instil a great deal of confidence about security, so I found myself talking all my valuables with me, even to the pool. The TV remote control was broken - the number 2 didn't work and the batteries would not stay in. We had a major issue with ants, they got into everything even sealed plastic containers. The cabin needs to be refurbished and sprayed for ants! The staff were nice and apologetic. I felt sorry for them having to deal with the problems of an ageing park. Might stay again after the refurb...

            Reviewed October 05, 2014
            8.3
            Excellent
            YUANHAO from Singapore
            Couple
            Economy Family
            Stayed 1 night in August 2013

            Comfort”

            Small room, comfort, clean

            Value for money, we just stop here to relax, it is a nice place and staff so good.

            Reviewed July 28, 2014
            5.0
            Vanya from Australia
            Family with teens
            Economy Family
            Stayed 7 nights in July 2014

            Nice place to visit”

            Surroundings, activities, cleanliness

            Its a good spot, but felt that my concerns were completely ignored. The lock on our cabin door was faulty. I reported it on day one...nothing happened. As a naturally security consious person, this was of concern to me for our entire stay. The Tv didn't work, I reported this on day 2, and nothing happened..this made it very difficult with two young children in cramped quarters for a week.

            Reviewed July 15, 2014
            12
            This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

            Back to search results

            Back to room choices

            |

            Dismiss

            BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
            |Very good 7.5
            ×
            Check in. Step out.
            Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

            • Very good location
            • Australian Aviation Heritage Centre