Book Now: Blue Water Dalat Hotel

Very good
From 347 reviewsSee what guests said
7.2
/
10

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (347)Booking.com Reviews (2)
7.2
/
10
Very good
From 347 reviews
Cleanliness7.0
Facilities6.1
Location8.9
Room comfort and quality7.1
Service7.1
Value for money7.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (347)
All room types
Showing 293 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Chan from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
Cosy hotel”
The hotel is a bit old but location is near city centre within walking distant to the scenic lake. Across the road is the hotel restaurant by the lake. The downside is staff not fluent in English. The room is spacious but there foul smell on pillow, needs to improve for hygiene purposes. Otherwise all is well n value for money.
Reviewed October 19, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Van from Vietnam
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Good location! Nice room! ”
Staffs should be more active. Yard is pretty dirty after breakfast, should have housekeepers clean it up right after that. Nice room with a perfect view to Ho Xuan Huong lake. Ony 3mins to the market. When I sent a special request, should have staffs respond my message.
Reviewed March 02, 2018
9.3
Exceptional
LOC from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
A nice hotel in the center”
Friendly and helpful staff, great location, nice room
It was great to stay in this hotel. It is in the center but very quiet. The room was clean and nice. The staff was friendly. The location is an advantage as it is quite near the central market where you can get different services.
Reviewed November 01, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Graham from Australia
Solo traveler
Stadard Double
Stayed 4 nights in May 2014
More than adequate.”
Lake views, close to all ammenities and a no frills comfortable room.
This I believe was my 5th stay at this Hotel. It would seem the hotel has now been taken over by the restaurant opposite on the lake so things may change in the future. My stay here was as usual very relaxing. Staff were most courteous and efficient and my room clean, of a good standard and comfortable. The hotel is like a home away from home for me with all amenities within walking distance so I was most happy with my stay here and would go back again in the future.
Reviewed June 24, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Yong from Malaysia
Group
Stadard Double
Stayed 4 nights in March 2012
very nice and good hotel that i stay in dalat !!!”
Accommodation,location,,service,, personnel , and value are all excellent..the hotel have a Good View// Lake infront of hotel..
The hotel is very nice and good that i never stay before in dalat ....it has a very good view on the lake,it just in front the hotel and can be overlooking it...it near to the market and city..very good location ...
Reviewed April 04, 2012
2.4
jean-noel from France
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
A disaster...”
In a 3 weeks trip in Vietnam, it was the most expensive and the worst hotel. The room was a mess : bathroom with a lavatory seaking and a clogged shower, not to mention the stench. We ask to change room : the show us the room next door which was in the same condition. Latest room : only single bed for a couple, and the bathroom was in a poor state but functional. No discount, no cancellation with refund and a great waste of time since nobody at the reception was able to speak english (we had to use translate tool to vietnamese to be understood). And the cherry on top : a breakfast almost inexistent with a poor quality. We had chosen this hotel because its good notation, but the only nice part should be its restaurant on the lake.
Reviewed June 14, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Cong from United States
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Good hotel to stay in Dalat if there is dícount”
The breakfast í not vẻy good dủing the week because there is not enough customers residing in the hotel. The coffee is not good, it was burning and dark because it was kept hot for long time and not be renewed The staff is good, very nice and friendly The location is perfect for the night market and centre of city
Reviewed April 15, 2018
6.0
seow from Singapore
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
Best location overlooking the lake and next to the city market”
searching for resort like accommodation in the city centre away from the crowded hotels and yet walking distance to the shopping , then look no further and its the right choice here.
Reviewed November 28, 2018
4.8
Toan from Vietnam
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018
Acceptable”
Nice location but the staff was not nice. Additional costs are high and not reasonable.
Reviewed October 30, 2018
8.4
Excellent
ha from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
good location and friendly staff”
breakfast can be provided in more choices staffs are keen to assist
Reviewed August 31, 2018
6.4
Good
Jessica from Vietnam
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
Great location but more cons than pros.”
Great location - easy to walk to the market and restaurants in the area. Apart from the location there’s is very little to give a positive review on. The bathroom sink was leaking badly and then fixed with a rubber band of sorts. The plugs on one side of the bed did not work. You could not switch off the lights in the cupboard. The area was noisy - music, loud people coming and going constantly, have doorbells rung at 6 in the morning, being called at 6 in the morning only for them to have called the wrong room - it was not a peaceful get away from the city. If going to Dalat again I would rather find anothe place to stay.
Reviewed September 03, 2018
6.0
Loke from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Great hotel ruined by inconsiderate staff”
The hotel is great with popular restaurants and a pub/cafe within it premises. What marred the experience is as follows:- No buffet breakfast - quote "not enough guest", when all tables were filled with people! Staff who smoke right below the second floor unit, having their smoke fumes whiffing right into our room, cause we left the windows open for the crisp fresh cold mountain air. Staff who put us in a room with the tiniest of windows, even though the other 2 rooms were empty all the days of our trip!! Staff who did electric sawing right below our ONLY tiny window and disturbed us, closing the window did not help. Staff who talk so loud that closing the window only muffled 40% of their voices. If the above means nothing to you, it should be the perfect hotel.
Reviewed September 04, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Nhu from Vietnam
Group
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Worth the stay, very relaxing, lovely and friendly”
The hotel is quite cute with the purple roof, classic decoration, room with very basic and old decor but bed was comfortable with super nice bathroom (old style and with my personal expectation). Food is nice also (breakfast), the restaurant is opposite right next to the lake, love the environment but cost for restaurant is not cheap but worth the paid. Really recommend it and definitely comeback again in future
Reviewed July 08, 2016
7.2
Very good
Boon from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Old hotel next to the beautiful lake”
It is slightly on the small hill over looking the lake. Nice location except the sound proving needs to improve as noises from outside could be heard clearly in the room. Some of the furniture need to be replaced.
Reviewed June 22, 2016
7.7
Very good
DANG from Vietnam
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Good location, Poor breakfirst”
Lovely place, very good location
I and my wife spent 2 nights at Blue Water Hotel. Our first impression were the purple color that make the hotel very lovely and unique among the others nearby. The room looks a little bit old but it's quite comfortabe and we loved it. The hotel is located right on the side of the Ho Xuan Huong lake and it's just about 500m to the Dalat market. I have to say the hotel's breakfirst were so poor. We didn't have many options, so the second day we decided to eat outside. Overall we feel it's worth staying at the hotel. One thing I would recommend to the hotel management is that you should improve the quality of breakfirsts or remove it completely form your offer.
Reviewed November 24, 2015
7.0
Very good
Van from Vietnam
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Good choice!”
This hotel has lake view and friendly staffs. Rooms are wide and clean
I felt comfortable when staying there. Staffs are warm and friendly. There is motorcycle service with cheap price. Breakfast is not really good because not too much options to choose, but vietnamese cuisions is tasty. There's small yard in front of hotel with lake view - the best place we have sit to enjoy coffee :)
Reviewed September 23, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Darya from Ukraine
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Quiet corner with lake view”
location, view,
Overall the hotel is nice, quiet, with lake view, edible breakfasts and 5-10 minute walk to a market street. But be ready that most of staff speak little to no English and ask for a second floor and rooms further away from stairs (the last one, overlooking the lake is perfect), as in rooms on the 1st floor and on 2nd close to stairs you could feel as a fish in the tank - there are other guests passing through and anybody could throw a look inside the room.
Reviewed December 30, 2014
4.3
Teng from Singapore
Family with young children
Stadard Double
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Worst hotel.”
We were given the room on the Ground Floor. Upon opening the door, there was a foul smell coming out from the room. We then ask the reception if they do have any air freshener to spray into the room but was given a negative answer. The Toilet seat is stained with yellow stain. The hotel should at least change the toilet seat to make the guest feel comfortable. My daughter and myself did not even use the toilet seat as we find it terrible dirty. Not only our room which I had occupied but the toilet in the other room is also very dirty. There were insects dropping on the seat of the toilet. Even thought we had prepaid for the room for 3 nights stay but we checked out the next morning instead to a better hotel which is more like a hotel. I truly would discourage anyone looking at Bluewater hotel to not even hotel.consider this.
Reviewed September 25, 2014
7.0
Very good
Cuong from Vietnam
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Quite enjoyable.”
Nice views. Center. Quiet.
It's quite a cozy small hotel. It's old but has its own attractiveness. The views to the lake is quite nice; it's one of the famous lake of the city. It's located on the hill side so the view is quite good. A small patio/terrace with fountains overlooking the lake in front of the hotel is good for those who just want a leisure time around the place. It's opposite to those hotels that you don't have anywhere to relax outside the room.
Reviewed July 17, 2014
8.0
Excellent
THI from Vietnam
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
okay for price, not suitable for old people”
location
the location is super, opposite the lake and night maket (within walking distance), outside decor is lovely however the hotel room is abit stuffy (it would be okay during cold weather, not summer time). The hotel has 2 block of stair cases to clim up from the street so it made my old parents a very hard time. it's more for young people
Reviewed May 22, 2014
7.0
Very good
Graham from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
Adequate and enjoyable”
Room size and cleanliness, reasonably quiet with lake views and handy to city sights and amenities
Quiet and very relaxing. I am not sure if this hotel has changed hands but food service seems to have slipped with one day only continental or american breakfast available and the next day a limited buffet breakfast. Also the hotel is starting to show its age but the old world charm and french architecture plus setting overlooking the lake compensate for that and I would certainly stay there again.
Reviewed December 04, 2013
8.0
Excellent
ENG from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
This Hotel is close to the lake, and restaurant”
good breakfast, firendly staff, walking distance to Lake Restaurant
Although the Empress Hotel has limited rooms but location is excellent, near the beautiful lake n the Famous Lake Restaurant. Will recommend friends to the hotel. However must book early as I miss this opportunity twice fully booked.
Reviewed August 23, 2013
4.3
Siew from Malaysia
Family with teens
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
hotel is beutiful but front desk is horible.”
beutiful
The hotel front counter people are not honest; they informed you one thing but when checking out is another. They are not polite at all. They also give wrong information. I think they were very money minded. Sorry to said that I really had a very bad experience with them. I was cheater by these people.
Reviewed December 10, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Sin from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Love it!”
Nice view, very helpful staff
I booked the hotel at the very last minute and Im lucky enough to get the last room they have. The room is huge, clean, and way above my expectation. Lovely scenery from the balcony as it is facing the lake. I have to take a cab to get to the street with bars/ restaurants and Easy Riders but it's only a 5 - 10 mins ride. Staffs are really helpful and speak good english. Breakfast is nice with a mixture of local and western food. Am very happy with my stay here.
Reviewed November 18, 2012
7.3
Very good
Jason from United States
Solo traveler
Stadard Double
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Not bad for the price and location”
Location, building exterior and courtyard
The Empress Hotel is neither a 4-star western motel nor a developing-world dive. It is a very comfortable, lmid-priced Vietnamese hotel. And that suited me just fine. The Empress is in an ideal location on a bluff overlooking an urban lake. The lake has a nice 5 km brick-paved pathway running around it and is ideal for a walk or run. Wander out of the hotel to your left, and you're 5 minutes from the well-reviewed V Cafe and other bars and restaurants. Turn right and you're 5 minutes from the Dalat market and the beating heart of town life. The property exterior is lovely, and I especially liked the courtyard overlooking the lake. The rooms are a little dated but comfortable. The bedding wasn't boutique-chic white, but it was functional. I found no evidence of either insects or insecticides. In fact, I have only two complaints about the rooms: mine was directly adjacent to the maids' pantry, which made it noisy in the a.m. Secondly, the wiring is old, and the only outlets that would take a standard American-style plug were the outlets powering the fridge and a shaver outlet in the bathroom. The staff were friendly and spoke passable English. The breakfast, including scrambled eggs, was served cold but filled me up. I'd give the property a 3 out of 5 - acceptable but not extraordinary - but it gets an extra point for the outstanding location. If I can offer some constructive feedback to the hotel's management, it would be: - Invest in upgraded wiring and new bedding. - Install burners under the buffet trays at breakfast to keep the food hot. - Don't put guests in rooms near the maids' pantry unless the hotel is full. Do those things, and you'll satisfy most of your critics.
Reviewed October 16, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Dan from China
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
nice view,great location,exotic old buidling”
nice view and very good locatioin
we stayed in Empress Hotel for two nights in Dalat.I liked this hotel it is in a very good location which you walk out your room and you can see the beautiful lake there.and the hotel around is very quite easy to fall asleep ,cozy .However the hotel facilities seem very old not changing a bit since it built.The sheets seem not so clean.The staffs are litte cold and do not speak English expect the reciption. I recommend to stay here if the they make the sheets much cleaner and upgrade there facilities.It is a nice small warm hotel to spend your vacation time.
Reviewed October 14, 2012
8.3
Excellent
bin from Singapore
Business traveler
Suite
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
A haven for all overseeing the beautiful lake”
Staff very helpful with reasonable price
A haven ( empress hotel) overseeing the beautiful lake which is refreshing for the mind n the good location add to the advantage of the close walking location of the dalat market. Especially , if you are laxiing at the hotel garden area which gives the relaxation mood a better boost to the body n mind that touch the heaven(sky) n earth( lake surrounding). Indeed relaxing n both refreshing
Reviewed October 08, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Vajirune from Thailand
Family with teens
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
A boutique hotel atop the hill, overlooking a lake”
Conveniently located by the lake and a 3-minute walk to the town! Enjoy the cool temp of about 25C and lower all year round. 
If you love jogging and a quiet stay, this is just the right place for you! The hotel is atop of the hill. All rooms overlook the lake. It takes only a few steps from the hotel, crossing the street to the lake in front of the hotel. There is a good footpath around the lake that you can safely walk or jog any time, from early morning till night. After the walk/jog, you can just walk to town, which takes only 3 minutes. There are a lot of cafe and also street foods in the evening. Shopping for most items can be bargained, usually as much as 50%, lower than the original price quoted.  For sightseeing, ask the hotel to call a taxi for you. For only 40 US dollars a day, you can hire a taxi for all-day tour. You can visit as many as 8 places a day without having to hire a tour guide! Enjoy your visit to Da Lat.
Reviewed September 17, 2012
8.0
Excellent
YAP from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
comfortable and relaxing with attentive staff”
gd view, big rooms,hot heater and gd beddings
this 3 star hotel staff attentive, honest, helpful and patient. very good location indeed. bluewater cafe is right below the hotel. dalat city market just within 5 mins. central of all sight seeings locations. gd choice of staying at empress hotel.
Reviewed September 10, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
patrick from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stadard Double
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
great view and people”
great location and friendly services of the staff
i arrived dalat late in the afternoon after almost 10hours of bis travel fromsaigon.when i rwached the hotel i immediately noticed that it was located with a greay view of the ale just opppsite where it was located.it has a old european style and decoration, i was at the 1st level of the hotel(only two floors), the room was bigand spacious with an old asian european style and decortion,it was clean,bathroom was big and clean, with a separte shower room.the only thing that i believed they need to impirove was the hotel aintenance,when i used the flush was not working properly and 2 ligth were busted,i reporeted to the receptionist and they immediately fixed the problem. if you want to make up theroom mke sure you will do it before 12noon because make-up services was not 24hiurs.i believed that water heater must be available at the rooms,since the cold weather of dalat mkes you have a hot coffe and noodles,but they werefriendlu to givee me hot wqter evertime i asked them.during my check out the receptionist named hoańg anh was very helpful, because i was short of vnd for my travel back to saigon but he gave me an extra vnd tellonh me iys okei necause i have no tome to go to the ank sinve iys early morning.he was reallu awesome, and sure i will be back in this hotel.
Reviewed August 20, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Yang from China
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Good location and Nice service”
Good location
The hotel is nice and in google location, just face to the lake, you can hv a good view in the garden of the hotel, and not far from Sinhtourist office and central markart. Room is big enough for 2 persons. Hope they can hv a water heater in the room, which will be more convenient, anyway, you can go to get hot water for drink at reception, they are very helpful also.
Reviewed June 19, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Jenny from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Close to town & opposite Xuan Huong Lke”
Central location
Nice hotel, clean rooms & pleasant helpful staff. Caters more for Vietnamese tourists than 'others'. Easy walk to town, markets & eateries. Huge trees in hotel garden are home to cicadas which perform each evening at dusk.
Reviewed May 04, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Yat from Hong Kong
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
Hotel in hostel style”
Very relax
The staff was super friendly to introduce the nice restaurants and scenes to us, and helped us book a car with friendly drivers to bring us around. English is good for the stuff. Happy experience to stay here!
Reviewed April 18, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Ronald from Australia
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Comfortable room with friendly staff”
Comfortable room, nice veiws from the garden area over the lake, very friendly and helpful staff
My wife and I stayed at the Empress Hotel for two nights and found the room very comfortable and the location perfect for a morning walk around the lake and a short stroll to the markets in the Da Lat town square in the evening. Breakfast was limited but adequate and fresh. We found the staff very helpful and efficient at all levels with our breakfast waiter literally running in and out of the kitchen. The manager not only spoke good english but ensured that guests were well catered for providing a positive example to the other staff. An enjoyable experience and would definetly stay again.
Reviewed April 18, 2012
7.3
Very good
Lucille from United Kingdom
Group
Stadard Double
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
Well established old hotel”
Location overlooking lake
friendly, efficient greeting on arrival and room ready. no tea/coffee making facilities in room though a thermos of hot water was provided minus tea/coffee !! hotel now in need of some refreshing as decor looking a little "tired" and does not do justice to the hotel's fantastic location. a very european feel to this hotel and i would happily pay a little more per night for up graded facilities.
Reviewed March 25, 2012
8.7
Excellent
PETER from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
Beautiful location for R and R in Vietnam”
Location, location, location
Dalat and the Empress Hotel was a welcome place to recharge and escape the heat of Vietnam. The hotel overlooks the lake in the centre of town and the central market is a five minute walk. The hotel has a great breakfast buffet and the dining room is delightful. Our room was the Deluxe and overlooked the lake with a lovely courtyard. There is a great restaurant across the road, on the lakeside, serving fabulous food.
Reviewed March 21, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Pilaipan from Thailand
Group
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2012
Vintage Hotel/ Good view”
Good View// Lake infront of hotel
pros - good view // lake in front of the hotel - fair service - near market , center of town , near bank - good location - nice room with air condition cons - quite old - a lot of mosquitos - small dining area
Reviewed March 09, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
neel from Denmark
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012
Romantic hotel, great location”
Location, staff, small hotel - boutique
We really enjoyed our stay at the Empress. Great location, spacious roms and nice bathrooms - good wifi, nice courtyar looking the lake and close to the market. Staff very friendly - the breakfast could have been better - at least a second serving of coffee. Lot of places in the immediate surroundings ro eat - and the golfcourse is just around the corner, a bit expensive, but looks beautiful.
Reviewed February 18, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Mark from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 5 nights in November 2011
very good location”
lake views, yet close to the town
this is a very comfortable hotel, with great service and on the lake, yet close to town and market. the staff where very helpful and provided everything you asked for very quickly. we would stay there again.
Reviewed November 29, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Jennifer from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2010
An Empty Lake!!!!!”
Large Rooms. Meals available on site.Walking distance to central market and shopping.
No interaction from Staff whilst in dining room. Not friendll a we ad experienced in other places.
We booked this place because it overloooked a much publicised 5km long lake popular for honeymooners. We arrive evening and looked forward to morning to view the river. Water had gone and only red mud.(Every 10 years they drain it and clean it out - our timing was not good)We enjoyed the proximity for shopping, short and long walks and had all our meals in dining room. Food excellant.
Reviewed April 09, 2010
9.7
Exceptional
Carole from Australia
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 2 nights in February 2010
Nice ambience, great location, good value”
Location is perfect, near lake and centre of town, nice view. Helpful, friendly staff, delicious breakfast.
Shower fitting was tricky, had to wedge in a shampoo bottle lid to make it spray in the right direction.
We were very happy with this hotel, it was in a lovely location, walking distance to the centre of town and it has a lovely courtyard overlooking the lake. It has a lovely French feel. While they didn't have an electric jug in the room, they brought boiling water whenever we requested. Staff were very helpful, showed us on a map how to get to places, most of which were walking distance. Very good value hotel, nicer than we expected for the price.
Reviewed February 18, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
Artemis from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2009
An excellent small hotel”
Best location in Dalat, overlooking the lake and close to the markets. Very good value for money. Clean and Staff very friendly. Cable TV
The food quality on the restaurant needs to be improved. A lot of steps to climb to get to lobby but the view compensates.
A relatively small boutique hotel. Very well positioned and closed to the centre of town including the night markets.We had the deluxe room upstairs overlooking the lake. Large and very comfortable. Our friends had a standard room also upstairs next to us which was a little smaller. Both were very clean. The hotel had free internet(a single computer). We would happily stay there again. I have been told the ground floor is not as good but as we did not stay there I cannot confirm this. Also privacy in some of the rooms could be an issue for some as the main windows overlook the access balcony that guests use to get to their rooms.
Reviewed July 15, 2009
8.3
Excellent
Artemis from Australia
Group
Stadard Double
Stayed 2 nights in July 2009
An excellent hotel”
Best location, very clean, good price, friendly staff.
Need to climb a lot of steps to get to lobby. The breakfast could be a little better but still good. The restaurant food can do with lot of improvement.
We stayed at the hotel 2 nights. The location is the best in town. Opposite scenic lake very close to markets and middle of the city. We stayed on the second floor on the lake site and were very happy with the rooms.
Reviewed July 08, 2009
5.2
david from Vietnam
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Totally run down facility”
Our room was in a totally run down condition. It was in great need of deferred maintenance. Also, even though we paid for a deluxe room, it was like a cave with no view of anything. We then had to pay a premium extra fee to even get a room with a view. Also the free breakfast was terrible. The only good thing I can say about the hotel is the good personality of the staff
Reviewed February 27, 2018
2.4
Su from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Nothing good about this hotel, couldn't wait to check out”
The location was very noisy and the bar downstairs played loud music till late night. Staff do not speak English well. The breakfast had very little choices and no one refilled any food or drink. So expect to eat leftover food when you get to eat breakfast after 8am. Awlful coffee! No TV signal in the room, when we called the reception, a guy came up to check and he said "No TV".
Reviewed February 19, 2018
5.2
HUAN
Family with young children
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in November 2018
Classical bathroom and toilet”
You can’t find any water spray or hose near toilet. It’s mean you have to be familiar with tissues when you want to do any kind of action in restroom. Only one exception is public toilet.
Reviewed November 09, 2018
6.8
Good
Huong from Vietnam
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
Everything good but breakfast”
I have booked for my parents vacation. They were very happy with the location, view and decoration. Facilities old, but ok for them. However, breakfast is poor and tasteless. Need to improve.
Reviewed October 29, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Wong from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2010
romantic ”
romantic hotel
Reviewed August 12, 2017
8.4
Excellent
HAI from Vietnam
Family with young children
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Nice Stay, Nice View, Poor breakfast”
Very nice location. breakfast is very poor.
Reviewed March 14, 2017
9.3
Exceptional
Wong from Malaysia
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Clean and convenient”
Friendly staffs, convenient, clean
overall good services.
Reviewed January 26, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Hai from Vietnam
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Good location, romantic decoration & design”
Location, Architecture
It's in centre of the city, nearby HoXuanHuong lake, convennient for walking, cafe, shopping...
Reviewed September 10, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
h from Vietnam
Family with young children
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
nice hotel”
near Xuan Huong Lake
Such a nice hotel, a little bit old but it's good with reasonable price. Near Dalat night market and Xuan Huong Lake. Easy to find
Reviewed November 07, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Richard from United States
Business traveler
Stadard Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
very nice hotel,,,best I've stayed in DaLat VN. ”
accommodation,location,,service,, personnel , and value are all excellent
I've stayed in several hotels in DaLat over the past 6 years,,,,I'm surprised I've never stay at the Empress before,,,,but I will stay there from now on. It really is very good.
Reviewed March 29, 2012
8.8
Excellent
Chi from Vietnam
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Excellent”
Very good for location and facilites
Reviewed April 09, 2018
2.8
Tung from Vietnam
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Terrible hotel”
Nothing acceptable except convenient location (city centre) Staff: unfriendly. Breakfast: extremely poor. They only prepare food which you will deny at first bite. No service staff Restaurant: terrible food Room: old Toilet: dirty
Reviewed July 10, 2017
2.0
Neil from Australia
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Worst Hotel I have ever stayed at. Not recommended. ”
Upon arrival, only a security guard there. Reception had gone home & Manager off site. In the room it was not like the photos on Agoda. Also no towels provided, we got them 3 hours later. First 1 towel, then 2nd towel 10 mins later by some guy who smelt of alcohol & smoke. Bathroom floor had a puddle of water. Aircon/heater couldn't be used as it made a loud squeaking noise. When we saw guard & complained he said many guests complained. Tour operator a few hundred metres away down the road has loud announcements that can be heard in the room from 8am to 8pm or longer. The room decor was clean but older and showed it's wear over the years. Ceiling panel under the aircon was falling off and had a 50cm gap showing. The breakfast was equally a poor standard. Only one staff member (a housekeeper) in the morning bothered to smile or greet. We called Agoda in the evening to request a cancellation & move to a different hotel. Agoda were very good in arranging this.
Reviewed December 28, 2016
4.8
Cong from United States
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 5 nights in February 2016
Bad Bad Bad”
Every morning, they burn leaf instead throwing to trash so the smoke go through the exhaust fan to the room, I had to open all door and go out waiting for smoke gone. And I told them I have early flight but no one there for me to check out. Lucky I keep my passport because I paid them in advance, so security guard let me go. I stay there 5 night in February 2016. Never go to to this hotel again.
Reviewed October 20, 2016
6.4
Good
Robert from United Kingdom
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Loud and breakfast let down”
Each morning we were awoke at 6.15 by staff and other guests who seemed to have a lack of respect for other people within the hotel. We went for breakfast at 8am only to find a very limited amount of food and drink. We were not offered anymore, or any form of hot food. On our last day we went down at 7.20 to find a full display of food, waiting staff and people being offered hot food. Seems if you miss the initial rush you get no service at all. We have stayed in better quality hotels around Vietnam for a fraction of the price. The quality of the room couldn't be faulted but unfortunately everything else was lacking.
Reviewed July 01, 2016
7.6
Very good
Ha from Vietnam
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Nice and good view”
I love purple and want to live somewhere near the market so that's why I chosen this hotel. It was amazing purple color and cozy atmosphere in the daytime and night. My room had the river and street view so I love it. Even though the breakfast was poor, the facilities was not new and clean at all and the customer service was terrible but I tolerated just because of the color and place.
Reviewed February 16, 2016
4.7
Van from Vietnam
Group
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
poor staff”
the view, location convenience
Even though i've booked in advance citing a lake view, and it's not even travelling/ holidays season, the hotel just ignores the request and tried to fit us to the rooms at the back with no window/ view. We had to argue and after which they gave us rooms in front (ie. they DID have rooms available). HAve to stay after arguing was not nice/ comfortable. And this not happened once, but several times. The stuffs/ furniture/ blanket/ toilets are from 1900s, it smells. The bed is not comfortable. The receptionist services are really poor, not responsive (even though the cleaners are nicest). We left in front of their eyes without realising we're not getting our IDs back for our flights. When we returned, they said "Oh we thought you would swing by to get your IDs". On another time I arrived there around 8pm, they don't even take care of my luggages, explaining the doorman was off that day. Wouldn't the receptionist supposed to give a hand instead?! I would like to rate 0 for those receptionists.
Reviewed November 02, 2015
2.0
Royston from Singapore
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 4 nights in May 2015
Worst hotel ”
This hotel was so bad I ended up staying at a totally different hotel and forfeiting the money which I had already given to this hotel (a good 5 days mind you). I have never done this before. The striking reasons are: 1. It's way too old, with very minimal work done to improve the current state of the rooms (later we talked to a hotel staff from our new hotel and they told us this hotel is 25 years old!), I felt I could have caught some disease just sleeping on the bed. 2. We were given one of the rooms on the first floor, didn't feel safe at all, especially when there's no locks on the windows. 3. Breakfast is barely fantastic, you will never want to wake up early for it. I'm indeed sorry for the harsh words, and I really could add more to this; but there's been so little done to improve such an old hotel that I cannot mince them. Don't let the locale of it being right in front of the river be an attractive point for you: Dalat is a small place, you can make do with any decent hotel near the Dalat market (Cho Da Lat). This hotel has been the most glorious waste of my money.
Reviewed June 06, 2015
2.7
Duo from China
Solo traveler
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
about the worst hotel i have ever stayed in”
location
location is the only thing i can say is good. staff there was terrible and indifferent to my request, a look at the breakfast made me decide to go out for breakfast and ohhh, the room condition is awful. by the way, i was given the room on 2nd floor just next to the staircase, despite my various requests both online and face-to-face to get a room as faraway from the staircase as possible, and despite the fact that they do have those rooms available. i couldn't do anything but hope that that night does pass quickly. if there's one thing i can say to fellow travelers, that is 'forget about this hotel'!
Reviewed April 07, 2015
5.0
Le from Vietnam
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
Good location, poor facilities”
Location, Atmostphere, View
Nice stay in terms of atmosphere but facilities including bed covers, linens were too old and very discomfort. Room is not sound proof hence annoyed. Slow wifi connection. A very good location that brought value but garden was not properly taken care of hence quite a pity. There should have been more staff attendance though the hotel was not full. Given romantic environment, there should be human touch to make the stay enjoyable.
Reviewed October 25, 2013
5.3
Gavin from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
Just acceptable”
View of lake
We chose it because it was next door to where family were staying. One good thing about it was the large room with a view of the lake . Otherwise, it was just acceptable. Breakfasts are a lottery: if there are enough people staying, a buffet of sorts is available, otherwise all you get is bread, toast if you ask someone to warm the bread, a scrape of butter and some jam, coffee or tea. Even fruit juice was unavailable until we protested and someone went and bought some. The buffet, when available, is minimal and, surprisingly in an area abundant in fruit, with little offered. Our fridge did not work and despite asking twice for it to be fixed ( the power plug did not fit into the wall socket!) nothing was done. The place must have been nice in its day but now shows its age and lack of investment in maintenance. Staff were pretty laid back but friendly. Not high on the places to recommend: only just acceptable, but then it is only two and a half stars and shows it.
Reviewed August 03, 2013
6.7
Good
FUJII from Japan
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Old facility but good location”
Location, View, Price
We stayed there for 3 nights. It is a good location, about 5 minutes to Darat Market. And a little hig place, so it was a good view of lake because there is in front of the lake. And more, price is moderate. But, facility is not so clear. Bed, chair, and more were not so clear. I thought it was a moderate price thinking of facility. Only a little unsatisfy. Above all, possible to enjoy holiday.
Reviewed May 12, 2013
6.7
Good
Oleksandr from Ukraine
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Atmospheric setting but bad service. ”
Great setting and location, nice oldie atmospheric rooms, view of the lake from the garden
Everything that is good about this hotel is in its building, setting and location. The rest is not so good. You don't feel welcome there, more like a livestock that brings money to them. Don't be very hopeful about breakfast when you book on agoda. Breakfast is simply horrible. They say you're entitled to continental or buffet breakfast when latter is available. It wasn't available both days we were there. So we opted for continental and it was the worst breakfast we had in Vietnam (even though we lived in twice cheaper places before). It goes like that: Instant juice (made from powder, we didn't drink that) Some bread & old butter (stinks) One spoon of jam Cold tea that has no taste at all. When we asked to upgrade to American breakfast and get some omlette, they charged us 35000 VND per person which was half of breakfast cost somewhere else. I asked for a map and they handed me a poor photocopy which was unusable. We enjoyed the setting and rooms but we would never come back to this place. This little details and attitude can spoil the fun and emotion. Not recommended.
Reviewed January 16, 2013
5.3
Adam from Australia
Family with teens
Stadard Double
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Great Location but some issues”
Old world style of building, nice grounds, close walking distance to market, restaurants, across from the lake. Large rooms, although quite dated and in need of renovation. Dinner in restaurant was OK if you don't fell like going out.
Breakfast would be OK if they lit the burners under the buffet trays. So scrambled eggs were cold - every day. I don't normally complain much but I just don't understand this - the breakfast was probably the worst of all the hotels we stayed in in Vietnam. The reception staff were friendly - but the service in the restaurant is terrible. Also, they never changed the placemats or tablecloths on the tables and the placemats were really dirty - turns you off your food. Breakfast is definitely designed with Vietnamese clientele in mind - but since it's cold, I noticed not many of them ate it either. They have room safes but they don't work - probably because they are very old. This was the same on 3 rooms out of 3 that we tried. The first room our sons were in was dark and smelt a bit moldy - but they changed to an upstairs room next day. Be aware that the double rooms are all on the ground level - if you want a balcony room, you will have to have a twin room. The balcony rooms are a bit noisier as you hear the noise from the road along the lake more, but I preferred them as they feel a bit more airy and fresh. They did not tell us about the airport bus that will pick you up for cheaper than a taxi - though they did book a taxi for us. Airport transfers are not included in the price - but be aware that it is a long way to the airport - taxi fare was $25 US. We were there for 3 nights and were pleased to move on. This could be a good hotel, if these issues were fixed. At the moment, I wouldn't recommend staying there as the two main things it has going for it are location and "old world" architecture - but these do not outweigh the negatives. We thought this was expensive for what you got.
Reviewed January 04, 2013
7.7
Very good
Vu from Vietnam
Couple
Stadard Double
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Lovely hotel with good location”
Small but lovely hotel with nice garden. Nice restaurant with good breakfast. Great location - XuanHuong lake in front, and market within walking distance.
the hotel is located on a "hill" and looks lovely. it has a nice garden where you can rest and have a good sight to xuan huong lake in front. it is a little bit old but that makes it an ancient and peaceful looking. breakfast is good with both local and international foods. the breakfast is served at 6:30, however, when we went down earlier (we need to leave the hotel at 6:30), the staff did prepare faster so we could have breakfast. the hotel is just in walking distance to many places: market, walking town, night market (everyday). you can also take a walk (10-15') to the cock church or city's garden. we like our stay at dalat in this hotel that is suitable for both business and travel. will comeback.
Reviewed October 30, 2012
7.3
Very good
Michael from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
close to town and markets as well as the lake ”
scooter hire available at the hotel
we only stayed a few days but found the staff helpful and the location suitable the breakfast was ok for me but better for my wife who is vietnamese , our room was large and the condition was good given the hotel seems fairly old, in general we thought it was good value for money and would stay there again
Reviewed October 16, 2012
4.7
Sarah from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Stadard Double
Stayed 5 nights in July 2012
Great location but unhelpful reception staff”
Great location on the lakeside
One of the reasons we chose this hotel was because it stated airport transfer. Our flight was unfortunately two hours delayed because of bad weather, but there was no-one from the hotel to meet us. We were mobbed by taxi drivers when we came out of the airport but not knowing what was the correct fare, we phoned the hotel to ask where their driver was. They were far from helpful and gave several, contradictory, reasons why the driver was not there. We made four telephone calls to the assistant manager to request assistance, but in the end a helpful airport security guard telephoned for a metered taxi for us. We ended up paying a very large amount to get to the hotel. When we arrived we complained and eventually the manager arrived and refunded our taxi fare and said the hotel would provide a free return journey. However, on the day of our departure the receptionist demanded that we pay for the return fare, and it was only after a heated exchange that she finally agreed to check by telephone with the manager, who obviously agreed to the free return fare, but she did not even acknowledge that we were right. The room we were given did not overlook the lake, was quite noisy from the restaurant next door, and the secure inroom safe was not attached to the wall. The lights in the room also failed twice. The breakfast was ok, but nothing special, although the dining room staff and cleaning staff were very pleasant. However, we think this hotel trades on it's good location rather than making guests feel welcome. There are plenty of other hotels in Dalat. We will definitely visit Dalat again, but stay at another hotel.
Reviewed July 18, 2012