This property is in high demand!
9 travelers have booked today.
Location rating score
"Excellent location, rooms are good and value for money."
Manman - January 27, 2020
9 travelers have booked today.
I'm looking forward to my next stay at the blue waters hotel , Food and staff were amazing .
Yolande | February 24, 2020
Location is Excellent,Awesome food & helpful staff.Nice stay will sure visit again.
Aniruddha | August 21, 2019
The hotel is few steps to the beach and is very clean and breakfast is excellent
promise | January 31, 2020
The staff are friendly, the breakfast has a great variety of quality dishes.
lola | January 17, 2020
I stayed at room 1714, The room was clean and in an classy standard.
simelane | November 11, 2019
New Swimming pool is very nice and always clean and checked.
sylvia | January 6, 2020
120 meters to the beach
Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!
|Value for money||8.1|
|Distance to city center||2.0 Km|
|Nearest airport||King Shaka International Airport (DUR)|
|Distance to airport||26.8 km|
Check-in is from 02:00 PM, and check-out is until 10:00 AM. You may request early check-in or late check-out during booking, subject to availability. Guests checking in or out before or after the designated periods may be charged an additional fee. The hotel offers luggage storage to guests for before check-in and after check-out. The front desk is always open, day or night.
For those who wish to drive their own cars, Blue Waters Hotel has a car park on site, as well as additional parking nearby if the first car park is full. Parking is available for a fee of 95 ZAR per day.
Blue Waters Hotel does not permit smoking in any of its rooms, but allows smoking in designated areas.
Mein | April 1, 2019
Nerisha | February 20, 2020
Robert | March 11, 2020
Located in the lovely area of North Beach, Blue Waters Hotel enjoys a commanding position in the casinos, restaurants, beaches hub of Durban. The excitement of the city center is only 2.0 Km away. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations.
Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Blue Waters Hotel is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. For the comfort and convenience of guests, the hotel offers 24-hour security, daily housekeeping, wheelchair accessible, 24-hour front desk, facilities for disabled guests.
All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. The hotel's recreational facilities, which include sauna, golf course (within 3 km), squash courts, garden are designed for escape and relaxation. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Blue Waters Hotel hits the spot in many ways.
Yolande | February 24, 2020
Children and extra beds
All children are welcome.
|Guest's age||Extra bed|
Children 0-2 year(s)
Stay for free if using existing bedding.
Extra beds may be requested directly from the property; additional charges may apply
Guests 3 years and older are considered as adults
Extra beds may be requested directly from the property; additional charges may apply
Extra beds, if available, are dependent on the room you choose. Please ask the property for more details.
Blue Waters Hotel
Show reviews that mention
Lovely hotel, smiling service & great location”
Blue Waters Hotel has been an icon on the Durban beach front for many years. It was pleasant arriving at the hotel to be welcomed with a smile & efficiently booked in. I made a belated request for a cot for my 1yr old grandson on Agoda & was pleased to see that it was already in the room when we entered. The rooms are a fair size and very clean. I think all rooms must have sea views and from our balcony we could see the Moses Mabida Soccer Stadium and the north coast 'beautiful!' Breakfast the next morning was most enjoyable - especially the omelettes made to order! A high chair was produced for the baby. I would love to be able to spend several days at the Blue Waters.
This hotel is being refurbished and so a mild degree of discomfort may be experienced BUT the hotel management staff are trying their best to minimise the impact. Anyway, one should spend one's days on the beach directly opposite the hotel, enjoying the warm Indian Ocean waters. The Blue Waters hotel is an icon in Durban, and many honeymooners will recall it with great nostalgia. It still exudes an air of a bygone era, with its massive dining area and comfortable lounge. The rooms are comfortable, but not elaborately furnished. Our room had a tiny balcony that was put to good use with a late afternoon bottle of sparkling wine (oh, dear, one is not allowed to say champagne...) being consumed. The establishment offers great value as is reflected in its popularity.
The Blue Waters Hotel must be one of the best-kept secrets about Durban. Great location, wonderful staff, great breakfasts. Upon our arrival we were greeted warmly and check-in took all of 5 minutes. The room was spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was a feast and my husband was in love with the waffles! We will definitely return.
Waters, blue in colour”
The hotel is in a lovely location, and in a wonderful city, maybe it is because i have a certain bias towards Durban, but it is certainly my favourite city in South Africa. I have found the staff to be very friendly and always willing to help. Safe location next to all the restaurants and pubs (oh yes!). The room i had occupied is a very spacious, beautiful and above all quiet room. I enjoyed both my sleeping time and my waking time (wish they could provide a large bed instead of two quarter beds slumped together though), and i could sit and attend to my work in their study overlooking the beach. When i got bored i could sit around the balcony and have a bird's eye view of the lovely Durban, looking at the vast ocean stretching as far as the eye can see. What a wonderful world! For the price i paid, this is a grreat value for money, breakfast included, and this could not have been more fitting in this hard financial times we are facing. More of that please!
Balmy Blue Waters - what a gem!”
Blue Waters Hotel offers a true beach holiday stay. With the sound of the waves lingering and a swim in the Indian Ocean is literally across the road from the hotel. This hotel is renowned for it's great food and now boasting with a pizzeria linked to their bar, makes for a perfect Friday night chill out. The hotel is perfectly situated, within range of most amenities in central Durban. A nice jog down to Ushaka Marine or a quick walk to the famous Suncoast Casino is all within your reach. Recent upgrades to the hotel makes it more attractive... All in all a great weekend getaway for me...
I spent ten days in blue waters hotel and I have to say that I had a really good time there. The location is great, the breakfast is really good with a lot of choices, and the staff is really helpful. If I have to go back to Durban, I will definitively go back there.
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the amazing service you received. As service professionals in the hospitality industry we continually strive to offer exceptional service and meet our guest expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Yours in Hospitality, Lindie Lotriet, Guest Services Manager
We had booked quadruple sea facing room for 4 of us (2 young children), room was spacious, sea front and high floor, all beautiful. Excellent breakfast, 15 mins drive to/from hotel to major attractions of Durban. Safe walking/jogging at the beach. We had to pay for the parking and pool water was too cold and is indoor, 1m deep. Other hotels do offer hot water pools. Overall its fantastic hotel, and it was awesome experience. 5 mins walk to Suncoast cinemas, casino & major restaurant chains.
great hotel n service”
we enjoyed our stay at blue waters,it was completely safe for our kids,spacious rooms,lovely views n very good service. the breakfast was really good.we will definately be staying at blue waters again and will recommend to all our friends and family.we also got a very good deal through agoda and will continue booking through them. thanks
Simply enjoyed our stay @ blue waters 😊”
Pro's •rooms were clean and tidy •staff were friendly and helpful •sea view was perfect •breakfast was amazing Cons was very disappointed with the indoor pool facilty as we were unable to use it as there was a function booked for both our days stayed at the hotel ... I think it's very unfair that the indoor pool area can be booked and guests cannot use it ... the main reason I booked at blue waters was because of the indoor pool ... so very disappointed... I dont think that facilty should be booked out as it is very unfair on the hotel guests...
Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the amazing service and treatment that you received during your stay with us. We have noted your points where we have not met your expectations and are looking for ways of how we can improve on this. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Yours in hospitality, Kirsten Anthony, Guest Services Liaison.
Blue waters is a very nice place”
Blue waters is a very nice place to live, and enjoy your stay in DURBAN. People here are very nice and kind, close to the beach, close to the Casino, close to the shopping mall.
lovely convenient hotel beautiful rooms”
my stay was amazing, i loved the cleanliness of the hotel and also the convenience of it being near all the main attractions of durban. the views of the beach from the room are absolutely stunning this hotel can be used from anything to a fun time in durban with friends to a beautiful romance with your significant other. this hotel is an absolute gem.
Beautiful hotel with luxury all round!!”
What a beautiful, modern hotel. As a short getaway for my spouse and our 1.5year old baby girl, this was such a treat! The rooms were beautifully decorated, the staff always exceptionally friendly and helpful and the FOOD served in their breakfast / lunch buffet lounge was to die for! An absolute pleasure, at a FANTASTIC rate! Thanks Agoda, and Blue Waters for a wonderful experience... Almost sad it was such a short stay, but we'll definitely return for a longer one!!
Nice experience ”
Room rates are a bit steep but the one I stayed in had everything what I needed. Excellent view, comfortable bed and large screen TV with exceptional DSTV options. Breakfast is quite nice and served in very cozy restaurant. Buffet dinner is a bit shy of roast meat(only one to choose from) otherwise it is presented well and worth the price. Stuff very friendly and helpful. Air conditioning in the restaurant however, is not working evenly, leaving some areas pretty warm. Lifts should also be airconed because it was extremely hot inside while coming down. It will be my first choice hotel when I come back to Durban for a visit again.
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you received excellent guest service from our staff members. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Yours in Hospitality, Lindie Lotriet, Guest Services Manager Remove Edit
happy but no communication of the changing ”
I always spend my new year At blue waters hotel and I must say I was feeling happy and excited on new years eve because at Dolphin they were organising DJ's and nice music. This time I was disappointed because it was closed earlier and there was nothing that was arranged as it normally happen. more over the tickets for shaka marine we normally get them at the hotel but even this time we were not told that we wont get them anymore. cleaniless and breakfast is good I love the standard and its now big and bright. I love the supervisors at the dining hall they are so friendly and they do their work with passion. I cant wait to come again as its my home. try to communicate with us especially for changes because it is disappointing when you bring people and find that everything has changed
Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you had a lovely stay with us. The Blue Dolphin Bar does close early if it is not busy, usual closing time is at 10pm. We still do sell Ushaka tickets at Blue Waters Hotel during off peak season. The time that you were staying with us was during peak season, reason as to why the tickets were unfortunately not available. We look forward to your return stay with us. Yours in Hospitality, Kirsten Anthony, Guest Services.
it was okay, but when it comes to cleaning of rooms not pleased as would like beddings to be changed at least every day as we are closer to the beach and in and out of room, besides when replacing towels they send them in quiet late. ladies at accomadation needs to have a smile and be hospitable, i have had an experience of asking an extended stay for two hours as i was awaitng my transport ,i was rudely said till 11 as though she was doin me a great favour. i would rank bellair suite a top stay hotel anytime then best service and staff i cant tell that for blue waters ,not to impressed but had no option but to take it the price was worth it
For All Seasons”
The Blue Waters Hotel have been my destination for over a decade. The warmth of the staff and the treatment is overwarming. In the decade I am talking about I have checked out other superior institutions but their hospitality and warmth cannot be compared to Blue Waters Hotel.
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Yours in Hospitality, Lindie Lotriet, Guest Services Manager
When I made a booking in beginning there was only a option of north coast view for family room of 4. We were only 2 people and had no choice.When we booked in we kindly asked for a full sea facing room. At the desk they went on the system and first said there is a room available but it will cost more. The lady mentioned R800 difference. I was willing to pay R800 EXTRA. Then she gave the schoking news that its R800 per night which will be total of R3200 ADDITIONAL. I then said no its not acceptable. Then she made a phone call and mentioned it can be settled for a once off payment off R800. I then accepted it. My problem is as follow..1. When I made a booking the week before there was no option of a full sea view room for only 2 people. 2. At the desk there was a room available.. 3.I was penalized by paying more for a smaller room than the room for 4 people. Normally its just the oppisite.. Im getting the impression that the Blue Waters hotel is more concerned to cater for foreign visiters and neglect our countries own citizens from inland that also need a brake but cant afford travelling overseas for the benefit. I hope its not the case because we are an white couple. Overall the service and accommondation was exceeding my expectations and it was a wonderful 4 nights stay. The environment was save and we felt secured. Kind regards SP.Grobbelaar
Dear Steven Your interest and concern are much appreciated. We do from time to time run specials on certain room types that are not selling as well as others. Should a specific room type be available one day but not on the next is dependent on guests confirming or perhaps cancelling their reservations. We strive towards excellent customer service for all our guests and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Blue Waters Hotel again in the near future. Yours in Hospitality, Monique Hattingh, Front Office Manager
I won't stay any other place in Durban , this is my 10th visit to the Blue Water Hotel and it is still the best place to be.
Great location, scenic views and lovely breakfast.”
Always a great stay at the Blue Waters Hotel. However: it is high time they invest in an ice machine and not charge guests for ice. I was also refused by a staff member to hold onto something in their fridge for a few hours as they don't have bar fridges in the rooms and it's their policy not to hold onto things for guests in their fridges... But, a lovely hotel and I always return there...
What a Stay...”
My stay at Blue Waters Hotel was magnificent. The hotel was the cheapest with the greatest service ever... their friendly staff members knew what guests wants, inside the rooms u got everything you need from bedding to relaxation... the food was also welcoming