Book Now: Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

2017

Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Reviews

Excellent
From 2484 reviewsSee what guests said
8.0
Recommended by 85% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (2484)Booking.com Reviews (582)
8.0
Excellent
From 2484 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.0
Facilities8.0
Location7.9
Room comfort and quality8.3
Service8.1
Value for money7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
한국어
English
日本語
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Deluxe (Run of House)
Suite
Premier Deluxe
Royal Bungalow
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 2140 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Anne from Philippines
Couple
Double Or Twin Standard
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Absolutely loved it!”
We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of service and amenities, given the relatively low rates. We didn’t expect the resort to be so beautiful. Some additional costs may be considered pricey by some, but it was worth every penny. PROs: - gorgeous and spacious room with bathtub - good variety of food options inside the resort - close proximity to other restaurants, cafes, grocery, etc (either walking distance or via tricycle) - wonderful and attentive service - clean white-sand beach - well-maintained facilities (pools, grounds, etc) - offers resort activities (we took the island hopping tour with lunch and snorkeling. The staff was friendly and took great care of us. The food and service was amazing!) - themed buffet offers a diverse dining choice. We tried the Thursday buffet (Southern Delights) and treated to a great selection of food and desserts. Cost is php 1k-1.5k pax. CONs - did not respond promptly to our email inquiries, and website was down and not too informative - cost of in-resort food and activities may be considered pricey for some (we were able to check out the resort rates ahead of time, so we were prepared. Rates may be comparable to standard Makati, Manila rates) - sink in our room was semi-clogged, so it took a while for water to go down RECOMMENDATIONS: - contact the hotel ahead of time to check out rates of restaurants and activities, so that you can better anticipate the cost. If you find it too pricey, there are several nearby restos (we recommend Maribago Grill, Cafe Rico) - If you can manage the budget, head over to The Cove for lunch. Fresh seafood, and fantastic view - if you choose to go island hopping, avail of the freshly cooked lunch vs the packed lunch. For 2pax, we were served food enough for 4pax (grilled chicken, fish, pork, puso, and fresh fruits) - make sure to bring all your necessities as the in-resort store is quite expensive. Or you can purchase what you need from the nearby groceries (Savemor
Reviewed March 24, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Paul from Philippines
Family with young children
Suite
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Very nice service”
I stayed in Bluewater with my husband and baby for a night and we really enjoyed our stay there. Our room is huge and our t&b is really nice!!! kudos!
Reviewed March 21, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Wing from Hong Kong
Group
Suite
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Relaxing vacation”
Stayed for the last two days of our vacation just to chill and do nothing. Beach front room, very very clean, huge bathroom which is very a bliss after staying in 3 stars hotels for days, shower hot enough unlike other hotels in Cebu WiFi working in most places of the resort. Beach was very nice, big enough. Pool seems a bit small though but we stayed on beach area most of the time. Food of course a bit over-priced but not too bad. Breakfast was quite good with a range of different selections.
Reviewed March 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Dhrupti from United Kingdom
Couple
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Great location, facilities and good value for money”
After a slightly disappointing start, we were welcomed by Gene the food and beverages manager who made sure every aspect of our stay was comfortable and memorable. We would definitely stay at Bluewater Maribago next time we visit Cebu/Mactan.
Reviewed February 28, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Myriam from France
Couple
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Very good but far ”
It is a very good hotel. Bedroom was spacious, clean and modern. The hotel was very nice and we also enjoyed the spa. Very kind people. The breakfast was very tasty and full of choices ! I recommend this hotel but keep in mind it is far from Cebu since there is a lot of traffic (it can take up to +1hour). If you're staying for a short time and don't plan to go too often to cebu, then it is perfect !
Reviewed February 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
BONGHA from South Korea
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Very good to travel Cebud”
Everyone working in the hotel was very kind and the room condition was also cozy and clean. Above all, the breakfast was quite good.
Reviewed February 12, 2018
6.8
Good
Margarita from Philippines
Family with teens
Double Or Twin Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Nice hotel, incompetent staff”
I made an honest mistake of declaring the wrong number of guests that I only realized upon check-in. Anyway, it should not have been an issue as I booked 2 deluxe rooms(can accommodate 2) & even got an upgrade to Amuma Spa room. But then, I was being charged P3,500 per room for additional breakfast as the booking I made was only for 2 guests. 1.) Why charge additional after giving an upgrade to a room that can accommodate 3+ people? (we're 4 people, 2 in each room) 2.) Why is there a need to call the Manila office to resolve this when the manager on duty could done so? 3.) Why charge P3,500 per room when the worth of 1 buffet breakfast could have easily served 2 set breakfasts instead (which I suggested as an easy solution). I know it was my booking mistake that started this but I replicated the booking that I made but with the correct number of guests and the cost is still the same. No additional charge. Special thanks to Nica of Allegro resto for helping resolve the breakfast issue.
Reviewed February 02, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Elmira from Canada
Couple
Double Or Twin Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Very good”
Friendly staff. Great food
Reviewed January 31, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Jeff from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe (Run of House)
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Wonderful location. ”
Beautiful, excellent facilities and food. The rooms near the road are VERY noisy and we waited 7 hours after our check in time for a room to be ready.
Reviewed January 30, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Severino from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe (Run of House)
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Exceptional”
Great food, rooms and staff. Could be better had there been "more" beach than pools but so much for the limitations of space and property.
Reviewed January 18, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Curtis from Canada
Couple
Deluxe (Run of House)
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Impressed”
Excellent resort, great staff ,, terrific layout and amenities with great dining!
Reviewed January 12, 2018
6.0
JUNGHAN from Philippines
Couple
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Beautiful beaches”
Beautiful beaches and friendly staff were also able to spend a good time.
Reviewed January 11, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Dongjoo from South Korea
Family with young children
Suite
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
was good”
good condition and good location
Reviewed January 08, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
MAY from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe (Run of House)
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Exceptional”
nice place for a vacation
Reviewed January 07, 2018
7.6
Very good
BRUCE from Australia
Family with young children
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
Family Holiday”
The resort was clean and tidy, with plenty of facilities and friendly helpful staff. The food and drinks are quite expensive and the management should review this if they want to encourage the guests to stay in more.
Reviewed December 26, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Angelita from United States
Couple
Deluxe (Run of House)
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Beautiful ”
Like the food and entertainment
Reviewed December 17, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
JINSUNG from South Korea
Family with young children
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Excellent choice”
Bluewater was the excellent choice. It was more than what I expected. Very clean room and kind staff. Ideal location enable us to reach commercial area. Breakfast good as well. Appreciated!!
Reviewed December 13, 2017
6.4
Good
steven from Australia
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Good”
Some positives but mostly negatives Firstly the buffet breakfast is excellent. The outdoor amenities are beatiful Unfortunately paying 8kphp a night I would expect excellence but sadly not the case. An old room to which the resort admitted hadn't been renovated yet. The room was very noisy (room 340) as it backed on to a noisy busy road. So was not a peaceful sleep. In addition there wasThe room should have double glazed windows for acoustic attenuation
Reviewed December 08, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Tsai-Ling from Taiwan
Group
Deluxe (Run of House)
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Good”
Good!
Reviewed December 07, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Ruel from Philippines
Family with young children
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
nice ”
white sand beach
Reviewed December 07, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
hannah from South Korea
Couple
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
good”
very good!
Reviewed December 04, 2017
6.8
Good
juyoung from South Korea
Group
Deluxe (Run of House)
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
people not kind....”
hotel people not so kind. and always wait and wait. but there 2 3building and one of building is very new. we r satisfied about room and there is very big CR ( I THINK MORE BIGGER THAT SHANGRILLA)
Reviewed November 23, 2017
5.6
Nicole from United States
Group
Deluxe (Run of House)
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Highly disappointed”
I had high expectations in this resort knowing that it was a luxury hotel. They upgraded us to their spa rooms but the room looked old and the tiles were not maintained nor furnished. The bathroom was big and spacious. Their bathroom floor was nice and unique. They have a separate shower and bath tub. No one was really swimming in their beachside. Their pools were highly utilized by many. I was disappointed when they would not give us towels upon request because it was checkout time. I insisted and told them that we don’t have anymore towels to use prior to checkout. They said ok then called back and asked what time we were planning to check out. Then they gave us old stain colored towels and a couple of them were floor towels. I don’t know what their problem was but I personally thought that it was intended because they weren’t gonna provide us with towels in the first place. Their food was great. I only recommend this place for dining and a day of pool use, but not for overnight stay
Reviewed November 15, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Michel from Canada
Group
Deluxe (Run of House)
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
time off between 2 business trip”
All of it was perfect. Food, check in and check out. Stay and overall cleanliness and friendliness
Reviewed November 09, 2017
4.8
Merika
Family with young children
Royal Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Acceptable”
Upon arrival, we were directed to the parking area which was muddy. We had to drag our suitcase to the check-in place as there was no assistance offered. Check in was sort of quick and was handed 2 welcome drinks at the counter. We were given a map to the location of our room which was a royal bungalow by the beach. We were not offered any help with our luggages so we had to drag it in the sand on the way to our room. A staff saw us and greeted us but offered no help. Upon entering the room there was a mold scent. size of the suite was good. Beach was dirty and full of fire ants, we had to constantly watch out for our son not to be bitten. In room dining orders were wrong on 2 occasions. Overall: poor service, overrated facilities and unhelpful staff. Will never come back to this place again.
Reviewed November 05, 2017
5.2
Alicia from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe (Run of House)
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Not really happy”
My husband will NOT go back there..
Reviewed November 05, 2017
7.6
Very good
Ma from Hong Kong
Couple
Suite
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Had fun!”
The resort staff were very welcoming. We enjoyed the famous dried Danggit and Pusit. The Oyster bar’s location was perfect location. The pool in Amuna Spa is OK.
Reviewed November 02, 2017
8.8
Excellent
David from Philippines
Couple
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Relax and unwind”
If your looking for a place away from the hustle and bustle of the city and just wanting to relax and unwind then this is the place for you. Although we went there as a couple on our anniversary but you could see lota of families there who were enjoying themselves. The service of the staff is great and the food is good. Good selection on the breakfast buffet or just ordering ala carte will still give you great selections and there is a menu for kids too. Great place and will dedinitely recommend this place. ☺
Reviewed October 29, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Christiane from Philippines
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Relaxing Resort”
Good food, nice rooms, pools everywhere, good beach
Reviewed October 24, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Maximo from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe (Run of House)
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Great”
Nice place
Reviewed October 23, 2017
7.6
Very good
jim from United States
Couple
Suite
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Very good”
The facility is very clean but the salt water looks dirty. I was afraid to go swimming cause you can see garbage under the water.
Reviewed October 02, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Yamato from Japan
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Amazing”
Excellent
Reviewed September 19, 2017
3.2
Maileen from Philippines
Family with young children
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
We will not go back”
When we arrived it was raining the Blue guards in the reception area did not assist us even we have 2 kids with us. They let us get wet. First impression last and they should teach the guards to be more friendly. For the price the rooms are outdated (but I think some are being renovated) and dirty. There was still some hair and worms in the bath tub. Room service is very slow. We asked for a plate and cuttlery that was given 30 mins later by a snobbish waiter. The pool is dirty and has rough pool floor which might injure the kids. Food is very expensive but we love the buffets. Waitresses are always accommodating and smiling which was nice. Ambiance is very good. Beach has murky waters and lots of seaweed. For the price there are other resorts that is better and will treat you better. On our last night we were enjoying playing billiards, we asked a guard in blue for some assistance and the guy just totally ignored us. We have been snobbed a lot maybe bec we are not foreigners i dont know but def will not recommend this place.
Reviewed September 13, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Paul from United States
Couple
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Great resort type feel with nicely appointed rooms and nice city style beach”
Had a very nice stay - a tropical resort feel, with nice restaurant and pools. The bar and restaurant right by the water is a nice vibe hang out. Food was very good and staff excellent. The staff really were so welcoming and friendly - ALWAYS smiles for you. The little city style beach is a bit of a respite for this bustling city and although 20 mins from the city central, we enjoyed the resort style offering.
Reviewed September 09, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Jonathan from Philippines
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Relaxing Place”
Breakfast buffet id fantastic. Amenities are good.
Reviewed September 01, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Jenny from Philippines
Family with young children
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
A worthwhile Vacation ”
An almost to perfection vacation for my birthday with the family :) Would like to commend the staff for being very accommodating, attentive to our needs esp to some special request. Loved our room, comfortable beds, spacious bathroom (my son super loved the bathtub). Great food esp the Sunday seafood buffet, many breakfast buffet choices. Our stay made more memorable coz of the various sports activities (super thanks to the sports aqua staff for taking care of our needs). Will surely be back!!!!!
Reviewed August 11, 2017
7.6
Very good
KANG from South Korea
Family with young children
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
One of the best hotels in Mactan Island”
Good to stay for 2 or 3 nights. Pools are surrounded by rooms so it's good for familly members but close at 8 p.m due to noise. Walking distance to savemore and several restaurants.
Reviewed August 01, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
hyun from South Korea
Family with teens
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Good for holiday”
if you want to spend chill-relax holiday, i would recommend this property.
Reviewed July 31, 2017
7.6
Very good
Syd from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe (Run of House)
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Very good”
Street cat was coming to our room
Reviewed July 29, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Ken from Malaysia
Family with young children
Suite
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
breakfast charge unclear”
No breakfast coupons provided, therefore making us confused about the breakfast charge.
Reviewed July 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Patrick from France
Couple
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Bit expensive”
A bit expensive for what it is but still a nice place to relax Staff is great, beach ok, food is good
Reviewed July 22, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Dianne from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe (Run of House)
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
wonderful, pleasant stay”
maribago's asset is in their staff. they are all customer service oriented and pleasant. we will definitely come back!
Reviewed July 22, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Rebecca from United States
Family with teens
Suite
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
A very comfortable and luxury they have good buffet and cultural show a plus...”
The room is beautiful and the big bathroom very good ambiance amazing!
Reviewed July 20, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
junghyun from South Korea
Couple
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017
This is the place which only I wanna have ”
15to20mins from airport, have private beach, kind staff, clean room and 3 pools, reasonable price!!! This is my 7th times visit. And I will come again. And Kristen in the reception , Nica in the restaurant is very nice staff. Already miss their smile~
Reviewed July 16, 2017
6.0
Mychel from Philippines
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 4 nights in May 2017
good facilities, friendly staff.”
good facilities, beach wasn't too inviting as it was quite dirty and full of algae when we visited in the afternoon. good staff. staff accommodated our request for packed breakfast as we had early tours.
Reviewed July 10, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
jason from United States
Family with young children
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in June 2017
Great place to stay and enjoy your time”
Everything was great we didn't have any issues. The beds were full size for Americans we were expecting queen size beds. But our room was right on the beach so it was amazing
Reviewed June 20, 2017
4.8
John from China
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
staff very good. beach ok. Accommodation outdated. Expensive for what is on offer.”
Would not stay there again or recommend to anybody.
Reviewed May 31, 2017
Dear John, Thank you for writing us a review. We are delighted to hear your good feedback on our staff and beach. As the resort has been in the Hospitality business for more than 25 years now, we recognize the fact that we indeed need to keep up with the increasing demands of our clients. We are pleased to let you know that renovation and sprucing up of our property is already ongoing. Thanks again for your review and we hope you can consider us again for a next visit. Best regards, Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show more
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
9.2
Exceptional
Steven from Canada
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Exceptional”
Really enjoy my stay, thank you. Comfortable, clean room, well kept facilities and the dinner buffet was varied and delicious. The sand on the beach was a little firm, but I guess that is to be expected as it is a man-made beach. I enjoyed the resort more than the Crimson, and at $125 USD a night it was definitely a good deal.
Reviewed May 30, 2017
Dear Steven, We thank you for writing us a review from your stay at Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort. Thank for your comments and we are hoping to welcome you back soon! Best, Bluewater Resorts Management
Responded June 08, 2017
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
8.8
Excellent
cesar from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe (Run of House)
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Excellent”
been here several times and i always enjoyed my stay.
Reviewed May 21, 2017
Hi Cesar, Thank you for your continued patronage! See you again soon! Best, Bluewater Resorts Management
Responded June 08, 2017
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
8.8
Excellent
Cristina from Philippines
Couple
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
honeymoon ”
We had a good time Everything was great We just wish that they could have treated us "honeymooners" to something extra special- a little token would be nice
Reviewed May 18, 2017