Book Now: Bohol Sea Resort

Excellent
From 228 reviewsSee what guests said
8.0
Recommended by 88% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (228)Booking.com Reviews (173)
8.0
Excellent
From 228 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.6
Facilities8.0
Location6.9
Room comfort and quality8.0
Service8.6
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Deutsch
日本語
Français
more
Room type
Standard Room
Bungalow Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 187 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
Rachel from United States
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Great facilities”
Wish it had been more obvious that property's beach front wasn't very suitable for swimming
Reviewed September 18, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
John from Philippines
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Great stay!”
Great stay at Bohol Sea Resort! The place is quiet you can really relax. The staffs are good. The wifi is very fast if you will need to work even on vacay. Good deal here in agoda :)
Reviewed August 29, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Kaye from Philippines
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Thumbs up for value of money for the accommodation!”
They really have cheaper accommodation rates compared to other resorts in Bohol but the location is still a tricycle ride going to Alona Beach where most of the stores and offering tours are located. They have fixed rate of Php100.00 per ride. 🤔😑 The staff are very polite and friendly and the place is nice and quiet but their food are sooo expensive. 😒😯 Kinda disappointed by the price and taste.
Reviewed August 25, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Hazel from Philippines
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Cozy, relaxing and non crowded place ”
The whole experienced was great in Bohol sea resort. Two thumbs up to Catsteven and Felix who works in the restaurant. Very attentive, polite and courteous to all the lunch and dinner that we had in the restaurant. And to Karen who assisted us when we arrived very late afternoon when we checked in. The resort was very clean and the ambiance is very relaxing. Though the beach is not that appealing and the fare going to Alona beach was quite expensive. And Also I want to commend the people who makes up our room and to the guard who was very willing to give help to any of our query. Keep the resort the way it is and keep the people in the resort that completes your organization. 👍👍👍
Reviewed August 22, 2017
8.4
Excellent
JAEHAN from South Korea
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Excellent”
Very clean, calm & nice place. Staffs are very kind and helpful.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
8.4
Excellent
David from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Excellent”
very nice and clean facilities, super friendly stuff, but to go to alona beach and the restaurants, u need to take some taxi or rent a scooter
Reviewed July 24, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Ryan from Philippines
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2017
excellent”
great for couples who wanted to reexperienced there honeymoon, staff was extraordinary, they helped me up in celebrating my wife birthday. even gave us a complimentary cake
Reviewed June 30, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Theresa from Germany
Couple
Bungalow Room
Stayed 6 nights in April 2017
Beautiful Place ”
very nice and quiet Resort with possibility to Drive to Alona Beach with the Tricycle or go for a walk in 20min! beautiful Pool but the seaside is only Great Forum diving but not for swimming because you have to go a long distance until the Water is deep enough! The restaurant is also very nice and meals are not that cheap but yummy ;-)
Reviewed April 27, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Gloria from United States
Solo traveler
Bungalow Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Quiet..great staff”
Just a short walk to Alona Beach where there are a lot of restaurants on the beach. Then return here for a nice quiet evening. Pool is nice. Good dive center on sight. Staff is excellent. Originally booked 3 nights and extended for another three.
Reviewed March 05, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Niklaus from Switzerland
Couple
Bungalow Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Staff is exceptionally friendly”
Very helpful and kind staff - as our flight was delayed we only arrived at 9 o'clock in the evening and eventhough the kitchen was already closed, they prepared sandwiches for us.
Reviewed February 28, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Anti from Estonia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 6 nights in February 2017
Great quiet time there!”
Really enjoyed the staying. Stuff was great!
Reviewed February 22, 2017
7.6
Very good
ross from United States
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Quiet”
The thing you really need to know is that you cannot swim at the beach. It is shallow rocky coral. And you also cannot walk along the beach on either side...so if you want to lay in a loung chair on their 50 feet of beach...but imho pay a little extra and stay on alona beach. We wound up going there everyday...1 way trike 100 pesos. If you want peace and quiet this place is it. Bed mattress a little cheap and thin. And they pissed me off when i ordered lunch they would only give you 1 glass of water. If you want more have to buy a bottle @ 40 pesos. The owner and staff are nice enough so I hate sounding negative but come on refill my damn glass of water...i am paying 150 pesos for 3 little lumpias you can give me a glass of water
Reviewed January 22, 2017
6.4
Good
Shabnum from United Kingdom
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Quite basic but probably good for divers”
Just okay - maybe better if you're a diver - but we were not diving on this occasion. Rooms are a bit pokey, not enough light due to small windows, but clean. Also there was only a sheet, not a duvet, and it was difficult to get the aircon at a good temperature for sleeping - partly due to only having a sheet.
Reviewed January 03, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Sean from United States
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in November 2016
Excellent dive/snorkel resort”
We had a wonderful time here. The facilities are excellent and well-maintained, and the staff and owner are friendly and extremely helpful. The food is well-prepared from ingredients selected fresh at the market each day, and includes an assortment of Asian and European dishes. This is is diving and snorkeling resort, and their dive masters, boats and crews are top-notch. The beach is quiet and pretty, but too shallow for swimming.
Reviewed December 13, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Jonathan from New Zealand
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Great place to relax, go diving and explore Panglao”
Very attentive staff, great dive shop, relaxed atmosphere and friendly helpful owner. We extended our stay and would have loved to stay even longer.
Reviewed December 11, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Enes from United States
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 7 nights in November 2016
Piecefull place. ”
I love that resort. Stuff very kind. Helpful. Good and pool so good. Only issue is beach not that nice but we go in 5 min from resort other Alona beach. If you want quite place that's the one.
Reviewed November 10, 2016
7.6
Very good
Huibert from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Oke”
A maintained and clean resort in a quiet setting.
Reviewed October 14, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Oliver from Germany
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in October 2016
Recreative short stay”
+ very good food + owner takes care about individual guest convenience + quiet location, no noise during the night (e.g. scooter) - location to the alona shops/restaurants
Reviewed October 12, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Andrew from United Kingdom
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016
total relaxation”
Beautiful resort with a great swimming pool just far enough away from alona beach and the hustle and bustlel, the food is excellent and great staff.
Reviewed September 27, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Tomas from Lithuania
Group
Stayed 7 nights in January 2016
Great place”
Lovely place futher from the crowds
Reviewed September 14, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Ryan from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Lovely Ran Resort.”
We stopped by for 3 nights as a backpacking couple. We even extended by an extra night due to the great location, chilled out vibe and great staff. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Panglao if I visited again, the German owned resort made us very welcome with a layed back approach and great knowledge of the area. We were left to wind back & they were even happy for us to check out late on our departure date. 10 mins from Alona beach , great food , clean resort and outstanding Philippine & German staff.. What more do you want on holiday. :) Ryan & Rebecca.
Reviewed August 13, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Laurens from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016
Simple but beautiful”
This is a beautiful resort with very friendly staff. My wife and I definitely enjoyed our stay at the Bohol Sea Resort. Perfect for people who like a quiet and friendly atmosphere!
Reviewed July 27, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Andre from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 11 nights in April 2016
Great budget resort near Alona beach”
The resort was really good. The pool is clean and well maintained. The location of the resort is about 1.5-2km from Alona Beach - cost between 30-70 one-way on motorbike or tricycle. The staff were always really friendly, cheerful and helpful. The owner was friendly, welcoming and nice too. Our room was very well maintained, cleaned daily. The beach is not as sandy and smooth as Alona, but it's definitely decent of a quick swim when the tide is in. We have only two small complaints. First of all the wifi was very poor in our room. It did not work at all. The wifi is absolutely fine and fast in the public space but unfortunately did not work at all in our room. I suppose if you are on holiday and do want to fully switch off - this might be seen as a pro. (We still work via wifi while traveling, therefore it was a bit inconvenient for us personally.) Our second complaint, which is probably normal for any resort, was the price of the food in the hotel. On average, the menu seemed to be double of the town. That being said, there was a mini-fridge in our room where we could put a few drinks and some fruit to have as snacks, which we did appreciate.
Reviewed April 17, 2016
7.6
Very good
sally from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016
.”
Great location away from alona beach but you need a bike to get around.
Reviewed March 30, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Donnadelle from Philippines
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Quiet, relaxing place.”
fresh and great tasting food; hospitality; security
FOOD: Tastes great! They market everyday for the ingredients to make sure it is fresh and of best quality the place can offer. Their menu changes everyday, you may place your order in advance so they can prepare the dish as per request. Its a bit pricey but its worth it, the serving is usually for two :) If you are nice, they also give some freebies ;) ROOMS: Well kept, cool, basic amenities, only that the bathroom gets flooded sometimes especially that its hard to close the shower room door. location of the resort will give you alot of privacy and relaxing atmosphere away from the buzz and noise of the city. STAFFS: i appreciate their hospitality! even the owner and his family are very accommodating. keen to respond to requests and always smiling and trying their best to be of service. the security guard is strict. well, hes doing his job :) when you get in the resort, his job starts, and it ends the moment you step out of the gate---even if you havent checked out yet :)
Reviewed February 26, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Kelly from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
Good value for money”
Food is good. Quiet private beach though can't swim. Good value for moneh
Staff was helpful in renting bike. The operator they used ran out. They lend us theirs. Quick ride of about 5mins to Alona Beach. Just very good overall for the price we paid
Reviewed February 14, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Andrea from Canada
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in January 2016
A lovely home base to see Bohol from”
The Bungalow, the food, the staff
Everything was lovely and peaceful here. The hotel is wonderfully quiet, serves delicious food and the staff are truly kind and helpful. It's close to lots of good stuff to see and beaches to relax on. Our Deluxe Bungalow was fantastic; the bed was very comfortable and the room so cozy. We had a really comfortable 6 night stay. The hotel arranged a snorkel trip for us, a motorcycle, and a transfer to the harbor. Everything was reasonably priced and always organized and easy. Thanks to Henry and his staff for the terrific stay!
Reviewed February 04, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Markus from Germany
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
Relaxed hide away close to Alona ”
Service Room Diving
Great service, great diving, clean rooms, food a bit too expensive
Reviewed January 06, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Andreas from Switzerland
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 8 nights in December 2015
relaxing and friendly place”
diving, pool, staff
Reviewed December 16, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Aleksandra from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 6 nights in November 2015
Great resort!”
Great standard, staff, food
Very enjoyable, great value for money, would recommend to a friend and definitely would stay there again.
Reviewed December 05, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Diana from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
RELAXING”
Staff,location and serenity
Awesome and relaxing. Staff very helpful and willing to go an extra mile to provide comfort
Reviewed July 30, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Aaron from Canada
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in July 2015
Nice hotel!”
Affordable, clean, close to but not in the middle of the hustle and bustle at Alona beach.
Reviewed July 07, 2015
3.7
Dean from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Over rated. Not value for money.”
Room was ok. Pool was nice.
Resort was nice but very very overated. location was terrible. No beach. mosquitos. Diving very very expensive (double what you psy in alona). All food and drinks expensive compared with alona resorts. If you are looking for a secluded resort there are better options. If you are looking for a nice room at a resort for half the cost stay at lost horizon resort in alona.
Reviewed June 12, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Kiki from United States
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Nice stay at the Bohol Sea Resort”
Comfortable Room, Nice Happy Hour, Relaxing Location
Nice stay at the Bohol Sea Resort. Staff was very accomodating. Great tips for seeing Bohol. Helped us arrange a car. Good brunch, many options. Room was nice and comfortable. Wifi really only worked in the restaurant area. Pool area was nice as well, just didn't get a chance to take advantage.
Reviewed June 04, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Katharine from Canada
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Best place to stay in Bohol”
Henry, the owner, is so invested in all of the resort's guests and in maintaining a high quality establishment. He greeted us with a long chat about the resort and what they could offer.
Amazing! So far above the quality of food / cleanliness of rooms we've had so far in the Philippines. Henry and his staff are wonderful and hard working. Go diving with Klaus! And be sure to eat dinner at the resort at least once.
Reviewed May 22, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
John from Ireland
Couple
Bungalow Room
Stayed 10 nights in April 2015
Family holiday”
Clean, good food and helpful staff
A small comfortable hotel. Quiet location but easy to get to local bars/restaurants if necessary. Bungalows were large, comfortable and clean
Reviewed May 14, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Glynis from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Super little hideaway”
I only booked 3 nights and came away wanting more. Nothing was too much for any of the staff.
I loved my stay at this holel and would definitely return. The good food was an added bonus. Happy hour was of course great. It's a lovely quiet spot but within easy reach of Alona Beach. I booked a massage on the beach at the hotel amazing value. An Island tour was also arranged which was first class.
Reviewed March 28, 2015
6.0
Robin from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Friendly Staff”
Clean, friendly close to diving
Good stay, 3 nights is enough. A bit far from town but short ride on back of a motor bike.
Reviewed March 18, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
eric from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Perfect, quiet, beautiful stay”
Food, staff and owner, hotel grounds
I had an amazing three nights at this resort. the hotel grounds are immaculate, the standard room was clean and the bed super comfortable. The owner, a very nice german man, greets you as you arrive and makes sure you get settled to your room. It’s very quiet and tropical. There is an in house dive shop and the prices are very reasonable. Happy hour at the bar. I think what i enjoyed most was the food. The food coming out of that kitchen is amazing and delicious. It is not on Alona beach so you don’t have to worry about noise or hustlers trying to take you on a tour while you relax at the waters edge. i will definitely stay here again when i’m in bohol, and recommend to anyone traveling to the area that they stay here. thank you for a great stay!
Reviewed March 11, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Barie from Canada
Couple
Bungalow Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Welcomed quiet”
Location, pool, owner
We had a brief but pleasant stay at the resort, it was a welcomed quiet place to be on panglao
Reviewed February 16, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Heidi from Canada
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Sanctuary close to Alona beach ”
Staff, scuba shop and grounds
We stayed 3 nights and dove bacasag. Super friendly, helpful staff, lovely grounds a short tricycle ride from Alona Beach. Good food but if you like to same lots of restaurants can get dull. Nice pool and ok beach. Lots of fishing boats and rocky parts to the beach. Smaller rooms well worth the money! Balacasag 30 min boat ride and great diving!
Reviewed February 15, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Hector from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
Really good”
Location, staff, food
I would recommend this hotel to all my friend.
Reviewed January 30, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Clayton from Canada
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
The resort wad very quiet and relaxing. ”
Very quiet and relaxing. The rooms and grounds were very clean and in immaculate condition. Reasonably priced.
The resort was very peaceful. It was great for a romantic or relaxing getaway. It didn't seem like a party resort of that is what you are looking for. If you want lively night life you can go Alona Beach about 10 minutes away.
Reviewed June 05, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Emily from Sweden
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2014
Fantastic, small beach resort on private beach”
Beautiful location on the beach, very nice staff and a nice and quite garden
I had a great stay at this little beach resort. It has a beautiful location right on the beach in a nice garden. Rooms are clean and comfortable with good ac and new bathrooms. Staff is wonderful and very helpful, English is no problem. It is a close and very cheap taxi ride to Alona beah. For a truly relaxing holiday in the most beautiful setting I would really recommend Bohol Sea Resort.
Reviewed May 06, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
KKathryn from United Kingdom
Couple
Bungalow Room
Stayed 6 nights in November 2013
Comfortable hotel with friendly and caring staff.”
Quiet location, pleasant atmosphere, just a very nice place to stay.
We arrived just after the typhoon and had been told that there was no mains power in Bohol. The management and staff had worked hard to provide power with a large generator so there was no problem. It was very quiet in Bohol Sea Resort and generally in Alona Beach presumably due to the media coverage of the recent typhoon but this shouldn't put potential holidaymakers off because to our relief everything was ok. Upon arrival at Bohol Sea Resort Hanschie one of the managers explained everything about the hotel and what we should expect. The food was excellent. Joy and Joy ran the cocktail bar to perfection. Our bungalow was superb. Large, clean and good decor. We decided to take a discover scuba diving lesson and Neil the instructor took great care and was very patient with us and this resulted in a brilliant first dive seeing wonderful sea life. We really enjoyed our stay here and would certainly recommend it. Thank you to all the management and staff.
Reviewed December 09, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
JASON from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
I stayed here TWICE”
Staff, food, SCUBA
I had a wonderful time here. I found Bohol Sea Resort listed online, read reviews, and sent an email to the resort directly (I also recommend booking with them directly). I was traveling in the Philippines and wanted to see more. Panglao Island wasn’t too difficult to find. The resort’s information and high reviews online all are correct. Mostly, I was intrigued by the SCUBA diving aspect of it. Emails I sent were answered very quickly! Neil, the manager, answered all my questions. I booked a stay. My first stay was great! Check-in was easy and courteous, the room was quaint and comfortable, and the food was DELICIOUS. Bohol Sea Resort offers SCUBA dives and courses; I chose to earn my Open Water certification as a PADI Scuba Diver. Neil, the instructor, was very patient and knowledgeable, and I went into the program with full confidence that the instruction would be sound. The staff here was also great. Very clean rooms and dining area. The swimming pool was pristine and the bar was comfortable. As stated by other reviewers, this resort is quiet. It was a perfect place to relax, learn SCUBA diving, eat great food, and meet a few new people.
Reviewed September 20, 2013
6.0
Kim from Sweden
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 6 nights in January 2013
Ok stay, but far away”
Garden, room service
The hotels location is a bit far away from Alona beach and its restaurants and shops. To get there, you have to contact some locals for a ride to the city. Worked pretty well, but a little bit annoying with the "free massage road" every day... it's a hell of a bumpy ride! Otherwise, the hotel's garden is beautiful and the room ok. Breakfast made while ordering, only the smallest one included in Agoda though (the owner explained to us why, they never promised more fore Agoda's price but as a guest you except more for the paid price. Very good dining both times we ordered food!
Reviewed September 16, 2013
5.7
Michael from United States
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013
Disappointing. Mildly stressful.”
The waiters in the restaurant were very attentive professional. The orchid gardens were beautiful. But, honestly, the best part about the stay was leaving...it was a relief to get away!
Disappointing. We definately did not feel welcome. We would never stay here again. Despite their genuinely terrific grounds and facilities, the pervasively negative behavior of the staff really made for an unpleasant atmosphere overall. (Though we did appreciate the solemn professionalism of the waiters and kitchen workers.) There was a tangible lack of warmth and hospitality throughout our stay. Key members of the staff were often dismissive and even condescending at times. The services provided were often grudgingly carried out by people who clearly didn't want to be there. Over and over, it was the kind of bad service that just ruins a vacation. Because of the way we were treated, neither one of us ever felt comfortable. And, judging by the demeanors of other guests, it looked like we weren't alone. Also, their wi-fi access was a frustrating joke. If you need or want access to the Internet, do not stay here. Please note that I have travelled extensively around the world, this was not my first time in the Philippines and I spent several years living in both Asia and Europe. My significant other is originally from the next island over. I say this to point out that the criticisms written here are not born out of inexperience or naïveté. And I rarely write negative reviews...there is usually something positive worth sharing. But there was such an overwhelmingly unfriendly feeling about this place that it ruined our stay on Bohol and we feel it neccessary to write a flat-out bad review. And we are definately pulling my punches here. If there are others on this site that repeat these same kinds of complaints we have written here, then hopefully you will avoid the Bohol Sea Resort.
Reviewed September 08, 2013
8.0
Excellent
rustem from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
Good value for the area.Away from Alona Beach”
Clean,Quiet,Good Manager
Enjoyed a nice quiet time there away from the hustle and bustle and hagglers of Alona Beach only a half hour walk or 5 min if you have your own bike which I highly recommend. Has all the facilities one would expect and kept to a high standard in keeping with the German management whom are very attentive and helpful. Caters for divers , beach is no better than Alona so the swimming pool is very good . Menu limited but good quality and reasonable value for this area. Good air con but check if hot water works , WiFi sporadic . Overall I think it is a good choice if you dont want to pay a lot more in the very busy Alona Beach area.
Reviewed August 04, 2013
7.0
Very good
NANYI from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in February 2013
Location is poor but everything else were good”
English speaking staff, friendly people nice food
Reviewed June 28, 2013