Book Now: Bolton Hotel

Excellent
From 154 reviewsSee what guests said
8.7
Recommended by 93% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (154)Booking.com Reviews (998)
8.7
Excellent
From 154 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness9.2
Facilities8.6
Location8.6
Room comfort and quality9.1
Service9.0
Value for money8.2
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
Français
日本語
more
Room type
One Bedroom Suite
1 Bedroom Premier
Premier Studio
Premier Twin Suite
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 114 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
David from United States
Couple
One Bedroom Suite
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
only one day....”
great service...welcoming staff. Rooms were very spacious, clean and good views. good location and walking distance to all sights in the city. best value and we had a lot of great values on the high end!
Reviewed February 01, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Jeffrey from Guernsey
Couple
Premier Studio
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Good city hotel”
We booked the SOFITEL but a fire closed it and we were transferred to the Bolton, which turned out to be a decent replacement.
Reviewed January 17, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
MARC from France
Couple
Premier Studio
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Year end in Christchurch ”
Since the weather was so bad that we could not go out and the restaurant was fully booked we had room service for dinner which proves very satisfactory
Reviewed January 04, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Kelly from Australia
Couple
Premier Studio
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Superb service from friendly staff”
Comfortable hotel, good sized room with king bed. What sets this place apart is the excellent service - they helped find places to eat, happily gave directions and knew Wellington, and stored our luggage all day as we had a late flight out, and continued to treat us as if we were checked in, even after we had checked out.
Reviewed December 24, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Amy from Singapore
Family with young children
One Bedroom Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
The staff go out of their way to make it amazing!”
Traveling with young children can be hard. But the staff at Bolton went out of their way to make it amazing for us, nothing was too much trouble - the service was fantastic!
Reviewed December 20, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Salvatore from Australia
Couple
Premier Studio
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
New and clean but not 5 star quality fit out”
Found wifi to be slow, shower base and fittings are cheap. Room is nice enough but certainly not 5 star.
Reviewed December 20, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Linda from Australia
Couple
Sleep and Go Studio
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Great, friendly staff”
A good stay, however there was no hot water the morning we left- no showers for us :-( No one to blame I know, but a token acknowledgement of our being put out would have been appreciated
Reviewed October 25, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Darren from Australia
Business traveler
One Bedroom Suite
Stayed 5 nights in August 2016
Great venue and terrific staff”
Recommend to business travellers
Reviewed August 19, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Glen from New Zealand
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
-”
-
Reviewed July 12, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
fang from China
Family with young children
Premier Studio
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
great hotel”
service, facility,location
people are kind,room is great. location is good.
Reviewed March 30, 2016
4.8
Esteban from Uruguay
Business traveler
Premier Studio
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
under repairs”
poor attention the hotel decides a what hour you take a bath always a nice answer, deeply sorry!! Still you pay full price the don t care
Reviewed March 29, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Nicholas from New Zealand
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Premier
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Great stay”
Very comfortable thanks
Reviewed March 16, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Robert from Australia
Couple
One Bedroom Suite
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
luxurious hotel with great facilites”
Enjoyed our stay in this beautiful hotel. Great staff and the room was comfortable and had everything you could wish for Only downside was our late arrival on a Sunday evening and found it difficult to find a decent restaurant nearby
Reviewed March 02, 2016
8.0
Excellent
michael from Australia
Couple
Premier Studio
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
Long weekend ”
Long weekend
Reviewed March 01, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Samuel from New Zealand
Business traveler
Sleep and Go Studio
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Great for business travellers”
Wifi is fast and free, Staff are very nice, Rooms are nice and new
I really enjoyed this hotel. The internet was really fast, the rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly. Big positive for me was the speed of the internet, the location of the hotel was good and all around it was a good stay. The only negative feedback I would have is that the kitchen closes at 10pm. I came to the hotel late and they had a night menu that didn't look that great. If the kitchen was open for late arrivals then the hotel is close to perfect for my needs.
Reviewed February 29, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
John from New Zealand
Couple
One Bedroom Suite
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Hot weekend”
Service, Position, Cleanliness
In one word, excellent
Reviewed February 22, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Teresa from New Zealand
Couple
One Bedroom Suite
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
Handy to station and stadium”
Stayed three nights to go to Edinborough Military Tattoo at Westpac Stadium and catch up with relatives. This hotel was ideally located for easy access to stadium and rail station. As most patrons were there for the Tattoo, the little welcoming Scottish treats in the room and flags in the foyer were a lovely touch. Quiet rooms which were very clean and tidy, staff were lovely.
Reviewed February 22, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Soo from South Korea
Solo traveler
1 Bedroom Premier
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Great”
I loved Bolton.Location,food,staff,clean room etc.. Definitely come back again!
Reviewed February 03, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Couple
Premier Studio
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
I'll go back”
Room was clean and well maintained. Staff was always helpful and friendly. Location is handy to everything we wanted to see and do.
Reviewed February 02, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Jacqueline from South Africa
Couple
Sleep and Go Studio
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Top notch!”
The location, the accommodation and the staff.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bolton Hotel. Although a fairly big hotel, the staff still took the time to add personal touches such as switching on the kettle in our room just before we arrived very late at night. I also loved the bowl of little gingerbread men in the lobby over the festive season. I couldn't stop eating them! Our room was also lovely, clean and big. A truly excellent hotel across the board. We would definitely stay at the Bolton again.
Reviewed January 08, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Sarah from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Great”
Staff, rooms and staff again
Great - really helpful and informative staff. Liked the room (although I think we had one for disabled access which is never designed very well so the bathroom flooded when you had a shower!). Would have liked to have stayed much longer.
Reviewed January 06, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Sandra from United States
Couple
Sleep and Go Studio
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Excellent Hotel”
Room was nice and clean, very modern and hotel staff very helpful
From check in to check out the staff was terrific. On Christmas Eve, we were looking for dinner options and the staff made 2 great recommendations. Hotel room was nice and clean. Bed was very comfortable. If we ever go back to Wellington we will stay here again.
Reviewed January 05, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Jacqui from United Kingdom
Couple
Premier Studio
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Really comfortable stay”
Cleanliness, facilities in room, location
Really comfortable stay
Reviewed December 26, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Pete from New Zealand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Short stayiver”
Breakfast, free unlimited wifi, very comfortable rooms
Very comfortable and relaxing
Reviewed December 20, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Aline from France
Couple
Premier Studio
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Nice spot!”
Location, contemporary design, quiet
Centrally located in CBD, 10 minutes from the Botanic Garden. Clean, contemporary design, nice studio. Great hotel for a weekend or in business.
Reviewed November 11, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Jane from New Zealand
Couple
1 Bedroom Premier
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Enjoyed our stay.”
Great friendly staff.
Reviewed October 16, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Robert from United Kingdom
Couple
One Bedroom Suite
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Great Stay”
Room comfort, great staff, luxury without being stuffy
Enjoyed the stay here. Staff were friendly and helpful, room was comfortable and well equipped, and there is a nice atmosphere here. 5 star hotel without all the intimidating posh nonsense that usually goes with it.
Reviewed October 03, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Mark from Australia
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Premier
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Great business hotel”
Great rooms, comfortable bed, pleasant staff
Great rooms, comfortable bed, pleasant staff
Reviewed July 26, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Wilson from Malaysia
Business traveler
Sleep and Go Studio
Stayed 8 nights in June 2015
Business Traveller”
Staff friendly, Clean room and good facilities.
My second trip to bolton hotel. I had a good stay in my previous trip. So far everything was great but due to my heavy usage of internet for work related, I had a few days Internet disruption. So far everything was great.
Reviewed July 20, 2015
7.7
Very good
Anseilla from Indonesia
Family with teens
Two Bedroom Suite
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Spacious and clean room!”
Clean, spacious and great location
The room is suitable for family as it has two bathrooms and two bedrooms.
Reviewed July 12, 2015
5.0
Rebecca from New Zealand
Business traveler
Two Bedroom Suite
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Acceptable but not outstanding”
The location was good.
Satisfactory facilities, standard 3.5-4 star rooms, but nothing exceptional about this hotel.
Reviewed June 12, 2015
6.3
Good
Helen from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
One Bedroom Suite
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Curtains r required in living room for pm privacy”
none
The reception area is claustrophobic and too near the stairs. There is too much squeezed into that floor. Nets only in the living area are inadequate especially as my apartment faced an apartment block & had 2 office blocks looking in. Having booked in as a single women, I was surprised to be allocated such a room that lacked privacy. This shows a lack of consideration for guest requirements. Putting up solid curtains as seen in the bedroom would resolve this issue. The hotel entrance does attract the eye when approaching by car. Additional signage may help this. AT dinner, mustard mash was cold. The breakfast was expensive given how limited it was. All food in the silver containers was cold despite the oil burners being underneath. I had to wait some time for a taxi to be summoned. A 5-star hotel normally has taxis waiting outside.
Reviewed April 30, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Megan from New Zealand
Group
Two Bedroom Suite
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
All the comforts of home”
This hotel is in a prime location, upmarket and the staff are fantastic.
My husband, father and I stayed in a two bedroom apartment (which also had two bathrooms). The interior was nicely finished, however, for a five star hotel I was surprised to see 'wear' on the corner of all the dining table chairs, and the toilet in the main ensuite was 'wobbly'. Other than that, comfortable beds, nice to have the mini I-pads and complimentary Wi-Fi, as well as a small kitchenette to cook in. The staff were fantastic, helping with directions to the local dairy, bringing a chopping board to the room when requested, and booking a taxi for us in the morning. A place we would return to!
Reviewed April 29, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Wilson from Malaysia
Business traveler
Sleep and Go Studio
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
The best hotel in wellington”
Clean, Good Services and Great Facilities
I had a great time in Wellington, this is a short and memorable stay in Wellington. I could not found any fault with the Bolton hotel, from great service of the staff.
Reviewed April 09, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Timothy from Ireland
Couple
Sleep and Go Studio
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Great”
Location. Comfort. Service
Great
Reviewed March 25, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Julee from Australia
Business traveler
Premier Studio
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Fabulous service from all staff”
Professional & personable staff at reception, in the dinining room & night duty
Superb!
Reviewed October 14, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Sally from New Zealand
Couple
Premier Studio
Stayed 6 nights in September 2014
Excellent comfort”
Location, comfort and quality
Very good. Location is handy to Lambton quay, railway station and buses. Easy to walk to most places for dining or catch a bus. The staff were very friendly and I was impressed that each day milk, tea and coffee were replaced. A lot of hotels around the world do not replace. Also impressed wifi was free in the hotel. I travel a lot and have got used to free wifi. Returning home to Wellington for a holiday I was appalled at how few hotels provided guests free wifi. This should be par for the course. Well done the Bolton for this. Price was expensive compared to SE Asia, but the so was all of Wellington. On the positive, what you got for the price was excellent. Deluxe studio was a brilliant size with great amenities for the week we stayed.
Reviewed October 05, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Alison from Australia
Family with teens
Sleep and Go Studio
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Great overnight stay ”
Great location, spacious room, nice pool and hot tub
Reviewed October 04, 2014
7.7
Very good
Daniel from New Zealand
Family with young children
Two Bedroom Suite
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Comfortable”
Breakfast, rooms, loxatuon
Was nice but a bit expensive
Reviewed September 11, 2014
6.3
Good
Alex from Australia
Couple
Premier Twin Suite
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Stay let down by desk staff.”
Location to our desired places of interest, the iPad compendium, room facilities and mini-bar.
Was the lowlight on our trip in regards to the exceptional customer service we came across in NZ. Other than that the stay and room facilities were very acceptable.
Reviewed August 28, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
ljbin from New Zealand
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Excellent”
Staff,room,restaurant...all superb
Reviewed July 18, 2014
8.0
Excellent
dy from New Zealand
Couple
Premier Twin Suite
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
perfect”
clean,central,a treat
Reviewed June 30, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Scott from New Zealand
Couple
Sleep and Go Studio
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Great staff Pillow and sheets not my favourite ”
Staff
Hotel of good standard. What we expected for price.
Reviewed May 12, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Neil from United Kingdom
Couple
One Bedroom Suite
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Excellent”
Room facilities great bed nice lounge
Excellent
Reviewed May 11, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Janette from Australia
Couple
Sleep and Go Studio
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Centrally located and well presented”
The hotel has comfortable beds in well appointed rooms and friendly staff.
We were attending the AFL Anzac day game in Wellington. The hotel is close to the ground and extremely comfortable. Great staff too.
Reviewed May 04, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Frank from Australia
Solo traveler
Sleep and Go Studio
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Comfortable, accessible, enjoyable”
Service, room quality, value
I was there for the Dawn Service and the AFL Game, this hotel is centrally located for both, for me the Bolton's rooms are exceptional value. Providing for either eating in or visiting many of the local Wellington wharf restaurants that are in easy walking distance, highly recommended.
Reviewed April 29, 2014
8.7
Excellent
James from Australia
Couple
Sleep and Go Studio
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Comfort and style ”
Room was stylish , comfortable and luxury items available
Very pleasing for our first night. A lovely room . Good view. All the facilities, toiletries and room features you would expect from A 4 star plus hotel. TV had channels. Nice walking distance around Central wellington. Breakfast was also well done. Only negative - the taxi in the morning booked for us was a luxuary one and seemed to cost a lot more than usual cabs.
Reviewed March 21, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Lindsay from Australia
Couple
Sleep and Go Studio
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
A good stay at Bolton”
Free wifi, great breakfast, small but nicely decorated room
We enjoyed our stay at the Bolton. It was a $39 NZ fare in a taxi from the airport but we where then placed near to the Interislander ferry the next morning.
Reviewed February 21, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Richard from United Kingdom
Couple
Sleep and Go Studio
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
High standard hotel well located with great staff”
Comfortable room with good location
We stayed here for just a night after travelling from Picton on the ferry and getting the train to Auckland early next morning. It's close to the railway station easy walking distance. Room was great everything worked as it should and bar /food excellent.
Reviewed February 10, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Mary from United States
Couple
Sleep and Go Studio
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
The Bolton exceeded our expectations.”
The comfort and size of room, the well equipped kitchen and the attentive staff.
Reviewed January 03, 2014