Excellent 8.7
Based on 19 reviews
Exceptional 9.1
Based on 552 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 19 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Room comfort and quality 8.4
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 8.7
  • Food and dining 8.3
Sort by

Michael from South Africa
Couples
Small Double Bed
Stayed one night in January 2013
Nice hotel but noisy room
location, breakfast great, friendly staff
Stayed in a downstairs room, small but comfortable. However at around 4am in the morning we had to listen to the floorboards above and people stomping around upstairs. This went on till 7am. Got no decent sleep whatsoever. Terrible experience and will not return.
Reviewed January 23, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Pierre from France
Solo travelers
go there
breakfast was wonderful and the staff borrow us glasses to have wine test at night. price was very low and the value was fair
Reviewed June 07, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Song from South Africa
Solo travelers
Exceptional
nice staff, and lovely room
Reviewed May 29, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Zureka from South Africa
Couples
Small Double Bed
Stayed one night in December 2012
Charming guest house, good location
Friendly service, convenient location
We stayed for only one night. We were treated very well, and the airconditioning in the room was a lifesaver in the Stellenbosch heat!
Reviewed January 22, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Elsie from United States
Couples
Classic Guest Room
Stayed one night in December 2012
Gracious hospitality ~ lovely rooms
a refuge after a long safari
We originally booked 2 days, as a respite from 2 months on safari. We arrived a bit early, and obviously worn out. The staff jumped to get our room ready, asked if we needed anything... we were grateful for their thoughtfulness. We walked for miles every day, content and safe in the lovely environs of Stellenbosch. We liked it so much, we would have stayed for a week!
Reviewed December 30, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Irma from South Africa
Couples
Exceptional
Attention to detail, beautiful setting, excellent location, friendly staff
Reviewed May 23, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Patricia from South Africa
Solo travelers
Very comfortable stay
Breakfast omelette very good, The room was nice and, although described as "small", was bigger than many standard rooms in Europe. Nicely decorated.
Shower a little difficult to adjust. Fresh orange juice would have been nice. No serious complaints at all and would happily go back.
Reviewed May 15, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Elsie from United States
Couples
Classic Guest Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Elegant ~ Lovely Hospitality
The personal touch of a guesthouse, with the fine touches of an elegant wine country inn.
We have spent two Christmas holidays at the Bonne Esperance. And we will return. The service is attentive and personal without being invasive. Breakfasts were delicious, and port availabe for an evening apertif in the library. From the Bonne Esperance, you can walk into Stellenbosch, to the botanical gardens or into the vineyards and hills.
Reviewed December 29, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

marie-gaelle from France
Couples
Small Double Bed
Stayed one night in February 2014
le calme près du centre
architecture pleine de charme, agréable piscine, à quelques pas du centre.
Petite chambre agréable donnant sur le jardin mais trop proche de la réception. Très petite salle de bain. Piscine rafraîchissante, copieux petit déjeuner.
Reviewed March 29, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Anonymous from South Africa
Families with older children
Nice place
Position, room size, ambience
breakfast
Reviewed May 08, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Chivaughn from South Africa
Solo travelers
Good location, but noisy, particularly...
Good Location - Within close walking distance to restaurants. Good breakfasts (must be attributed to the noise in the mornings :) ).
Noisy room (room 3) as it's next to the kitchen, kitchen staff are exceptionally noisy in the mornings. Can't expect to sleep later than 6:30 - 7 am. which is completely fine if you're ...
Reviewed May 05, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Annegret from Germany
Couples
Small Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Wunderschönes Guesthouse
Sehr gute Lage; alles zu Fuß zu erreichen; sehr schöner Garten!
Reviewed April 27, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Peter from Germany
Couples
Classic Guest Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2013
Entspannung in toller Landschaft
Garten, Service und das Ambiente
Entspannung pur in einem romantischem Hotel in traumhafter Landschaft
Reviewed December 17, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Trevor from South Africa
Couples
Good holiday experience
Location was great, as were the breakfasts and your staff are very friendly, thank you for making our stay very enjoyable.
Reviewed May 03, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Abc from United States
Families with young children
Comfortable, great location and classy...
Very beautifully decorated and comfortable.
I wish they had a mini stove or microwave to make something other than tea/coffee, and not depend on restaurants for all meals.
Reviewed April 29, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Marco from Germany
Couples
Classic Guest Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
Ein wunderbares Hotel zum Entspannen
Großes Zimmer, Nettes Personal, Sehr schönes Gebäude mit tollem Garten
Reviewed December 03, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

SATOKO from Japan
Couples
Small Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
スタッフの対応がとてもよい!
立地と朝食
花の溢れる庭を見ながら朝食を取れます。 また朝食がとても美味しかったです。 スタッフがとても親切で聞いたことに丁寧に応えてくれます。 ステレンボッシュの中心部まで徒歩で行けるし、のんびりしていてとても気に入りました。
Reviewed January 21, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Delia from South Africa
Solo travelers
Pleasant stay
Comfortable and cosy room Good breakfast Historic/homely feel of the house
Noise travels
Reviewed April 19, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Susanne from South Africa
Groups
Truly impressive
Everything. Accommodation was good staff were brilliant and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
Nothing
Reviewed April 19, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: