Book Now: Buffalo Bay Vacation Club

Very good
From 404 reviewsSee what guests said
7.6
/
10

Reviews of Buffalo Bay Vacation Club Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
7.6
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.8
Facilities6.9
Location8.2
Room comfort and quality7.2
Service7.7
Value for money7.4
Rating
9+ Exceptional (79)
8-9 Excellent (61)
7-8 Very Good (84)
6-7 Good (39)
<6 Below Expectation (68)
Time of the year
Mar - May (96)
Jun - Aug (4)
Sep - Nov (32)
Dec - Feb (199)
All guests (404)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 331 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
Katrin from Germany
Couple
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 6 nights in December 2017

Excellent”

Really friendly Stuff, Beautiful and calm beach

Reviewed December 29, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Apin from Thailand
Couple
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 5 nights in November 2017

Happy to stay here :)”

We are a couple staying here for a week on November. We really appreciate all good service mind from staffs. They're very welcome and friendly. Moreover, the resort just connects to the beach (Buffalo Bay). We felt like we had our personal beach so near! One thing I would like to complaint about is the cleanliness of bed sheet in my 1st day. I think it's because of long time no usage room due to the low season. And another thing is food at the resort is so expensive,so I suggest you to eat other restaurants around the island.

Reviewed December 13, 2017
2.0
Domi from Germany
Couple
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 6 nights in December 2016

Money Russians”

the unfriendly owner/ people there only wants to earn to much money for nothing, everything is old and dirty, the garden looks like a desert, the mosquitos are big as birds. the beach is not so nice, the location is far away from the pier where you con get everything you need BUT, the island is great, believe me go to another beach not to the buffaloes ........ cheers dominik from germany (12.2017)

Reviewed August 29, 2017
6.4
Good
Norramon from Thailand
Group
Family Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011

Quite place”

Quite place, relaxed

Reviewed March 09, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Bobocea from Romania
Couple
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017

Very friendly staff; big room and clean”

Very friendly staff; big room and clean

Reviewed February 19, 2017
6.8
Good
Magnus from Sweden
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Nice hotel at the beach front”

Nice hotel at beach front on Khao Phayam. Great location.

Reviewed February 19, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Tarida from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017

nice resort”

good location

Reviewed February 15, 2017
5.6
Don from United States
Couple
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 1 night in January 2017

Disappointed in Hotel, Great Island”

Just average. We had two rooms. Superior room is spacious and comfortable. Cabin 20 a “deluxe” room at the back of the property near the generator is noisy, very small, crowded, and dark. Floors not clean which is unusual in Thailand. Staff indifferent and not committed to service. Beach is nice. The Island is great with a laid back atmosphere, lots of restaurant options, and motor bike rental is only 200 baht per day a much better deal than using the overpriced motorcycle taxis. Would go back to the Island but probably not Buffalo Bay Resort.

Reviewed January 30, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Sonja from Austria
Couple
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 1 night in January 2017

Everything fine”

Booking via Agoda saved us a lot if money. It was cheaper than the price they told us personally and directly. The cleanest and most comfortable place we found on the island.

Reviewed January 25, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Michael from Austria
Solo traveler
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 1 night in January 2017

I really liked it there. Quiet and stuff friendly but without agoda offer bit overpriced.”

The resort is quiet and away from most the fuzz. I was looking for that. The resort is also very clean and so are the rooms. Daily room service and friendly stuff. Just ask and you will get it. I even got upgraded for long stay at least that's what I thought. Sadly the villa was infested with red ants. The stuff did its best but for me it was over. I can recommend this place if you want a quiet time and not connecting with people. If you look for that that place is not good. Although I have to say, without the amazing agoda deal I got I would say, that resort is a bit overpriced. But I enjoyed my time and if you get a good deal go for it

Reviewed January 20, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Michael from Austria
Solo traveler
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 1 night in January 2017

Very good,quiet and clean resort. I loved it herre”

I got a very good deal with agoda at this resort. The stuff is very friendly and you can ask them anything. Very quiet which was important for me to get some sleep. The best thing I thought was, that the bungalows are very far away from each other and good positioned. So when you sit on your porch, you still have your privacy. All of them are concret houses which I find better than the traditional ones. Privat beach on one of the nicer one, fresh water every day and the hole resort very clean and the fresh coffee is just amazing. Just ask and you will get it. It is a little bit off the main things but I don't consider this as a bad thing. I really loved it here.

Reviewed January 15, 2017
4.0
Michael from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017

The beach is mostly not for swimming and the owner is unfriendly. ”

Whilst the staff is friendly and the rooms quite clean, most don't have sea view as advertised and are disturbed by loud noise from the electric generator which runs all night.

Reviewed January 06, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Surasak from Thailand
Couple
Bungalow Air Conditioning
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016

Good place for vacation”

Nice place and view

Reviewed May 12, 2016
7.2
Very good
avirut from Thailand
Couple
Bungalow Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016

Very nice beach”

Quiet and Nice, but the facilities in the room is not provided enough

Reviewed May 10, 2016
4.4
SAKUNTALA from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016

aa”

aa

Reviewed May 08, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Gord from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 7 nights in April 2016

Buffalo Bay Vacation Club ”

Great restaurant, friendly helpful staff, nice bungalows, beautiful beach location!

Reviewed April 29, 2016
7.2
Very good
Raphael from Thailand
Couple
Honeymoon
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016

Very nice beach + decent food”

Buffalo Bay Vacation Club held everything it promised, the food is generally good although most things "cheese" will be cheddar as is the case in most of Thailand. We were a little irritated though, all the bungalows looked pretty much the same, we had booked the "honeymoon bungalow" which supposedly was special? We didn't find anything special about it other than the price being higher. With agoda's last minute deal we didn't pay much more than the normal fare though and the bungalows were clean, warm clean water, AC and so forth was all there so all in all a nice trip.

Reviewed April 16, 2016
7.6
Very good
Panithi from Thailand
Group
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 1 night in April 2016

so so ”

So so

Reviewed April 15, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Jo from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016

Fabulous relaxing break ”

Beautiful island. Laid back and quiet. Wonderful resort. Food was really out of this world. Helpful,staff

Reviewed February 10, 2016
7.6
Very good
peter from Canada
Couple
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016

Pricey but good value”

Plus everything worked as it should. Excellent attentive manager who speaks good englis and definitely deals with whatever needs dealing with. Great for couples or families.

Reviewed February 04, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Jonathan from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016

Relax”

Nice place very quiet and relax. Wifi is better when you are near the reception but the first bungalows have a bit of wifi. The food is great, try the thaî curry instead of the farang food you wont regret it!

Reviewed February 02, 2016
4.0
Eva from Denmark
Couple
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 5 nights in January 2016

Not very nice. The room was ugly. ”

The first Thing we meet was a sign saying that is was stricktly forbidden to go in there on moterbicke, ok, But all over there was siges saying that this and that was forbidden. The room was ugly, the towels was full of holes, the textiles was shappy. We stayed one night. We had payed for five nights, But it was to depressing.

Reviewed January 24, 2016
5.3
Magdalena from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

Too expensive for that what we got. ”

The beach
Reviewed January 06, 2016
7.7
Very good
Bruce from United States
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015

Nice but noisy”

Rooms are clean and nicely finished. Restaurant had a good selection.

The only things we were dissatisfied with was that there is a resort being built next door, so very noisy during the day. We did not opt for air conditioning since the room was screened. For some reason they decided the burn trash at night, so the resort was covered in smoke.

Reviewed December 31, 2015
7.7
Very good
Darren from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015

Rustic villas but great value for money”

Location, Rustic Villas & Staff

The villas whilst a bit dated are well maintained and are well spread out over the property. The more you pay the closer you are to the beach. we had a villa with fan only which was spacious inside with own private balcony. - villa 17. The staff were all very nice and yes the Russian owner is not the most natural of hosts but he runs a tight ship and leaves the day to day front of house to Ann and her very capable staff. Good coffee in the morning Food not bad if you prefer Western food. Buffalo beach at this end is great when the tide is in but when out it's too far to swim. To get around the island you will have to hire a scooter.

Reviewed December 20, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Brian from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

Beach beauty”

Location, comfort, clean.

Huge room, very comfortable bed, and the little shower hose just outside the door is a great touch for keeping sand out of the room. Hot water not reliable, and the restaurant, although good, does not often have all the items on the menu available. Peaceful, relaxing, beach side comfort.

Reviewed December 05, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Alisa from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015

Love this place”

Location is right on the beach, staff is very friendly and attentive, food is fresh and delicious!

Amazing and relaxing. Highly recommended :)

Reviewed October 13, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Claudia from Italy
Family with young children
Family Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015

Very nice stay at Buffalo Bay Vacation Club!”

Location, food and welcoming staff

Dimitri has been a fantastic host and very patiently assisted my family of 5 with three young kids with any request. Communications before and upon arrival were smooth and he even cooked a birthday cake for one of us. The food was great (a bit expensive but everything need to be carried on the island so not surprising) and the family room was very big with two bunk bed and a very comfy king size bed. The beach was fantastic and even at low tide we enjoyed resting in the shade or walking on the beach spotting crabs and other creatures. We rented Dimitri's kayaks twice, once to adventure in the river nearby among mangroves and another time on the opposite side of the large bay for snorkeling. I was initially worried about the bad reviews on this resort but I must say that I was amazed by Dimitri's kindness and the beauty of his place. We loved Kho Phayam and if we are ever going back we would definitely book at Dimitri's place. Thanks a lot!

Reviewed May 17, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Choochart from Thailand
Group
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015

Great expereince at Buffalo Bay hotel”

Food, Cleanliness, Staff friendliness
Reviewed April 19, 2015
3.7
Jens from Sweden
Family with teens
Family Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014

Buffalo Bay Vacation Club”

The sea-view

The hotel was owned by a Russian guy with a strange attitude. He worked sometimes in the kitchen with bare upper body. No T-shirt or nothing.. The food was ok at best But 50% of what we ordered turned out to to be something that they didn't have! We was a party of four family's for two nights. after one hour after ordering our food.. they came back and told us that they had no chicken an no meat. We met others that had stayed there, and all said that they hated the place! So... DON*T GO THERE!!!

Reviewed April 09, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Jill from Canada
Couple
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015

Friendly staff, amazing food, private beach ”

The food, staff and privacy of the beach were all 5-star. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking to stay in Koh Phayam. Thank you, Ann!
Reviewed April 01, 2015
7.3
Very good
Ian from Canada
Couple
Bungalow Air Conditioning
Stayed 5 nights in March 2015

Quiet and Relaxing”

Shaded grounds, good menu selection and quality, beach.

Very enjoyable. We left feeling relaxed, a great way to spend our month long holiday in Thailand.

Reviewed March 15, 2015
4.7
roar from Norway
Group
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 4 nights in March 2015

buffalo bat at koh phayam”

VERY quiet
Reviewed March 09, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Francine from Germany
Couple
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015

Nice beach, good bungalows, great selection of foo”

Clean, comfortable, good, although expensive food

We liked it, if you are a swimmer, beach might be a bit disappointing, cause during low tide no swimming possible

Reviewed March 04, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Helena from South Africa
Couple
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015

Paradise”

Food, beach, bungalows

Awesome. No complaints.

Reviewed February 23, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Robert from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

Shame about the ide”

Room food staff

Lovely hotel but the tide goes out too far for swimming at certain times of the day

Reviewed January 27, 2015
4.7
Antoine from France
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015

Do not go to this place”

I have stayed in this place with my girlfriend for 4 nights. The first thing that I saw when I came was a big "DO NOT ENTER" sign at the front. Look like the owner knows how to welcome his guests! And when I met him in person, he was not friendly or even polite with us... That could be forgettable of the accommodation, location and restaurant are really good but that was the case at all ! RESTAURANT: the menu is 26 pages of dishes from all over the world, with prices twice more expansive than the rest of the island. Don't expect to eat fresh here !! LOCATION: quite and peaceful place. Nobody in the beach to disturb your sunbath! The beach is beautiful but don't expect to swim here as there is no depth for 300 meters! BUNGALOWS: the bungalows are really good if you had enjoyed an Internet promotion to rent them. Normal price is more than 3500THB for a night TV, electricity and hot shower. But after traveling around the island, lot of places are offering nicer and cheaper bungalows with same services. The cleaning is not that good and there are "DO NOT" signs everywhere in the room. The hotel is talking about "sea view bungalows" but it is impossible to see it as there are trees everywhere! I was really disappointed with this hostel and I strongly not recommend it.

Reviewed January 20, 2015
8.3
Excellent
vanes from Italy
Solo traveler
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

Good quality room”

The bungalow, the cleaning

A good room vs the poor island standards. Room is clean, spacious, fridge and complimentary water are a plus. Only defect is thaat some rooms are really too noisy due to the short distance from generator. Beach at hotel front is poor and with not enough water to swim, but renting a scooter it's no more then 10 miutes from everywhre

Reviewed January 19, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Couple
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015

Very Pleased”

Cleanliness, staff and good food

Really, excellent. Deluxe room. No complaints. Beautiful beach.

Reviewed January 18, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Manuel from Italy
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 8 nights in January 2015

Paradisiac”

Bungalow's Location, Peacefulness, Natural environment

Just perfect stay. In all senses.

Reviewed January 12, 2015
6.0
Malcolm from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014

owner very unhelpful”

location location location

pleasant location. rooms good but stay totally tined by an arrogant and unhelpful owner. He had to help in kitchen and refused to cook half of what is on his menu. He waved u away in an arrogant manner every time you approached him. very unwelcoming person

Reviewed January 06, 2015
6.0
Mircea from Romania
Couple
Honeymoon
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

Good location but understaffed”

Beach location, good Thai food

The overall experience at this hotel was fine but way over priced for the service provided. Although the restaurant manager lady did all she could to accommodate us, she was missing the resources to work with. We paid approx 125USD per night. By the way, the beach towels is a separate rent, not free - this is quite weird for the price paid. Air con broke so we had to move to a different bungalow (cheaper level) cos there was no one to fix the air. This hotel won't be a choice for next time, but the island itself worth visiting again.

Reviewed January 06, 2015
7.7
Very good
Andrea from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 7 nights in December 2014

Lovely resort on whitest beach of the island”

Quiet, nice bungalow, lovely beach

Very nice

Reviewed January 01, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
James from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 7 nights in November 2014

Very relaxing vacation”

Best beach, friendly staff and quiet

My wife and I stayed for 3 weeks in November and had a wonderful relaxing time. Lovely quiet resort with the best beach on the island. The bungalow was very comfortable and Dmitry and his staff were very friendly. Will be back again next year!

Reviewed December 07, 2014
7.7
Very good
Bjoern from Germany
Couple
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014

Buffalo Bay Vacation Club”

Clean, very close to the sea, quiet
Reviewed November 27, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Fabian from Switzerland
Couple
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 5 nights in November 2014

Everything fine”

Location, Staff, Room

Fabulous

Reviewed November 11, 2014
2.0
sirinart from Thailand
Group
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

Terrible hotel”

food terrible,service worst service

Bad service. Unsanitary staff.the food so bad too. I never get the experience like this. the first day I and friends sit in front of bungalow.he just sit on the old plastic chair and then it broken.So the owner charge me 800 baht. But the real price of this chair only 400 baht. i fell unhappy and dont want to go back this hotel

Reviewed April 21, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Parson from Thailand
Couple
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

Excellent for calm beach and natural vacation”

mind service of staff and manager, close to beautiful and quiet beach

perfect for vacation, just sit back and relax with nature....

Reviewed March 07, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Ralf from Switzerland
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 9 nights in February 2014

Beautiful resort on a expectional island”

very quiet, resort in very good condition,

Koh Phayam is a beautiful island. Buffalo Bay Beach is more quiet than Long Beach. BBVC It is a great resort to relax. The rooms have a very good standard and you get a good value for the money. Make sure you have your ferry or speedboat to the island organized.

Reviewed March 05, 2014
8.3
Excellent
maria from Austria
Solo traveler
Superior Garden Bungalow with Fan
Stayed 6 nights in February 2014

Good stay”

Food, location, staff

Overall a very good stay. However, the cheaper bungalows in the back are located near the generator which runs 24 hours. Staff were very friendly in finding a solution to move to a more quiet bungalow. But bungalows in the front are quite more expensive... but beautiful.

Reviewed March 03, 2014