Book Now: Bunga Raya Island Resort

Excellent
From 500 reviewsSee what guests said
8.7
/
10
Recommended by 88% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (500)Booking.com Reviews (106)
8.7
/
10
Excellent
From 500 reviews
Cleanliness8.9
Facilities8.4
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality9.2
Service9.2
Value for money8.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (500)
All room types
Showing 439 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Kuan from Macau
Solo traveler
2 Bedroom Deluxe Suite
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Beautiful and silent island away from city”
Overall it's good! Would be appreciated if the staffs inform us the closing time of different facilities beforehand. We took the 11:00a.m. ferry to the resort and check in, and went to the swimming pool to relax after enjoying the welcoming drinks. We planned to do spa/massage after dinner, but were then informed the spa closed at 7:00p.m. already. We then thought of playing Mahjong as there was nth to do on the island at night, but then the staffs said the Recreation Centre for renting Mahjong has closed too... But overall it is a very nice place to stay, and a lot to do in the morning! Suggest to stay at least 2 nights to enjoy the facilities! : )
Reviewed November 11, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Nicholas from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Great beach resort”
Bunga Raya is a very nice beach resort. The rooms are excellent - we had the "basic" superior room but it was all we wanted - clean , spacious and being set on a hill-side great views. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Great snorkelling as well.
Reviewed October 10, 2016
7.2
Very good
Jinseon from South Korea
Group
2 Bedroom Deluxe Suite
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
A detailed Review in Bungaraya for 4 days.”
I have stayed Bungaraya with my family for 3 nights. First day, Since we were supposed to arrive airport late at night, I specially requested airport pick-up service when i booked the rooms. But when we arrived the airport, there were nobody from Bungaraya. So we went to JP by taxi. Bungaraya is located in Gaya island. We had to ride a boat to go to the resort. But they serve a boat going to resort only two times a day, We paid 212 RM for a boat. We checked in late night. Our room was 2-bedroom deluxe suite. The room was spacious, wonderful view. good amenities. But!! I couldn't wash with hot water and use wi-fi. I talked those problems to lobby, and they said they can fix it next day. so i had to take a shower with Ice water. Second day, We woke up morning. The beautiful view welcomed us. In the morning Bungaraya staff came us room early and they fixed hot water problem. After having breakfast, Our family enjoyed kayak, snorkeling, swim at the beautiful sea. The best part is that the Water pool is located next to the beach. And there are only 2 restaurant in resort. there were not bad but not professional. I recommend that go to the Gayana resort for dinner. there are more professional restaurants than Bungaraya. In the evening I came back to our room. But Wi-fi still didn't work. I called the lobby and requested politely to fix wifi. However, they said fix it next day again. It was so uncomfortable. I complained it. They gave us a pocket wifi at 10 PM. Anyway, There were wonderful place to enjoy holiday with family except some fundamental service problems. Also there are not convenient store. Buy potato chips in advance if you want to go to Bungarya.
Reviewed September 22, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Eugene from South Korea
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Almost perfect”
Very good resort
Reviewed September 19, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Russell from United States
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Exceptional”
Fantastic resort. Beautiful and peaceful, amazing beach and crystal clear water. Would definitely come back here again!
Reviewed September 05, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Chris from Australia
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Beautiful spot with great staff and amenities ”
Really enjoyed our stay, tucked away in the rainforest by the beach. Room was excellent and staff super friendly and went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable. Some improvement suggestions could be allowing the cayak hire to go out of the perimeter lines which are only 200m offshore, when there is a great coast of the island to explore. Also breakfast provisions are not what you would expect for the Price. Otherwise a great short stay.
Reviewed September 04, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Sunduijav from South Korea
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Was very good”
We are very happy
Reviewed August 27, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Xiaohui from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
We are very glad we stayed in this resort where it has its own private beach and private place for snorkling and other sports. It is quiet and let you get away from your normal life. Given the locatio”
The only thing disappointed us is that we were asked to pay extra fee (100 MYR) when we would like to take 1pm boat, rather than 11:30, after checking out at 11am. We were not aware of this before though we told management about our decision in previous day. We thought it is very natural for us to have a short lunch before we head to airport, but it seems the hotel doesn't want us to stay any longer.
Reviewed August 08, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Logan from United States
Group
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Paradise!”
A little pricey but sheer paradise. Loved the beach and pool! Breakfast was delicious but the dinner menu could use some work.
Reviewed July 21, 2016
6.0
jodie from Australia
Family with young children
Plunge Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Not up to par with other international hotels/ resorts at this price point”
We stayed in a plunge pool villa and the room was very simple, but somewhat dated. The bathroom has windows which open/ stay open, meaning the bathroom and wc are the same hot temperature and humidity as outside and we had to spray the bathroom for mosquitos and ensure the door to the bedroom area was opened and shut quickly only when needed. The plunge pool at the villa was very deep, and great for cooling off privately and out of the sun, however it overlooked a murky creek bed with some scattered rubbish. Understandably it was the end of dry season so there was only a small amount of very murky water, but the rubbish could have been removed by staff. On a positive note, the staff were lovely, breakfasts were generous, varied and filling, and a complimentary drink before dinner was a lovely gesture. The island itself is a quiet, relaxing place to stay, and the ocean was bath water warm. Staff 'combed' the beach in the mornings to remove rubbish, an unfortunate issue due to the over water villages both on Gaya Island and other parts of Kota Kinabalu.
Reviewed May 03, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Vincent from Taiwan
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
AMAZING!!!”
Wifi need improvde
Reviewed March 23, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Tim from China
Family with young children
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Outstanding resort in a beautiful location ”
Quality of the offering was outstanding - well designed, spacious rooms (we had a 2 bed apartment set-up), one of the nicest rooms we've ever had
Reviewed January 04, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Pui from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Excellent hotel”
Good location, excellent service, Close to wild animals
Staff are friendly and try their best to help. Boat transfer is available to go to Gayana Eco Resort and so we went there for Marine Eco Centre. However, the reception staff at Jesselton Point told us no boat transfer was available between Gayana Eco Resort and Bunga Raya Island Resort. The water quality at Gayana Eco Resort was quite bad, I am glad that I have booked Bunga Raya Island Resort. I will definitely stay in Bunga Raya Island Resort again and bring my kid there to get close to the wild animals.
Reviewed December 18, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Brigitte from China
Couple
Plunge Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Great Weekend”
We were just about the only ones there, very convenient boat transportation from KK, very quiet
We loved it. It was a quiet place and perfect for a weekend getaway.
Reviewed December 11, 2015
7.3
Very good
YUEN from Hong Kong
Group
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Old but satified”
Infinite Swimming pool, Staff is helpful and polite, the spa is awesome
We were informed by the staff that it was VERY low season when we arrived. Only 4-5 villas were occupied. We enjoy the silence from the Villa. The staff are really helpful and cheerful. We found more staff than the customers XD We enjoy to swim at the swimming pool very much, as we found the sea wave is quite large so we didnt get into the water. However the water quality of the beach was various. It was quite good in the first two days. The water was pretty clean. But when we checked out on the third day, we can see many rubbish in the sea, i think it was affected by the sea flow. actually there is already a net to prevent the rubbish getting into the area of villa. However the wave is too big. many rubbish flew into the beach. Overall, we think the Room is pretty old. But the environment is good. The staff is really nice.
Reviewed December 04, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Michael from Netherlands
Family with teens
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
.”
.
.
Reviewed October 19, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Jelte from Netherlands
Family with young children
Superior Villa
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
Great stay”
Location, staff, snorkeling
Reviewed October 01, 2015
7.0
Very good
AGM from Bangladesh
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
so so”
staffs are very good
Value for money is not worthy
Reviewed September 25, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Jean from France
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Ideal stay for a good farniente”
Nice location, good Food & Beverages, very friendly staff
Customer support was very efficient in meeting us at the Airport, despite plane delay and for a late transfer
Reviewed September 07, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Leslie from Hong Kong
Family with young children
2 Bedroom Deluxe Suite
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
Even better than the first time”
Location people location
We are going back again next year for a third visit. Enough said
Reviewed August 21, 2015
7.0
Very good
Milo from United States
Family with teens
Superior Villa
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
Poor staff training”
Location, facilities, food
The property is a 5 star facility with 3 star processes. Examples: 1) We paid for an extra bed in our villa. When we arrived, the bed was there but not towels, etc. for three. While towels were quickly brought when I called, this was an early indicator of trouble ahead. 2) Walk the beach at 10:00 or 11:00 AM, and there is still rubbish washed up from the night before - not a little bit, but scores of empty drinks bottles, pieces of styrofoam, etc. In this price range, there should be a crew that walks the four hundred meters of beach every morning before breakfast (and some days a couple of more times), picking up rubbish. It is off-putting to walk to breakfast (and then from breakfast, and on one occasion, after lunch!) seeing whatever washes up overnight. 3) Drinks are free at Happy Hour...but be prepared to wait up to 20 minutes and ask two or three times for a glass of wine, or a lemonade. On two nights, there was only one overworked bartender doing everything. On other nights, even with three people behind the bar, service was just as slow. It was genuinely mystifying what everyone was doing while so many guests were clearly waiting for their drinks. To me, they should have one person assigned to mix complex drinks, and someone else who can quickly knock out items like glasses of wine, two-ingredient drinks and sodas and bring them to the tables. Indeed, why not make those free and quick, and charge for the "get out the instructions and blender" exotic drinks that apparently take up so much time? 4) The food was superb, but be prepared to wait for it (including 15 minutes for that most exotic of morning beverages, coffee); in addition, nothing puts a good meal in the shadow like asking up to three people and waiting up to 20 minutes for the bill! At one lunch, having asked 3 different staff members for the bill over 25 minutes, I was one minute away from just walking out. In short, I felt as if we were under-served for a resort in this price range.
Reviewed August 17, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Johanna from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 7 nights in July 2015
July 2015”
Scenery, snorkelling and the staff
Reviewed July 27, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Tanya from South Africa
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
great wekend getaway”
location, food, beach
We had a very relaxing stay at the resort. The beach is clean, has lovely white sand and the water is clear for snorkelling. The food and cocktails served at the Pantai Grill was of a very good quality. The villa we stayed in was very comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only thing I missed was a small shop to buy some basic necessities (e.g. sunhat or sunscreen); small gifts; or medication (e.g. for insect bites; colds and flus etc), although the staff did provide me with two Panadols (they initially offered one tablet) when I tried to find something to cure a headache. All the transportation arrangements ran smoothly from the time of collection at the airport, drive to the ferry terminal and the speedboat trip itself.
Reviewed July 23, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
SIMON from Australia
Family with teens
2 Bedroom Deluxe Suite
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Little slice of paradise”
Beach, snorkelling & no hussle and bussle
We loved it so much we stayed an extra day
Reviewed July 05, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Pierre-Laurent from France
Family with young children
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Nice location, staff very polite, room size”
Beach, swimming pool, staff
First a warning: make sure you call the hotel in order to have a seat on the boat that will transfer you to the island - there is a scheduled boat transfer every 2 hours. This advice is not easy to find on the hotel website/Agoda. Once the check-in is done at the pier of the harbour, your luggage will be in your hotel room by the time you get into it. You have a quick tour of the resort on a small golf car. Food: breakfast very good. Restaurants: very good, even though I found them pricey: as i leave in Singapore, having the chicken & rice approx 2.5 times more expensive than in a hawker center is a bit shocking. Drinks: very expensive if you drink more than the beers offered in your hotel room and if you miss the sun dawn happy hour. Staff performance: All the people here were smiling and polite, remembering your name even if we only stayed for 3 days. 1 of the air con broke down during the night. I think within 30 min someone was in our bedroom fixing it. I will definitely go back there to explore(kind of treck in the jungle) which I didn't do this time.
Reviewed May 18, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
KENZO from Japan
Family with young children
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Beautiful place”
Good environment, Good dining, good staff
There are no issue to complain, Just need improve service quickness. Good staff but sometimes slow response
Reviewed April 15, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Wing from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
a very nice and decent resort. ”
great environment, facility, service
a very pleasant experience. great resort, lots of activities to choose, helpful staff.
Reviewed April 07, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Nicholas from United Kingdom
Family with teens
2 Bedroom Deluxe Suite
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014
Infinity Pool and.......Beyond!”
The Location, The Staff, The Scenery
This is a first class resort, run by an enthusiastic and helpful staff, the location is simply the best. We stayed in a 3-bedroom Villa which was perfect in every way. The staff truly made our stay, special mention to Fauzi who is a gentleman and went out of his way to make a our 5-day stay memorable, thank you to you all!
Reviewed December 27, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Lisa from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Peaceful & relaxing holiday”
Private beach, villa, staff
Relaxing n peaceful holiday. We wish to stay longer. Will be back in future!
Reviewed October 25, 2014
7.3
Very good
Charlie from United States
Business traveler
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
friendly staff”
great view
Reviewed September 27, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
siew from Malaysia
Family with young children
2 Bedroom Deluxe Suite
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Great place for unwinding, away from the crowd. ”
The accommodation (had a 2 bedroom villa), the beach (clear water, fish) and friendly staff
We wanted just a quiet place to get away from it all and rest and relax. The resort lived up to our expectations.
Reviewed September 17, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Kit from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Nice place, Nice staff”
friendly staff, comfortable room, beautiful beach
Reviewed September 14, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Grace from Malaysia
Family with teens
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
room with a view”
secluded, close to nature and scenic
The view was excellent, quiet and relaxing. Food was good too.
Reviewed September 07, 2014
7.7
Very good
Oi from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Nice place, bad food...”
Room, Location
A superb place for getaway, private villa with beautiful beaches. However, the food really needs improvement there...
Reviewed August 25, 2014
5.0
CHUN from Hong Kong
Group
Plunge Pool Villa
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Very good”
Good
Reviewed July 17, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Brian from United Kingdom
Couple
2 Bedroom Deluxe Suite
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014
Relaxing, peaceful and close to nature”
Staff, environment, facilities
Reviewed June 30, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Chi from Macau
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
absolutely relaxing”
relax, nature, free
room is comfortable and located in the mountain, u can call free tuk tuk to send u to main lobby or restaurants. environemnt is perfect, free water activities and many wild animals u can see. i will visit again foe sure....
Reviewed June 23, 2014
6.3
Good
Tsz from Hong Kong
Group
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Great ”
Cozy nice swimming pool
Reviewed June 19, 2014
5.3
Adrien from France
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Great spot, nice villas. Dirty beach, empty hotel.”
Infinity pool, bungalows.
Had a relaxing stay, it was like a private resort.
Reviewed June 16, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Wahib from Netherlands
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014
Fantastic, beautiful and very relaxing”
The staff is attentive, professional and very polite. Nice clear water and unique jungle environment. Best place ever visited. Few guests which gives you the feeling the island is all yours
Calm, relaxing, luxurious. Beautiful island with unique authentic environment The staff treated us as royalties
Reviewed June 07, 2014
8.0
Excellent
bian from Malaysia
Couple
Plunge Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
It was amazing!”
As mentioned above
I loved the place! Food was good too!! I will be back for sure!
Reviewed May 26, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
KIN from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
excellent”
nice service, excellent scene.
fantastic
Reviewed May 05, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Abhik from India
Family with teens
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
The view is fabulous. ”
The view, the View and the view
The view is great, and it is located right next to green waters. The staff were attentive but did not live up to expectations. We had to call in at least three times to tell that our room has not been attended to by housekeeping at 12 noon. The food options need improvement too - my wife fell sick after eating at Pantai Grill. The main plus points of this resort are the view, and the nice villas - no doubt. Food and service need some brush up, though they are trying.
Reviewed May 05, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Qi from China
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
One of the best hotels in Yabi”
Location, service and bar.
Reviewed April 26, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Jemima from Australia
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
picture perfect”
beach, peaceful, nature
The room was beautiful, clean and big. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Great place to wind down and relax and away from all the'hussel bussel'and enjoy the nature around you.
Reviewed April 22, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Michal from Poland
Family with young children
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Relaxing island”
Isolated location, warm and peaceful sea,friendly and helpful staff
We spent 3 relaxing days in the hotel. Strongly recommended.
Reviewed April 21, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
JIAYU from China
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
very nice hotel, had great fun there”
private island, nice environment, nice food
very happy and fun
Reviewed April 19, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Arnajak from Thailand
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Good quality of life, bed and staff is nice”
Beach, staff, water sport
Reviewed April 13, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
CORINA from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
relaxing yet adventurous. ”
replenishable and free beverages from the mini bar.nice welcome gift (sarongs) and attentive staffs.
Reviewed April 07, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Raina from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Idyllic location with jungle and beach around you”
Location and design of resort great, rooms lovely with the bed the biggest and most comfortable ever stayed in and staff very warm and friendly.
Overall, amazing and memorable trip as the three of us (a couple and one teenager) all loved Bunga Raya and would go back. We loved the location, the natural jungle gardens, wildlife around us, the pool, the beach and water activities. The staff were so sweet and there was a sense of pride in their local culture and surroundings. Visiting musicians at dinner were nice, though would be better just playing in the background rather than at tables. The free boat shuttle to the sister resort and the mainland was essential, though not all that regular and pretty thrilling boat journeys, which can limit how much you might want to go out and about. Bunnga Raya much lovelier than the sister Gaya resort, though that is easier for access to mainland. Not so good- 3 nights/4 days were probably about right on the island due mainly to the lack of choice and price of food and drinks and access elsewhere. Menu and food at the sister resort seemed better.Some simpler asian dishes would be nice, though seemed weighted towards traditional Chinese due to main visitors maybe. The Longhouse was better than the beach grill, in which we had two poor meals. The food, the standard of service and accommodation finish is not reflective of the price charged in terms of a luxury hotel. However, nothing 'awful' and the price really is for the location and what must be the general expense of resourcing it. Eco claims rather spurious in terms of daily practices, but resort sympathetically built to environment. Red algae spoiled the look of sea and snorkelling etc but as a natural element, not much can be done though limits the pleasure from the 'easier' water activities. Nothing much to do after dinner, though DVDs available quite old and limited choice. But, fine by us as usually worn out by the day of being outside and active! Generally, we would definitely recommend and return. A beautiful and relaxing holiday away from phones, wifi (accessible but not regular), cars and general life.
Reviewed March 23, 2014