Book Now: Capt. Hook's Red Parrot Inn

Excellent
From 223 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
/
10
Recommended by 89% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (223)Booking.com Reviews (1)
8.2
/
10
Excellent
From 223 reviews
Cleanliness8.1
Facilities7.4
Location8.3
Room comfort and quality8.3
Service8.5
Value for money8.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (223)
All room types
Showing 208 verified guest comments
2.8
Ricky from United States
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
Everything is falling apart”
Pros: hmmm. The bed is comfortable? Cons: bathroom, light was busted, toilet was busted, toilet seat was busted, no hot water.... Bedroom, no water heater for coffee... Small crt tv took be back about 15yrs... Everything was just dated and old... And in the middle of the night if your really lucky you will wake ti cockroaches om your pillow. Resort had a food menu but no cook. 5pm they told us thr cook already went home,. Breakfast the next morning sorry no cook. There is only Street food and run down eateries near by. Best bring your own food. All in all just skip this one.
Reviewed October 25, 2018
6.8
Good
Philip from United Kingdom
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 22 nights in April 2018
Fabulous place to chill out”
We stayed in one of the four tiny cottages for almost three weeks. Expected to meet other couples doing exactly the same thing, but, the other three cottages were either un-occupied, or occupied for one night at a time. Don't go there to party, the bar closes at around 9pm. Do go there to cook your own food,.... you get full and free access to all their kitchen facilities. They have a very tiny beach which we loved, and about a 5-minute walk away is a much prettier beach which is heavily populated by the locals, and the ferry boats waiting to transport you to the mainland. Big disappointment for me was that the "famous" owner of the Red Parrot never made herself known to us. Three weeks we were there, and never a sight of the boss Cleo. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom just about sufficient, and the tv adequate. We liked the tiny balcony with the table and chairs, and also loved the two false windows! (When you first enter your cottage, .....the curtains reveal......a wall!)
Reviewed August 25, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Darren from Australia
Solo traveler
Honeymoon Suite
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Paradise in a family setting”
The staff, the food, the resort boat
This Hotel has so many positives - friendly staff, great home cooked foods, the best view of water and island. The negatives - hard solid rubber mattress on bed, lack of bar fridge in room. The hotel provides a good place to relax and ponder life. The eating area is nice with great views and I loved their home cooked foods. The Tuna Belly was the best I have tried. The staff their make the ambience of the place. Nothing is a trouble. I requested cold fresh coconuts daily and they did that just for me. After 4 days I did not want to leave, I felt part of the family. The birds next to the eating area are entertaining, one bird kept calling me 'pangit' which is tagalog for ugly hahaha. I did the island tour on the resorts boat and found that a great way to see the pristine waters and locals fishing. Just resist the local pearl merchants who will try to sell you sub standard fresh water pearls at inflated prices. The only main down for me was the bed. They need to purchase inner spring mattresses for their rooms to ensure western standards. A small bar fridge would also be a good inclusion. Overall I loved the place. A-
Reviewed November 26, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
matt from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
great staff and striking view of the bay”
friendly staff, super food
all of the staff, directed by the intrepid aries, made this stay fun. aries always has a smile on his face and makes sure you are comfortable. the food is super and every time i ate i felt like it was christmas, since the food comes wrapped in cellophane to keep it splendidly warm. the cook must have trained at a culinary college somewhere because the sinigang, adobo, pancit, and tocino were all super tasty. the snorkeling is just ok in front of the hotel but coral garden was fun but not spectacular with nice corals and a few fish.
Reviewed November 14, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Christine from Philippines
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Great hospitality and wonderful beach!”
Super nice room and very lovely beach!
Great place to stay with if you're up to some relaxation and serenity! Our room is clean and staffs are very accomodating. The private beach and the sand are perfectly fine though it is quite small. We'll definitely go back for more!
Reviewed July 31, 2012
8.7
Excellent
hwiyoung from South Korea
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in November 2011
best place for rest. ”
kind staffs. neat and tidy rooms.
i reserved a standard room but they upgraded mine to deluxe room for free!!. the room was clean & tidy. staffs were friendly. i had a lunch and dinner at the restaurant there. i was satisfied with the food and the price except that they don't have a menu board. some guests(like me) are not comfortable asking about the food and price all the time. anyway i am pretty sure that i will visit there again soon~.
Reviewed November 23, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Maiko from Japan
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011
Clean pleasant and hospitable”
excellent management
our stay was very pleasant despite blackout due to a fallen electric pole on the highway. staff made it comfortable with the generator and moving us to the oceanview room. the ownder gave us free mangos and coconuts. rooms and the kitchen, reception/bar area, and dining rooms are freshly painted with lively colors inside and out. surprisingly calm and sophisticated atomosphere without karaoke, drunken people, or shouting roosters unlike common philippino resorts. walking distance from the kaptian ferry port and grocery market. the sea is so clear, emerald green, and the beach is white sand. price is reasonable. you will see a lot of foreigners there, since the owners are philippino lady and american guy.
Reviewed August 16, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Renato from Philippines
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in May 2011
A very homely place and friendly environment”
very personal services, beach front, boat is ready for island hoping
cleo and her staff are very accommodating and considerate. i really appreciate her concern to us. i'm looking forward on the realisation of their plan to develop areas in the high hills, this would give more attraction for the future guests.
Reviewed May 17, 2011
7.6
Very good
Juma'at from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Wish to stayed a bit longer~”
Exactly looklike as picture, st ana wharf pier is furthermore than babak wharf. It’s more closer. Faster wifi in public area compare in room. They’ve their own natural sea swimming pool area,you can swimming at night as well. Wish to stayed more longer than a night.
Reviewed February 20, 2018
6.8
Good
Julio from Philippines
Solo traveler
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
Staff polite.nice view of beach.good cool parrot.”
Pros.nice view.good place to chill.relax.unwind. Cons.aircon need to replace.a little bit of repair will do.no hot shower.
Reviewed October 09, 2018
8.4
Excellent
shiella from Japan
Family with young children
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
just fine”
just good
Reviewed July 05, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
tevin from Singapore
Couple
Honeymoon Suite
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
awesome staffs and perfect location”
one of the best hotel i stayed ,Staffs are so friendly and helpful, The beach next to hotel is so clean and good for snorkeling and swimming. The hotel can arrange island tours & Samal tours .
Reviewed February 20, 2018
6.0
Mau
Family with young children
Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Nice for a tight Budget”
The staff are nice and accommodating. The food was a bit expensive and is very limited. The beach badly maintained. When we got there, I saw bottles and trash on the beach. It took awhile for the staff to clean it up.
Reviewed October 05, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
glenda from Philippines
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
great place”
The inn was really good. The staff was so courteous, and helps you with everything you need. You can buy fish, meat, veggies in the nearby small market, and you can cook for yourself FREE OF CHARGE! Ain't that great? The view was spectacular, and accessibility to talicud island us very easy. I couldn't forget my wonderful experience here. Highly recommended. Five stars!
Reviewed November 10, 2016
6.8
Good
Abigail from Philippines
Family with young children
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Didn't get the room I paid for.”
I paid for the cottage but was placed in the room above the restaurant/office space. The main reason why I wanted the cottage is for the privacy and to make sure that we don't get disturb by other guest and personnel. After dinner my kids and I retreat to the room and yes, noise from the opposite room can be heard because of thin walls, aside from that, the foreigner guests of the owners can be heard while they were drinking till the wee hours. The only consolation is that the staff were really great. Dinner must be ordered in advance as they close at 6pm. Went at kaputian beach park just few minutes walk from the inn, I was expecting so much but when we arrived there is a space that they covered that smells so bad and seems to be the trash area. The beach is also dirty with empty liquor bottles all around. Had I known it will be like that, I wouldn't have gone at kaputian. They should really learn to care for the environment. It could have been nice.
Reviewed April 23, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Brent from Canada
Family with young children
Cottage
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
“Completely Off The Hook” Best Vacation Ever!”
People, Relaxation, Snorkeling
If you want to go to the Pearl Farm and stay at a structured luxury resort, do that. The Red Parrot in is a completely relaxing do whatever you want get away that caters to families, couples, single travelers and large parties. In fact we made friends from China, Switzerland, Lithuania, and Canada, and of course the Philippines during our stay. Kaputian is a small community on the south end of Samal Island. It has a nice beach, many amenities, and super friendly people and is the location of the Red Parrot Inn. Other reviews have said that this place is Isolated. Not even close in my opinion, it is just off the beaten path enough to be awesome. There is a large boat from Davao to Kaputian and back 3 times a day. This is an easy way for travelers to get to the Inn. We were a family of 14 and stayed 7 nights. We took boat trips to Talicud Island where they have good beaches and some of the best snorkeling I have done in the Philippines. We rented motorcycles and explored the beaches on the south end and east side of Samal Island. Some days we just sat back l drank beer and listened to the waves lap at the base of the large covered patio while others swam in the clean blue ocean. The food at the bar was good and I thought reasonable. The drinks where affordable and if you wanted to save 10 pesos you could go across the street and get your own drinks. The Inn has cooking facilities for the guests if they want to walk one block to the local market and buy food to cook. The staff at the Red Parrot Inn are truly fantastic people! We had the pleasure of meeting Cleo Hook. We would like to thank her and her family for their exceptional hospitality!
Reviewed April 21, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Robert from Canada
Couple
Superior Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Spacious, Local, and Friendly”
Staff attentiveness, local feel, and spacious room
Captain Hook's Red Parrot Inn was a great place to stay in Samal. It is in a small local village on the western coast of Samal with a small attractive island offshore. The man who runs the place (forget his name! arrgh!) was incredibly nice and sweet and very helpful in negotiating transport and other items. Our room was spacious and comfortable and had an adjoining terrace (shared with neighbouring room but we had it to ourselves!) which was nice in the evenings. The restaurant is a good standard and possibly the best in the town. This area of Samal was incredibly local - we were dressed humbly and modestly yet still attracted stares from quite a few passers-by. The island offshore was fun to visit for a day of swimming and sunning but not much more than that, and the place was slightly chancy (a few local teens eyeing us and our belongings for longer than a while), but only just so.
Reviewed July 28, 2014
7.7
Very good
Abraham from United States
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Quiet and close the the beach”
Friendly staff, quiet, right on the beach
Capt. Hook's is one of the more affordable hotels in Samal. It's not luxurious at all but good value for Samal. There's not much going on in Kaputian so you might want to rent a bike to go check out some other places.
Reviewed February 11, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Hans from Germany
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 5 nights in November 2013
comfortable stay at seaside and few steps to beach”
comfortable bed: no plastik mattrass !! fast WFi in room, TV and DVD in room
relaxing and comfortable stay in a quiet village area, food at resort a little bit expensive, but you can buy all around in the little shops, hubble-hubble (motorcycles)around for making trips on the island e.g. to Hagamit Fall 200php for two pax back and return,or go to Canibad Beach or Island Garden resort or to Blue Jazz with water park with water slides etc. Rooms with TV and DVD..lot of DVDs to borrow free of charge, hot water preparing in room if you need hot water for hair-wash or coffe prepare...in bath room only cold shower..but we did not miss warm water.
Reviewed November 20, 2013
6.7
Good
Eddie from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
relaxing and enjoyable”
beach access, quiet location and friendly staff
Overall stay was enjoyable, quiet with night swimming below your hotel room. The easy access to the falls and the exciting high wire challenges. Nice walks during the early morning hours. Quiet town with friendly populace. Setting is provincial and quiet , relaxing atmosphere close to clean,beautiful beach area and scenery.
Reviewed October 18, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Keith from United Kingdom
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
A warm welcome from the minute we arrived.”
The location is excellent with sea views and own beach. Very tidy and clean with friendly staff. Resonably priced and value for money.
We were made to feel welcome from the minute we arrived. The cottage was well equipped,clean and comfortable. The food was simple with no frills,well cooked and tasted good, just one problem was that dinner service finishes at 6 pm, maybe a little early.
Reviewed September 28, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Catherine from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
In touch with nature”
1. views 2. hospitable staff 3. clean room
Me and my husband enjoyed the place, we like the view of the ocean and Mt.Apo its relaxing and rejuvenating. The staff were friendly Tita Cleo and Kuya Aries toured us in her farm with free bukojuice picked from the tree,the farm is located on the top of the mountain where you can see the whole view of samal island and Mt. Apo. However, they need to review their food its a bit expensive and the taste awful they need new cook and new menu.
Reviewed September 20, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Barbara from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
One night wasn't enough!”
The Staff, location, felt comfortable
We stayed 1 night, wasn't enough, we will be going back within a month. The staff were awesome people, so very friendly! We wanted fresh rolls and immediately one of the staff left and within moments was back with very fresh baked rolls, delicious!! Setting on the balcony and watching the ocean and people was amazing. We are an older couple and so enjoyed the peace we found at the Red Parrot Inn! Our sincerest thanks to the wonderful staff and the beautiful Miss Cleo!
Reviewed July 26, 2013
5.0
Laurence from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Small odd place with mini beach”
Quiet, lots of local people near by.nice view for morning coffee
I won't recommend it for beach lovers but for a different place to stay it is interesting. Food is not great. Beach is postage stamp size. Walk down to the park and the beach is nice but lots of rocks and sea urchins. Garbage and broken glass as well I encountered. I liked the local people they were friendly and polite. It's a 2 day max kind of place. I stayed in the cottages with no beach view. If you stay in the beach view rooms it can be very noisy at times. Different place don't plan on a long visit here though.
Reviewed June 14, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Willi from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Such a cute place!”
Love at first sight!
My husband and I loved this place. Our room was right above the water and the managers and staff couldn't be nicer. The beach was clean and beautiful and the water so great for swimming. Comfortable bed and nicely decorated w/ a ceiling fan plus the a/c. The food was tasty but a litte more expensive that I would have liked.
Reviewed February 05, 2013
6.7
Good
BRIAN from Singapore
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
The perfect beach budget paradise accommodation!”
Wake up in the morning to a crystal clear beach water front view scenery and view of Mount Apo.
Samal island is God's Gift to Mankind. Friendly staff, walking distance to Keputian Jetty. Take the 8am 'Grace' ferry back to Davao City to St. Ana Port, a very relaxing and scenic journey on a clean and safe passenger boat. Food at Parrot Inn a bit pricy. Bring your own bottle of wine, and have lunch just outside the Parrot Inn. The chicken adobo is just amazing for 45 pesos + 1 bottle cock. 12 noon ferry travel from St Ana Port to Keputian @ Samal Island is the best because the waters are calmest and to avoid 'sea sickness.'
Reviewed January 20, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
francis from United States
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 11 nights in December 2012
loved everything about this hotel”
The staff!!!!!!!!!
this hotel i will stay at every chance i get. The staff goes out of there way including even making local dishes that are not on the menu. The room is clean, comfortable and convient to the ferry. Also the swimming area has a great section that is white sand and rockless.
Reviewed December 30, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Jennifer from United States
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Our favorite hotel!”
Beautiful room and an amazing location
We stayed at the Red Parrot in for 2 nights. We had a great room with views of the ocean, a super comfortable bed, hot shower, great AC and an electric kettle in the room. The food from the "restaurant" is great and making your own food in the "Dirty Kitchen" is a lot of fun. They have snorkels and fins that you can use for free to snorkel in the water right in the "backyard" of the hotel. My husband saw 2 manatees while snorkeling out there! We also rented their boat for the afternoon to snorkle around the Talicud island. It was fantastic. We will definitely be staying here again!
Reviewed November 17, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Stephen from United States
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
wow”
Very accomodating service
i can not say enough good things about this hotel. wifi in all rooms. great web site. snorkeling trip was fun for my first-time snorkeling wife at talicud island coral garden. we used the "dirty kitchen" to prepare talingan (mackeral tuna) at the hotel. my wife loved playing with oscar the white cockatoo. other guests at the hotel included norwegian, chinese, german and french along with filipinos. clean and comfortable with exemplary service. the hotel is 3 years old and the owners are currently building a fish pond at their house to be used by future guests to catch dinner and then cook it with a great view of talicud and davao from high up. we will definitely return here in the future!
Reviewed October 13, 2012
8.7
Excellent
ran
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Nice hotel with good service.”
Good location and clean rooms
It is very nice hotel to stay, and with very good scene colse to the sea. We can see the sea from the window, and we can go to swim or snorkling very easily. Finally, the boss there is a very nice person.
Reviewed October 09, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Cherry from Philippines
Family with young children
Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Feels like home, you can cook your own food”
Affordable Island Hopping to Talikod Island
The beach is really just downstairs. The 2 cottage we reserved were a bit far from the main inn. Our request was granted to move in to the suite room without additional charge. If you are in a group of 10, the house is really nice. It is complete with 3 rooms, living room, and kitchen. The owner invited us to their top view farm. We were lucky to be given a chance to see the natural spring inside their lot. We were given free fresh buko from their farm. They will develop the farm for wedding events and conventions.
Reviewed August 15, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Jean from Philippines
Family with teens
Standard
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Approachable people”
Their signature parots
The rooms are neat and clean, and very spacious. the outside was also clean and tidy. the workers are very friendly and approachable, during early morning the view of the sea is very nice because the stairs going down the water is like a pool. the water is clean and very clear. u guys must visit capt. hook's red parrot wen u go to samal island.
Reviewed July 05, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
David from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in February 2012
Great place”
Hotel Staff is excellent
Jec, Aris, Aaron are some of the best staff my wife and I have been around. They would always do what ever was asked of them. I read many reviews about this hotel before booking it and they were all good. Now I know why because we were there to enjoy it. Thanks Red Parrot
Reviewed March 04, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Khalid from Philippines
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
Nice and clean hotel, nice management and staff”
The manager is very kind, the staff too, and the hotel is clean and on the beach
Very nice stay, the manager welcomed us personaly, the staff are nice, most of the hotel is build on the beach, some parts are on the other side of the road actually (cheaper). drinking water (hot and cold) is available, and the hotel is clean and good.
Reviewed January 29, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Jeanne from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in January 2012
"great location, amazing view, remarkable service"”
service
The staff is very friendly, courteous and professional. She always make sure that the amenities are complete. The room was very clean and comfortable. Nice view of the sea. Air conditioning is in its best condition. I would prefer to stay at the same hotel when i come back to Davao. The food is okay.
Reviewed January 14, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Phillip from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2011
Nice, peaceful stay”
Good Food cooked to order, nice view of ocean.
1st glance seems not so great, but actually was a pleasant stay. Beach not spectacular, but good enough for wading, playing, and light swimming. Food is made to order,...how you want, whatever you want, served where you want, and pretty much whatever time you want. Owners very friendly, helpful,... filipina/American couple.
Reviewed December 17, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Peter from Australia
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 6 nights in October 2011
A great retreat with the greatest service.”
Quite with Ocean views. Service personnel and owners friendly, even the parrot .......
My experience with travel, this is a place to refresh, vitalize, and to relax. the overall place is fantastic with an eagerness too please, all staff are fresh and friendly. the views are out of a picture book, the whole island has a lot to offer. I would be going back and I have planned to do just that.
Reviewed October 25, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 5 nights in October 2011
Feel like part of a family”
The staff make you feel important (thanks chic chic). the food and the lovely ocean view. this resort keeps the price of food and alcohol at a reasonable price and relies on return business, and yes i will return
I stayed in a standard room and at the end of my stay looked at the deluxe and deluxe superior room and the honey moon suite. When return i will get the deluxe superior room and not be so cheap the standard room is okay if you are on a budget but the shower is above the toilet area and only cold water. the owner is american and his wife manages the motel and understands the needs of a western guy, loved my bacon and eggs in the morning and fantastic fresh fish bought and cooked of the boat.
Reviewed October 15, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Richard from Australia
Group
Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
Amazing Location - Friendly and helpful staff”
Beach front - Over looking ocean
red parrot, is not just a name.. the hotel actually has red parrots and a white parrot that just loves to talk. rooms are clean - food is wonderfull the owner will meet you, and if there is anything you need just ask, and the owner or staff will arrange it. beaing complete ocean front, you can walk straight into the sea, or sunbake for extra colour. it is a queit place so perfect for relaxing. many things to do on the island, with water sports, caving and swiming and walking at the falls. ( if your fillipino and want to take your family, there is a large house for you.. plus you can buy or bring your own food and have it cooked for you to reduce cost ) there is no menu ( fantastic ) just ask what you want, and it will be cooked freesh for you - select from chicken, pork, fish, all traditional filo dishes and western dishes like bacon and eggs in the morning.. and rice never seems to run out.. this is a wonderful place, and the best part is that it is not expensive.... if your going to samal island.. stay here
Reviewed September 19, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Ron from United States
Group
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011
A hotel that makes you feel at home, ON the beach”
Right by the beach, super kind owners, A+ Service
Me and two mates booked rooms at the Red Parrot Inn and we were not disappointed one bit. The hotel is right on the beach and the staff are all incredibly kind and accommodating. Our days consisted of waking up, eating great food prepared by the owner herself, and drinking at the bar overlooking the beautiful beaches of Samal. We felt like we were at home, and the owners (Cleo & Brock) were super. They're motto is don't say goodbye because you'll be back. Whenever I go to Samal Island, there's no other place I'd stay. Their internet wifi signal is FAST. Even better than wifi I've had in Makati, and their signal covers their whole property!
Reviewed September 02, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Judd from Canada
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in August 2011
nice spot for snorkeling & good staff ”
you just ask the staff ladies to go to the market an shop for your dinner and cook it.
Only problem we had was right after a thunder and lightening storm that knocked out the power and caused a brown out (until we left). They have the generator, but it's spotty. They only run it part of the day or night, giving "it a break" they say. However, that results in no fan, AC, water or light. At night, it's tough to cool down. I think if they are full, they run the generator more because they want people to stay. The WiFi worked good and they can help logging into it too. The staff were real helpful and good. Great cooks. A mix of nationalities coming and going. I'm glad we stayed there, but I am going to venture up to some other coral and tropical fish packed shore.
Reviewed August 26, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Annalyn from Philippines
Family with young children
Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in June 2011
Clean and very accomodating.”
Very clean, owner and staff are friendly.
the place is just a walking distance from kaputian port. it's very clean, and beachfront. the front beach is white sand. the amenities are excellent considering that the price is very reasonable.their wifi connection is also a big help monitoring our business while we're on our vacation. i left my shawl in this place. hopefully i can still get it back :)if ever my family go back. but overall it was worth staying - good experience - good price.
Reviewed June 12, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Ma. from Philippines
Group
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in April 2011
Great escape”
When i visited Davao, we stayed in Capt. Hook's Red Parrot Inn for 2days and 2 nights and I could say that our stay was very relaxing, fun and memorable. The inn is secluded, perfect escape from stress of work! The best feature of the inn is the hospitality of the staff. Everyone was so approachable and friendly. Kudos to you guys! Thank you very much for providing whatever we needed, we had a great time. Special thanks to the manager, Sir Aries, for being so kind, helpful and patient to us. Wi-fi reception was good. The food was worth the price. The room was clean and cozy. We could see a nice view of the beach and Talicud Island. The inn was near to the places where we wanted to go to. They offered us private tours (island hopping and land tour around samal island) at a very affordable price. Snorkeling at Talicud island was the best! Sir Aries lent us snorkels for free. I loved my stay in Red Parrot Inn! I would recommend all travellers out there with tight budget to stay here. It is really worth it.
when i visited davao, we stayed in capt. hook's red parrot inn for 2days and 2 nights and i could say that our stay was very relaxing, fun and memorable. the inn is secluded, perfect escape from stress of work! the best feature of the inn is the hospitality of the staff. everyone was so approachable and friendly. kudos to you guys! thank you very much for providing whatever we needed, we had a great time. special thanks to the manager,, for being so kind, helpful and patient to us. wi-fi reception was good. the food was worth the price. the room was clean and cozy. we could see a nice view of the beach and talicud island. the inn was near to the places where we wanted to go to. they offered us private tours (island hopping and land tour around samal island) at a very affordable price. snorkeling at talicud island was the best! sir aries lent us snorkels for free. i loved my stay in red parrot inn! i would recommend all travelers out there with tight budget to stay here. it is really worth it.
Reviewed May 03, 2011
6.8
Good
Maribel from Philippines
Group
Superior Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
Big rooms.”
Superior de luxe room was big . They allowed cooking and food without corkage. The beach front is small with wet sand which is tough to walk in esp. for children. Included in our booking is the free breakfast for 2 persons but the staff did not serve it. Kaputian had many "carenderia", you can choose the food you want to eat.
Reviewed June 11, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Charisse
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
Budget friendly ❤”
Ganda ng room. The sand is so fine sa beach. ❤ budget friendly. if ever babalik kami sa Samal Island dito pa din kami magstay.
Reviewed October 21, 2018
8.7
Excellent
Wesley from United States
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Very nice clean room. Good beach location”
The beach, The staff, The food
Reviewed March 28, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Maiko from Japan
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in August 2011
Best accomodation in town”
Location is the best!
We enjoyed everything about this inn, from the location to the accomodation. If you are lucky, you will get to see jugong...
Reviewed September 08, 2011
9.2
Exceptional
Michael from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Staff were very friendly and helpfull, nothing was to much trouble. "We shall return"”
Were very surprised and happy when the Air conditioner that went wrong was replaced within the hour "We shall return"
Reviewed April 15, 2018
2.0
Robert from United States
Couple
Honeymoon Suite
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Disappointed”
My wife and I were looking forward to a nice, affordable Valentines day getaway. This place looked nice in the photos shown here on Agoda, but in reality the place was not very well cared for. The CR didn't have the expected complementary items (soap, shampoo, toothbrush, etc) and seemed a bit unclean. Our room did have a very nice view. The surrounding area/neighborhood did not have much going on. There are no actual restaurants and the nearby public beach was fairly small and sand was rough to walk on barefoot because of all the rocks . We were told about another resort about 30-40 minutes away called Maxima and we considered going there for the day but soon found out that it would require a ride on the back of a motorcycle over a rough dirt road so we opted out. Our next idea was to take a short (10-15 minute) boat ride over to Isla Rita Beach Resort on Talikud Island but unfortunately the windy weather was causing large waves so the boat to get there was not available for us.
Reviewed February 16, 2017
7.3
Very good
Nazmi from Turkey
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Beautiful place but a bit far to the port”
Beautiful , Value of Money , Nice View
Price is really good. But it is a bit far to the seaport. You need to hire a motorbike at the seaport to go there. It takes 30-40 minutes with motorbike and you pay 100 PHP per head. Beside of this, it has great beach. It was definetly beautiful.
Reviewed May 27, 2015
7.0
Very good
Alan from United States
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Remote and simple”
Friendly parrot, friendly staff, good price
First, be warned, this place is remote. The taxi from the main ferry terminal is 1000p. I wanted to take side trips to the bat cave and waterfalls but it was not practical due to the distance. Also, it's in a little village with nothing of interest, no restaurants or entertainment. So you’re stuck with the hotel kitchen, which closes at 6:30, so you can't even get dinner on tourist hours! The menu is pretty basic, but all the food was decent. The oddest thing is the portions. Two of us could only finish half of the huge tuna steak, try as we might. Order ham and egg for breakfast, you get enough ham for 4 servings but only one egg. They say they have a beach. Well, there's a shoreline where you can wade or snorkel over the reef, but the water is rather dirty. The only sand is still wet at low tide, and submerged at high tide. The town has a beach park about 600 meters away, though. So the only thing to do is talk to the parrot (Hello!) drink San Miguel, and hire the boatman for a few hours to take you to a good diving spot, or a much nicer beach on nearby Talicud Island. We first reserved a cottage, price too good to be true. The place smelled musty, like it hasn't been properly ventilated in months; hardly any ventilation or view. When we rejected that, they offered us a standard double, still a decent price but much nicer.
Reviewed September 21, 2014
6.7
Good
Ryan from Philippines
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Good Hotel”
The view from our room is great which it is facing the next island and can see Mt.Apo
Our stay was good, the room is clean just need a little bit of improvement in the comfort room, and not really recommended if you stay with your kids as there's no shore during high tide from early evening to early morning beyond that the view is good from our room.
Reviewed September 14, 2014
7.7
Very good
David from New Zealand
Couple
Superior Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in September 2013
Good Experience”
Staff, Location and Beach.
Unique hotel in that it virtually sits on the beach. We had the room with the balcony. Well worth paying that little bit extra for it. Aries and his staff were very attentive and generous hosts. Just a point, if you intend to stay for say more than four nights, it may pay to have your own transport as none really available in this part of the island. Take the island hopping boat ride. Well worth it and do try the snorkelling, which was a highlight for me and my companion.
Reviewed October 08, 2013
6.7
Good
Mary from Philippines
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
simple hotel”
serene place, nice beachfront view
the place is tranquil,you can relax by the beach. they have a nice beachfront. our room was far from the main hotel,there is no inter-com/phone to easily access the main hotel without going out of our room. however, food from the restaurant is at a premium price. after dinner the staff was not able to fix the used plates, a cat scavenged through the leftovers. there are available eatery nearby with home-made food at a reasonable price.
Reviewed September 11, 2012
7.7
Very good
Aida from Philippines
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Great location but small rooms”
clean rooms and friendly staff
We had a great time especially my children because the white sand beach is very near the hotel you just go down a few stairs and there it is! The hotel rooms are clean but has very small bathrooms. The hotel staff are nice but they have small selections of food in their restaurant.
Reviewed June 14, 2012
6.7
Good
Gunnar from Sweden
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 4 nights in April 2012
Nice hotel and friendly staff”
Very friendly staff
We arrived with the boat from Sta Ana wharf. We were picked up at the harbor and brought to the hotel which is just 5 min away. We got upgraded to better room because no other visitors at that time. Nice hotel but a little bit of the track so not much to do there except staying at the hotel. Other hotels closer to the ferry at Samal may be a better choice if you want to have some more outgoing.
Reviewed April 26, 2012
7.7
Very good
pierre from Canada
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012
A family or friends meeting hotel”
A place to enjoy family or friends company
we finally spent only one night at the resort before moving elsewhere. maybe were we expecting too much with regards to previous comments. the room was clean and the personel is taking good care to please you all the time but we have been unlucky to be there while a lot of kids had great time playing in what became the funniest pool of the island at high tide. it was noisy and we eared it for very long in the evening while we were there mostly to relax. understand that there in no real beach there but at high tide with the lights behind the hotel on, you can have great time. we eated a pancit canton while there and it was really good. a bottle of wine for pesos was a nice finding even though it was carlo rossi.
Reviewed April 20, 2012
7.0
Very good
kamil from United States
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011
Simple and enjoyable stay”
Beach-front hotel with great ocean views, good staff
Enjoyed our stay at this simple and small hotel. Ocean views from some rooms as well as from the dining area. Not a lot of sight seeing around the hotel but we went island-hoping which was pretty fun. Great snorkeling spot just below the hotel. No need to go anywhere else.
Reviewed April 07, 2012
5.3
Daniel from United States
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Over Billed & Under Delivered”
The best I can say is it was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.
the description and promo of the resort is very misleading. the 'private beach' is a very small sliver of sand at low tide. i was looking forward to relaxing on the beach to read a book, except i would be underwater most of the time. the resort is very isolated with very limited dinning options outside the resort. ok, but the dinning options within the resort were also very limited, further exasperated by the fact many items were not available. what items were available were poorly prepared/cooked and woefully overpriced for the quality/quantity. the resort lists cable tv & internet for guests. the cable has 4-5 channels, all filipino language channels. internet does not work in the rooms and must be accessed in the bar/restaurant area.
Reviewed March 27, 2012
4.3
alvin from United Kingdom
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
Nice hotel for big company ”
Has main house that you can rent it ok for 10 with nice balcony
this hotel not for single or couples or for family. not much to do and lot hidden prices for food or for trips extra. this is basic philippino businesss hotel for big party that can afford main house.
Reviewed February 09, 2012
6.7
Good
Roberto from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Cottage
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011
Comfortable Hotel”
with fire extinguisher inside the room
The room that I got is nice and comfortable. It has a television with basic channels, no cable connection. It also has a fire extinguisher inside which shows that the owner cares for the safety of the guests. The room is nicely decorated. There is an air conditioner in the room but no hot water in the shower. I like my stay in the hotel because it has its own beach, although it is only small.
Reviewed October 07, 2011
7.3
Very good
Jan from Sweden
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011
Great service”
Quiet location
upgraded to a bigger room for a fairly good price. the smaller rooms are too small for westerners i guess. location is quiet and calm for relaxing. downside is that there is actually no beach at the resort. it's built on the actual beach.
Reviewed August 25, 2011
6.7
Good
Criselda from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013
good,nice wonderful”
they upgrade your room for free
Nice.and the manager Aries was good to us.clean big room,but all i was disspointed was they have no cook at that time and we should cooked for ourselvs.
Reviewed August 01, 2013
5.7
BYONGJOO from South Korea
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
다”
good place to enjy snorkeling, talikut island is near, kind shef
it was nice to enjoy snorkeling just in front of this inn. but there's few things to do here. so if you want to have a relexing day, i want to recommand here.
Reviewed July 05, 2013
6.0
BYONGJOO from South Korea
Couple
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
다”
good place to enjy snorkeling, talikut island is near, kind shef
it was nice to enjoy snorkeling just in front of this inn. but there's few things to do here. so if you want to have a relexing day, i want to recommand here.
Reviewed July 05, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Glyn from Australia
Solo traveler
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Weekender”
Nice place
Reviewed August 02, 2016
8.4
Excellent
julian from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard
Stayed 8 nights in January 2015
Honey moon ”
Love staying here was my second time. Staff are excellent the owner is a lovely lady made us feel special and very welcome. The only problem is it could do with some new furniture in the rooms.
Reviewed July 21, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Enrique from Norway
Solo traveler
Honeymoon Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
xx”
xx
Reviewed November 17, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Mitch from Philippines
Group
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Red Parrot Inn”
The place is safe. Rooms are well-kept. Staff are very friendly.
There's nothing much to do in this hotel unless you'll go island hopping and it is very near Isla Reta. But among other accommodation in Kaputian Island, i think this is the best place to go to.
Reviewed August 12, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Jonathan from Philippines
Solo traveler
Cottage
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Calm and Nice”
Nice beach, accommodating people, quiet place.
I enjoyed my stay at Red Parrot's Inn. I had quality time with myself and was able to relax.
Reviewed August 27, 2013