Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 732 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Room comfort and quality 6.5
  • Service 6.0
  • Value for money 7.0
  • Food and dining 5.4
Sort by

Roy from United States
Couple
Double Bed Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013
dirty, unfriendly staff, and small
nothing good
rude staff, dirty sheets, dirty towels. no staff at this hotel cares about anything. its in a horrible building called the chungking mansion that feels like you are going to be robbed with a bunch of scalpers in front. it was so bad that we had to move hotels.
Reviewed August 09, 2013

Jean from Philippines
Couple
Double Bed Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013
Surprisingly small and a bit inconvenient
located in central Kowloon
Firstly, the room was really tiny. Apparently all "hostels" of this price range offer the same kind of measurements. We read from the reviews that the rooms were pretty small, but upon seeing the actual size, it still surprized us. Secondly, the wifi was crappy. It keeps disconnecting and it seems that the wifi is not for business use as it cannot keep up in the evenings when most guests are in. Moreover, some of the available functions or equipment they post are not actually available. The drinking water was kept locked when the staff was away, which was almost all morning until late afternoon. Hairdryers are available only upon request. I needed to blow dry in the mornings, but nobody was around to borrow it from at those times. Honestly, I was never able to use it in the whole 4 days of stay. In addition, they posted that they had cable TV, but there were only 6 channels available and all were in Chinese. I guess that was what "cable" meant for them. Finally, staff were only available in the afternoons and night. Since the whole place was small, the staff's voices reverberated and penetrated through our walls. They have loud conversations (or arguments) until the wee hours. It sounds that I was pretty upset with the whole experience, but we kept reminding ourselves that it was Hong Kong and space is valuable. I guess, we got what we paid for. This place is not recommended for those who have high standards and expectations. But for those who are rugged budget travelers, this might be just acceptable.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

JOANNE from Philippines
Family with young children
Double Bed Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
Recommended for Backpackers
The room is clean, there is a fast internet access, and cheaper compared to other hotels around the area.
It is generally ok. Recommended for backpackers and for those who are on a tight budget. The place is near Hongkong's Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station so the transfer from one place to another was easier.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Arthur from United States
Family with young children
Triple - 1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed
Stayed 6 nights in June 2013
Not as bad as I was afraid it would be
Great location, plenty of shopping. restaurants & services in the same building, but also very strange
Read the book "Ghetto at the Center of the World: Chungking Mansions," available from Amazon.com -- My guess is that most people who stay there probably don't know what they are getting in for. The first time I saw this building, years ago, I immediately walked out, as it was full of scary characters. By now I know that they are just there to make a buck, and the experience was more interesting than I imagined, or would care to do again, for that matter. This "guest House" is part of the Las Vegas Group, mainly for tax reasons, as the many LVG "guest houses" are all essentially the same "hotel" just under different names. It is in Block C, which was OK, as Block B especially frequently had monster lines waiting for the elevator/lift. The room was mostly clean, though the same crumpled tissue was under the bed during my entire stay. The place had been remodeled, so looked half-way decent. Much to most of the rest of the building is a dump. If you can afford somewhere better, go for it. It is about the most inexpensive yet still adequate room you can find in Hong Kong. The air-conditioner and ceiling fan worked great, as did the hot water heater, while your view will be of an air shaft with plenty of garbage all over the place. But, you sure don't stay there for the view. The sheets were washed, but stained, and sometimes stained very badly. Towels were stained, and/or had up to baseball size holes in them. A notice inside the door said that if you want better towels, then stay at a better hotel (I am not kidding). Would I stay there again, or recommend it to my friends? Well, maybe. Once you get past the initial shock, you realize you can live with just about all of it. You can do a lot of shopping, eating, and get your laundry done, all without leaving the building. Ignore the touts and salesmen and you will be OK. When the internet worked it was OK. It was sometimes off in the morning until I could find somebody to let them know. MTR exit is N5.
Reviewed July 09, 2013

Krisana from Thailand
Group
Twin Bed Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Convenient to Shopping Area
Closed to Shopping Area
Good hotel to stay.
Reviewed July 08, 2013

Marinella from Philippines
Family with young children
Twin Bed Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Convenient and Accessible
budget friendly, fast internet connection, accessible and convenient
Over all, I would say that the experience was nothing beyond expected. Owner was not friendly when we checked in but staff was very accommodating and trustworthy. Room is just really suitable for a backpacker. Outside the building can be very intimidating because of a lot of men offering various items but place is very convenient and accessible to the train station and shopping area.
Reviewed July 07, 2013

Angelica from Philippines
Family with older children
Double Bed Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Pleasant
small but very clean. Good location close to major attractions.
It was a pleasant stay. The place was quiet, small but very clean. The location is great which is close to major attractions and the shopping district.
Reviewed July 04, 2013

sri from Indonesia
Family with young children
Twin Bed Room
Stayed 7 nights in June 2013
Good stay in Hongkong, We hope we will back.......
The Hotel Location is close to MTR, so we ara easy to go to anywhere, and the room is clean every day. But unfortunately, the elevator didn’t separate between for people and for goods.
I find this hotel via Agoda (easy, fast and cheap). The Location is close to MTR, so we ara easy to go to anywhere, and the room is clean every day. But unfortunately, the elevator to go to hotel (15 floor) didn’t separate between for people and for goods, so it feels less comfortable.
Reviewed July 02, 2013

Helen from Indonesia
Group
Twin Bed Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
bad location
cheap price, free wifi
This hostel is not suitable for female traveller, while the building is strategically located, i dont think it is a safe place for female to be staying at
Reviewed July 01, 2013

Peter from Canada
Solo traveler
Single Bed Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Fairly acceptable accommodation for the money paid
clean, friendly, accessible
It was hassle free, friendly staff, quite and easily accessible.
Reviewed June 30, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: