Book Now: Cebu Guest House

Review score
From 295 reviewsSee what guests said
5.9

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (295)Booking.com Reviews (3)
5.9
Review score
From 295 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness5.1
Facilities4.6
Location7.0
Room comfort and quality6.2
Service5.6
Value for money6.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
한국어
简体中文
more
Room type
Budget Fan Room
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Single
Superior Room
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 275 verified guest comments
6.8
Good
John from United States
Solo traveler
Budget Fan Room
Stayed 7 nights in October 2016
location & value for money”
Friendly and helpful staff knowledgeable of the area and recommended tours to Cebu's tourist destinations. Can also rent motorbikes at a good rate.
Reviewed October 14, 2016
7.6
Very good
John from United States
Solo traveler
Budget Fan Room
Stayed 6 nights in September 2016
Convenient location”
This was my 3rd stay at Cebu Guest House within several months.For the budget-minded travelers that want to be in a good location, this GH is hard to beat. Staff are friendly, especially Ryan at the front desk.He was very helpful.
Reviewed September 21, 2016
7.6
Very good
John from United States
Solo traveler
Budget Fan Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016
Convenient location & value ”
Family-owned cozy guest house with very friendly and helpful staff. Will stay again upon next visit to Cebu
Reviewed September 21, 2016
8.0
Excellent
John from United States
Solo traveler
Budget Fan Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016
good value & location”
As a regular visitor to cebu city the Cebu Guest House offers modest accommodations for a good price.
Reviewed September 05, 2016
6.0
Keith from Philippines
Solo traveler
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Needs Improvement”
I spent two days there. The first day I was in there dorm type. The room was cramped up for 8 double deck beds and the aircon installed was too small for the size of the place thus sleeping was big problem. The place smells like feet maybe because there are people inside who stay in the place for too long abd they do not clean up, and the guesthouse doesnt bother cleaning up either. The next day I stayed at single aircon room and I felt okay and i slepy well in the bed. The problem then was the comfort room coz there was no water for like 2 or 3 hours and since people there are in an out, the common comfort room was so unclean. The staff were friendly though, they were always ready to help. Location wise, it's near all key places in the city. There isnt a nearby convenience store so I suggest you buy your needs ahead.
Reviewed August 23, 2016
2.8
Dianne from United Kingdom
Couple
Single
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Highly regret staying here! Never again”
The room advertised online wasn't the one we got! I booked the 'Single' room with desk and tv - looks really nice on their photos. When he showed the room, it was literally just a double bed, AC, mirror, 1 small wall decor and a whole in the wall. They don't even have a rubbish bin. I told the receptionist that maybe we're not in the right room as it doesn't look like the room I booked online. He said it was 'recently renovated' so they're still waiting for the TV blah blah --- recently renovated with a whole in the wall, yeah right. I tried to hinder myself from using the bathroom as it's absolutely terrible and dirty! There were no towels in the room so I had to ask for it. Not even a hook or something to hang your towel. Our room was on the main road so it's really noisy with all the vehicles passing by. Good thing we only stayed here for a night as it was an emergency stopover. Will never stay here again, absolutely horrible in total!
Reviewed August 05, 2016
6.0
Joanna from Philippines
Couple
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Meh”
Room description not accurate, poor wifi
Reviewed July 10, 2016
4.4
Kyle from South Korea
Solo traveler
Budget Fan Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2016
Very dirty bathroom!”
There is only one shared bathroom on the main floor here, and it is disgusting. I didn't even want to use the toilet in there, let alone the shower. Do not stay here. I cannot reccommend it.
Reviewed June 30, 2016
4.8
Kingsley from Canada
Couple
Budget Fan Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
No Parking facilities but they claim it on the listing”
Just a budget hotel, Although they say they have parking, there is no perking available. No good for people with Vehicles. There is no parking in the vicinity. So avoid booking here. The internet is very week or non in the rooms. I used my pocket WiFi. You have to go outside for food and beverages.
Reviewed May 29, 2016
2.0
Nikolaj from Denmark
Solo traveler
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Didn't wanted to let me in”
So it's a very short story.. I don't know anything about the facilities in this hostel/hotel. I arrived at 22.00 and meet a sealed big red door. I knocked it a couple of times and a man came out to recive me... I thought! Then he didn't wanted to let me in, even though I showed my reservation. The only thing he could tell me was nothing - I had help from my taxi my taxi driver who told me that the front desk was closed. With a smile on my face and disappointed I jumped into the taxi again.
Reviewed May 22, 2016
7.6
Very good
Nathaniel from Singapore
Solo traveler
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Friendly staff”
The hospitality is like no other. Filipinos are generally in my impression friendly and welcoming, and they treat each other almost like family, and it really shows in terms of hospitality and friendliness of the staff. As far as the bed and shower goes, I'd caution readers by telling them to manage your expectations. The bed is a little hard (I come from a somewhat privileged background haha) and there isn't any hot water at time of writing and sometimes the water does run out when the tank is empty, but I was brought to another toilet to use where there was some water left to shower with. Sometimes when you hit the road you do encounter the joys of slumming it. Talk to the staff for advice on what to do in Puerto Princessa. They'll make you feel right at home.
Reviewed May 19, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Lowl from Philippines
Solo traveler
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Very good access location and very affordable, new facilities and new renovated rooms.”
Very good location, easy to get a jeep or taxi when like to travel somewhere in the Cebu City, they had a good kitchen free to use when you need to cook your food, very cheap rate of accommodation, the room is a bit small and they had a good facilities to use to make you comfortable during stay. Good hostel.
Reviewed May 17, 2016
6.8
Good
Kenneth from South Korea
Family with young children
Single
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Get the family room.”
The first rooms they showed us, we had reserved 2 rooms, had a shared bathroom, maybe 10 rooms, 1 bathroom, a dormitory style, no thanks was what I said, so they put us in the family room good for 4. A bunkbed and queen size bed with private bathroom. It worked out great and although the cost was more, they did not charge us for an upgrade. They have a free kitchen for guests to use, it is also a bar and has plenty of tables and chairs. I cooked oatmeal there and made fresh coffee in the mornings. It is a nice hostel. Get the family room for privacy and a nice at home experience.
Reviewed May 07, 2016
8.4
Excellent
anthony from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
I return here because of the staff”
Lovely friendly warm welcome.
Reviewed April 23, 2016
2.0
DONALD from Philippines
Couple
Budget Fan Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Awful”
I paid for a single bed that is good for two person instead they provide me a double deck...that was not I paid for
Reviewed April 07, 2016
4.4
Michal from Poland
Solo traveler
Budget Fan Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
.”
.
Reviewed March 28, 2016
7.2
Very good
Florian from Germany
Solo traveler
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
ok”
Was ok to stay
Reviewed March 18, 2016
5.6
meriam from Philippines
Couple
Single
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Disappointing”
I booked for a standard air conditioned room which supposedly has TV, however I was sent to a 4 bunk bed room with no tv.. It was noisy due to renovation. I booked the place for me to rest, but couldn't rest well due to the noise..
Reviewed March 14, 2016
5.0
Barry from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Basic”
Good location,Good price,but as basic as it gets
Only stayed one night.Good location but you get what you pay for.
Reviewed March 11, 2016
2.7
Ambinintsoa from Philippines
Couple
Budget Fan Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
i do not recommend at all”
I stayed there with my boyfriend for one night because we had to take a ferry the morning after for bohol. the room was very small. the walls were a bit moldy. the bed, linens and cushions were nothing special and should be renewed. the overhall looked dirty and not good taken care of.
Reviewed February 13, 2016
4.0
Alissa from Germany
Solo traveler
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Never again !”
It was horrible, in the shower was mit water, the Toilets were disgusting and the Doublebed i had to share with a travelmate was Really small. I booked the Dorm Room....
Reviewed February 06, 2016
5.7
Kazuki from Japan
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
so...”
so...so
soso
Reviewed December 30, 2015
6.3
Good
Marc from Philippines
Business traveler
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Budget Stopover”
Price point, friendly staff and location
Love the place because it's cheap and its within the city but the place needs a little more love since fixtures and furnitures need updating
Reviewed December 13, 2015
6.3
Good
IGNACIO from Philippines
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Rooms were not in good condition”
It was value for money and good location
Place was not very comforatable. It was old and a quite small. It's a good place if you just need a place. To sleep
Reviewed September 27, 2015
2.3
Soeren from Denmark
Couple
Budget Fan Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
I did Travel in 71 countries around the world, ”
Very bad, so fare the badest place i ever have seen. Very dirty, no ligths in our room, not friendly personal, overall a place You dont wana stay
Reviewed July 19, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
SHUNSUKE from Japan
Solo traveler
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
everything is nige”
clean low cost friendly
i would like to stay again!
Reviewed May 02, 2015
2.7
haidee from Philippines
Family with young children
Single
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
surprising accomodation”
uncomfortable, will never consider it again
Reviewed April 25, 2015
4.0
Garrod from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Adequate for the money”
Location Price
The hotel is okay for the price, I wanted somewhere close to the nightlife, the room was okay but nothing special There was a lot of noise from neighbouring rooms which was a bit disturbing but overall reasonable value,
Reviewed February 13, 2015
6.3
Good
Niclas from Denmark
Family with young children
Budget Fan Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Okay”
Cheap!!!!
Reviewed February 11, 2015
2.0
Razvan from Philippines
Couple
Single
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
it's a place you will never want to be”
absolutely nothing
Ugly experience, it might be well called as the worst of Philippines you can find there. I won't advise anybody to go there.
Reviewed February 02, 2015
8.3
Excellent
pietro from United States
Solo traveler
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
good location, good 4 price stay. ”
good location, good 4 price stay.
stay was ok!
Reviewed December 29, 2014
7.7
Very good
Levi from Norway
Couple
Budget Fan Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
good hotel”
cheap
Good in aircon and private bathroom
Reviewed November 19, 2014
4.7
Cris from Philippines
Solo traveler
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Not worth it”
This hostel's quality has disintegrated over the years. I had a terrible stay. Dirty room, filthy and smelly restroom, unfriendly staff.
Reviewed November 07, 2014
7.0
Very good
Michelle from Philippines
Business traveler
Single
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Cheap accommodation”
Near the site
Reviewed November 05, 2014
2.3
Lau from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Dirty, bad Location, Dark Guest House”
It was worse guest house I stay before. A bad roommate stay with us & the condition of the dorm room was dirty, unclean & uncomfortable. The location was not good, only a fast food restaurant near the guest house. Inconvenient for backpackers to find out the interest. Suggested backpackers do not stay in.
Reviewed November 04, 2014
7.3
Very good
Daniel from United Kingdom
Couple
Budget Fan Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Ok”
What you'd expect from a budget place to stay.
Reviewed October 04, 2014
5.7
Aw from Malaysia
Business traveler
Budget Fan Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Cheap but not so good quality”
Good Value, Location is in downtown, Nice Secure
Its on the downtown site at Mango Ave. (G. Maxilom St.). the prices is very reasonable but for the quality of the room and enviroment, it's not so nice. The lighting on my room is very dark, also there is no warm water in the shower room. Employee are nice and well secured, Its good for backpackers or economic travelling.
Reviewed September 05, 2014
5.0
abigail from Philippines
Family with young children
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
wonderful”
none
no comment
Reviewed June 17, 2014
4.3
alexandre from France
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
I will not stay there again”
between the shoping mall and night life area
i booked for a double bed room and got a twin bed room with no window very small and very old. The pictures on the web site must have been taken 15 years ago. Don't wast your money.
Reviewed May 20, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Jasmin from Philippines
Couple
Single
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Value for money”
centrally-located, friendly staff, accessible
It was still pleasant despite the lack of bathroom amenities; easily accessible.
Reviewed May 18, 2014
3.3
Niels from Germany
Family with young children
Single
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
delapidated mess!”
friendly staff
i booked 3 nights here and forfeit all 3 nights, after quickly booking something else using my phone in their courtyard. staff was friendly, but the building and the rooms are terrible holes in the ceiling, and walls, shared bathrooms looked so outlandish, i took photographs to scare relatives with.
Reviewed April 30, 2014
3.7
Liu from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
the worst backpackper ever had”
nothing
Faraway from everywhere, cheap but still making no point to spend a night, the room was really mess up, the dorm bed wasn't clean at all, you can find hair everywhere, and the share bathroom was even worse... the staff there seens didn't care at all, make no sense of backpacker kind, ask informations you just got nothing back. and the wifi didn't work at all, the location got noting around, the neighborhood didn't feel secure walking after dark.
Reviewed March 01, 2014
2.3
YUEH from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Budget Fan Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Cockroach Cebu Guest House”
A lot insect
Basically, the rooms are dirty, not well ventilated and some more with the cockroach . At first we saw a cockroach on the curtain and we requested receptionist to change another room for us.
Reviewed February 14, 2014
6.3
Good
Dung from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Budget stay”
Near central
The internet not working but you can use it a paid internet shop or even free at Jollibee near there.
Reviewed February 14, 2014
7.0
Very good
Lemonette from Philippines
Solo traveler
Budget Fan Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Budgeted Stay”
You can cook and use their utensils for free.
It was good, the staffs are friendly, the place was near the public transportation and near mango square where you could spend a night out :)
Reviewed January 15, 2014
5.3
YOUNG from South Korea
Solo traveler
Budget Fan Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Reasonal price but not recommanded.”
Easdy to find.
I stayed in a private fan room. It was dark and had many mosquitoes. I couldn sleep very well. The only good thing was stable WIFI. I stayed just 1 night and left early in the morning to Bohol.
Reviewed December 31, 2013
5.3
robert from Belgium
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
very bad because no WiFi although anounced !! ”
cheap
I booked for 2 nights but only stayed one night ..
Reviewed December 07, 2013
2.3
LUCUS from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
hOrrible”
nothing, everything was bad
I just hate it with poor aircon, poor water supply and dirty WC
Reviewed November 17, 2013
6.3
Good
Ryan from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
good location but dirty room”
located near to nightlife, friendly staff, quiet surrounding
i was shocked when checked-in to this hotel dorm room, the room was dirty, smelly and hot (air-con seems broken). i couldn't get a sleep inside the room i rather to sleep on the sofa in the living room....well i eventually upgrade my dorm room to twin sharing room which is much more comfortable. the twin sharing room was cool, equipped with a small tv but still the floor was a little bit dirty....perhaps the staffs should put more attention on the cleanliness of this property...overall this is still considered worth for value.
Reviewed September 02, 2013
5.3
Jia from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Dormitory - Shared Room (Air Cond)
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
many other better place in that area, skip this”
fast check in and check out
no water in the bathroom in early morning, laundry service operated by the guesthouse charges me double than stated price for laundry, location is far from osmena circle. walkable by day, at night is a little dangerous. better stay at other place near osmena circle and robinson's mall. i stayed for one day and the next day i changed to another place.
Reviewed August 01, 2013