Book Now: Cebu Northwinds Hotel

Very good
From 339 reviewsSee what guests said
7.5
/
10
Recommended by 86% of guests

Reviews of Cebu Northwinds Hotel Reviews from real guests

Overall rating
7.4
Very good
From 399 reviews
Provided by verified guests of
Agoda Reviews (339)Booking.com Reviews (36)
Rating via Agoda7.5
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.0
Facilities6.5
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality6.7
Service8.0
Value for money7.8
Rating
9+ Exceptional (31)
8-9 Excellent (34)
7-8 Very Good (40)
6-7 Good (21)
<6 Below Expectation (44)
Time of the year
Mar - May (36)
Jun - Aug (31)
Sep - Nov (39)
Dec - Feb (64)
All guests (339)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 170 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
Troy from Philippines
Group
Executive
Stayed 1 night in June 2019

Excellent”

Would be best to have a foot towel that is non slip in the bathroom. Its hard walking around with wet feet. Shower curtain is poorly implemented. Aesthetics wise, please select simple prints. The print on the shower curtain was bad and it makes the place feel cheap. Theres a difference between cheap and affordable.

Reviewed June 27, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Loris
Couple
Executive
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Simple hotel with great staff”

Pros - -good location -very courteous and helpful staff -affordable hotel with basic amenities but doesn't fall short on service and cleanliness Cons - -the food at the hotel bar were a bit pricey for the size of the serving

Reviewed April 28, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Love from Philippines
Couple
Executive
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

It was a worthwhile stay. We needed a quiet place to stay in to do our thesis. Very satisfied! ”

We had to extend to finish up our thesis and we were willing to pay the extra cost. When I phoned in I was told that we can stay up until 2pm with no charge. We felt so valued! It wasn't our first time to stay at the hotel because we love the peacefulness of the place, how courteous the staff is, and the food is worth it.

Reviewed March 04, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Bin from China
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Old style hotel in good location”

Well decorated and equipped with luxury standards 20 years ago, facility is still working and spilit type aircon is quite but too much noise outside. Near IT but park, a lot of restaurants and entertainment nearby

Reviewed February 03, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Xandaye from Philippines
Group
Executive
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Near IT park”

We had an event at nivel hills and we chose this hotel due to proximity. Hotel has a golden cowrie restaurant beside it and a chika - an resto across the street, AA Bbq is also just a walking distance. The hotel is quite old but still functional, staff are very polite and helpful whilw the facilities are all basic. Wifi is free too. Very near waterfront hotel, ayala center cebu and IT park. Maybe a walking distance from IT park if you are fond of walking especially at night time.

Reviewed December 17, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Karin from Philippines
Couple
Ambassador
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

Great Location and wonderful staffs”

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel for the second time around, and it didn't disappoint us. The location is great. Very near restaurants, IT Park and Ayala Mall (few mins thru taxi). The staffs are very helpful and accommodating. The only problem we encountered was their slow internet connection.

Reviewed November 20, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Crismarie from Philippines
Solo traveler
Executive
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Exceptional”

i was checked in very late already i think almost 4pm because no room was available yet but the staffs are really nice and the room was clean so it was okay..

Reviewed May 26, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Charles from Singapore
Group
Executive
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Good Overall”

Basic needs. Value for money.

Reviewed May 21, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Holchi from Philippines
Group
Executive
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018

Location is its strength.”

Traffic is bad so if you need to be in the city, this could be a cost-effective option. Plated breakfast also costs only Php 165. Not bad for one that already includes coffee and your choice of eggs with main course. Service is also good especially their bellman.

Reviewed July 16, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Marlyn from Philippines
Family with young children
Executive
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

great location”

This is my fourth time in this hotel and the only difference now is that the bathtub disappeared. The location is great and you can walk to IT Park, Warerfront Hotel and JY Square. Staff is polite and nice. The rooms and facilities are simple, but you have what you need (even a fridge). Will come again.

Reviewed December 05, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Lindsay from New Zealand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

Great location for restaurants and wonderful staff”

Ok so the rooms are a little dated but it is very clean, the staff are wonderful, TV has lots of English channels and you are spoilt for choice for restaurants. The Cowrie restaurant next door is very very good (and great value too) ...try the national dish of suckling pig.

Reviewed July 05, 2016
8.8
Excellent
douglas from Philippines
Couple
Executive
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

It was great right up until a certified front desk employee Completely lost my business ”

The front desk employee who lost yu hotel my future business ! We Tried to extend our visit extra 7 days and was told that our room was fully booked !! By another party. We asked front desk why ? We had informed them prev. Of our intentions!! We tried to talk sense to this employee who just would not use her head !!! And we booked at another hotel!!! This employee called the room before we departed and said “ we could re- book the room but at almost twice we had paid before and that the room was suddenly canceled by the other party !!! Sounds very suspicious!!! We were forced to pack up everything and depart yur hotel !!! Poor poor service , I will not return again Douglas Rogers

Reviewed January 30, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Blessie from Japan
Family with teens
Executive
Stayed 9 nights in December 2018

Executive Room with my Elderly Father and his driver/caretaker ”

Hair dryer is not free, 50php per day. I messaged the hotel re hair dryer prior to our stay but wasn't informed that it comes with a fee. Good location but terrible traffic. All in all our hotel stay was enjoyable. With friendly and accommodating staff.

Reviewed December 26, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Julius from Philippines
Solo traveler
Executive
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Very good”

Overall, Cebu Northwinds Hotel does the trick. A good hotel that's in one of the better parts of cebu. There's still room for improvement though in terms of upgrade of the rooms and giving guests free breakfast since they already have an awesome cafe.

Reviewed December 18, 2018
7.2
Very good
JIMNARD from Philippines
Business traveler
Executive
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Very good”

Good!

Reviewed May 06, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Alexis from Philippines
Family with young children
Executive
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

nice”

nice location

Reviewed April 22, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Steven from Singapore
Solo traveler
Executive
Stayed 4 nights in June 2019

5 stars for 3-star Hotel”

Warm, courteous & helpful, attentive service from all the staff. Fabulous location. Value for dollar. Will stay here for my future Cebu vacation.

Reviewed June 15, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Frederick from Philippines
Family with teens
Ambassador
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Excellent”

Great location...

Reviewed May 27, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Bin from China
Solo traveler
Executive
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Executive room is not as good as Superior room ”

Window-type air-con blowing directly to the pillow, my room is near the elevator, there are always bell rings when the elevator is working.

Reviewed February 18, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Annaly from Philippines
Family with young children
Ambassador
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Friendly staff and great place to stay.”

Everything went well during our stay.

Reviewed November 24, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
felipe from Philippines
Business traveler
Executive
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Exceptional”

excellent staff service , very courteous staff,

Reviewed November 06, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Aris from Philippines
Family with teens
Executive
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Late Checkin”

An advisory of a case to case basis for late check out should be given at least a day before by the Management (or be arranged with the hotel at least a day before). We were just surprised that a staff called me in the middle of a tour and prompted me to check out before 2pm because they've accepted a new check-in for our room. Good thing we were just around the City so we were able to vacate the room before the time of check in.

Reviewed April 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Mia from Philippines
Business traveler
Executive
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016

Excellent location and friendly staff”

Location in the business district and very accessible. The staff were friendly and accommodating to our needs. I left my charger and came back to get it after 3 days and was able to retrieve it without hassle. Highly recommended if you're staying near the IT park and surrounding business area.

Reviewed July 24, 2016
6.0
Felix from Philippines
Solo traveler
Executive
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016

I rate this hotel as GOOD”

the hotel is not excellent but I should say it is a good hotel for solo traveler. Although old, it is clean. Internet connection is excellent. So if you want to stay in a hotel with good internet connection, this is the hotel you are looking for.

Reviewed February 22, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Rosario from Philippines
Couple
Executive
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015

Value for Money”

Food, Location and Price

Ive stayed 4/5 times in this hotel every time Im in Cebu. I tried another hotel but decided to return to this one because the food portions, the food options and the food taste are excellent. The beds are comfy, there's hot water, there's internet, the location is on a major road near my target location/reason for being in this city. It's near AA, a grilling establishment. It's near clean massage/spa places.

Reviewed November 11, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Joshua from Philippines
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

Good Value For Money”

Good value for money, the location is near malls and restaurants and rooms were clean

Everything felt great in my stay except for the noise coming from the busy road where the hotel is situated in. I hope they can do something about it like soundproofing the rooms so that the guests will not hear road related noise. I had a hard time sleeping and I will not pick this hotel anymore if I need to rest or sleep well.

Reviewed January 14, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Bruce from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Nice place very retro and classic”

Loved being able to soak in a tub so relaxing

Great location: 5 minute walk to the U.S. Consulate's office at the Waterfront. Very friendly and grateful Staff. Very affordable, and close to nice places to eat and drink beer with the locals. Nice refrigerator in the room stocked with Beer, soda pop and water for your convenience. Purified Ice available by the bag from room service.

Reviewed January 21, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Billy from Philippines
Solo traveler
Ambassador
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012

Best bang for buck hotel in Cebu”

Convenient and accessible location, close to the go to spots in the city

the place is a bit small and the facilities and rooms are decent for the price you pay. rooms are clean and quiet although the interior has aged quite a bit considering its an old hotel. what really makes this hotel worth it is its location, walking distance or a short jeepney/taxi ride to the go to spots in the city. i.t. park is just about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. a convenience store is also situated just beside the place for small stuff the traveler may need.

Reviewed December 04, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Doreen from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012

staffs are Friendly & Accommodating”

comfortable room & clean

well, everytime my husband & I go to cebu, we always stay in this hotel. The staffs are friendly and very accommodating too. The hotel location is very accessible. it's only takes 15 minute to the shopping malls:)

Reviewed November 23, 2012
5.6
Marie from Philippines
Family with teens
Executive
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Not as good”

The hotel location is good since it's on the main road and near the IT Park but for the services, it's not. Like when we checked out earlier, it was so slow we had to remind them since we were in a hurry to catch our flight. The sheets are not as clean. Same goes for the towels. Also, the room was good for 3 but the towels available were only 2. They also don't give complimentary water considering the room costs almost 2k for a night. The room is cold though the blanket is thin. I just don't think they give justice to the value of money they require to the value of service they provide.

Reviewed January 29, 2019
6.0
Lyndon from United Arab Emirates
Solo traveler
Executive
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

meh”

the dedicated WiFi for my room was 1 or 2 bars and sometimes disappears. keychain for the room key was to big to carry (maybe forcing you to leave the key with reception when you go out?) staff was friendly, parking was tight, great location. window type ac units, old crt tvs.

Reviewed October 03, 2018
7.2
Very good
Echavez from Philippines
Couple
Executive
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Very good”

Location was good but there was a clog in our lavatory that was not addressed.

Reviewed June 23, 2019
4.4
Mario from Philippines
Couple
Executive
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

hotel vecchio”

the rooms so old, old tv,old courtins....the tiles is all broken and dangerous to walk... stay away

Reviewed May 14, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Rochel from Philippines
Family with young children
Ambassador
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Great stay at Cebu northwinds hotel”

All good. Value for money

Reviewed April 18, 2019
7.2
Very good
Paul from Philippines
Couple
Ambassador
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Attentive staff”

I cannot say much of the place. But their staff is very attentive to our needs. That i admire.

Reviewed November 21, 2018
2.8
koizumi from Japan
Business traveler
Executive
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Very bad hotel !”

The boiler is broken and not hot water. Staff's response is bad. Dont have hot water, not change room. Staff will not apologize. very dirty hotel.

Reviewed November 12, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Maria from Philippines
Couple
Ambassador
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

Accessible ”

Nice, clean and accessible. Staff are helpful.

Reviewed July 20, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Shiela from Philippines
Business traveler
Ambassador
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017

Exceptional”

this is an amazing find. close to where I want to go. Booking and checking in are hassle free.

Reviewed February 10, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Denise from Philippines
Family with young children
Ambassador
Stayed 1 night in May 2017

Exceptional”

An affordable and comfortable place to sleep and leave your bags with while you do some sight seeing or shopping...

Reviewed May 18, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Eden from Philippines
Couple
Executive
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017

Very good”

Hope they could improve in their wifi connection in each room.

Reviewed March 20, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Zentury from Philippines
Solo traveler
Executive
Stayed 1 night in May 2016

Staff”

Friendly and great staff.

Reviewed May 10, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
teresita from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014

best stay in cebu”

staff, room and access

great, worth staying. thank you

Reviewed November 16, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Dyan from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012

friendly budget hotel”

accessible to all areas, budget hotel

staff was friendly and accommodating. great location for the price..

Reviewed December 04, 2012
9.6
Exceptional
Ralph
Couple
Executive
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Exceptional”

Very nice place and the staff were Fantastic!! The restaurant inside the hotel also was very goog, good food at reasonable prices.

Reviewed February 24, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Tim from Canada
Couple
Executive
Stayed 5 nights in February 2019

Nice place. A younger area cause a school zone. ”

Very clean hallways. Rooms clean to. The restaurant has been converted to a full service bar but you can still eat there. A younger crowd area.

Reviewed February 20, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
douglas from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Great price ! Friendly staff ( extreamly )”

Only complaint bath tub ! But no plugs ! In bathroom sink ! No plugs and no hot water ! But other that that I will def. stay here every time in cebu and will rev. To many friends

Reviewed January 28, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
takashi from Japan
Solo traveler
Executive
Stayed 7 nights in December 2018

By Takashi Castillo”

行けば分かります。良い思い出が沢山できました。 Thank you for all your kindness. I'll certainly come to see you again!

Reviewed January 21, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Romeo from Philippines
Solo traveler
Executive
Stayed 1 night in January 2018

Good location”

Good location though the room looks basic

Reviewed December 13, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Juan from Philippines
Couple
Executive
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Cheap Hotel and nice to stay”

The elevator is not functional during our stay.It makes us difficult to go down with our bags from 3rd flr.

Reviewed December 11, 2018
5.2
Antonio from Australia
Solo traveler
Executive
Stayed 5 nights in September 2018

Above average”

The hotel desperately needs upgrading. Tiny ants everywhere! You cannot leave any food out even for a minute as the ants will be all over it. Location is the only plus for this hotel, close to IT Park, and Ayala and SM malls are just a short taxi ride away.

Reviewed September 10, 2018
6.8
Good
ivy from Philippines
Group
Executive
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

Good”

Wifi cannot reach inside the room. You need to go outside to access the internet or go to lobby or their resto. Bathtub cannot use cause their is no plug so it keeps draining. Noisy refrigerator so we turn it off every night. Only one free available socket for charging so you need to wait if your friends done using. I appreciate the staff cause they are accomodating ang polite. They will assist you whenever you need help.

Reviewed August 01, 2018
4.4
Notlimah
Business traveler
Executive
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Acceptable”

I booked an executive room and its says that it includes Daily newspaper and Toiletries. When I asked for a toothpaste, they said its not include in the promo. I have to buy it at the front desk. I don't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed December 17, 2017
5.6
Erla from Philippines
Family with young children
Executive
Stayed 1 night in August 2017

Very Outdated Hotel”

For a hotel that gets reservations a lot for weddings, this is a very outdated hotel. First, the lock they use is literally just a door knob. They have a latch in the inside and that's it. I dont think it's secure. The bathroom has no toothbrush or toilet papers. Rooms are very small, bed linens are very old.

Reviewed August 06, 2017
6.0
Rhodalie from Philippines
Business traveler
Executive
Stayed 1 night in May 2017

room smelled musty”

room smelled musty, it was clean enough, but the smell was not good...plus the room is not sound-proofed, you could hear every sound in the room next door plus in the corridor outside. location was great though

Reviewed May 18, 2017
5.6
Tor from Norway
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

my first stay”

this is a hotel room look old out but cline bed is okey too I waslooking for place to eat on evening that was not to meeny shois around ther but if you take a taxi to somwher yes mybe you can find more place to eat this hotl stay in main road have traffick car taxi and jeppney you can ride to ayala center mall with taxi not to long this place is okey to stay for longer or short no problem place and road is safty to walking ther

Reviewed May 06, 2017
7.2
Very good
Jade from Philippines
Group
Executive
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017

Very good”

staff should've told us at first that wifi only works in certain floors.. our first night's location is in 4th floor, wifi was great. 3rd night we were assigned somewhere in 2nd floor which we can't get in to wifi connection because it's out of reach or signal is too weak. We 've requested to be changed but the frontdesk lady on duty that time told us that it will be the same thing even if we change rooms. Really?

Reviewed April 15, 2017
7.2
Very good
Rosemarie from Philippines
Family with young children
Executive
Stayed 1 night in May 2016

good value for money”

the staff were friendly and courteous. location is favorable for city tourists. the room though was not inviting. there were mosquitos, the floor was dusty and the towels were not that presentable. overall, its a good place to stay when you just sleep and shower at the hotel.

Reviewed May 06, 2016
7.7
Very good
Michael from Philippines
Solo traveler
Executive
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015

Favorite cheap Cebu hotel”

Cheap, best location, homey

My favorite cheap hotel in Cebu! Sure it's an old hotel and the amenities are also dated, but I believe it has the best location. You can ride 04L across the street to get to JY Mall or Ayala or even SM Cebu, or ride 17B/C/D or just walk to get to IT park. Hotel wifi is not the best, but I rarely use it and just use mobile wifi from my cell. They have a cafe where you can order food. I think it's good and the price is in-line with other hotels, but with Chikaan and Golden Cowrie just nearby, you can skip the hotel food and go out. IT park is also home to a bunch of restaurants. Hopefully they upgrade their TV to real flatscreen LCD TVs hehe, but their existing "superslim" TVs are still workable.

Reviewed December 20, 2015
6.3
Good
Jenny from Philippines
Business traveler
Ambassador
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

Short but nice”

It was accessible to the city.

I had my make-up done because the church venue was near to the hotel. The problem is the lighting. There was not enough lighting and some bulbs were busted. They have a bigger ref which made the room smaller. Minor renovations should be done considering that the room was ambassador, the biggest room.

Reviewed November 22, 2015
7.0
Very good
Leo from Philippines
Couple
Executive
Stayed 1 night in June 2015

Location and Service OK , the rest just so-so..”

Location , Service , Price

It was ok . Room was small but for the price was ok . The restaurant had meetings going on so hotel guests had no where to eat . Many nearby restaurants but if its raining that would be a problem. Staff was good .

Reviewed July 01, 2015
6.0
Mary from Philippines
Group
Executive
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015

not so clean”

Location

I don't like the idea that they don't have an iron for us to borrow. We have to send in my brother's clothes to the laundry area for ironing and it costs 60 php per piece to have it ironed. The room was not ready when we checked in at 3pm. Toiletries were prepared later in the day of our arrival. Rooms were old, bed foam sinks already. It's a good thing their staff is friendly. We stayed in Room , we got confused because there was a sign beside room that says rooms goes to the right

Reviewed March 02, 2015
5.0
Lawrence from United Kingdom
Couple
Ambassador
Stayed 1 night in October 2014

Need a Makover ”

Close to Ayela

This hotel is not good. The room looked like it was last decorated in the 1950's and the bathroom was worse. Our room was supposed to be a higher standard, so I can't imagine what a basic room would be like. The windows fitted so badly that there were gaps big enough to put your fingers through. Consequently, it was as if the windows were permanently open and the noise from the street below was very intrusive.

Reviewed October 25, 2014
7.0
Very good
Myrna from Philippines
Couple
Executive
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013

overall, it was just fair enough.”

i like the hotel location.

like i said, i like the hotel location. near to IT park and other good restaurants. accessible to malls. hmmm the thing that needs improvement for this hotel is; there is no internet connection in each room.

Reviewed January 01, 2014
7.7
Very good
coleman from United States
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013

ok room but nothing fancy”

Price, staff, location

Stay was ok for what I wanted, spent little time in room. Mostly in Cebu to do business. Restaurant leaves a lot to be desired but the hotel is close to many options. The staff is friendly and the rooms are cheap. The central location is good. Do not expect amenitys they are few...but you get what you pay for.

Reviewed November 02, 2013
7.7
Very good
Eliza from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012

conveniently located hotel”

good price, comfortable room size, helpful porter

if you're looking for a hotel that's near restaurants and shopping malls, that is reasonably priced yet comfortable and gives good service then come to Cebu Northwinds Hotel. Will definitely include in my list of hotels that are worth going back to next time im in cebu.

Reviewed December 19, 2012
7.2
Very good
RUDOLF from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in April 2018

Along major road”

Location good and easy accessable

Reviewed June 11, 2018
4.0
Yonghee from Canada
Solo traveler
Executive
Stayed 7 nights in December 2017

No connection to wi-fi”

Agoda customers will be get the no view room. If ask the other side room, they charge the extra $15cad

Reviewed December 24, 2017
6.0
MASAHIRO from Japan
Couple
Executive
Stayed 8 nights in August 2017

already old”

refining outlook is under going, but basic facilities are already old. especially shower room. many bugs in the room.

Reviewed September 07, 2017
3.6
Ramon from Philippines
Solo traveler
Ambassador
Stayed 1 night in January 2017

Old, depressing hotel”

Desperately needs a refresh... Old, dirty and very depressing.

Reviewed January 13, 2017
7.6
Very good
Inocente from Philippines
Business traveler
Executive
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

Strategic location ”

It's near i.t.park and located near to a lot of good restaurantS

Reviewed December 13, 2016