Book Now: Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

2018

Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Reviews

Excellent
From 1456 reviewsSee what guests said
8.3
/
10
Recommended by 89% of guests

Reviews of Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (1455)Booking.com Reviews (729)
8.3
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.4
Facilities8.6
Location8.3
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.6
Value for money8.0
All languages
All guests (1455)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 1227 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
Blake from Australia
Couple
Premium Deluxe Ocean facing
Stayed 6 nights in April 2019

Beautiful hotel and great beach front location ”

Beautiful if hotel. Upgraded to beachfront private pool room for our honeymoon and worth every cent. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. It is a 15min walk to Karon for massage/shopping etc. Take hotel taxi as it is same price as tuk tuk.

Reviewed April 26, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Elizabeth from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Pool Suite
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

Exceptional”

Nice Beach Resort , though location is kinda far from town where you can find some of your basic needs and other foods you'd like to eat while in Thailand. And so transportation going back and forth to the resort is pricey. But overall I still enjoy our stay with our pool suite.

Reviewed May 11, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Byunghee from South Korea
Couple
Deluxe Pool Suite
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Great Hotel.”

Pros. Beach! Beach front hotel. Amazing!!! You can go to 7eleven by walk just less than 10 min. There are restaurants as well Great swimming pool with friendly staffs. Great quality of breakfast. (Even instant rottie! detox beverages.) Fitness center is well equipped. (Provides variety programs) Kids cafe is available with programs You can use all facilities after checkout. If you want to take a shower after pool or beach, you can use shower at the fitness center (Two thumbs up) Great poll villa. Buggy car is available. Pretty buildings. Receptionist gives a ride to the room and explains everything I need. So sweet. Cons Pretty decent rooms. It is pretty costy, but the room is not very well maintained. There are lots of water, trees, and plants. Be aware of fly. (no bed bug) No free water given No ice shelf in the fridger. Not very private if you stay at pool villa. (May feel little bit insecure) Highly recommended

Reviewed May 10, 2019
8.0
Excellent
GHAZALA from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Very good”

Check in was terrible. We specified rooms and called to confirm a day before but did not get the kind of rooms requested. Our room took 2 hours to get ready after check in time. No mini bars in rooms. They had “ coolers” which didn’t keep anything cool. V disappointing from Centara.

Reviewed February 20, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Joyce from Philippines
Family with young children
Premium Spa Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

Superb facilities and staff”

This resort is made for families, so many activities for kids and if u like alone time with hubby you can send your child un the kids club with a lot of things to do for your kids We had so much fun in the lazy river and slides.. Beach is awesome too! Clean water! Powder sand and yeah..the sunset!!! Choose bldng 9, if u want direct access to beach and the pool.

Reviewed January 31, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Christopher from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Spa Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 6 nights in April 2019

Exceptional”

A great hotel for children my 8 year old loved it. Lots of different depth pools lazy river and slides. I felt safe to let him explore. Average value for money similar to back home mainly due to pounds demise. Easy 10 minute beach walk to Karon where you can get a cheap massage, kids toys and supermarkets for supplies. My wife went to the spa and said it was amazing cheaper than Uk prices. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. We will definitely be going back.

Reviewed April 14, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Saito from Japan
Family with young children
Triple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

We booked Triple”

I do not know whether it was misinfo of Agoda or Hotel. Although we made booking as Triple, where we introduced was twin room. Since we are 4people( Family, three adults and 1 child) so that we would prefer to stay at triple room. If there are no triple room, it should not list as if you have triple room. If we understood there is no triple room, we had reserved other type of room. Hotel itself is really good, fancy and can spend calm days.

Reviewed March 27, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Donald from United States
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 5 nights in March 2019

Great hotel but overpriced”

Great beach and nice pool. You are nickle and dimed for everything with over inflated prices. The pool is nice but only opened between 9am and 6 or 7 PM. Only hotel taxis allowed to pickup guests at inflated prices.

Reviewed March 13, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
robert
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 8 nights in February 2019

vacation”

this hotel is located at the end of the beach with a good separation between the very crowded beach of the hotels in town. the room was very good and all the staff were very attentive and always asking if we needed anything. this is a great resort for anyone who wants to avoid the crowds and get some rest. the town was only a short walk down the beach to some very good restaurants, prices at the hotel include 17% tax and fee. the breakfast at the hotel was great every morning and included with our room cost. the spa on site is very clean and a great experience, the ladies were great.

Reviewed March 10, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Irum from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Premium Deluxe Ocean facing
Stayed 9 nights in February 2019

Sickness”

I had suffered from food poisoning after eating their buffet breakfast. Also we had to change our room as the air conditioning unit broke down and all my clothes were ruined with the water driooibg from the unit.

Reviewed March 03, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Modireleng from South Africa
Couple
Spa Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Guest Review - Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket”

The staff take time to response to your queries and sometime not at all. Further, we didn't have hot water in our room for the duration of our stay. We were not moved to another room with hot water and subject to washer/ bath at the gym. This was a spoil for my hotel as I didn't expect such service from a 5 star resort.

Reviewed February 26, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
timothy from United States
Couple
Spa Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 7 nights in February 2019

Exceptional”

The entire staff are superb. The location and facilities are unmatched in this area. This is a wonderful family friendly and couple friendly resort. The resort offers everything you could ever wish for. The sunsets are truly awe inspiring. I have nothing but positive things to say about our experience there. 5 stars across the board.

Reviewed February 24, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Heather from United States
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

A little outdated but nice”

Located a 15 minute walk (beach side available) from the Karon Beach restaurant/shop strip or 15 minute tuk tuk to Patong, Centara Grand resort was in an okay location. The walk required an uphill trek or walking through water on the sea side. The best thing about the room was the balcony. The worst was the mattress- it was like a pull out couch. Be forwarned that they charge you 4000 bhat down payment which is returned 2 weeks later. The pool was awesome but the place was kind of a maze!

Reviewed November 17, 2018
8.0
Excellent
atsushi from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018

Great hospitality”

While our staying Phuket, Unfortunately not so good weather. But by all people include all stuff and even other guest, we could spend the time happily. Especially, my elder son enjoyed his birthday surprise @ Mare restaurant. High Appreciate to all and would like to get back sooner. But shower has not hot water. Tub is OK.

Reviewed August 01, 2018
8.8
Excellent
singh from Singapore
Family with young children
Premium Deluxe Ocean facing
Stayed 6 nights in June 2018

Absolutely fantastic ”

The room was huge . Breakfast was fantastic Kids simply enjoyed every bit of their holiday . No regrets despite with some hiccups with the reception . The staff is extremely friendly and good with kids. Kids club is pretty entertaining with activities every single day. I highly commend Miss Au ( duty manager ) she was very attentive and accommodating with all our request and concerns. Phone call was made regularly through out our stay to ensure everything was going ok. Will definitely come back for more future holidays in centara grand Phuket .

Reviewed July 01, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Andy from Malaysia
Family with teens
Premium Deluxe Ocean facing
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017

Wonderful Vacation”

Excellent facilities, great for the family with either young or old children. The property has everything and its far away enough from PAtong area to be away from all the noise BUT close enough that its just a short 5min ride... 2nd visit back.. and loved it.....

Reviewed June 20, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
coreen from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Free upgrade! ”

I booked a deluxe room but gotten a free upgrade to 1 BR pool villa! That was fantastic! The pool is great for children and adult, lazy pool, jacuzzi tub, cliff jump, and slides. The beautiful sea is just right at door step. Couldn't ask for more.

Reviewed June 10, 2018
4.0
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Possibly the worst resort in Phuket ”

Entire resort is in urgent need of renovations , the best feature is the photoshopped website photos ! Hugely overpriced Checkin staff are shockingly bad , I travel on business approximately 6 months of the year and can honestly state the checking in staff here are unbelievably rude and have no clue of customer service Be aware of the wifi rip off too, $400 per night and then they hit you with a further bill for wifi Oh and enjoy bathing and showering in brown or green shaded water daily ! Pool areas are pretty ok but again urgently need fixing and renovation, buffet breakfast pretty good

Reviewed May 04, 2019
3.2
Clayton from United States
Couple
Club Premium Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL”

This hotel refused to honor the reservation details as per the Agoda booking. My reservations clearly stated that I was to have Club privileges and free wi-fi. I was refused both by the hotel management upon my arrival. They demanded additional payments in order to provide. A room costing nearly $500 dollars per night and they refused to provide the advertised free wi-fi demonstrates how little this hotel management team values customers. Of course, this also calls into question Agoda's own procedures, when they cannot guarantee the services they advertise on their own website. In addition to the egregious behavior by the hotel staff, the hotel itself is run-down and in need of significant repairs. A $500/night room with only occasional hot water, rusting bathroom fixtures, exposed wiring, bed headboard badly stained and worn through exposing foam backing, fake woodwork coming apart at the seams, and poor overall room cleanliness. Not recommended.

Reviewed February 08, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Atef
Family with young children
Deluxe Pool Suite
Stayed 5 nights in January 2019

Great location and facilities for kids”

Stayed at this hotel with my wife and 2 kids 4 and 1 years. The stay was great. We had a pool suite and that was the only downside. The pool in the room looks super nice but the water is not heated and the pool rooms are always on first floor so the view is restritected. Great pool area, kids activities, restaurants and beach! Got overcharged on my bill when checking out luckily I saved my bills during the stay. That still won’t change my mind of recommending this hotel to others!

Reviewed January 23, 2019
6.4
Good
Timothy from Thailand
Couple
Club Premium Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

Beware the definition of "Ocean Facing" will not guarantee you an "Ocean View"”

My whole experience at this property was defined by a debate I had to have with the staff about the difference and definition of Ocean View and Ocean Facing. Be warned. "Ocean Facing" does not mean you will get an Ocean View. I was put in a second floor room with a view of the walls of the next room, a range of trees, and part of the swimming pool. I was in the direction of the Ocean but could not see the Ocean. Staff at the hotel are fine with this. "This is why we called it Ocean Facing, not Ocean View.". I managed to get us moved for the second night. But it does not change the facts that the use of the phrase Ocean Facing (while technically true) is not what you think you are getting when you book. Punchline - the photos you see for Ocean Facing are far fro guaranteed. You are not guaranteed an Ocean View with an Ocean Facing room.

Reviewed December 19, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Denise from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Exceptional”

Great location, and direct beachfront access were big pluses! Also a short walk to the main Karon stretch of shops and massage spots. Great stay all in all!

Reviewed April 23, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Jeffrey from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Holiday by the beach”

Beautiful resort hotel with very comfortable rooms next to a clean beach, good breakfasts and dining options.. or short distance to Karon for street food and other options.

Reviewed March 29, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Chelsea from Australia
Group
Deluxe Pool Suite
Stayed 9 nights in May 2018

Couldn't fault our stay.”

We just came back from spending ten nights at Centara Grand and this place is going to hold a special place in my heart for a very long time. I don't think our time in Thailand would have been as enjoyable if it weren't for staying here. The staff are the sweetest and most genuine people I have ever come across and I was sad to leave because of them. The resort itself is right on a private strip of beach and is in a lovely quiet area with spectacular cliftop views - if you don't mind a small walk. The buffet breakfast was the best I've ever had, with such a selection and changes made each day. The resort holds many free daily activities and honestly, if you were looking for a resort holiday without even having to leave the property - this would be the place to stay. There was so much to see in Phuket but I would happily stay here without seeing any of it because the resort in intself is so wonderful.

Reviewed May 18, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Chatriya from Thailand
Couple
Spa Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018

Nice view, amazing resort ground, dated room”

The resort has amazing facilities, large pool, direct access to beautiful beach. You can even snorkel from the hotel beach and see lots of fish near the rocks. The COVE restaurant is really nice. The staff are always smiling and greeting you and service is excellent. However room itself is dated and needs renovation to match the excellent outside facilities. That said, the view from the room is simply breathtaking.

Reviewed April 17, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Yah from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe Pool Suite
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017

Good for family”

The location is at a quiet corner so food choices are limited to the hotel unless you travel out. We stayed there for 2 nights so ended up eating in. The slides are great for children. The pool faces the beach. staff are friendly and program is nice

Reviewed June 23, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Warunee from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017

Kids friendly hotel”

Nice hotel with kids friendly environment. Breakfast is good with variety of foods. Con is beach is quite dirty, lots of garbage on the beach in early morning, but the hotel has staffs to clean them up. Overall is very good.

Reviewed June 10, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Beverly from Canada
Couple
Spa Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016

Lovely Oasis in Phuket”

Centara Grand was a lovely resort location with many activity options and great beach access. The rooms were quiet and well appointed. Staff were polite and helpful for the most part. The gardens and view were beautiful and tranquil.

Reviewed December 09, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Suvit from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016

Relaxing by a beautiful beach”

The location is quiet and peaceful. The beach is nice and the water is very clean and clear. Difficult to find nearby local restaurant and bars if you are not driving, that is why it is quiet and peaceful.

Reviewed April 30, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Teodor from Sweden
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 8 nights in October 2015

Excellent family hotel”

Room comfort, dining, the pools

We selected the hotel based on the family reviews on Agoda and found them to be accurate. We chose one of the larger rooms with two queens beds and a nice balcony overlooking the pools. The children loved the pools, waterslides, etc and we never left the resort apart from spending time at their beach. The dining was superb and the staff was excellent with the children. A great vacation and we would recommend this hotel to other families.

Reviewed December 29, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Sutha from Singapore
Couple
Spa Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 4 nights in May 2015

great fun and a resort catered to many”

Lazy pool and diving areas, pool side bar, massage service

The resort is awesome. Have stayed in the Centara resort before in krabi and this was better. More activites were available by the beach. The breakfast buffet and dining areas are great, with a huge variety to choose from. great service provided and the rooms were clean and cosy. The location is great to travel out to dine elsewhere and explore the area and go on further like kata.

Reviewed November 28, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Vivian from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Premium Spa Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015

Family friendly hotel”

Water park, view, safety

Need improvement: - The elevator was out of order for more than 5 days. - Many mosquitoes (good that electrical incense provided) - Balcony too large and less space indoor. Not enough seats indoor. - Too few shuttle bus seats and just 2pm and 5pm, and no back trip. - Why the hotel not allow driver of Tuk Tuk or taxi to take us out when their vans were not available? Peak hours need to wait for half an hour for hotel to arrange a van. Long way and steep slope to walk up for elderly and kids (thanks for the considerate staff allow us to squeeze in the shuttle finally) - sewage system may need improvement as some smell noted somewhere in the garden

Reviewed August 29, 2015
8.0
Excellent
ang from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

beach not clean”

The cleanliness, the hotel staff and the facilities

It will be ideal if the hotel can cordon off the part of the beach where the drainage system or river water flow out from. It was filthy and my daughter unknowingly sat on the part of the beach where it is linked to it. She develops skin allergy pretty soon and has rashes for almost a week. The hotel has so many staircases that I either have to walk up and down the 3 storeys high stairs or walk a big round plus still use stairs to reach my hotel room. Not very convenient for family who has young children as we can't use strollers.

Reviewed December 15, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Andy from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014

Excellent Retreat”

1. Excellent Location between Karon & Patong 2. Excellent Pool and Private Beach 3. Friendly staff

Excellent and will definitely return. Perfect location between Karon and Patong. Day 1 was spent chilling out by the pool and the private beach. 1for1 drinks happy hour between 4-6pm was great!!! Dinner was just a short 2min drive to Karon town... much quieter than Patong. Day 2 - after a morning at the beach and pool..(awesome slides and jump!!!)... we took to Patong and enjoyed shopping at JungCeylon and then great pub music at REd Hot Chilis. Being so close to Patong... returning back to the hotel was just a 10min drive. Day 3 - more beach and pool fun... The only drawback is the breakfast... which seemed pretty ordinary and the same things served for the 3days we were there. REnovations to the reception and check in area will mean a little longer than usual queues with only 2 counters open. However, overall.. definitely a great place to stay.

Reviewed September 16, 2014
8.0
Excellent
ong from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe Pool Suite
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014

good resort for families ”

resort facilities, good breakfast and next to beach

I stayed in the deluxe pool suite, the pool is small and dirty .we never use the pool at all since the resort has got so many pool around. the room was of reasonable size. breakfast was good as there was a lot of selection. the resort is just next to the beach. you have to travel quite a distance to the small town about 15 minutes walk. opt for a motorbike instead rental starts from 150 baht a day.

Reviewed September 13, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Edmond from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 6 nights in August 2014

A great resort”

environment, very friendly staff, beautiful beach

an enjoyable stay, but transportation was a big problem, getting a normal taxi was a big challenge and the hotel staff were not particularly helpful in this regard !very nice and pleasant environmental, but dont order food from room service (food either not cooked or overcooked !!)

Reviewed September 11, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Christopher from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014

A hidden Gem”

Great Location, beautiful settings and fantastic pool

I'd originally wanted to cancel the booking and move closer to the airport, so glad I didn't as the hotel was fantastic, lovely staff, who sometime's struggled with English, but the room was fantastic and very clean. Its a great location, the pool was great, the beach spectacular... Highly recommended

Reviewed August 25, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Marisol from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Pool Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014

very relaxing hotel”

swimming pool, private pool, quiet

one of the best resort I ever been to. maybe because of the private plunge pool in our room. If it is so hot outside we can just go back to our plunge pool to relax. They also do free activities in the main pool area in the afternoon.

Reviewed May 26, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Vanessa from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014

A self-sufficient hotel”

Easy access to beach, availability of Kids' Club and all day dining

Overall it was a good experience. I'm travelling with young kids and they have beach, child friendly swimming pool and kids club with planned activities. We practically don't need to leave the hotel if we are not keen in shopping.

Reviewed May 20, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Dick from Singapore
Family with young children
Spa Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014

Its the best RESORT that i ever had ”

The staffs , foods and pools

I think everything is prefect except that I booked a premium deluxe spa room but ended up in a normal deluxe spa room. Centara service is too good that they even give me a complimentary full board meals and a special buffet dinner. Agoda just pay me back the difference and never compensate. Its not the money issue cause its a celebration for my wife birthday.l. I tink they need to train their customer service. The price also not very cheap if compare direct booking from the resort website. Back to the resort review, its come with free snorkeling infront of their private beach, 3 pools and also friendly staffs. Totally in the LAND OF SMILE. Will return again

Reviewed March 30, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Clayton from United States
Couple
Spa Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014

Great ocean view”

View, staff, beach

An excellent stay. The check-in staff couldn't have been more helpful. The room exceeded my expectations with an unimpeded view of the beach and ocean. The jacuzzi on the terrace was a very nice amenity.

Reviewed February 04, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Kwok from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012

a very nice hotel good for coupkles and families”

great swimming pools with nicely furnished hotel room

the room was great. you can see the ocean right over the balcony. its easy to go to the beach. it's just right in front of the main pool. there are a few pools in the hotel with different things to play, like water slides, jumping stage, lazy river. you won't get bored. the spa is great. however, the service of the restaurant wasn't good. the staff was not too helpful.

Reviewed August 05, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Siu from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012

Overall a good experience”

good location

We have booked a 3-day romantic package, staying in the Deluxe Pool Suite in March. Pros: - Hotel has kindly arranged a room in block 9 for us as we have requested. The view of the room is great, just in front of the Karon beach and very near the main pool. - We loved the range of pools they offer esp the lazy river, having spent quite a lot of time there. The adult pool is separated from the main pool area and offers great view and privacy. - They offer free hotel Shuttle to Patong, departing hotel 2pm and 5pm daily and return from patong 5:30pm (at Big C gate of Jungcelyon). Reservation is required. - Location of hotel is good, just in front of the end of Karon beach. Its a bit away from the busy area, giving the hotel more privacy. Walking to Karon main street along the beach is not far, about 10-15min. But be aware there is a small river (no bridge a/v) running across the beach - during high tides you will need to walk through the water to gain access to the main part of the beach and main street. I don't think its safe to walk along the road to main Karon area, there is no pedestrian path in the segment near hotel. Cons: - Our own private pool's water is too cold for us even during daytime, we didn't really use it. It is much better in the public pools. - We expect we have access to 'The Club' as the hotel's website mentioned 'The Club lounge access and facilities are included for this room type.' Sadly we were informed after our arrival that this is not applicable to our romantic package. - In-room wifi is not free but price is affordable (B300 for 3 days unlimited access). I believe the wifi at 'The Cove' (where breakfast is held) is free. - Choice of dinner within hotel is relatively limited, with only 2 restaurants: an Italian restaurant and another offer Buffet / a la carte menu. The cost is fair (~ for buffet) and there is a short ~40min show daily at 8pm except Sunday - Room is relatively small

Reviewed March 24, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
TSZ from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011

Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket”

The room is too small and drainage ditch at the bathroom floor was very noisy when people at the other rooms were taking a shower. There was not enough basic facilities provided: no clock, no desk, no memo pad or pencil. The breakfast was appalling. There was no hot food or cooked food provided, except some cold boiled eggs

Reviewed December 19, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Siinarsari from Indonesia
Couple
Premium Deluxe Ocean facing
Stayed 3 nights in September 2011

Great location and fantastics room layout.”

The pool in the room is well equipped for full relaxation and great view.The House keepings are doing great jobs.

the hotel is at great location which can easily get us to all kinds food at nearby restaurant and shopping area.the room is very very comfortable with great design and good lay out. we can really relax in the room with great mountain and sea view. the night scene of the hotel buildings is fantastic.

Reviewed September 14, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Tan from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 1 night in May 2011

A perfect Lovely hotel”

Rooms were fantastic, Lazy River, Beach, Pools

We had a Spa Deluxe Ocean Facing upgrade without asking - so room was amazing, huge and very comfortable, lovely view of pool and beach. hotel facilities were great. This hotel is an excellent choice when it comes to value for money. Its right on the beach, while a public beach, is tucked at a corner of Karon beach and hence feels more like a private beach. When tired of the beach can have a swim at the pool or Jacuzzi facing the beach, which is just as fabulous. I will definitely stay here for my next return to Phuket. Highly recommended!!!

Reviewed September 03, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Nitit from Thailand
Family with young children
Spa Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011

Paradise getaway for family vacation!”

Brand new hotel, huge swimming pool, fantastic location

We purposely book this Centara Grand because we think our kids would love the swimming pool. The hotel is brand new with beautiful layout, fantastic beach front with excellent service from the staffs. The whole time we were there (3days and 2nights) just could not think of any cons, great family getaway vacation! highly recommend

Reviewed April 13, 2011
6.8
Good
Alan
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Fabulous Location and facilities but.......”

Our check in was an awful experience being left in reception with no attention from staff who were not only inefficient but did not provide the friendly welcome that Thailand is renowned for, this being a consistent disappointment throughout the hotel, as if the staff didn't care. The location and facilities of the hotel are excellent, our room was superb . Having stayed at previous Centara Krabi, the prices for the spa are ridiculous which accounts for the fact it is always empty. We did not use the pricey restaurants other than breakfast which was all a bit chaotic. The walk down the beach in both directions provides opportunity for better local Thai food at 1/4 of the price. Overall I would recommend the hotel but they could make the experience for their guests so much better.

Reviewed April 10, 2019
2.8
muhamad from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Not worth the money. Poor service. Room old and rundown. Room dirty and old furniture. ”

Expensive with old and rundown facilities. Stay for 3 nights. This is what they called look can be deceiving. Outside look beautiful but inside just like a 2 star hotel. Lumpy mattress. Manager not very helpful. A very stressful stay. Would never recommend to stay at this place unless you willing to endure the bad service and poorly maintained building and furniture.

Reviewed November 18, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
kanyarat from Qatar
Couple
Spa Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 5 nights in October 2018

Beyond expectations!”

Location of the hotel is The most we like! Beach just in front of you, not crowded and clean. You can walk to karon area 10-15 minuets for local restaurant area or shuttle service from hotel 50 baht to roundabout karon /100 baht to patong. Hotel room is clean. WiFi is good. Breakfast have variety of choices there are eggs station, Asian Conner, western corner, bakery, fresh fruits and juices. Staffs are professional and polite. They can solve problems whenever you need it.

Reviewed November 09, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
John from South Africa
Group
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 4 nights in June 2018

Long Weekend Break”

This Resort is Amazing. Right on Karon Beach. Great Rooms, all the items you want including a pillow menu. Variety of pools, including an Adult only pool. Very helpful staff. The Check-in process is a bit painful. Not efficient. The is also not a convinience store close by. Careful of monsoon season. Our group had big storms all weekend, but still had a nice stay.

Reviewed June 20, 2018
6.8
Good
Budy from Indonesia
Family with young children
Premium Spa Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018

noce location but with uncomfortable room and bed”

book deluxe spa which is a corner room, but the room is quite small, much ot space is allocated for bathroom and balcony, uncomfy bed and the bad one is no curtain, only a blind but it's not a blackout blind so we woke up early in the morning due to the sunlight.. Ask for building no 6-9 for direct access to the pool and kids club.. good location, 10-15 minutes walk to Karon roundabout thru the beach..

Reviewed June 02, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Howard from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018

Awesome Resort”

Food is excellent, views spectacular, rooms large and quiet. Lots of steps if you are from the main lobby but great exercise! If you want a quiet and relaxing place you will not be disappointed

Reviewed February 06, 2019
6.0
Meng-Han from Taiwan
Group
Premium Deluxe Ocean facing
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Not Recommend ”

5 star hotel and view with poor service quality. Every day there are issues that we have to address to the call center for help. 1. Bathtub is not draining itself. 2. Water pressure is not stable for the showerhead. Rain showed above the head works fine. But showerhead is not working... no enough pressure and the hot water is not stable all the time. 3. One day I went back to my room at 3 PM. No housekeeping had been done. Seriouslly? 4. Booked a 2 double bed room for 3 people but the hotel only prepared 2x amendities. 5. Wifi is not for free (but AGODA says it's FREE!). Spend 300 baht for a 3 day pass but the wifi speed is poor. OMG. 6. Water leaks out my shower door and wets my floor all the way to the hallway. 7. Room service asked.. you have to wait at least 20 mins to have staff come knock your door. I understand the resort is big, but sometimes we need the thing right away. 8. Breakfast is poor.

Reviewed February 17, 2019
6.8
Good
Meng-Han from Taiwan
Group
Premium Spa Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Service has to be improved”

5 star hotel and view with poor service quality. Every day there are issues that we have to address to the call center for help. 1. Bathtub is not draining itself. 2. Water pressure is not stable for the showerhead. Rain showed above the head works fine. But showerhead is not working... no enough pressure and the hot water is not stable all the time. 3. One day I went back to my room at 3 PM. No housekeeping had been done. Seriouslly? 4. Booked a 2 double bed room for 3 people but the hotel only prepared 2x amendities. 5. A/C for one room is not cooling. 6. Wifi is not for free. Spend 300 baht for a 3 day pass but the wifi speed is poor. OMG, but on AGODA it says FREE WIFI...! 7. Water leaks out my shower door and wets my floor all the way to the hallway. The swimming pool and the facilities are great, beach is also great and not crowded (but no lifeguard). Just couldn't understand why the service is way below average. Breakfast is bad. Will not visit again.

Reviewed February 15, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Nurfaezah from Malaysia
Couple
Premium Spa Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Luxury, private and great facilities”

Private beach at the karon beach, have a big pool, great facilities and the staff are very good.

Reviewed October 26, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Umberto from United States
Couple
Spa Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018

Nice rooms, good facilities, friendly staff”

Pros: staff was largely nice, nice facilities, good breakfast spread. Cons: checking in was lengthy, WiFi is chargeable,

Reviewed September 27, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Kittayaporn from Thailand
Couple
Spa Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 4 nights in September 2018

happy holidays ”

There are some small unexpected circumstance but it' don't ruin my satisfaction.

Reviewed September 23, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Thatchapon from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

หาดสวย ปรรยากาศดี”

Good atmosphere. Nice hotel for relax.

Reviewed September 11, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Elvi from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 4 nights in June 2018

Definitely a friendly for kids hotel”

Private beach, nice pool for kids. Nice hotel buffet breakfast. A little pricey but overall its a nice resort with many kids activities. Spacy room. Quiet environment. Friendly staffs.

Reviewed June 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
adrian from United Kingdom
Couple
Spa Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018

rani ada burman”

very good location very good room thai night very good food will come again but next time will upgrade the room but the room we booked was very good but would like my own pool beach very good for relax as not get busy also x2 swimming pool again as hotel busy but still had time to relax at both pools i would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in phuket some people would say expensive but for us worth every penny we spent booking the hotel and what we spent while staying at hotel

Reviewed May 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ronald from United Kingdom
Couple
Premium Spa Room
Stayed 7 nights in March 2018

great experience”

Everything was great. The staff treated us very well, perfect location only few minute walk to the centre, food was great, rooms swimming pool bars etc. all perfect. We only had one problem. The hotel is perhaps not to blame however we booked our hotel through Agoda which clearly stated there is free wifi and that was NOT the case. The hotel never offers free wifi and we had to pay for our internet usage. The staff at the reception did not seem bothered by this at all, only insisted on us paying, which was very disappointing.

Reviewed March 31, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Brian from United States
Couple
Premium Deluxe Ocean facing
Stayed 6 nights in January 2018

Excellent location and top notch staff”

Loved it. We were there for a friend’s wedding. The beach front location was amazing. Not sure if there are others in Phuket right on the beach. The staff here is amazing, attentive, and very helpful. Food was great, room was great, and overall, we were very happy. A couple downsides though: the pools close early (7pm?), the mattress was hard as stone (they did get us a topper, but it was still not very comfortable, and if you need a cab, download the Grab app - do not ask them to call you a cab. They told us 1,800 baht for a ride to the airport. Instead, I used Grab and got there for 740 (less than 1/2 of their price). Not sure what that’s all about, but I feel that’s wrong of them to do.

Reviewed January 24, 2018
6.8
Good
Rachel from United States
Family with young children
Premium Deluxe Ocean facing
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017

Disappointed”

We were excited about this resort for our Christmas holiday, but kept running into hiccups that created more disappointment than anything. Sad. Negatives - our ocean view was completely obstructed by a tree, our wrap around balcony was right next to a walkway making it very open and not private, the blinds inside the room were loud and clunky and took forever to get up and down, we were told the day before we were leaving that we could change rooms (the day before we were leaving! why would we pack up and change the day before?), the resort taxis charged 3 times the local rate and the resort is far away from town - it was possible to catch local taxis but you have to climb up a hill and down to get there, and the service at the restaurants are very poor especially during lunch - my son and I sat for 20 minutes waiting for a server at the beach cafe, and lastly, the resort is so huge you have to hike to your room and any services to the room take forever.

Reviewed December 29, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
robin from United States
Group
1 Bedroom Pool Villa
Stayed 7 nights in November 2017

Staff went above and beyond”

Our wedding party of 26 stayed for a week and we celebrated 3 birthdays. The staff went out of their way to ale us happy and we had a great time. We stayed here 2 years before and this was even better. We will be back. Special thanks to Saranya!

Reviewed November 29, 2017
6.0
Sasima from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

Nothing special”

The room I stayed was 'Ocean Facing' but you can hardly see the ocean. I guess it's technically correct however, you can say about pretty much anything in this world as the world is round it would 'face' something. I think Centara Grand should correct the room's name as I'm not the first person complaining about it. The rest of the stuff, it's pretty much average hotel. I wouldn't give it 5 stars, 4 stars is o.k. I feel like I could spend the same amount of money somewhere else and stay at a better hotel and a nice breach in Phuket. So no, I won't be coming back to this hotel.

Reviewed November 28, 2017
4.4
Stanley from India
Family with young children
Premium Deluxe Ocean facing
Stayed 4 nights in September 2017

Not what it looks like on websites - look before you leap!”

Ended up in a room amongst the bushes i.e. called as Premium Deluxe Ocean Facing!! When asked, was told, all the rooms in the hotel faces the ocean - man I could not believe it!; the staff needs a wake up call on handling customers, some of them are really in the oblivion; they have a paid WiFi plan - unheard of specially when you are paying a price to stay; extremely monotonous breakfast - specially if you are staying more than 1 or 2 days - not many choices; kids club needs an immediate pest control - my kids had enough mosquito bites by the time we left; the river pool has a fungal look and the water was not clean either - did not feel like going back inside the pool again: the standing shower drainage needs a helping hand or be patient for it to take its own sweet time and shower under a pool of soapy water! Not a great pool bar either! They have a good and easily accesssible beach though.

Reviewed September 29, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Jasy from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017

Great place for family vacation”

We traveled with a three year old and this resort was perfect! The staff was AMAZING and very kid oriented. The facilities were great and we loved that even though the hotel was busy, it didn't feel crowded ever. The beach was very clean too. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Reviewed June 26, 2017
6.8
Good
James from Singapore
Family with young children
Premium Deluxe Ocean facing
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017

crappy check in time at 3pm, nonsense check out at 11am”

room living space small cuz of wastage of space for balcony. having old people or kids will be a pain as lifts doesn't go all levels as u have to change lifts to get to some levels. lastly, to irritate me more, my deposit with my credit card will take 2 weeks for them to return my money. ridiculous!!!!!... there are many more hotel options to stay other than centara.

Reviewed March 24, 2017
6.0
tselmeg from Mongolia
Family with teens
Deluxe Ocean Facing
Stayed 6 nights in February 2017

great beach, alright resort”

the beach is very excellent. it's private and the sand is squicky and the water and wave is soft, clean water. the facility is not quite 5star... in general it's a great facility but the individual rooms need upgrading. wonderful spa, very pleasant ambiance. a bit too expensive for how old the furniture and bathroom is... but keep in mind, i reserved just 1 week b4 my trip and it's not horribly old. also, lots of russians, nice russians but not a whole lot of chinese or other asians, nor a whole lot of western europeans either. i would say, definitely the best in Karon beach area.

Reviewed March 03, 2017