Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
Newly built

Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia

No 38,Station Road, Mount Lavinia, Colombo, Sri Lanka, 10370
- View on map
Standard Double Room - Room plan Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
Standard Double Room - Room plan
    Removed from saved list
    Lobby Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    Lobby Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    Swimming pool [outdoor] Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    Standard Double Room - Room plan Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    See all 52 photos
     Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia

    Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia Reviews

    7.6
    Very good
    /10
    (34 reviews)See what guests said
    7.2
    Very good

    "Convenient location and easy access."

    Vivek

    -

    November 26, 2018

    8.4
    Excellent service

    Things you’ll love about Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia

    Things you'll love

    • 240 meters to public transportation

    • Airport transfer

    • Currency exchange

    • 320 meters to the beach

    Excellent
    Location
    8.2
    See map
    Excellent location - 320 meters to the beach
    Popular
    Nearby
  • Mount Lavinia beach940 m
  • Arcade Independence Square7.74 km
  • St Anthony s Church Kochikade Colombo8.34 km
  • National Museum8.68 km
  • Viharamahadevi Park9.01 km
  • Gangaramaya (Vihara) Buddhist Temple9.5 km
  • Galle Face Green10.75 km
  • World Trade Center11.36 km
  • Dutch Museum11.69 km
  • Kelaniya Raja Maha Viharaya Temple14.16 km
  • This property is in high demand!

    Last booked a few minutes ago

    Value for money7.1
    Distance to city center12 KM
    Location rating8.2
    Nearest airportRatmalana Airport (RML)
    Distance to airport2.9 km

    Rooms available at Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia

    Standard Double Room
    Standard Double Room
    ...
    • Room size: 14 m²/151 ft²
    • No Windows view
    • 1 king bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    ...
    • Room size: 40 m²/431 ft²
    • Sea view
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Grand Family Suite
    Grand Family Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 42 m²/452 ft²
    • Balcony/terrace
    Enter dates to see prices
    Deluxe Twin Room with Balcony
    Deluxe Twin Room with Balcony
    ...
    • Room size: 40 m²/431 ft²
    • City view
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Deluxe Triple Room
    Deluxe Triple Room
    ...
    • Room size: 19 m²/205 ft²
    • Courtyard view
    • 1 single bed and 1 king be...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    ...
    • Room size: 40 m²/431 ft²
    • Sea view
    • 1 king bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    ...
    • Room size: 40 m²/431 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 king bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Deluxe Double Room
    Deluxe Double Room
    ...
    • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 king bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Superior Double Room
    Superior Double Room
    ...
    • Room size: 21 m²/226 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 king bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Superior Twin Room
    Superior Twin Room
    ...
    • Room size: 16 m²/172 ft²
    • Courtyard view
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices

    What people love about Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia

    • 10.0
      Exceptional

      "Meet owner and manger of the place they were great guys and helpful."

      Prashant

      |

      December 21, 2018

    • 9.2
      Exceptional

      "The room is cozy, the breakfast is delicious, the staffs (including Raj) are friendly and hospitable people!"

      Amal

      |

      August 15, 2018

    • 9.2
      Exceptional

      "Overall i had a great experience here!"

      Amal

      |

      August 15, 2018

    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia

    More about Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia

    10.0
    Exceptional

    "Very clean swimming pool, staff is courteous and helpful Ver..."

    Prashant

    |

    December 21, 2018

    An overview

    Show less

    What they offer

    8.8
    Excellent

    "Its good place to visit."

    E

    |

    August 21, 2018

    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show more

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less

    Reviews of Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia from real guests

    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    Agoda Reviews (34)Booking.com Reviews (15)
    7.6
    /
    10
    Very good
    Cleanliness7.6
    Facilities7.0
    Location8.2
    Service8.4
    Value for money7.1
    All languages
    All guests (34)
    All room types
    Showing 17 verified guest comments
    5.2
    purnima from Malaysia
    Family with teens
    Deluxe Triple Room
    Stayed 1 night in February 2019

    The place was disappointing ”

    The room that we got was old and small for 3 people. I went with my elderly parents and it was very hard for them to move around. Thank god it was only for a night. The water took some time to get heated. Overall I would not go again to the hotel. But my parents had a conversation the next morning with the restaurant manager. Even there was no food selection for the breakfast buffet.

    Reviewed June 10, 2019
    6.8
    Good
    Dr. from Sri Lanka
    Solo traveler
    Superior Double Room
    Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

    Disappointing Hotel”

    The facilities were very disappointing. Since they are a startup hotel with a new ownership many things have not been attended to such as no room service menus, no laundry menus, no numbers to call, making it a very inconvenient hotel. The staff mostly were very nice, some were overly chatty, that became so annoying. There was no privacy left. The breakfast is weird because there are only two set menus to choose from. The presentation is very good and the food tasted very nice. Housekeeping was pretty pathetic, very poor cleaning, except occasionally it would be done well based on the housekeeper. The rooms were ant infested. The view was great, the location was great, the room was comfortable, the bed was very good, and the WiFi was excellent. I wouldn't want to stay here again and don't recommend it.

    Reviewed April 07, 2019

    Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you for your review. We always word hard to make your stay a pleasant stay. please email us your suggestion and improvements and we will certainly look in to this and make sure we meet you expectation next time. Thank you.

    Responded April 26, 2019
    Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    3.6
    Fathimath from Maldives
    Solo traveler
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

    Disappointing ”

    The hotel is old with old furniture and smells. The toilet is clogged and you have to wait more than 5 minutes to get hot water running. The hotel also has lots of insects in the room. The breakfast was good but the service is poor. The staff is always in fear you are leaving the hotel without paying every time you leave the hotel late or with a bag or case with you. They keep asking you by running behind. I always thought we are to pay at checkout if we are extending, but the staff at counter reminds you to pay every time they see you.,

    Reviewed April 01, 2019

    Dear Guest, Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you for your review. We always word hard to make your stay a pleasant stay. As per your booking you had booked a standard double room and we had initially provided you with a Deluxe double room. The only issue you had was us requesting payment. As per our hotel policy we charge at the time of check in or when extending the rooms. As per instruction our staff had requested you for payments and you had mentioned that you are to receive payment from a friend and that you will make the payment as soon as it's received and had been delaying the payment for 3 days. Sincere apologies if this was a inconvenience but we had to follow the hotel rules. I hope this will not stop you from visiting us again and please email us prior if you ever plan to visit us again and we will personally make sure everything is on order.

    Show more
    Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    2.4
    Ratnam from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

    Review score”

    I made a booking for a room with large bed for 2 nights, and When i checked in, i was given a room with twin beds. Requested for a change and I was given another room. The 2nd room, given to me was a room with "King" bed, unfortunately the bed also comes with red ants and smelly pillows. Requested for a change again but the reception only clean it and didn't change my room. It was alright until i took my shower and realized that that the heater was not working. I had a cold shower in the morning and night and on top of that, not even a mug in the room for me to make a hot drink after my cold shower. Not only that, no drinking water provided too. The hotel is listed as a 4 star hotel and to my opinion and as an experience traveller, this hotel doesn't even deserve 2 star. I WILL STRONGLY NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE TO USE THIS HOTEL.

    Reviewed March 26, 2019

    Dear Guest, Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you for your review. We always word hard to make your stay a pleasant stay. As per your booking you had booked a standard double room and we had initially provided you with a Deluxe double room with balcony and not a twin room as mentioned by you. After that since you were not happy we changed to an another Deluxe room. As we went through our records it came to notice that you did not mention any short comings at your check out or during your stay. In fact our staff has helped you with booking your travel plans and tickets during your stay and you were very pleased with the services. Also please note all our rooms are full equipped with tea/coffee making faculties, mugs, glass and etc. I hope this will not stop you from visiting us again and please email us prior if you ever plan to visit us again and we will personally make sure everything is on order.

    Show more
    Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Neha from India
    Group
    Deluxe Triple Room
    Stayed 1 night in March 2019

    Amazing stay. Friendly and helping staff. Very good food. In total completely value for money.”

    Everthing was perfect about hotel. We njyed our stay. Hotel staff is very friendly and helping. One should go there un colombo.

    Reviewed March 23, 2019

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we are glad to get your high approval. We always work hard to make sure all our guests feel happy and comfortable during their stay. We hope to welcome you soon once again. Thank You.

    Responded April 02, 2019
    Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    3.2
    Patti from Netherlands
    Solo traveler
    Superior Double Room
    Stayed 1 night in March 2019

    Review score”

    A/c didn’t work in room, moved to another but cockroaches in that one. Room I ended up in was also not very clean. Hairs in bed, very dirty place. I was not able to sleep from the noise at night. Only a trickle of water in my shower. You would have to pay me to stay there again. Definitely not a 4- star hotel.

    Reviewed March 11, 2019

    Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you for your review. We always word hard to make your stay a pleasant stay. please email us your suggestion and improvements and we will certainly look in to this and make sure we meet you expectation next time. Thank you.

    Responded April 02, 2019
    Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    8.4
    Excellent
    Hari from India
    Solo traveler
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

    Needs work”

    There was a strong ammonia type smell in the bathroom which could not be corrected till I left. Else, no complaints.

    Reviewed February 26, 2019

    Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you for your review. We always word hard to make your stay a pleasant stay. please email us your suggestion and improvements and we will certainly look in to this and make sure we meet you expectation next time. Thank you.

    Responded March 11, 2019
    Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    9.2
    Exceptional
    JOHN from United Kingdom
    Couple
    Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    Stayed 9 nights in January 2019

    Service First and Foremost”

    When assessing a hotel I look at 3 main areas. 1. location, 2.Facilities and 3. value for money. CCH ticks all 3 boxes. First the location - the hotel is ideally located close to the beaches of Mt Lavina as well as having great access to both the City of Colombo by road or train and other more distant areas and once you get used to the Sri Lankan driving system (yes there is a system) even the TUK TUK's are acceptable. Next is Cleanliness and whilst the cleaning staff are excellent it would pay to have an independent eye after the cleaning which some days was quite late but does not detract from the effort put in by the staff. Next is the staff - they really are a team who take great pride in their service From the manager Mr Nasmy, the receptionist Mohamed R and the rest of the team they made our stay memorable with their nothing is too much trouble approach to service. Well Done

    Reviewed January 22, 2019
    5.6
    stephen from Thailand
    Couple
    Superior Double Room
    Stayed 5 nights in January 2019

    no services”

    priced too high for what you get

    Reviewed January 10, 2019

    Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you for your review. We always word hard to make your stay a pleasant stay. please email us your suggestion and improvements and we will certainly look in to this and make sure we meet you expectation next time. Thank you.

    Responded February 13, 2019
    Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Dineshwaran from Malaysia
    Family with teens
    Grand Family Suite
    Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

    Breakfast ”

    Please do increase the varieties

    Reviewed December 26, 2018

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we are glad to get your high approval. We always work hard to make sure all our guests feel happy and comfortable during their stay. We hope to welcome you soon once again. Thank You.

    Responded February 13, 2019
    Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Prashant from India
    Solo traveler
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

    Great value hotel”

    Hotel is great at the price quoted. Very clean swimming pool, staff is courteous and helpful Very accessible, plenty of good eating joint nearby. Beach is at very close distance. Bedsheet, Towel, pillow were fresh and clean. Meet owner and manger of the place they were great guys and helpful.

    Reviewed December 21, 2018

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we are glad to get your high approval. We always work hard to make sure all our guests feel happy and comfortable during their stay. We hope to welcome you soon once again. Thank You.

    Responded February 13, 2019
    Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    3.6
    Vikram from Canada
    Solo traveler
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 1 night in November 2018

    Ifnas is the Worst person to deal with”

    Ifnas seems to be very polite at first. he will book things for you but if you want any changes later on he will curse you on the phone. He gave me a deal of 10 days at $43/day with the driver. after 8 days when i wanted to change the deal and tell him that its enough now i want to take local trains. he was so rude, started talking talking talking on the phone wont listen to you and at the end of the day he told me the 8 days would cost me $70/day rater then $43/day or else if he finds me on the street he would beat the hell out of me and take the rest of the money. enjoy your stay people. location is also very far from the main colombo city.

    Reviewed December 15, 2018

    Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you for your review. We always word hard to make your stay a pleasant stay. please email us your suggestion and improvements and we will certainly look in to this and make sure we meet you expectation next time. Thank you.

    Responded February 13, 2019
    Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    7.2
    Very good
    Vivek from Sri Lanka
    Business traveler
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

    Booked this for a consultant”

    Convenient location and easy access. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good nights rest.

    Reviewed November 26, 2018

    Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you for your review. We always word hard to make your stay a pleasant stay. please email us your suggestion and improvements and we will certainly look in to this and make sure we meet you expectation next time. Thank you.

    Responded November 30, 2018
    Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    8.8
    Excellent
    E from Sri Lanka
    Group
    Deluxe Triple Room
    Stayed 1 night in August 2018

    Its good place to visit. nice.....”

    Its good place to visit. nice.....

    Reviewed August 21, 2018

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we are glad to get your high approval. We always work hard to make sure all our guests feel happy and comfortable during their stay. We hope to welcome you soon once again. Thank You.

    Responded August 23, 2018
    Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Amal from Singapore
    Solo traveler
    Superior Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

    Friendly staffs, great location, nice room!”

    A good hotel with exceptional service in Sri Lanka. As my first time here, I’m impressed on how they treat their guests well. The room is cozy, the breakfast is delicious, the staffs (including Raj) are friendly and hospitable people! It’s only a 10 minute walk to Mt Lavinia Beach, 10-15 minutes walk to eateries nearby. It’s also easy to get to town with a tuk-tuk or Uber/Pick me app. Overall i had a great experience here!

    Reviewed August 15, 2018

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we are glad to get your high approval. We always work hard to make sure all our guests feel happy and comfortable during their stay. We hope to welcome you soon once again. Thank You.

    Responded August 16, 2018
    Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    6.0
    JUN from Japan
    Business traveler
    Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

    部屋はよいが,サービスはよくない”

    部屋は快適でした.一方,朝食が7時半からしかとれず,ビジネスのため7時15分に朝食を用意するよう,前日に交渉し,確認したにも関わらず,翌朝にはそのようなことは聞いていないと言われました.また,朝食の準備に非常に時間がかかり,サービスはあまりよくありません.マネージャは気さくでよさそうな印象でしたが.

    Reviewed February 21, 2019

    Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you for your review. We always word hard to make your stay a pleasant stay. please email us your suggestion and improvements and we will certainly look in to this and make sure we meet you expectation next time. Thank you.

    Responded March 11, 2019
    Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    7.2
    Very good
    KASUGA from Japan
    Solo traveler
    Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    Stayed 1 night in October 2018

    Very good”

    改装したようで非常に綺麗になっています。スタッフの皆さまの対応も◎ 海が見える部屋かと思いきや、コの字型のホテルで、向こう側が使ってない(改装中の?)部屋で、眺望は少し物足りなかったです。でもマウントラヴィニヤではアクセス抜群のところにあると思います。

    Reviewed October 12, 2018

    Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you for your review. We always word hard to make your stay a pleasant stay. please email us your suggestion and improvements and we will certainly look in to this and make sure we meet you expectation next time. Thank you.

    Responded October 13, 2018
    Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    Ceylon City Hotel Mt Lavinia
    |Very good 7.6
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

    • Excellent location
    • Mount Lavinia beach
    • Mount Lavinia Train Station is within 0.24 km